Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Royal Botanical Gardens, Cranbourne

Recently Miss Rosanna mentioned that I should try going out to Cranbourne, to the Royal Botanical Gardens there.  I had never heard of the place.  I knew there were Botanical Gardens in the city, but not out in Cranbourne.  So I googled it, found the website and decided to see if my new photography buddy wanted to go along. So last Monday we went to the Royal Botanical Gardens in Cranbourne.

CRBG 1This desert garden is one of the first things you see.  It is quite incredible and is meant, I believe to represent the Australian Outback.  This garden is the Australian section of the Royal Botanical Gardens.  Cranbourne is all Australian, from what I can make out.   The Royal Botanical Gardens in the city have more exotic and foreign plants.

The weather was not great when we went, but it did mean we got some fantastic skies.  The clouds were spectacular, but it did make photographing some of this stuff really hard.

CRBG 2There are a lot of water features all around the gardens.  This is the biggest landscaped garden I’ve ever seen.  The area above had flags at either end saying you could paddle in here, as long as it was between the flags.  I took my camera and tripod out onto the areas with no water to take this image, then came back.  Just after I got back, the water was turned up and a lot of those areas that have no water were covered in it, including the place I was standing.  Lucky I got the shot when I did.

CRBG 3Here is another water area.  I loved this image, I loved the sky in it.  There seems to be so much mood in it.  Does that make sense?  It is moody.  I took quite a few images from this place, which I am going to include in a gallery.

We spent a few hours here, we did have to run for cover once when it started raining.   That was okay, we just had an early lunch.  The sun didn’t come out a lot, so while I was there, I tried to use the clouds as much as possible in my images.  I don’t think it made the day bad.  In fact, it was nice to not have to worry about the sun and getting sunburnt.

Taking photos didn’t seem to be a problem.  I used a tripod quite a bit, and no one told me to stop.   We did stand on some seats to get up a little higher to take some photos.  I don’t think it is strictly allowed, so probably best not to do it.

I will include the above images and many more in a gallery for you now.

Entry is free to the gardens, and it is open almost every day of the year.  There was a link at the top of the page to the gardens, so you can get more information there.  One thing that was disappointing was that there weren’t a lot of flowers out, but hardly surprising when you consider we are heading into winter.  We think we might have to go back in Spring.

166 Comments
  1. barbmca #

    Marvelous shots

    May 18, 2013
  2. Beautiful photos. The sky is so dramatic!

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you, the sky was very cooperative.

      May 18, 2013
  3. zecchius #

    Nice shots. That looks like a very otherworldly landscape. I hope I get to visit it sometime.

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you, if you get a chance do go, it is so amazing.

      May 18, 2013
  4. Wonderful pictures, I don’t know whether to look at the sky or the landscape. Well done!

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you, I know what you mean, they are both spectacular.

      May 18, 2013
  5. Interesting gardens, beautiful shots! 🙂

    May 18, 2013
  6. johnholding #

    Went there a few weeks ago, wasn’t happy with most of my shots so they are sitting on the computer. Like your though.

    May 18, 2013
    • Maybe they just need tweaking, I don’t know, I’m trying to be encouraging, can you tell? 🙂 Thank you.

      May 18, 2013
  7. Magnificent. They did an amazing job there. I love the Outback garden. Your shots are spectacular. The sky plays such an important role in your compositions.

    May 18, 2013
    • It is magnificent, great word Nia. It is a great garden and the clouds were great too. I love them, and I think they made the shots even better. Thank you.

      May 18, 2013
  8. Hello Leanne,
    This looks an amazing place. My Melbourne based brother has never mentioned it – I wonder if he knows it’s there?
    Also how come I can’t see any other people? We’ve occasionally visited beautiful, e.g. gardens in Paris, and had them to ourselves, but this place looks vast, and how brilliantly the hard landscaping matches the planting with native plants.
    I do hope that now you’ve been you’ll return through the seasons and give us all a flavour of how the scenes change through the seasons.
    My final thought was, any idea when it was constructed? And how it was paid for? It exudes a sense of affluence to create something on this scale. But then I guess Australia is doing pretty well economically right now?
    The days of this sort of grand project in Old Blighty, may be long gone, I fear.
    Very many thanks again for sharing these beautiful images,
    Best wishes
    Julian

    May 18, 2013
    • You will have to tell your brother about it Julian, it is very large and gorgeous.
      There were people there, but being a Monday, not many, which was nice. There were some people in my shots, but I edited them out. Didn’t what them to spoil my lovely image, haha.
      We are planning on going back, so maybe in Spring, though not sure about summer, it would be so hot.
      How it was paid for, interesting question, I don’t know. It is part of the Royal Botanical Gardens, so they would have paid for it, but I don’t know if they received funding for it. It is probably on their website. It is out in Cranbourne, so the land was probably cheap, or already crown land.
      We have done well, but I don’t know for how much longer. Scary times ahead.
      You are very welcome and thank you for your thoughts.

      May 18, 2013
      • Hello Leanne,
        As a follow up, Fiona has just come back from the Chelsea Flower show.
        And what do you know? You Aussies won the best Garden at the show, in its centenary year.(Perhaps this is such a big deal that its had big media exposure with you?) So if can’t win at the cricket right now, you blast away the Brits at horticulture!! Fiona happened to be there when a suitably ecstatic Australian showed off the award to the masses – I’ll try to put F’s pic of this humorous moment in my next blog post.
        So Cranbourne gardens obviously reflects a great seam of Aussie gardening talent, Congratulations.
        Best wishes
        Julian

        May 23, 2013
      • How wonderful, I have been stuff everywhere for the flower show, it looks incredible. Sounds like Fiona was there at the right time. I look forward to seeing the photos, can you let me know when you, I don’t want to miss them.
        Thanks Julian.

        May 23, 2013
  9. What a fantastic place. I love the images here too. Really nice!

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you George, it is quite an amazing place. So big.

      May 18, 2013
  10. 1annecasey #

    Beautiful series of images.

    May 18, 2013
  11. I’ve heard a lot about the Cranbourne annex of the Botanical Gardens. Now I’ve seen your photos, I think I should plan a trip there sometime! Probably best, as you say, in spring when more is in bloom.

    May 18, 2013
    • Yes, yes go, it is so big and so wonderful. I loved it and I would go back in a second. Yes, I think spring would be really good.

      May 18, 2013
      • It’s on the ;wrong’ side of Melbourne for us, but it might be a good mini-holiday! It’s definitely on the to-do list as of now. thank you!

        May 18, 2013
      • If you go, let me know. Would love to hear what you think of it.

        May 18, 2013
      • OK! My husband is already making plans…he’s a frustrated travel agent masquerading as a schoolteacher…

        May 19, 2013
      • That is hysterical, so have a great time when you go. I look forward to hearing what you think.

        May 19, 2013
  12. leecleland #

    I have to agree with Nia – the gardens are magnificent and so is the photography. Great shots, Leanne. I love all that water and moody sky.

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you Lee, it was fantastic, I couldn’t believe I had never heard about it.

      May 18, 2013
  13. What a beautiful garden to visit. Seems to be a great place to photograph as well. Love the photos you took, indeed a lot of moodiness but I am liking IT a lot.

    May 18, 2013
    • That is wonderful to hear, it is a great place. Thank you.

      May 18, 2013
  14. Ted Ryan #

    The second phase of the Cranbourne garden opened last year – that is the areas with most of the water features you photographed. The first phase which centred on the desert garden and adjacent ‘dry-river garden’ has been open for 6 or 7 years. It is all Australian plants and much of the area was an old quarry and yes Crown Land like the adjacent lookout & bush reserve. Hence the existence of such a large garden area. They didn’t have to pay for the land at least and sought funding from government & philanthropical sources for the garden construction.

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you Ted for all this information, I wish I had known this before I did the post LOL. When I go back in Spring and do another post, I will try and remember to put all this information in the post. How do you know all this stuff? Brilliant.

      May 18, 2013
  15. Ted Ryan #

    and yes – great shots today but it is nicer to visit in spring. it will continue to be worth a visit as the plantings grow and the feel of the place changes.

    May 18, 2013
    • Yes, I think it will be better then too. That is an interesting idea.
      Thanks Ted

      May 18, 2013
  16. what a fantastic garden…beautiful but uniquely original, something other than what I expect to see in a “garden”…your shots are fabulous as usual! Yes…it makes sense to call the clouds moody…I often use words like angry, moody, serene, gentle,playful, etc., to describe them, as that is how I see them…I’m always looking at the clouds, vs head in the clouds… lol enjoy the weekend!

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you Heather, I was blown away by the garden, it is so huge and so wonderful, I think you are so right about the moods of clouds, they can be interpreted like that. Haha, I have had my head in the clouds a lot lately.
      You have a great weekend too.

      May 18, 2013
  17. Great photos, love those dramatic skies

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you Nora, you know, I really wish now I had got photos of just the clouds.

      May 18, 2013
  18. Liz #

    Great shots of a great place. I love Australia Garden. I would try in August as a lot of natives flower late winter. Having said that it is also good in Spring and indeed in Summer – especially when its warm enough to have a paddle.

    May 18, 2013
    • I like the idea of going late winter Liz, brilliant. So you are suggesting that I should go each season? You will have to come with me on one of the trips. Thanks Liz.

      May 18, 2013
  19. Wow the gardens look amazing!! I want to visit Australia some day!! Hugz, Lisa

    May 18, 2013
    • It is an amazing country, well I think so. The gardens are wonderful. Thank you and hugs back Lisa.

      May 18, 2013
  20. Oh, I am in LOVE! Such dramatic landscaping! That sky just enhances it…
    Like a lot of others, I’d love to see it in other seasons…even under a white-hot summer sun, the effect will be stunning, though completely different. 🙂

    May 18, 2013
    • I was hoping you would see these photos, your reaction is exactly what I was hoping for. There is a lot of interest in seeing it in different seasons, so looks like I will have to take more trips out there.

      May 18, 2013
      • Lucky for me, the grandkids are still asleep…I get interrupted a lot of mornings before I’m finished reading. 6:30 am, and all is still quiet – gonna be a good day! 🙂

        May 18, 2013
      • Thank you grandkids, so glad. It isn’t very often I do a post that I think, you must see this, but I am so glad you were given the chance to. Have a great day. 🙂

        May 18, 2013
  21. Awesome, just awesome!

    May 18, 2013
  22. Very interesting gardens!

    May 18, 2013
    • They are interesting and amazing.

      May 18, 2013
  23. Sonel #

    Fantastic shots Leanne and I love the Desert garden and those water features are absolutely stunning! Thanks for sharing hon and have a great weekend. 🙂 *hugs*

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you Sonel, I thought the desert garden was amazing, it stands out so much and you can see it in many directions, I mean it stands out. Always a pleasure, and you enjoy yours as well. 🙂

      May 19, 2013
      • Sonel #

        Oh, I bet it was amazing to see it like that Leanne. You are so blessed and thanks again for sharing it with us. 🙂 *hugs*

        May 19, 2013
      • I think the weather turned out to be perfect for this place. Thanks again.

        May 19, 2013
  24. I love the moody shots. So often I see photographers only use clear sunny days for landscapes. I think the use of the sky and its temperament make these even more fantastic.

    May 18, 2013
    • Thank you, I must say I am not a big fan of the clear sunny day, so as long as it isn’t raining and there is definition in the clouds, I’m happy. Glad you liked them.

      May 19, 2013
  25. these are stunning )

    May 18, 2013
  26. I have to say, those pics would not have looked so stunning with blue skies. With the grey they look beautiful but surreal. I actually had to look twice to be sure they were pics of real places. Just love them. Congratulations!

    May 18, 2013
    • Oh thank you, I must say, there were some images that when I first looked at them, I thought maybe something had happened to them, but the camera just got what it saw. I quite like them too, it turned out to be great. I like your description of them.

      May 19, 2013
      • Not sure if it’s the kind of thing you do, but you should put them up on those sites where people can buy photos.

        May 19, 2013
      • I do have some places where I have images up for people who want to buy them, but no one really does.

        May 19, 2013
      • That’s a pity because your pics are beautiful.

        May 19, 2013
      • Yeah, it is, also frustrating, there are too many people trying to do the same thing.

        May 19, 2013
      • As an indie author I’m in the same boat, just with a different medium. Hang in there.

        May 19, 2013
      • I will, thank you, and you do the same.

        May 19, 2013
      • 🙂

        May 20, 2013
      • I’ve just posted an article about you and Hannah Sterry, a talented young musician. http://wp.me/p25AFu-11w
        😀

        May 20, 2013
      • I saw it, thank you, that was a lovely thing to do. Great article.

        May 20, 2013
      • 🙂

        May 20, 2013
  27. lovely photographs! But, I love the way you have watermarked the photographs…finding them was like a game of hide and seek! 🙂

    May 19, 2013
    • Thank you, and there are a few people who have said the same thing, like a Where’s Wally. I must say, if I have time, I try to find places to hide it. Part of the reason is also so it isn’t intrusive.

      May 19, 2013
  28. Interesting gardens. Love the cement and rock work. Nice angles mixed with nature.

    May 19, 2013
    • It is amazing, so big and so much to see, glad you enjoyed them Jo, thanks.

      May 19, 2013
  29. Amazing and awesome!! Truly!!!

    May 19, 2013
  30. You got great shots Leanne! I love the ambience created by the combination of the skies and your skills!

    May 19, 2013
    • It didn’t seem like that at the time, but when I got home and saw the photos, I was really happy. Thank you

      May 19, 2013
  31. Really interesting, if a bit stark for my tastes.
    The skies, to me, aren’t so much moody as dramatic. They seem filled with portents!

    May 19, 2013
    • What is really stark? It is a relatively new place, someone said that it has only been there for about 7 years, so a great deal of growth still needs to happen. Much of it does look quite new. It will be interesting to see it in about 10 years. Great idea, well I think, to have a place just for indigenous plants.

      May 19, 2013
      • The idea to concentrate indigenous is, indeed, excellent.
        From the photos, the starkness seems to come from too many constructed elements. The outback one doesn’t have that effect – it simulates part of the environment in which sparser planting survives.

        May 19, 2013
      • I think there is a misconception that Australia is mostly like the outback part, and that is so wrong. I don’t mean that you think like that, but many people do. The outback is large, but the East Coast was once, about 224 years ago, it was all trees, it was covered in rain forests and lots and lots of bushland. The water feature with the rusty wall is reminiscent of plays up in many places, though the wall would be red rocks not rusty steel. Originally that whole area of where the garden is would have been covered in trees. It is hard to put it all together in an environment that isn’t designed for it.
        I also think the constructed part is also so people who come to visit the gardens can see how they can include the plants in their own gardens. I thought that is what a lot of it was about too.

        May 19, 2013
      • I am probably conditioned by more natural ones like our Kirstenbosch, as well as the great Estate gardens in the UK.

        May 19, 2013
      • It is a weird thing, different gardens in different countries. We have a more traditional on in the city, and I am hoping to get in there to take photos at some time. We can compare.

        May 19, 2013
  32. michaelmulholland #

    Amazing shots

    May 19, 2013
    • Thank you.

      May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        Leanne, you’re awesome and such an inspiration to me. Many blessings my friend. Red Crow
        Btw, I’ve decided on buying the Canon 5D Mark III and so looking forward to getting it this week. Now I’m going pro!

        May 19, 2013
      • I am so jealous, I really want to get a better camera. Mine is good, but I want something more now. Thank you so much Michael, have fun with that new toy.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        Oh it’s going to be fun and a whole new learning curve. But whatever camera you use, you achieve such spectacular results. You’re a natural. Thank you for inspiring me. The canon 5d mark III is an amazing camera, it’s a beast of the machine. Can’t wait to get it. Talk soon my friend. Red Crow

        May 19, 2013
      • Sounds great. I think I want either the Nikon D800 or the D4, so much money. You will work it out, it probably isn’t that hard to learn. Have fun.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        I made my decision based on the Nikon D800 and Canon 5D Mark III. The only difference is pixels and unless you’re an IT person who counts pixels the Canon out weighs the Nikon. But I’m used to Canon so I’m sticking with what I know.

        May 19, 2013
      • I’ve spent too much money on top end Nikon Lenses, so it makes sense to use Nikon. I think in the end, no one is going to know. The lenses are so good, and I am so happy with them, I can’t wait to get them on a full frame camera. I have been using Nikon for almost 20 years, so I am happy to stick with them.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        Absolutely…stick with what you have and know best and of course, the lenses make all the difference.

        May 19, 2013
      • Yes, that is what I think. When people ask me what to buy, Canon or Nikon, I say are you going to spend thousands on lenses, if they say no, then I say go for Canon.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        The L series canon lenses costs thousands, very expensive, but even their consumer lenses are great. It’s truly all about shooting technique and which settings are used. I’ve achieved great images from a consumer line canon rebel, I can only imagine what I can achieve with the 5d mark III. It’s going to great…

        May 19, 2013
      • Yep, but if you are already taking great photos, you will continue to. Remember the camera doesn’t take great photos, you do.
        I get so pissed off when people look at my camera and think it is because of the camera, I take good photos, well I hope I do, because I have studied photography and I know, well most of the time, what I am doing.
        Now we aren’t going to get into an argument over who is best, Nikon or Canon? This is what I have always been told, Canon make better cameras, but Nikon make better Lenses.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        I agree…no argument from me. It truly is the photographer, not so much the camera, but a full frame sensor matters to me, and I can shoot greatly with any lens. Just like my guitars, I can make least expensive guitar sound as good as my most expensive guitar. It’s all in all I record it and play it, so I agree with you. And both Nikon and canon are great cameras.

        May 19, 2013
      • I am thinking the same, I want to go full frame and have the lenses for one now, haha. I also want a camera that copes better in the higher ISO’s, the D300s is crap in the higher ranges, so much noise.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        The canon excels in faster shutter speeds and ISO…it’s outstanding but so is the D800 and those are very important factors to look at in a new camera. You will get yours soon. You have all the lenses, now you just need to get the D800..,that’s my advice to you.

        May 19, 2013
      • Yeah, at this stage it is finding the money. I don’t really make any money from this, so I need to work on how to get more money, couple of ideas coming, unfortunately it is probably going to mean less time for the blog, but nothing I can do about that.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        Do what you gotta do to make money. I’ve arranged with some of my famous actor friends to shoot them for my upcoming portfolio. Adrienne Wilkinson from Xena Warrior Princess show, Louis Lombardi from The Sopranos, James Morrison from the hit TV series 24 and X Files. Looking to start making money doing headshots. But I prefer nature and landscapes over all…but I need to make money as well. Photography is expensive and a worthy investment. Good luck my dear friend. Hey, open a Cafepress.com store and sell your images on products like I’m doing. It’s cool, check it out.

        May 19, 2013
      • Yeah, I do have to do that, and I have a plan, so I need to find some help with marketing, but I know my photography is good enough, so I just need to start it and go for it. I don’t think the blog will fit in, but will see. I haven’t heard of Cafepress, I have work on Red Bubble and Etsy, as well as my own site. Though people don’t seem to buy much.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        I understand that…mostly my fans of my music career and family buy from me…I gotta try Etsy. Check out Cafepress.com, it’s really nice, you can put your images on clothing, home decor, coffee mugs, prints in frames, clocks, tote bags, the works. Check into it.

        May 19, 2013
      • Okay, I will.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        Leanne, you know that Canon 5D Mark III has a 61 point AF feature that the Nikon D800 only offers a 51 point AF. And you do know that your Nikon lenses will work on most if not all SLR cameras. Just an FYI.

        May 19, 2013
      • Haha, you know the D800 gets better definition and less noise in the shadows that the 5D Mark III. Really, there isn’t a lot of difference between them, I reckon most of us would not be able to tell.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        True…

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        Check out this site, great unbeatable prices and package deals
        http://www.rythercamera.com/catalog/

        May 19, 2013
      • Great site, but the issue is warranty, it is so hard if you buy a camera from somewhere overseas and then have a problem with it, you can’t get it fixed. That is a real problem. I buy stuff from places that get them from overseas, but they will give you an Australian warranty.

        May 19, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        Really that’s cool, suggest some sites for me.

        May 19, 2013
      • I use Cameras Direct the most, that is all really, they always have what I want, they have never stuffed me around, and have been great.

        May 19, 2013
  33. Stunning images as always!

    May 19, 2013
  34. These are lovely, Leanne. Really nicely taken. 🙂

    May 19, 2013
  35. nice and dramatic! Just goes to prove that those days that we normally consider bad weather can turn out to be great for photography.
    You have also reminded me that we have a great botanical garden not too far from where I live. Havent been there for a very long time so maybe now is the time 🙂

    May 19, 2013
    • Yes, that is so true, the weather did turn out to be brilliant, especially when the sun came out in moments.
      Yes, you will have to go and check yours out. You can see some really amazing stuff at these, I’m sure you know that. Hope you find some wonderful surprises. 🙂
      Thanks Paul

      May 19, 2013
  36. These gardens must be stunning when filled with spring flowers and blossoms.

    May 19, 2013
    • I think so, though I will need to go and see in Spring. Though many Australian plants flower at different times of the year, many things are in flower now, even though we are going into winter. Strange, I’m sure South Africa is the same.
      Thanks Colline.

      May 19, 2013
      • Yes it is. The Southern Hemisphere does not really experience a period of hibernation like the northern hemisphere does.

        May 19, 2013
      • It is so weird, considering the Southern Hemisphere is colder than the Northern Hemisphere, but the countries that are in it, seem to be some of the hottest places on the planet. We live in a strange and weird world.

        May 19, 2013
  37. Lovely photos, and the sky really adds a good finish to a lot of them — I’ve never seen a botanical garden quite like this one! But, I guess I wouldn’t since I live in another part of the world with a different climate. Your work is always so good, and your photographs catch things in ways I never think of when I photograph. Very lovely post!

    May 19, 2013
    • I think I was very lucky with that sky, it isn’t very often that I go out to take photos and have success like this, well with a sky like that.
      Yes, it is very uniquely Australian, they have done a great job with it.
      We all take photos in our own ways. If you like what I do, then try photographing a similar place that I have, and see if you can repeat the same type of images. I often have people come out shooting with me, they see me doing something and then they copy it. It is fun. Enjoy your photography and have fun it.
      Thanks Becky.

      May 19, 2013
  38. Pat #

    What a beautiful place! Your photos are wonderful.

    May 19, 2013
    • Thank you Pat, it is really amazing, and so big, so much to see.

      May 19, 2013
  39. wow .. what an amazing place i never knew it existed, next time i am down that way i will be sure to check it out. great shots thanks

    May 19, 2013
    • Same, I only found out about it about two weeks ago. So please go if can and see how wonderful it is. Thank you.

      May 19, 2013
  40. Looks like an awesome place for picture-taking.

    May 19, 2013
    • It is, it will be heaps better the next time I go, because I know what is there now.

      May 19, 2013
  41. Fantastic images! I’ve wanted to go there for a while to do a photo shoot at night, but I suspect it’s easier said that done to get permission to do so and to get to walk into some of the landscapes. The desert garden would be perfect for an image I am making, but I might just have to go find the real thing.

    May 19, 2013
    • There are fences everywhere too, though, having said that, you should just ask, put forward a good case. Good luck. Thank you.

      May 19, 2013
  42. poppytump #

    So different , so interesting seeing these Australian Botanical Gardens through your lens Leanne . The almost restrained colour palette of the natural surroundings and materials used emphasise your dramatic skies in a wonderful way . Of course it will be nice to see it again in Spring too 😉

    May 19, 2013
    • Yes, I get the feeling that I am going to have to go back in spring. I will try to, at least. The Australian landscape is wonderful, and I think the other thing is that it is quite unique, so that makes it even more special. Thank you poppytump.

      May 19, 2013
  43. Looks like a great place. Love the moodiness of your shots.

    May 19, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I got so much more than I expected too.

      May 19, 2013
  44. Some beautiful shots, love the sky and your POV on many of them 🙂

    May 19, 2013
    • I love the sky too, how amazing did it turn out. I really wish I had taken some of just the sky for my cloud file. Thank you.

      May 20, 2013
  45. Reblogged this on Chaotiqual and commented:
    The amazing thing is that the red soil was quarried not far from the RBG. Yours truly asked the question because I’ve only that colour earth around the northwest Vic. and of course flying acroos the centre to Darwin. Looks like I’ll be following your footsteps as I’ll be at the RBG next week. :).

    May 19, 2013
    • That is wonderful, I hope you get the perfect weather for it.

      May 20, 2013
  46. Awesome.

    Thanks for the visit. 🙂

    May 20, 2013
  47. Like those clouds making for a moody sky.

    May 20, 2013
    • The clouds were wonderful, they were so cooperative.

      May 20, 2013
  48. Amanda Salinas #

    WOW! This is the most artist garden I’ve ever seen! Love the designs in it, really interesting 🙂 I think next Spring when you start getting more flowers will be really pretty 🙂

    May 20, 2013
    • It is pretty amazing, they have put a lot of thought into it. For a photographer there are so many different things to photograph. I hope to get there next spring to see if it is really colourful. Thank you Amanda.

      May 20, 2013
  49. Leanne, what a beautiful place … those water features are stunning … the second photo I really like with the dramatic sky as frame. I love the angle you have caught with the different level of the “tiles” CRGB 9 is another great photo. Also CRGB 3 ….

    May 20, 2013
    • They have done well with their water features, water is very prominent all around which is fantastic. The clouds and sky that day really added to it. It was brilliant. Thanks Viveka.

      May 20, 2013
      • Yes, you captured the water features excellent … and I love that they were in different levels … fantastic and interesting place. And the sky suited you very well … to get that touch of drama into your photo.

        May 20, 2013
      • Thanks Viveka.

        May 20, 2013
  50. I have nominated you for the Epically Awesome Award! See my post tomorrow, May 20th:
    homethoughtsfromabroad626.wordpress.com

    May 20, 2013
  51. Wonderful images, and place. Cranbrook Royal Botanical Gardens looks like part garden part art installation. I love the way the clouds have lent themselves to your wonderful almost the end of the world style… 😉

    May 20, 2013
    • HOw amazing is it EllaDee, I was so surprised, can’t believe I didn’t know about it. The clouds did a great job that day, they also didn’t rain too much, which was really nice too.

      May 20, 2013
  52. Reblogged this on ordyme and commented:
    love this cloudy

    May 20, 2013
  53. Reblogged this on Opeadepoju's Blog.

    May 20, 2013
  54. What an incredible place.

    May 21, 2013
    • It is an incredible place. It is so vast and so much to photograph.

      May 21, 2013
      • And you have some beautiful photographs of it too.

        May 21, 2013
      • Thank you.

        May 21, 2013
  55. hey! nice seeing these photos. They have come out great. 🙂

    May 24, 2013
    • Thank you, they did come out well, it was a great day, I am looking forward to seeing your photos. 🙂

      May 24, 2013
  56. Your photos of the gardens are so much better than mine – these are great. It poured the day I was there and I also resolved to go back when the weather is better and there is more in flower. Cheers Pip

    February 15, 2014
    • It wasn’t a great day when we went either, we said we would go back, but so far we haven’t, I do want to though. It is such a great place, though I imagine it will look better with time as well. Thanks Pip.

      February 16, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. ‘Summertime’ on a dreary Monday Downunder | Meeka's Mind

Comments are closed.

