Skip to content

Up the Driveway

This morning I drove back to the Bluestone that belongs to Deaf Children Australia on St Kilda Road to take more photos.  I have concentrated on taking photos of the inside, but today, it was a gorgeous day, so I went over to take some of the actual Bluestone.

Leanne Cole - Bluestone

This is the view as you come up the driveway and before you enter the circular drive. Autumn is nearly over and many of the trees have or are still losing their leaves.  It looks so impressive.  It is a great driveway to go up to a building.  Though you can’t really drive up it now as it is blocked off.

Stan BatsonI took many photos around it and will show you more over the coming weeks.  Today I am going to attempt to attach a PDF file that contains a story for you to read that was written by an ex student.  He has written about his experiences as a small boy going to the school.  That is him on the right, Stan.

Let’s see if I can work out how to do this.  Stan Batson’s Story, hopefully that works.  So please read his story, it is really compelling and helps us with hearing understand what it must have been like for those that don’t have any.

The image above, I am sure is one that Stan would have seen when he first arrived, this massive impressive building, and having no idea what was going to happen to him here.

So thank you Stan for your story.

Remember if you would like to help Deaf Children Australia and the restoration of the Blueston then you can Donate Here.

52 Comments
  1. Excellent!

    May 29, 2013
  2. Wow 😀 Amazing grand house 😀

    May 29, 2013
    • It is an amazing place, though, it was built to be a school for the Deaf. I just love it. 🙂

      May 29, 2013
      • Wow 🙂 Quite unexpected

        May 29, 2013
      • Bluestone was a pretty popular building material during the 1800’s, like brick is now, or maybe cement, yes, if they were building it today it would be built with cement slabs.

        May 29, 2013
      • 🙂

        May 30, 2013
  3. How beautiful, and if they were building it now it wouldn’t have all those beautiful roof shapes and pretty details on the building….a squarish concrete block no doubt.
    I often wonder if anyone will be taking pictures of anything we build now!

    May 29, 2013
    • Yes, I totally agree, some soulless building that would be ugly from the get go. Maybe we would take photos, but we would be taking photos as examples of bad architecture, or lazy design.

      May 29, 2013
  4. i love stan’s story, thanks so much for sharing )

    May 29, 2013
    • YOu are very welcome, I am really glad you liked it.

      May 29, 2013
  5. Stan’s story is an inspiration. I have a profoundly hearing impaired child in my class and it is extraordinary to watch him communicating with his Auslan teacher aide and being a normal boy in our class. He is so clever and works so hard. I feel privileged to be his teacher.

    May 29, 2013
    • What a fantastic response Carol, that is so lovely. I am so glad I included Stan’s story.

      May 29, 2013
      • It’s been a new experience for me and so rewarding. I only wish Stan could have had the opportunities that my lovely little boy has.

        May 29, 2013
      • I think that is one thing you can read in Stan’s voice, is the regret about that.

        May 29, 2013
  6. I loved reading his story thank you

    May 29, 2013
  7. So glad you shared his story!

    May 29, 2013
    • I should have done it while ago, but I like doing it with a photo as well.

      May 30, 2013
  8. That is one magnificent photo of the home. Beautiful building.

    May 29, 2013
    • Thank you, I got quite a few yesterday, so I am looking forward to showing more.

      May 30, 2013
      • I’m looking forward to see them. *smile

        May 30, 2013
  9. Pat #

    Mr. Batson’s story is very enlightening. It’s interesting to read about how things have changed over the years.

    May 29, 2013
    • Yes, it sounds like they have changed a lot. The Education department now looks after the education of deaf children, so they would make sure that people are educated well, or rather we hope they do. It is a great story.

      May 30, 2013
  10. I love the appearance of this building, both inside and out…it was wonderful to read Stan’s article…sounds as though it was difficult for deaf children in his time…rather sad really, but he seems to have done well in spite of what he lived.

    May 29, 2013
    • I find you can hear regret, as far as education goes, but he is very positive and doesn’t seem to blame his deafness for anything, in many ways, it seems like he got a lot more because of it, that doesn’t sound right, but he is inspirational because he didn’t let it hold him back. It is so different now for deaf children, much different world.

      May 30, 2013
  11. Thank you Leanne for taking the time to share this.
    I’ve had the privilege of working with many deaf and hard-of-hearing and their stories of perseverance, patience and forgiveness never seize to amaze me.

    May 30, 2013
    • There was no time involved, I am just glad that I finally did.
      I think you can feel a lot of that in Stan’s story as well.

      May 30, 2013
  12. Fantastic long view from the driveway. Stan’s story was a great read.

    May 30, 2013
    • It is a very long view, I have others taken even further back. I didn’t get time to process them yesterday, but I might do one starting from the gate, going all the way to the building. Glad you enjoyed Stan’s story.

      May 30, 2013
  13. Suggest you replace the link with this one:
    https://leannecole.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/121130-stan-batson.pdf
    Then, in the post that link takes one to, put the ‘121130 Stan Batson’ into a far larger font.
    As things stand, it is a bit confusing.

    May 30, 2013
    • I thought it was too, so thank you for thank, hopefully better now. I haven’t changed the font, but I did change the name of it. I haven’t done anything like this before, so if I do it again, I will have to remember that. Thanks colonialist.

      May 30, 2013
  14. artscottnet #

    Thanks for aharing this 🙂 Excellent

    May 30, 2013
    • You are very welcome, I am very glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      May 30, 2013
  15. I have to say, Leanne, that Stan’s story brought on tears…the poor man missed so much, yet made the absolute most of what he had (has?). It’s great of you to place his story before all of us, the artists of the world…who seem to understand much more about life than most.

    The view you’ve presented is quite impressive–I hadn’t realized from your other images that the school was so large and sprawling. What a beautiful place for the children…I’m certain they ‘heard’ Nature at its best!

    May 30, 2013
    • He always seem to remain positive, make the best of it. It is a wonderful way to live, I wish I could be more like that.
      It is an impressive building, and as they say “you ain’t seen nothing yet”. I have other photos that show a lot more. Looking forward to showing them.

      May 30, 2013
      • Waiting patiently, as I truly admire your images of this marvelous building, Leanne! Wish I had $$$$ to be able to contribute…unfortunately not, but I will follow and eventually feature the progress (via a link to your images) as they begin the restoration–if that’s okay with you?

        May 30, 2013
      • I think we all do what we can 1000 and that would be perfectly fine, no problem at all.

        May 31, 2013
      • Most days I’m very satisfied with my low amount of $$$, Leanne, but this is one instance where I wish I had a fortune…so I could make this renovation happen ASAP!!!

        June 1, 2013
      • I hear you, it would look so beautiful, not that it doesn’t already. It would be nice to be able to help in a major way.

        June 1, 2013
      • Sure would!

        June 2, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 2, 2013
  16. I love that photo of Stan. His eyes are so expressive. The link by colonialist worked for me. I will read it but not tonight as it is late. I’m looking forward to it for my character study for the story I dreamed up.

    As for the donation, it didn’t look like a direct donation to restoring the bluestone, but I will look at that more closely too. I want it to go to the bluestone restoration. If we all give a little, it will really add up. You have a lot of followers.

    May 30, 2013
    • I changed the link in the post as well Nia, it is very long and it is a fairly easy read. The photo of Stan is great, it isn’t one I took, the DCA let me use it. I might have to see if I can take some photos myself.
      I don’t know about the donation page Nia. I can find out. I think it is all going in the same place at the moment, though they may be setting up one just for that, but I don’t know. I will find out.

      May 30, 2013
  17. So great to rad about Stan’s upbringing. So different from today!

    May 31, 2013
    • Very different, it is sad in some ways, but he is so positive, I love how he never let his deafness stop him.

      June 1, 2013
  18. Wow…. that’s an amazing place. I can see how you could find many angles there to photograph! 😀 Have a good weekend!

    May 31, 2013
    • How cool is it, so much fun to go there and take photos. You have a good one too Keli, the forecast is for rain, rain, rain oh yeah, and perhaps some more rain. It hasn’t stopped raining since yesterday, but it is nice. 🙂

      June 1, 2013
  19. poppytump #

    Stan’s story should be read . It is as you say compelling Leanne . One can hear the regret about some of the lost opportunities but no sense of real bitterness with his lot. He did make the best of his life and its obvious from what he has been involved with as a volunteer that he has enabled more to do the same with the extra skills and knowledge available in todays world .
    Look forward to more of your images . Being driven up this grand entrance and seeing that School at the end must have filled some of the children with alot of apprehension I imagine .

    June 1, 2013
    • I have to agree with you have said about Stan’s story, totally, while he seems disappointed at some things, for the most part he was very happy with his life.
      I am looking forward to showing more, it is a great place.

      June 1, 2013
  20. Reblogged this on Sherry's Space.

    August 1, 2013

Comments are closed.

