Skip to content

Playing in the Park

This afternoon I went out with my first model, Sandra, and we had a lot of fun playing in the park.  That is what it was like.  I know she really enjoyed herself and because of the type of photos I was taking she didn’t feel self conscious.

Leanne Cole - Sandra 1We played with the umbrella, and because it is Autumn here we did a lot of stuff with leaves.  It was a very picturesque place that we went to.  I haven’t been to this spot for a while, but I think I will use it quite a bit.  I can imagine it will be a great spot all year round.  It is also quite large.

I have played with the image a bit, though I have done it rather quickly.  I played with the colours a bit, something new I have recently discovered how to do.

I do like this, I like the sense of fun in it.

Leanne Cole - Sandra 2This was another quick one too.  While she was wearing the cloak, I took a few close ups, I knew they wouldn’t take me long to process, so here is one.  As I said, she was having a lot of fun and I think she was having a hard time not smiling.

The cloak was very rough, as in the way I made it.  I put it together with safety pins, but it worked, it wasn’t great but for this image it worked really well.  So I want to reassure Marsha that she didn’t get stuck with a pin.

So that is the first model done, just need to work on the images now.  I now have a full weekend of photos ahead of me.  I am pretty excited, especially if they all turn out to be as much fun as this one.  Sandra was great, she was prepared to have a go at anything I suggested and did it with a smile.  Thank you Sandra.

My Fine Art Portraiture business is slowly coming together.

Nikon

I got some equipment recently, my new Nikon Speedlight SB-910 arrived.  I haven’t had much of a chance to use it much, but what I have used has been great.  I got it so that I could use one flash as the master and the other as the slave, so one would set off the other.  I am hoping it will make my still lifes easier to do.  So thank you to the people at the Nikon Store.  They have been great to deal with.

94 Comments
  1. I think this shoot is really good, you are combining what you do best, with what you want to do (in my opinion), and it really shows..

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you, it was a great experience, I just need to work on more images now. More playing, how good is that.

      June 6, 2013
      • You have to admit, the thought of playing for a living has to be attractive.. I have to admit that i think you are a lot closer to it than I am 🙂

        June 6, 2013
      • Oh yes, I can admit that, and I hope you are right. 🙂

        June 6, 2013
      • Two chances.. 😀

        June 6, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 6, 2013
  2. I love your photographs. They are unqiue. A lot of photographers say their work is unqiue, but it isn’t. Your’s has a dark, gothic quality to it that broods whilst never being heavy. It’s a geat balance. Just thought I’d let you know.

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you Brian, I think I needed to hear that, it is always a bit nerve racking when you start doing new work. I love it, and it is great to hear that others like it too.

      June 6, 2013
  3. Wonderful and unique photographs. Great results!

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you Anette, that is so wonderful hear.

      June 6, 2013
  4. Dear Leanne,

    My name is PAULETTE LE PORE MOTZKO and I was moved by the subjects in your photos and also the way you captured them.
    I am a writer, photographer and marketing consultant in Orange County, CA.

    I was a master piano teacher married to a rocket scientist……
    Time has a way of changing us, a little bit at a time.
    Some of my web sites are as follows. I shared this post on my site called “Photos That Inspire Words”.
    http://www.PhotosThatInspireWords.wordpress.com.

    Where are you located?
    If you are ever short of subjects, I will gladly be one!
    I can keep a straight face if you want a more somber expression.

    Totally Inspired Mind
    http://www.TotallyInspiredPC.wordpress.com

    Cooking Up a Storm With Miss Polly
    http://www.CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com

    June 6, 2013
    • Hi Paulette, I’m in Melbourne Australia, I think that is a bit too far away.
      It is always great to see that people like new work that I have been doing, so thank you so much for that.

      June 6, 2013
  5. Reblogged this on Photos That Inspire Words.

    June 6, 2013
  6. Love the portrait of a woman, it’s packed with mystery!

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you, that is great to hear.

      June 6, 2013
  7. evi #

    wow, great pictures! i really like the one with the umbrella!

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you, it a fun image and it was done on the spare of the moment. I was walking through the leaves and noticed I was kicking them, so I told her to do that, turned out great.

      June 6, 2013
  8. These are wonderful! Love the cape, and the effect it has. You needn’t tell anyone it was held together with pins! 😉
    Do you know anyone with girls in the 11 to 14 age range? They would be great for some fairy tale-inspired shoots…which is what the cape brought to mind for me! Give her a glossy red apple, she’s Snow White. A basket with a cloth tucked around, and she’s Red Riding Hood…That park is perfect, too!

    June 6, 2013
    • Hey can you believe the cape was a deep blue colour, I’ve been having so much fun changing the colours on things. I am pretty proud of my effort, might have to see if I can make it for real. It could be a great prop.
      Funny you should say that, I am hoping to be doing a shot on the weekend of a girl who is going to be Red Riding Hook, only she is almost 18, but I am hoping she will do it with attitude, she would stand up to the wolf, and she wouldn’t be fooled for a second. Some fun times a head, I can’t wait. 🙂

      June 6, 2013
  9. 1annecasey #

    Beautiful images!

    June 6, 2013
  10. Great photos Leanne. I love the second one. It’s very natural 🙂

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you, we had so much doing them, she really enjoyed the experience, so I have very fond memories of it.

      June 6, 2013
  11. In spite of Mary Poppins, few people seem to find the element of fun in what they do. Well done for getting it right – that is the best way for genius to blossom!

    June 6, 2013
    • It was fun, and I know she really enjoyed that too, it was fun to do some images that didn’t depend on how she looked. Thanks colonialist.

      June 6, 2013
  12. Love both shots! Really beautiful and the umbrella shot has such a fun feel to it! Fantastic!

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you that is wonderful. I think she felt like a kid on a park, and I go some many things, so it was fantastic.

      June 7, 2013
  13. I think that by having that little bit of action in the photo it made it a lot more interesting than a static picture would have been.

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you, I think that is very true, it did add more, I have more action shots, I just haven’t processed them yet.

      June 7, 2013
  14. Great, this is a wonderful scene – love the lighting and color. It works perfectly – looks so natural.

    June 6, 2013
    • Thank you Mary, great to hear you liked it.

      June 7, 2013
  15. Pat #

    Lovely shots!

    June 6, 2013
  16. Great shots. Love the “antique” coloring in the first shot and how the face is so “prominent” with the coloring you used in the second photo.

    June 7, 2013
    • Thank you Melanee, I am having some fun playing with colour and seeing what I can do. I think this kind of thing does suit me.

      June 7, 2013
  17. Leanne, with your artistic eye and talent, you won’t have much trouble building a successful portrait business! I love the cloak shot! Beautiful.

    June 7, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, that is what I am hoping for, that people will see that they will get something more artistic. I love the idea of the cloak as well, I might have to get it made properly. LOL

      June 7, 2013
      • I have a pattern! Mind you, it is very worn out. I’ve made my daughter many, many cloaks. She is a Big Lord of the Rings nerd and has worn cloaks for many years. I finally made her a heavy one out of carpetbag material! She kept wearing a flimsy one in the dead of winter! Thanks Darla

        June 7, 2013
      • That would be fantastic, can you copy it and send it to me, LOL, it is okay if it too hard. I love cloaks in photos, they can represent so many different things, and if you pick the right colour, you can change it to any colour. Are they hard to make? My only problem would be the sewing machine, not sure if out would cope, but I am going to my mum’s soon. Oh, I could get my mum to make it for me, mmm, brilliant idea.

        June 7, 2013
      • The pattern is HUGE not to mention about the consistancy of a tissue at this point, I’ve used it for over 15 years! But check online (one of the pattern places, Mine was a Very Easy Very Vouge # 7110.
        Like I said, this one is very old, but with all the LOTR fandom, there are bound to be others out there. I got mine at Wal Mart years ago. Do you have Wal Marts in your neck of the woods?
        I’ve made them simple, lined and even a white one with a fur trip hood for one of my daughter’s wedding.
        I agree, brilliant idea – let mum make it! That’s what my daughter’s did until they all finally got machines!

        June 8, 2013
      • Yes, I can imagine how big it is. I’ve been looking at patterns on the internet. So many different ones out there. I should ask my mum first, we are going up to see her soon, so will see what she says. So what did you make it out of, what fabric?

        June 8, 2013
      • I made one out of a really thin, flowing crushed velvet (blue) and one out of a snowy white crepe fabric (the wedding one) and then I made one out of a thick, heavy upholstery fabric and lined it with satin. I’ve made some others as well.

        June 13, 2013
      • I got a remnant of some fabric last week, it is quite thick, 2 metres by about 2 metres for $4 and I thought I would make a cloak out of it, so I have been looking for a pattern, found one yesterday but they didn’t have it in stock, you comment reminded me to look on ebay and have just purchased one. I am going to get a very cheap cloak now. I will have to line it though. I have sort of made one with crushed velvet, very dodgy, but I find the fabric is too light and the hood won’t stay on their heads, it just keeps sliding off. I have so much of that fabric, I might try a real cloak, see how that goes. Thanks for the inspiration Darla.

        June 13, 2013
      • It takes about 6 yards of fabric for a cloak – a yard is three feet by 60 inches here in the states. I don’t know how that translates, I’m awful with metric.
        You could just line the hood, in fact, my pattern has the hood lined with the same material because often the hood is down and you can see it from behind.
        Good luck, Post a photo when you get it done, I’m anxious to see it. I’m still learning at photography, but I learned to sew when I was a kid and can sew “just about” anything – if I’m not too lazy. Still hate zippers! 🙂

        June 17, 2013
      • Hahaha, I hate zippers too. Why that is a lot of fabric, I haven’t got the pattern yet, so hopefully I have enough, though sounds like I won’t. I like the idea of lining the hood with the same fabric, would make it heavier too, I find with the one I put together that it keeps falling off. I will post a photo, it will be on someone I hope. I learned to sew as a kid too, and I do some now and then, but I never had the patience for it. Thanks Darla.

        June 18, 2013
  18. Beautiful images, so color rich. This is going to work for you.

    June 7, 2013
    • That means a lot Anne, thank you, you can see now the type of thing I want to do. I hope people will want this kind of thing.

      June 7, 2013
  19. I love it!!!! So original, fun and beautifu!

    June 7, 2013
    • Thank you, it was a lot of fun, and she is beautiful, and a really good model. 🙂

      June 7, 2013
  20. poppytump #

    oh Leanne this is … ah just so for you this type of phototgraphy shoot . So successful in your execution of taking the photo and playing with it .
    Red Riding Hood with attitude standing up to the BBWolf.. oh bring it on 😉

    June 7, 2013
    • Thank you Poppytump, it really was a great day, I finally got to shoot some. I was a bit cheeky too, Sandra is the mother of one my daughters friends, and I thought it would make some of the girls go, I want my photo taken. I think it is starting to work. I am having a ball. I cam hoping to do the one you said on Saturday afternoon. Oh yeah, bring it on, I can’t wait to see what else I get. 🙂

      June 7, 2013
  21. Love these – the second one has Mona Lisa like look to it – what’s behind the smile??

    June 7, 2013
    • That is wonderful, thank you, I like what you are saying beyond the smile, I will have to tell her.

      June 7, 2013
  22. Argh! It wouldn’t let me ‘like’. I’m wanting my work to be more fine art portraiture. Love the set you had to work with.

    June 7, 2013
    • WordPress have really stuffed up with the whole liking thing, you never know if you have actually liked something or not. I was looking for you on facebook.
      I love fine art portraiture so much more than just normal stuff, it was so much fun, and the setting, well, we walked into the is area in a local park, and were like, wow, it was perfect. Thanks Carol

      June 7, 2013
  23. fabulous shots Leanne…definitely unique, you have a style all your own… I think that is part of the reason I’ve been drawn to your work so much…

    June 7, 2013
    • Thank you Heather, that is really good to hear, I really want that so I do stand apart, I don’t want to be the same as all the other portrait photographers.

      June 7, 2013
  24. Fantastic! Great images and site.
    I’m reading your post with a smile on my face 🙂
    You’re going to have great success!

    June 7, 2013
    • Thank you Robyn, I smile every time I think about those photos, they were a lot of fun.
      I hope so, I really really really want this work.
      I just heard that Sandra loved the photos.

      June 7, 2013
  25. leo @ realreality productions #

    lovely

    June 8, 2013
  26. I love the second one… She looks so sincerely happy.

    You said you wanted to avoid the “say cheese” type of photos, and I think you’ll not have trouble with that. 🙂

    June 8, 2013
    • Thank Joseph, she was having a lot of fun.
      I hope so, trying to do something different is very hard, nothing is really unique anymore.

      June 8, 2013
  27. Stunning shots, the close up is simply beautiful

    June 8, 2013
  28. I love ur work the last one is beautiful!

    June 8, 2013
    • Thank you, that is always good to hear.

      June 8, 2013
  29. Nice photographs, the picture with the umbrella especially — very lighthearted!

    June 8, 2013
    • Thank you Becky, I think most of the shoot was like that, very lighthearted, it was really good.

      June 8, 2013
  30. Excellent shots, Leanne! Love how you captured Sandra’s sense of fun.

    June 9, 2013
    • That seems to be the theme to these, the sense of fun, I did another shoot yesterday with a friend of my daughters and she seemed to really enjoy the fun and dressing up, it was great. Who says teenage girls don’t like dressing up? Haha, I put one of the images up on my facebook page.

      June 9, 2013
  31. These are wonderful, Leanne…it’s really great to see how all your experimental processing of the past has evolved into fine portraiture! Do keep going at it!

    June 10, 2013
    • Thank you 1000, I really love where I am going with them, and can’t wait to do more. I feel like I have been on this path from the beginning, and when I look back at my back, from the past it is something I have been doing for a long time. I will keep at it. 🙂

      June 10, 2013
      • Yes, and all the experiences, I believe, have led you to perfect the processing just to be able to accomplish these distinctive portraits…then I can say, “Ah,yes, I knew Leanne Cole when…”!

        June 10, 2013
      • I hope so, it has been quite a ride, I am really loving the work I am doing at the moment. It is exciting.

        June 10, 2013
      • I could tell you were a bit ‘asea’ for a while, but all of a sudden–BOOM! You’ve worked so hard to get to this point, and I’mm truly happy for you!

        June 11, 2013
      • Thank you, it is an exciting time, and I am getting so many great compliments and people wanting to see more work, I am even thinking of putting some in competitions. I am also finding that many people want me to take their image now, which is fantastic. I just need to find people who would like to pay me.

        June 11, 2013
      • Paying customers are the best! But, you also need a ‘book’, to show others your work…so they WILL pay!

        June 12, 2013
      • Yes, I am hoping to get my website ready with lots of the photos so people can see them there. That is the plan. Hopefully that will do it. I am also thinking about contacting a couple of magazines.

        June 12, 2013
      • 😉 !!!

        June 18, 2013
  32. Big Ganga Photography #

    Yup, good stuff.

    June 10, 2013
  33. She is just beautiful! I love that last shot, the colors you dulled out in them both really are you! I can look at these and know you did them by the style and the way you worked the colors! Love it 😀

    June 13, 2013
    • Thank you Amanda, I am really enjoying this style, still a few things to work out but that is okay, I will get there in the end. That is so good to hear, a couple of others have said similar things, so I hope it does mean that I have a style.

      June 13, 2013
  34. I really like these shots, and believe you will get where you’re going 🙂

    June 14, 2013
    • Thanks EllaDee, I do really enjoy doing them, though a lot of what I am doing is still very experimental. sorry, I just got a comment from someone apologising for their honesty, I just don’t understand how we became a society where honesty is so important, even if it is going to hurt the person you are being honest with. So weird.

      June 14, 2013
      • I’m sorry to hear you have been the recipient of badly delivered honesty. Honesty like that is about that person, not about you. True honesty is about kindness and tact.

        June 14, 2013
      • It is like kids who say, “don’t take offence but” we had to tell our girls to stop doing it, because it is like asking the person to forgive you before you say something that is quite nasty. Very strange concept. I do wonderful where that age old saying went, you know the one, “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all”

        June 14, 2013

Comments are closed.

