Skip to content

Places Where Ghost Stories Start

Why is the basement always the scariest part of a building?

Okay, they are dark, they are dingy, but why would a ghost want to live in one?

Buildings, like the bluestone that belongs to Deaf Children Australia has an incredible basement, much like many of the old buildings have.  It is very large and I can see how it would be creepy, especially with the lights turned off.  Though it is not right into the ground and there are windows, so does that still qualify?

Down the Corridor in the Basement.On the DVD that Deaf Children Australia have produced they have ex students talking about their experiences there.  Many of the boys, well men now, talked about sitting up late at night and telling ghost stories.  They would then dare each other to go down to the basement.  They must have been terrified.  Though, scary noises wouldn’t have been a problem.

Playing Room WindowIt would have been good to be outside here, and made some commotion outside the windows, but not sounds, that wouldn’t have worked.  It is amazing the things they came up with to scare one another.

Window from the BathroomThis window is near the bath, there is one on the other side so when it is hot they can open both for a cool breeze, well they did when they used the bath.  I will put some other photos up at the end of some of these.  The basement is not really a maze, but there are lots of places for people to hide.

Meat LarderI have done quite a bit to this, but I really wanted to show it, the men on the DVD talk about how this room reminded them of a jail, and when they were children, they were scared of it.  It was the meat larder.  The door reminded them of bars.

I had a few people writing poems and stories in response to last weeks post on the dormitory and those photos.  So I am going to put the links to them here.

Lucy Williams Poetry

Bastet and Sekhmet

Svetlana Grobman: Writing With an Accent

A Poem and a Drawing a Day

I think that was all over them, so I hope you will go and see what they wrote in response to the images last week.

I also invite people to do the same with the basement images, what stories do the images conjure up for you.  Once again, link it back to me, so I can get the pingback or the reblogged notice and will include it in next weeks post.

Now here are some other images I have taken of the basement, not that many.

I look forward to hearing what you write about, some ghost stories might be fun.

103 Comments
  1. Awesome..:)

    May 22, 2013
  2. So interesting, and creepy. As a kid I was creeped out by the basement in our home. I always heard noises down there!

    May 22, 2013
    • I took my daughters down to that basement and they didn’t think it was scary at all, but maybe that was because the lights were turned on. Our homes don’t really have basements.

      May 22, 2013
    • John, please don’t scare me 😦

      May 22, 2013
  3. Reblogged this on snehafatehpuria18.

    May 22, 2013
  4. Love those window images. Here in my world there are few basements and the ghosts live in the creeks or the attics.

    May 22, 2013
    • Now isn’t that interesting, I wonder if the bluestone has a attic, I must find out.

      May 22, 2013
  5. Reblogged this on One Voice, Among Billions and commented:
    Great photography.

    May 22, 2013
  6. Really stupendous and yes…you could get a good ghost story out of this…I still have a fairy tale in the works…I’m having a bit to over scheduling at the mo and not being able to write as much as I’d like, sigh…but this too will pass! One of our fellow bloggers Barb Taub, was impressed by yesterday’s photo and has expressed the desire to write about the lady sitting in the gutter…she’s editing her book and doesn’t have oodles of time either. Are you aquainted with Barb? Her comment was on yesterday’s reblog of your photo.

    May 22, 2013
    • When you are ready, there is no hurry, after I read this I went and had a look, that is wonderful, can’t wait to see what she writes when she gets a chance. Thank you for all your support.

      May 22, 2013
      • Thanks for your generosity!

        May 22, 2013
      • Hey, I just post the photos, you are the ones being generous. I love it.

        May 22, 2013
      • 🙂

        May 22, 2013
  7. Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    This is awesome! I am so tempted by these photo…so many stories are possible here!

    May 22, 2013
  8. Cool post … that pool in the basement … hmmm

    May 22, 2013
    • It was the bath Mona, how cool is it? Though it meant being bathed with lots of others. Thanks

      May 22, 2013
  9. Sonel #

    Great shots Leanne and very ghostly too. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 *hugs*

    May 22, 2013
    • Thank you Sonel, I tried to make them look spooky.

      May 22, 2013
      • Sonel #

        You did a great job Leanne. Love them all! 🙂

        May 22, 2013
      • That is wonderful, thank you so much, hugs to you too 🙂

        May 22, 2013
  10. As Dame Edna would say:” Spooky Darling.”

    May 22, 2013
    • Or the Adams Family, its spooky and its creepy,

      May 22, 2013
      • Yes of cause but than the old Addams Family in Black and White The TV Series . Actually I was just quoting Dame Edna .

        May 22, 2013
      • Yeah, I know that, but when you said spooky it reminded me of the theme song to the Adams family, I was playing on your use of the word spooky. My kids do that all the time, one of them will say a word, and then the other will come up a sentence with a word that rhymes with that first word, and it continues until no more words that rhyme can be thought of, they come up with some very funny things.

        May 22, 2013
      • Is this still going on what you Kids do ? How Spooky I was doing it when I was a little Nipper.

        May 22, 2013
      • yep

        May 22, 2013
  11. Scary..

    May 22, 2013
  12. Wonderful. I wonder how many ghosts linger there!

    May 22, 2013
  13. Love the atmosphere of these photos – you can see why they’d think of ‘jail’ standing in front of that larder door!

    May 22, 2013
    • I thought the same thing, on the DVD they show it with light coming from the inside. Thanks Marie

      May 22, 2013
  14. Yup! I think some ghost stories started there! Nice series!

    May 22, 2013
    • I agree, how creepy is it? thank you.

      May 22, 2013
  15. That is sooo creepy…well taken (you have caught the atmosphere perfectly)

    May 22, 2013
    • Thank you, I did a bit of work in photoshop, but I am really happy with them.

      May 22, 2013
  16. My girl …. now you have got into the darkest corner of darkness *smile – I like it very much. Bathroom window and the “pool” (I think it’s) is my favorite, but they are all excellent – talk about feeling haunted when looking at the photos. Excellent job.

    May 22, 2013
    • Haha, these images really needed to be dark I think, so I am very glad you liked them. I like the creepiness of them. Thanks Viveka.

      May 22, 2013
  17. 1annecasey #

    You sure know how to set a spooky scene!!

    May 22, 2013
    • I have to admit, I thought it would be easy, but I had to do a bit of work on that first one, it was so light, I think it worked in the end. I should learn where the light switches are when I go. Thanks Anne

      May 22, 2013
      • 1annecasey #

        Funny!! All I see is complete spooookinesss!!

        May 22, 2013
      • That is great though, and I am really happy you find it very spooky.

        May 23, 2013
  18. Love the atmosphere you’ve managed to capture. Well done.

    May 22, 2013
  19. Creepy indeed. I could see a ghost strolling through there 🙂

    May 22, 2013
    • I have considered, making that happen. That could be fun. Thank you.

      May 23, 2013
  20. Yes, creepy (in a good way) – perhaps because it is one level closer to the underworld…

    May 23, 2013
    • Yes perhaps, it doesn’t look creepy now, but I can understand the kids being scared of it at night. Then it would be.

      May 23, 2013
  21. Yes, very spooky! I think for the children the atmosphere would be even creepier experiencing it in silence.
    Lisa

    May 23, 2013
    • Yes, not being able to hear what is there, also, I think they were told ghost stories first, so they were already creeped out, haha.
      Ahh kids.

      May 23, 2013
  22. Oh, lusciously creepy images, Leanne, beautifully worked to show all the creepy details, too!

    Long dark hallways, leading to a hint of light, yet no one really knows if something is beyond…as ghosts do not cast a shadow, I believe!

    May 23, 2013
    • Thank you 1000. I tried very hard to make them creepy and had to do a bit of work on a couple. Which I am sure you understand.
      I like that that ghosts don’t cast shadows.

      May 23, 2013
      • Great work, and very rewarding, isn’t it, Leanne, when you finally finish and smile with satisfaction that you achieved exactly what you wanted to?!?

        May 24, 2013
      • Yes, it is great, though if I were to go back, I think I would try turning off some lights and seeing if that makes a difference.

        May 24, 2013
      • Time will tell, won’t it? I’m certain you’ll have a chance to go back at some point….

        May 25, 2013
      • I need to organise to go back, I am starting to scrape the bottom of the barrel as the saying goes.

        May 25, 2013
      • I hear that! ;-D !!!

        May 27, 2013
      • This week, it has to be this week.

        May 27, 2013
  23. Wow what an amazing place

    May 23, 2013
  24. Reblogged this on Beyond Reason and commented:
    Very cool project…

    May 23, 2013
  25. I can’t help but snap a picture when I see a creepy old building. I have an album that I keep them in and have seen a few on ghost story reality TV. It is always fun to wander through these buildings. *Not something I endorse unless you are certain it is safe* Thanks for these photos they are incredible.

    May 23, 2013
    • That is true, you have to make sure they are safe, and if they are abandoned, don’t go alone.
      This building is used, and so it is safe to go down there, the real problem is trying to avoid some of the stuff that is dumped down there.

      May 23, 2013
      • I have seen a variety of things that are great to take creepy pictures of in basements and old buildings so I understand.

        May 23, 2013
  26. I like thinking of the playful antics of the children and would like to see those interviews! I enjoyed reading the poems people wrote and have started following these fellow Leanne Cole fans and writers. I have an idea for a story for this; if I ever get it written, I will let you know!

    May 23, 2013
    • I am trying to find out about getting some copies so I can put some on my blog, it is great to hear the stories.
      That is great to hear Nia, so glad you went and looked at them, they have written some lovely things.
      Yes, please do, would love to include something from you.

      May 23, 2013
  27. It’s the lack of light, that musty odor, the unusual sound heard that always seem to make a basement a bit more scary. Your photo set seems to have captured that feeling nicely. Well done.

    May 23, 2013
    • That is wonderful David, thank you, I like your reasons why a basement is creepy.

      May 23, 2013
  28. I love the question you put, “Why would ghosts want to live in one?” HAHA! I love that people are inspired by your shots and write stories about them! Really amazing. I’m also a writer, but not nearly creative enough to come up with anything interesting HAHA! I can’t wait to read these links! I love the shots of the windows, really beautiful.

    May 23, 2013
    • Write something Amanda, please, ghost stories are cool. It doesn’t matter, I love hearing what people write.
      But seriously, if you wouldn’t want to live in one, why would a ghost when they have the whole place to live in.
      Glad you are enjoying these, that is so good. Thanks Amanda

      May 23, 2013
      • Hahaha I will see what I come up with 🙂 you’re always such an encouraging person 😀

        May 23, 2013
      • I can’t wait, oh thank you 🙂

        May 23, 2013
  29. I really like these! The first with the stairs is my favourite 🙂

    May 23, 2013
    • Thank you, that is wonderful news, though I wish I had shot that one from above, umm, next time. 🙂

      May 23, 2013
  30. Windows do tame it down a bit, but a tale of terror could no doubt come out of it nevertheless. Basements are a rarity here, so they do fascinate.

    May 23, 2013
    • They are a rarity here as well, we don’t see many of them, but the big buildings like this, always have them. Thanks

      May 23, 2013
  31. Creepy!

    May 23, 2013
  32. Supremely creepy shots, Leanne. I loved them. Can’t imagine living there though.

    May 23, 2013
    • No I can’t either, thank you Richard

      May 23, 2013
  33. Margy Rydzynski #

    Reblogged this on Collectables and commented:
    Cool!

    May 23, 2013
  34. Matt Goldsmith #

    Leanne, every morning I get up and check my email and every day there’s a wordpress email about a new blog from you… I must admit that – with all the other emails I get on a regular occasion I just delete it.. there was a point before that I followed your blog and for some reason dropped off interest.. these photos piqued me again, thanks.. amazing photos, thanks for sharing

    May 23, 2013
    • That is a very honest comment Matt, I think it is like anything, interest comes and goes. I am finding my interest in doing this blog is similar, sometimes it is a chore and other times great. I am interested in doing some new work, and trying some new things, so how the blog will fit into that, well that is going to be interesting.
      These images are a great challenge to me. Photographing this building initially was a bit of worry, I didn’t know how I was going to approach it, and the images I put up were quite ordinary, but trying to match the building with the way the deaf children saw it, has made it so much more interesting for me, and I hope that also interests other people.

      May 23, 2013
  35. enjoyed your photographs…no ghost stories…a basement story…between the ages of birth and 4 1/2 I lived in a house with a basement. In the basement was a sump pump, I was warned not to go near it…there was no need for anyone to fear, the sump pump had water in it and I was deathly afraid if I fell in it I’d disappear. At most it was about 2 feet deep…hmmmmm!

    May 23, 2013
    • It is funny how basements evoke feelings of fear, though I think that the movie industry has a lot to do with that. I love your story, it is funny the things we think when we are children. Thank you.

      May 23, 2013
  36. great photos…I’ve never had an issue with my basement as a child but I did with the staircase, the runners on the stairs were open and I was always afraid a hand was going to come out and grab my ankle…funny what we think of as a child. I do think I would have been afraid of this basement, it is more dark and dungeon like than mine was as a child.

    May 23, 2013
    • Yes, it is very funny, I remember as a child hating windows at night, we lived on farms, and I was always afraid someone was watching me, so I would make sure the blinds were closed so no one could peak in.

      May 23, 2013
  37. Spooky, for sure! It sounds like you have a bit of an impish streak as well, with your mention about what it might have been like to be outside making noises, lol — some kids would probably have been REALLY scared (except for not being able to hear)!

    May 23, 2013
    • Yes, I do, I love sneaky outside and tapping on my daughters bedroom windows, scares them a bit, though not as much as it used to. The older one is very easy to scare.
      It would have been hard to work out how to scare them, when you think about it, as it would have to be visual. I am sure the kids had it worked out. Haha
      Thanks Becky.

      May 23, 2013
  38. Perfect location for ghostly tales. You’ve captured the scarey elements of all basements. Very nice, Leanne. ~~~ : – )

    May 24, 2013
    • Yes, I hope so, I was trying to capture them. Thank you.

      May 24, 2013
  39. lucywilliamspoetry #

    Thank you very much for featuring my poem : )

    May 26, 2013
    • Oh thank you for writing it Lucy, it was wonderful.

      May 26, 2013
  40. yeah….. pretty creepy. 🙂

    May 28, 2013
  41. the last one with the pool…… was the crrepiest. really. scary.
    that reminds me of a abandoned building of the school I studied when I was little. Heck it was so scary.

    May 31, 2013
    • Can you believe that pool was their bath?
      A lot of people have thought it was it was an abandoned building, though very far from it. I think this would be very creepy if it was abandoned.

      May 31, 2013

Comments are closed.

