Skip to content

Trips Away and Weekends

I am so far behind today.  I had to teach a class this morning, and then I had daughters wanting me to take them here and then there, it has been hard.  Thankfully I had got my photos ready earlier, and I just have to write it.

Coming into the Light

Back to Point Lonsdale and the Saturday morning photography session.  I took a lot of photos on the jetty that morning and then I went down on the rocks and sand and took others of the lighthouse and jetty.

There was a rainbow out and I was so surprised to see that I actually captured some of it.  This is probably the best photo I took on the beach, or rocks.  The rest were hard.  I am not sure I like Point Lonsdale early in the morning, it is good for some stuff, but I would like to go back late in the day.  Or if I go back, get there really early.

I have some more images, but I will just put them in a gallery for you.  You can flick through them if you like, they weren’t quite what I was after, and I am not sure about them.  I think the above image was, by far, the best.

Trying New Stuff

For the last few months I’ve been trying to find new ways of working my blog.  One of the things I’ve been trying is doing posts on the weekends about things you can do, but more things you can photograph around Melbourne or for trips away.  Sort of like a guide to photographing where I am.  Are you still with me?

I tend to just show some photos, but I would like to do more.  I am still trying to figure it out, but at this stage I am thinking, I will go to places, take photos, and then report back here on a Saturday or Sunday telling you how it was, how much it cost, was it worth it?  I might start a new page at the top with references to the posts I’ve done.  

So, I think what I want to do is to start a new section on the weekends that gives you ideas of where you can go to take photos and how to do them, if you think you need that kind of advice.  

I have no problems with people suggesting places for me to go, or what sort of place, in fact I would welcome it.  I was told about a place today that I really want to check out.

So if you don’t mind, tomorrow I will do a round up of our trip to Ocean Grove, where we stayed, where we ate and how it was for taking photos.  Of course, there will be photos with it as well.

109 Comments
  1. Very nice shots Leanne. Fantastic landscape.

    April 27, 2013
  2. johanstellerphotography #

    nice light

    April 27, 2013
  3. Your photos are always soooo gorgeous, polished, wild, professional, Leanne. 🙂

    April 27, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much 🙂

      April 27, 2013
  4. So lovely!

    April 27, 2013
  5. Lovely photos – especially like the sunset!

    April 27, 2013
  6. love jetty’s/wharfs and lighthouses – what a great combo! like the idea of what to shoot in melb – good for us out of staters 🙂

    April 27, 2013
    • I am the same and great to get them all together. Doesn’t happen often. That is wonderful, I hope you find them helpful, the idea being if you come to Melbourne and you want ideas, then you will know where to go, my blog.

      April 27, 2013
  7. Gorgeous pictures, so tranquil 🙂

    April 27, 2013
    • That is how the whole weekend was really, great word, thank you.

      April 27, 2013
  8. As you might know, I LOVE photography. I am always in awe of other people who can work the camera & the light far better than I can and capture a great moment to share with us all ^_^ But I gotta admit – when it comes to reading a blog I’d rather read a story through shots than just admire one single great shot. For this reason I am definitely looking forward to your weekend stories; great shots & a peek into somebody else’s life = win/win!
    Until soon,
    Babs B

    April 27, 2013
    • Haha, I started reading this, then I thought, oh, I am going to get busted because I really only put one photo up and too much writing, then I read for this reason, and then I had to scroll down and I thought I was going to read that you had to unsubscribe, I was devastated, until I scrolled down and realised I was reading negatively into it, so glad you aren’t and so glad you will look forward to the weekend posts. thank you so much.

      April 27, 2013
      • I see what you mean now that I’ve re-read it…….. ^_^
        PS: we’re very British in one respect – if I’d wanted to unsubscribe I certainly wouldn’t write a negative essay beforehand, I’d just quietly disappear hehehehehe
        But yes, all good, looking forward to more of your gorgeous photography!

        April 27, 2013
      • No, it was really the way it appeared in the notification bar, very strange, I’m so glad you are sticking around. I hope you won’t be disappointed, I will see what I can do. Though Melbourne is a gorgeous city so it shouldn’t be too hard.

        April 27, 2013
  9. une belle atmosphere

    April 27, 2013
  10. ahmadfebri2025 #

    Reblogged this on In The Word.

    April 27, 2013
  11. Beautiful photos

    April 27, 2013
  12. Excellent pictures.

    April 27, 2013
  13. Reblogged this on M2wa2 DigiTech..

    April 27, 2013
  14. Tanya #

    I love jetties, great photography

    April 27, 2013
    • I have to say, same, I love them too, thanks Tanya

      April 27, 2013
  15. Really marvellous shots!

    April 27, 2013
  16. though i do not understand much about the techniques of photography but i loved your pics. thanks for the visit and like on my post.

    April 27, 2013
    • Not really a lot to understand with these ones Shoma, hopefully just pretty pictures, thank you so much for coming and visiting mine in return.

      April 27, 2013
  17. Australia should pay you commissions!! You showcase the shore so beautifully you make a Texas landlubber wish she had the time and money to visit!! Always professional work.

    April 27, 2013
    • Now wouldn’t that be nice. Haha, maybe they will one day. Thank you Sheila, it would be so good if you could come one day.

      April 27, 2013
  18. Beautiful photos. Wish mine looked half as good.

    April 27, 2013
    • I am sure yours do, we are all our own worse enemies, thank you.

      April 27, 2013
  19. I think all of those photos are lovely Leanne. You don’t do yourself justice!

    April 27, 2013
    • Thank you, I think my problem is that I didn’t get what I thought I would, and that is always disappointing.

      April 27, 2013
      • I know what you mean. What I see isn’t always what I capture with the camera. But if you didn’t tell me that you weren’t satisfied I would think these photos were amazing. I do anyway…

        April 27, 2013
      • Thank you, that is great and I am happy that you love them. More than happy.

        April 27, 2013
      • You’re welcome Leanne. Keep taking great shots and sharing them with all us aspiring photographers.

        April 27, 2013
      • I’ll see what I can do.

        April 27, 2013
  20. Beautiful images .

    April 27, 2013
  21. love the pic of the jetty with the rainbow and your idea about the trip suggestions –

    April 27, 2013
    • That’s great to hear, on both counts, thank you.

      April 27, 2013
  22. I love these photos!!! All of them. The colors are so awesome!

    April 27, 2013
    • Thank you, that’s great to hear.

      April 27, 2013
  23. I really like the lighting in the first photograph Leanne.

    April 27, 2013
    • That one worked out well, thanks Colline

      April 27, 2013
  24. Yeh, mix it up, change it up. Many blogs do not follow a format. It’s your blog, so go for it! Have fun. 🙂

    April 27, 2013
    • Haha, it is isn’t it? Thank you.

      April 28, 2013
  25. Stunning images Leanne. I really love them!

    April 27, 2013
  26. Reblogged this on Lavender Queen Liz.

    April 27, 2013
  27. Leanne I loved all the pictures as usual. I look at scenes differently now and take more time with my pictures. I am really looking forward to your new weekend blogging excursions!

    April 27, 2013
    • That is great to hear, I am assuming you mean you are doing that now because of my influence. Thank you, I like to have goals for my blog, so it will be good. Good luck with your images as well.

      April 28, 2013
  28. agreed – they’re all great – the first is greatest.

    April 27, 2013
    • Thank you, I think I agree with you about this group.

      April 28, 2013
  29. Pat #

    These are all beautiful, but I love the under the jetty shot.

    April 28, 2013
    • I don’t know what it is about under jeety’s, but I am the same, thank you.

      April 28, 2013
  30. Beautiful!

    April 28, 2013
  31. I’ve commented on two individual photos in the gallery…wonderful as always!

    April 28, 2013
    • I saw them Heather, thank you.

      April 28, 2013
  32. These are so beautiful!!!

    April 28, 2013
  33. Laura Hilger #

    Wonderful. I enjoy when photographers talk about their work as well as where they went, what they thought, etc. I don’t consider myself a photographer, but it’s a hobby for me so I like learning from others about their work because it is an art, and just like other forms, it’s good to hear you discuss it. I’d prefer having some words with the photos for explanation so that together, your art work and words, are generating a tourist-type story, and for me, that makes the art richer. It’s probably because I’m into words too so I might be a bit biased. It’s just fun getting inside the photographer’s mind for a bit. In any case, I wish you the best with your new idea!

    April 28, 2013
    • Well I certainly talk a lot about my processes, so thank you.

      April 28, 2013
  34. I couldn’t pick just one! These are all beautiful 🙂

    April 28, 2013
  35. STUNNING!

    April 28, 2013
  36. Wow.. what breathtaking shots!

    April 28, 2013
    • Thank you, that is fantastic.

      April 28, 2013
  37. WOW!

    April 28, 2013
  38. I have loved looking at this set of photos. How do you make them so clear? I’d defo want one for one to put on a wall in my house. Thank you.

    April 28, 2013
    • Thank you, I don’t know, they have just come out that way, I think. Though I did use very good lenses for these images, so that is probably why.

      April 28, 2013
  39. Sounds like an interesting new direction, Leanne. Looking forward to it.

    April 28, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I like to have specific things to do, keeps me on track and helps me to work out what to blog, so this could be good, but where to start.

      April 28, 2013
  40. Beautiful! 🙂

    April 28, 2013
  41. The photos under the pier on the beach are my favorite!

    April 28, 2013
    • That’s fantastic, thank you.

      April 28, 2013
  42. I like them all Leanne, but the next to the last one appeals to something in me, obviously I guess, cuz I like it alot! I’d say it’s a very close 2nd to the top! 😀

    April 28, 2013
    • Haha, love it, thank you Keli, I’m experimenting with the water going back, I need to do more experimenting, will get there eventually. 🙂

      April 28, 2013
  43. Such gorgeous light and compositions. Enjoy your explorations!

    April 28, 2013
    • Thank you, I am excited about it, so should be good.

      April 28, 2013
  44. Magical gallery – of course me with my fetish for lighthouse .. that has be my pick – but my second choice is “scpointlonsdale-9940” – I can feel the wind in my face and hear the waves meeting the shore … when looking at your shots. Just love how you have caught the light underneath the pier.

    April 28, 2013
    • Thank you Viveka, that is great, lighthouses are great, I need to find more around the place.

      April 28, 2013
      • Lighthouse .. are so mysterious and romantic.

        April 29, 2013
      • Yet they signal danger, interesting.

        April 29, 2013
  45. Love your new idea, Leanne, about posting places to go photograph!

    April 29, 2013
    • Thanks Steph, I hope it works, just thought it would drive me to go to new places and maybe give other people some ideas as well. There is so much information out there for tourists, but what about photographers, so I am going to see what I can do about it.

      April 29, 2013
  46. These are all glorious, Leanne…is it because I love the water so? And the manner in which you process it? The point is such a beautiful, serene-looking place that I wish I could live there…well, I’ll just have to settle for living there in my dreams, i guess.

    As to the new decisions: I think it would be terrific, almost like a ‘traveller’s guide’…and perhaps that would spur a few more ‘donations’?

    April 29, 2013
    • I am very fortunate in some ways, it is also good that I can travel to many of these places and they aren’t too far away. I hope you do enjoy the views I bring you, as I enjoy yours.
      That would be wonderful 1000, but I don’t think I will hold my breath for donations, people don’t like spending money, it would seem. I thought it might get some notice from people in the tourism industry, a different type of person to advertise too, we’ll see.
      Thanks.

      April 29, 2013
      • I’m almost certain the tourist industry will take notice, Leanne…because your images are done with great care and ‘caring’…using you could only be of great benefit to them!

        April 29, 2013
      • I really hope so, I want to promote this place as a fantastic place to come and take photos if you love photography and with the surge in people doing it now, I think it sounds like a great thing. I know people have trouble working where to go when they go somewhere new.

        April 29, 2013
      • They do, even if they’ve already been. It would be so great for them to have a reliable source such as you/your images to guide them to all these magnificent places…and your info would help them immensely, I feel!

        April 30, 2013
      • I have some ideas and some plans, though I don’t want to say anything public on here, I should email you and see what you think, I like getting your opinion on things.

        April 30, 2013
      • Do, and I’ll be thinking about things, too!

        April 30, 2013
  47. Lovely capture of light!

    April 29, 2013
  48. Richard Betts #

    Reblogged this on Community Ramblings and commented:
    It is pictures like these that make you realise that there are some places in this world that are just fantastic.

    April 30, 2013
  49. Reblogged this on ordyme and commented:
    fly with memories

    May 7, 2013
  50. Reblogged this on Sherry's Space.

    August 1, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Avila Beach California | Nia Simone, Author

Comments are closed.

