Skip to content

Yvette

It is cold here today and very wet.  I spent the day in the city with my photography friend and most of the time we spent it trying to stay dry.  Happy that I got some images for my weekend posts, but has made me very late for my post today.  Though it hasn’t changed what I am going to show you.

Leanne Cole - Yvette 1Yvette got a tattoo a short time back and she asked if I could photograph it for her.  Let me tell it wasn’t an easy thing to do.  It was a lot harder than I thought it would be.  It goes right down the middle of her back, and while, I knew she would like some of just the tattoo, I also wanted to get some of her as well.

This is one of the first I took.  I love the pose and the lighting.  The tattoo doesn’t stand out a lot, but you can see it and you can see her as well.

She wasn’t comfortable with the photos when we first took them and she was feeling very self conscious.  I did some work to them on the computer and then emailed the above one to her and she rang to tell me that she loved it.  I wasn’t going to use them  on here, but she was so happy with them, she said I could, should.

Leanne Cole - Yvette 2This is the image of just the tattoo without any real reference to her.  I was also happy with this one.  This one is to show you exactly what the tattoo looks like.

It was an interesting photoshoot, trying to photograph someone who was not sure about it all.  In the end it all turned out fine.

I am liking photographing people.  It is a wonderful experience and I can’t wait to do more.  I have been working on my price list, it is getting there, but still some things to sort out.  So much to work out.

Shoes

Remember a few weeks back I told you about a pair of shoes that I ordered from Tobias-Mayer and they never arrived, well they have, just two days ago.  I never heard why, or why they never responded to my emails.  They just sent an email to say they had been shipped.  I have to wonder if it was because I said something on here, and sent them a link.  I also told them that I had all the time in the world to find places on the internet to leave bad reviews, which is what I did, I found quite a few places to do that.  I suppose that makes me nuts, but it was over a hundred dollars.  Anyway, they have sent the shoes.  I suppose we will never know what the reason for it was, but I know I won’t be buying from them again.

98 Comments
  1. Lovely photos. You’ll get more confident about working with people and photographing them as you get more customers.

    Glad you got your shoes.

    May 30, 2013
    • Yes, I am sure you are right, some experience will help a lot. Thanks you.
      I am glad too about the shoes.

      May 30, 2013
  2. Love the second shot, lighting is lovely. It’s a cracking tattoo, practically a perfect copy of the Mucha original. Might be worth a chat witht he artist, see if they want some publicity copies.

    May 30, 2013
    • Thank you, I will tell Yvette see if she wants to do that.

      May 30, 2013
  3. Strictly Vivid Photography #

    Beautiful photos and I love the tattoo!!

    May 30, 2013
    • The tattoo is quite amazing. Thank you.

      May 30, 2013
  4. What a fantastic tattoo!
    Sorry- but the first picture doesn’t really do it for me I’m afraid. I’m not sure about the pose as her head/face look a slightly odd shape/out of proportion.
    The second one is smashing though and, as an image, it doesn’t matter that you can’t see her face. The shapes in the composition are well balanced and the tones/textures are really lovely.

    May 30, 2013
    • That’s okay Noeline, I can live with that, she did and that is what is important, though like you, I think she likes the second one more. Thank you.

      May 30, 2013
  5. Pretty well done.

    May 30, 2013
  6. Love the image, I’m no expert on this and forgive me for being so bold as to mention it, but I can’t help looking at the panty line in both photos….somehow I would drape the cloth more down the back and not tuck into the model’s nickers…it’s quite a distraction. The tattoo and your interpretation of the portrait are brilliant. Well done. Regards Angela

    May 30, 2013
    • The problem was how down it goes and did try draping the fabric around, but it wasn’t working, she had the wrong knickers on and neither of us wanted them removed. So we made do. Though the second image it wasn’t tucked in, you could see them in it, but I did some work on the fabric to move it up. Thanks Angela.

      May 30, 2013
  7. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Well done.

    May 30, 2013
  8. I don’t usually like tattoos, but that’s an Alphonse Mucha, and it’s the first time I’ve ever seen anyone with a Mucha tattoo, so that’s pretty cool in my flu-soaked opinion.

    May 30, 2013
    • I don’t know anything about that, sorry, but I just looked them up and you are probably right, I must ask her next time. I’m with you on tattoos.
      I hope you get better Brian.

      May 30, 2013
  9. The second shot is my favourite. Sows off her tattoo more.

    May 30, 2013
    • Thanks Colline, that one seems to be more popular

      May 30, 2013
  10. Well that’s a beautiful tattoo. I don’t usually like them but do appreciate those that are such incredible art forms. My brother-in-law does amazing ones too. Thanks for showing this.

    May 30, 2013
    • I am sure she is going to be very happy hearing that. They can be incredible forms of art. You are welcome.

      May 30, 2013
  11. I loved the photos and your description of each phase…you are as good at shooting people as you are with landscapes et al…well rounded talent you have! And good for you about the shoes! If one doesn’t stick up for their rights in this dog eat dog … good move!

    May 30, 2013
    • Thank you Bastet, it is great fun, I am looking forward to doing more. I agree about the shoes, I am glad I did that.

      May 30, 2013
  12. Amazing tattoo! Great picture too Leanne.

    May 30, 2013
    • Thanks Sadhna, I think she is happy with them.

      May 30, 2013
  13. PS. I glad the shoes have finally arrived. X

    May 30, 2013
  14. I’ve always had mixed feelings about tattoos, but this is a tremendous one and a great reproduction of Mucha’s work.

    I really like these two pictures. I can relate completely to working with people, I had the same issues when I first did life drawing.

    With persistence and good models, it does get easier.

    May 30, 2013
    • It is quite a remarkable piece of artwork.
      Thank you, and yes, I do hope it will get easier, I know it will, I just need to get better at it all.

      May 30, 2013
  15. It’s a wonderful mix of art and portraiture. Great work.

    May 30, 2013
    • Thank you, interesting session.

      May 31, 2013
  16. Ed #

    Superb shots and that is one intricate tatoo.

    May 30, 2013
    • Thanks Ed, it took a few appointments I believe to get it.

      May 31, 2013
  17. these are gorgeous shots Leanne…I like both for different reasons…the first because she looks rather sad, a candid shot, which appeals to me and the second as it shows the tat off beautifully…

    May 30, 2013
    • Thank you Heather, that is so good to hear.

      May 31, 2013
  18. The tatoo is a piece of Art and first portrait is awesome. I like it a lot.

    May 30, 2013
    • Thank you, it is a pretty incredible piece of art.

      May 31, 2013
  19. The first shot is very nice. Peaceful and pondering. Unfortunately the tattoo is so striking it distracts me when I look at that image. I wonder if you were to do another photo if there is any way to work the tattoo into an overall “story” in the image so it complements instead of competes?

    In the second the tattoo dominates so you don’t have anything competing for attention. Very well staged and lit.

    May 30, 2013
    • The first shoot I wanted to show that there was a person behind it, so to speak, where as the second one was about the tattoo. We thought the tattoo was a bit faded in the first, interesting to hear what you have said. There might have been a way, but she wanted me to photo the tattoo, so that is what I concentrated on. I am planning on doing another shoot with Yvette, but the tattoo won’t be the subject of it. So stay tuned, haha.

      May 31, 2013
  20. artwork…wonderful stages…

    May 30, 2013
  21. One: this tattoo is beautiful (says someone who’d never have one!), two: your photos are exquisite! I like the first one a little bit more.

    May 31, 2013
    • I am the same with tattoos, but it is a good one. Thank you, I like that one too, I like the way she is leaning against the chair.

      May 31, 2013
  22. talesfromthelou #

    Stunning

    May 31, 2013
  23. artscottnet #

    Beautiful artwork on the tattoo and the photos are spectacular — glad you got the shoes.

    May 31, 2013
    • The tattoo artist did a great job, I have to agree, and thank you. I am glad about the shoes too.

      May 31, 2013
  24. I think these are very successful photos, each in its own way. The first is more of a mood because it shows the person’s face, and the second more illustrative. I’m glad she is happy with them too.

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you Marilyn, she was very happy, which is always great. It was a very hard shoot to do, on many different levels, so I was very happy with what we got.

      May 31, 2013
  25. Both beautiful! Nice work. And the tattoo artist deserves credit, too!

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you Anne, I agree, the tattoo artist did a great job.

      May 31, 2013
  26. Fabulous shots!!! Great job!!!

    May 31, 2013
  27. Beautiful tattoo and photos!

    May 31, 2013
    • It is a great tattoo, and thank you.

      May 31, 2013
  28. Enjoyed this post! Portraits can be incredibly difficult and incredibly rewarding at the same time; I like how you described the process so honestly. I don’t normally care for tattoos, but this one is impressive. We saw Mucha’s work at the Municipal House in Prague – breathtakingly beautiful stuff. I may need to post some images.

    May 31, 2013
    • It has been interesting reading people’s reactions to the tattoo, I think Yvette would love all this. I have to admit, the tattoo seemed familiar but I was unsure of where I had seen it.
      Portraits can be hard, it is something I am learning to do more of, which is great. Thank you Carolyn

      May 31, 2013
  29. Sonel #

    Just love the tattoo and you did such a great job in capturing it so well Leanne! Really! Re : the shoes … I do that as well when I am not satisfied with the service I’m getting and then they start getting worried. So sad that they are not only losing a valued customer like yourself but many others. I know I won’t be buying online from them for sure! Thanks for sharing hon. 🙂 *hugs*

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you Sonel, that is great to hear.
      It is terrible that you have go to such lengths to just get what you paid for. I think these companies sometimes think it is okay because they have your money, what can you do about it, but as the internet brought them the business it can also be used to give them an incredibly bad name. I wish I had done some research before hand. If I had, I would never have ordered with them.

      May 31, 2013
      • Sonel #

        It sure is Leanne but well, they have to learn their lessons as well. We as the clients have every right to complain and to expect what we paid for. I hope they learned their lesson. 🙂 Have a great day and weekend hon! *big hugs*

        May 31, 2013
      • Some how I doubt it after the things I have read, they have a very bad reputation, and they have brought that on themselves.
        You have a great weekend too.

        May 31, 2013
  30. The first photo seems the better approach, since it conveys the whole person, rather than a disembodied tattoo that could be on almost anyone. A possible improvement to the composition might be the same pose reversed, so she is looking over her right shoulder, in the same direction as the subject in the tattoo. The dark background (halo effect?) in the second photo is quite appealing, though, so maybe you can combine elements of both if you try another session. (BTW, the watermark on the chair in the first photo is less distracting than the one in the second.)

    An interesting departure from your recent work — all great stuff!

    May 31, 2013
    • We tried doing what you suggested John, but the light was coming from the wrong way and then you couldn’t really see her back. I might have a look at them again. I agree, when you see it it does look better.
      Thanks John, I’m having a lot of fun with this.

      May 31, 2013
  31. Hello Leanne,
    Beautiful tattoo and stunning images of it. Well done to you. I wonder if it was created in a single sitting? I’ve just no idea about these things, but what a piece of art in itself.BTW I’ve just put the pics of Aussie Chelsea celebration up, but guess you’ve seen them,
    BW
    Julian

    May 31, 2013
    • Julian, the tattoo was done in several sittings, I think it was either 2 or 3. I was surprised at how long it took. Yes, but I am going to go back and take a closer look, Thanks for letting me know.
      Thanks Julian.

      May 31, 2013
  32. Excellent photos. The tattoo is a work of art! And good for you about being persistent in complaining about a product you never received!

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you, it is a pretty incredible tattoo. I am so glad I did it, I thought I would be wasting my time, but I am glad I persisted.

      May 31, 2013
  33. Tom C #

    That’s a fairly spectacular tattoo!

    May 31, 2013
  34. That’s a beautiful tattoo. And really nicely captured! I’m really enjoying your people shots.

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I am enjoying this, and can’t wait to do more.

      May 31, 2013
  35. Leanne, Your work is outstanding. The first portrait shows her reluctance and it is beautiful. The second is a beautiful way to show the tattoo. You are an artist.

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you Anne, I am trying to do more than just take a portrait, so that is great to hear, music to my ears, or is that to my eyes?

      May 31, 2013
  36. Wonderful photos, and I’m very happy to hear about the shoes 🙂 yay to blogging power!

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you, and yes, it was great that they showed up. and yes, yay to blogging power. Thank goodness.

      May 31, 2013
  37. Lovely, true colors here, Leanne, but with a certain ‘softness’…and I don’t mean the focus. I guess what I want to say is that you have achieved a very ‘romantic’ look here, and though Yvette may have been nervous, it really doesn’t show.

    This reminds me more of art class, drawing draped nudes, but with colored pencils–and all the subtlety that they can provide.

    A wonderfully simple composition with ‘perfect’ lighting and, WOW, what a tattoo–OUCH!

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you 1000, it was a great experience, and I thought they had a romantic feel about them as well.
      I like what you have said about the art class, it is an interesting idea. Coloured pencils can we so wonderful to draw with.
      Thanks again, and yes, wow, pretty amazing tattoo.

      May 31, 2013
  38. Belle collection d’art. La présentation du modèle est superbe.

    Bien sûr, une femme avec de l’encre est un plus ravissante à tout portefeuille.

    Merci pour le partage.

    May 31, 2013
    • C’est formidable, je vous remercie, je n’avais pas pensé à des femmes avec de l’encre comme ça avant. Idée intéressante.
      J’espère que vous pouvez comprendre cela, vois à quel point Google Translate est.

      May 31, 2013
      • Merci.

        Je comprends ce que vous avez écrit, et je suis plus qu’heureux que vous voyez cet art d’une manière nouvelle.

        Comme vous l’avez vu sur mon blog, nous avons mis en évidence le style de vie retro ‘encré et sexy », et j’ai trouvé vos photos et de votre modèle, pour être un bon représentant de cet art de l’encre.

        Aimez votre travail, Leanne.

        June 1, 2013
      • Merci beaucoup.

        June 1, 2013
  39. Beautiful tattoo beautifly captured Leanne. 🙂

    May 31, 2013
    • Thanks John, it is a pretty cool tatto.

      May 31, 2013
  40. Amazing photos and the tattoo is superb! 🙂

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you, and yes the tattoo is fantastic. 🙂

      May 31, 2013
  41. Leanne, the top picture here is very well done. It works as a picture, quite apart from showing the tattoo. Beautiful tones. Adrian

    May 31, 2013
    • Thank you Adrian, that is what I was thinking as well.

      June 1, 2013
  42. I think they are amazing photos. I like the first one the most. It’s very graceful. I’ve been doing life drawing and I immediately wanted to try and draw that.

    June 1, 2013
    • That is a wonderful compliment Nia, thank you. I like the first one too, I think she looks so relaxed and beautiful.

      June 1, 2013
  43. Reblogged this on Priyanka Nandy and commented:
    Because this is a lovely picture, and would make a great painting. All painters in the reading queue, try your hand at this!

    Thanks for this lovely shot, Leanne 🙂

    June 1, 2013
  44. That’s a very nice tattoo and it’s nicely captured as well. It can be tricky to photograph tattoos, because you always have to watch the light so that it doesn’t create too much reflections in the skin.

    June 1, 2013
    • Thank you, it was the first time I have done it, but I was pretty happy with it.

      June 1, 2013
  45. The tattoo looks 3-D…very good work! ~ Sheila

    June 3, 2013
    • Thank you Sheila, it was one of the toughest things I have ever photographed, so that is good to hear.

      June 3, 2013
  46. Nice photos. I want to appolgize for taking so long to respond, my internet is slower th dial-up. Some times it takes an hour to open three or four emails.

    June 19, 2013
    • Thank you, OMG, that must drive you crazy, no need to apologise, thank you for checking it.

      June 19, 2013

Comments are closed.

