Skip to content

Making My Portrait Images

So much to learn with doing these images.  As I have started taking them and processing them I am learning so much.  What I can do and what I can’t.  I am thinking a new camera is probably needed.  I was saying to a friend yesterday that I should ask people to contribute, or say ask for $150 from each person, and in return I can give them a signed print.  Everything about this new business has to be how things are done in the art world.  It is a nice idea, do you think I could find 30 people willing to do that.

So I have done three shoots so far and more are organised for next weekend.  They are different and planning is essential.   I am learning a lot.

Leanne Cole - Nicole with her Red HoodI showed you an image of Nicole yesterday as well.  Each time I do a shoot I realise there are things that I want to change, and for this it is her legs, I wish she looked like she was walking.  I like the look of the forest and how that came out, but I am wondering if I am doing them too dark.

Leanne Cole - Sandra JumpingI did a couple more of the images from the shoot with Sandra as well, I am not sure if this one works as well, though, I can’t complain too much, I got some fantastic shots from this shoot.  It was great.  I like the ground and the way you can’t quite tell whether she will fall through it or not.

Leanne Cole - Sandra Catching the WindThis is another fun one.

I have realised that I have been doing the images a little too darkly, so I want to change that, and have started thinking of ways to stop it.  I think this one is better now that I lightened it a little.

Leanne Cole - Nicole with a big dressThis was my first attempt at this.  There was something about it I wasn’t sure about, then my daughter said she didn’t like the pink, it clashed with the dress, so I redid that part.

Leanne Cole - Nicole with a big dress 2I lightened the image a lot more too, and I think this works so much better.  It got my daughters approval, that’s for sure.

When I looked at the images on the computer I realised that I need to do more to help the models with posing, or I have to be more definite with what I want.  I need to write down what I want them to do and learn how to communicate that.  I am sure we will get there in the end.  I should do drawings, I can draw, so maybe that would be better.

The folio is coming together and I am really liking where the work is going, I have to do more shoots and be more precise.  The next step is going to be the website.  At the moment my website is more a directory for everything, and doesn’t really show much of anything.  Check it out, if you like www.leannecole.com.au.  I like the layout, but I want it to be more specific.

While I am working on the folio, I have been working on another blog site I have.  I set it up for the portraits, well for portraits some time ago, but never did much with it.  So I have been putting photos on it, and trying out different words for the about page and the pricing page.  Please go and take a look, Fine Art Portraits by Leanne Cole.

I have also been thinking about that word pricing.  I am hoping that when people contact me they will want to commission me to take their fine art portraits and I am wondering it would be silly to call the pricing page Commissions.

So much to think about and work out.  I am glad stuff is happening and I am still really excited about it all.  I really need to start writing some things down though.  Write, write write Leanne.

190 Comments
  1. wonderful photos…thanx

    June 11, 2013
    • No thank you, glad you liked them.

      June 11, 2013
  2. Jo #

    This is really lovely 🙂

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Jo, that is wonderful.

      June 11, 2013
      • Jo #

        I have loved all your other work too, but these are very special indeed. I really look forward to watching you work and learning something from you. Portrait isn’t something I have ventured into properly yet so I will be following these avidly. 🙂

        June 11, 2013
      • That is so good to hear Jo, I do love them, and getting all these wonderful comments supporting them is just fantastic. I used to do so many portraits, so it is nice to be doing them again, but in such a great way. I hope you enjoy the journey, thank you Jo.

        June 11, 2013
  3. johnholding #

    There is a thing called kick start where I have seen photographers obtain their target money in two days, Normally the sponsors buy a print or such like as part of the donation.

    June 11, 2013
    • I haven’t heard of that. I have heard of artists who need equipment and asked people to donate money and then get artwork in return, it was a printmaker so she gave them all a print. I like the idea, that way you get help and those that help get something in return.

      June 11, 2013
  4. They are just superb !Your daughter is right….the picture looks better minus the pink colour ! Great job !

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, I think she was right too, it does work better.

      June 11, 2013
  5. So stunning – I just love your photography style! 🙂

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, that is fantastic to hear. 🙂

      June 11, 2013
  6. Interesting development of style.

    Maybe do some self portraits – remote release – to show the sorts of poses you want – it might also enable you to experiment far more easily – then a small folio of prints to show your models the sort of thing you’re after (not forgetting to allow them some interpretation).
    If you haven’t maybe pull together some words to describe the direction of your work, a ‘vision’ if you like.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Stephen, I don’t know about self portraits, but I do end up demonstrating what I want, but the main problem is I am not always sure, so I need to really know what I want. We will get there in the end, haha.
      I am working on words, in art we had to write artist statements, so maybe that is something I should work on for this, but I am writing about it. Thanks again.

      June 11, 2013
      • Are you somebody who runs with a sketchbook (in the widest sense)? I found this useful when I did my photography course – not used one before – but once I got into the swing of it, it became a natural repository for thoughts, clippings contact prints/thumbnails and seemed to bring things together nicely for me (I’m a bit of a scatterbrain at the best of times!).

        June 11, 2013
      • I sort of do, I have a notebook that I write lots of ideas and things in. When I studied for my fine arts degree I used a visual diary all the time, but haven’t really used one since I started photography again, but I am thinking of doing something similar now. I have a book for drawing stuff into and now I draw poses in it and plan shoots, but I don’t do it enough. Must be tougher on myself. I can be the same, thanks Stephen.

        June 11, 2013
  7. puiyinlab #

    I love it. There’s something hauntingly beautiful about them.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, that is exactly what I want to hear.

      June 11, 2013
  8. Stunning shots, especially the one in the red dress. Have to say I kind of like the darkness of the first one – it’s … fey?

    June 11, 2013
    • I suppose the darkness adds to the concept of the dark forest and being afraid. That red is something, thank you.

      June 11, 2013
  9. 2 kewl fer skewl amazin’ lewking …
    last pic here ya got is simply gorgeous!

    June 11, 2013
  10. Love the photographs, mostly though the two last ones with a slight preference for image 4 due to the more warmer tone. The first image is great too. Nice work Leanne.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Franco, they are so interesting to do and it is hard to know when to stop.

      June 11, 2013
  11. Very interesting and nice. The last photo is in my opinion the best of them all, because you have improved the contrast, and because the big dress is so eye catching. Kickstarter is a good idea. Good luck.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, I think the last one is fantastic as well. Kickstarter, I looked into that kickstarter once before, but they don’t do Australia so I couldn’t do. Maybe I can do my own sort of thing on the blog.

      June 11, 2013
      • Oh I see, – perhaps “pozible.com” is what you need, it is Australian as far as I know?

        June 11, 2013
      • I had a look at that, but not really sure about it. I might try doing it myself, see what happens.

        June 11, 2013
  12. Beautiful photo. I like the lightened photos because the skin texture is much clearer

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Tienny, I think the same about the skin, it makes it nicer.

      June 11, 2013
  13. Really interesting to read your blog. 1. I agree with your daughter 2. The top image is not too dark for me, it is mood enhancing. 3. The fun one is brilliant (my favourite). 4. $150 does not sound a lot to me, but then I am strictly amateur. As you know by now, these are just MY humble views. MM

    June 11, 2013
    • Well they might be your humble views, but I really like them. My daughter did call it and she was spot on. So do you think I could find 35 people who would like to put in $150, then I can give them a signed print, I am thinking about a 16×20 which I charge around $220 for normally.
      Thank you MM

      June 11, 2013
      • I think it is achievable, but LCP, I have never tried selling photography myself. But I really think you could. The big question is whether to reduce numbers but increase price. I think get below the $200 mark but I would be inclined to increase the price to reduce numbers. These are just hunches but it is my thoughts. Good luck with whatever you decide. MM

        June 11, 2013
      • I talked to my husband and he reckons try it, I like the idea of giving people something and something that is unique. I might have to give it a go and see what the response it. I will have to decide on the image or images depending on the amount, for every amount given they will get an image. Maybe put 5 together for a really big amount. Will see how it goes. Thanks for the ideas and support.

        June 11, 2013
      • Fingers crossed, let me know how you get on. MM

        June 11, 2013
      • I will, thanks MM

        June 11, 2013
  14. Stunning pictures!

    June 11, 2013
  15. excellent shots!

    June 11, 2013
  16. Sonel #

    Love the portraits Leanne and what you did with them. They look like they came out of a fairytale book. 😀
    Your Fine Art Portraits website looks fantastic as well as your other website! Amazing job well done! Wishing you all of the best with your venture hon and know it will be a huge success! 🙂
    *big hugs*

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Sonel, it is great to hear that, I like the idea of them coming out of a fairy tale book. 🙂
      The fine art portraits site is a great start and a great place to begin. It will be so much better when the other website has all that information on it and looks fantastic. I can’t wait. I really hope so, thank you so much the support is wonderful.

      June 11, 2013
      • Sonel #

        You keep going hon. Wish I could do something like that but I am not good with people at all and around here people think when you work from home you should do everything for free. 😛
        You are also very welcome hon. 😀 *hugs*

        June 11, 2013
      • That is an interesting view, it is terrible, I think working from home is wonderful, I love it. I just want to be able to earn a living from my lounge room. Haha 🙂 It is different working with people, you have to be assertive and you have to be very clear about what you want. Though you also have to make it enjoyable. Fun times ahead. 🙂

        June 11, 2013
      • Sonel #

        It is for sure and well, I don’t have patience with people at all. I wish I could do something with my photography where animals were concerned but there are so many wonderful photographers out there doing it already and well, I can’t call myself a professional photographer yet as I do not own a Canon or Nikon. 😛

        You sound like the kind of person who loves working with people and I can see you are very assertive as well. I am sure you are having lots of fun! 😀

        June 11, 2013
      • I don’t think you have to own a Canon or a Nikon to consider yourself a Professional, I also think that you should look at what others do, that is what I am learning, just do my own thing and stop doubting myself. Apparently it happens to nearly all photographers, they doubt themselves, you have to get beyond that and just do it. Sounds like it is something we both need to do.
        I like working with people, but I am not really an assertive people, except when I have a job to do, then I can get bossy. Haha. I am Sonel, thank you so much.

        June 11, 2013
      • Sonel #

        Thanks so much for the vote of confidence Leanne. I think if I learn to trust others opinions it might go better.. I don’t know. Unfortunately here in SA people are very competitive and they can be quite nasty too and that’s where the “Canon” or “Nikon” comes in. The minute they find out I only have a Fujifilm Finepix they look down on me and it’s not a good feeling.

        Well, I think you have to be bossy when you’re a photographer as you do have to tell them what to do..hahahahah. Enjoy it hon. 😀 *hugs*

        June 12, 2013
      • People can be so horrible, I often see it here on my blog, from time to time I get people who want to let me know that they think what I do is terrible, I am not that silly that I don’t realise that not everyone is going to like what I do, but why say it. If they were standing next time to me looking at my work would they do that. I think, who cares what camera you have if you take great images. That is what it comes down to, knowing how to use your camera and getting the best out of it.

        Yes, you do have to be bossy from time to time. You also have to be prepared to yell, not that you have to do that very much. You enjoy too. 🙂

        June 12, 2013
      • Sonel #

        Oh, you are not serious! What are you doing that is so terrible? I can’t believe it! There’s nothing terrible about your photo’s! They are all in good taste and you’ve been very creative with them.

        I believe the same hon but unfortunately things work like that around here. You’re only in the ‘big leagues” if you own a big camera but well, that is their problem. What I do, I do for fun and to keep me busy. It also keeps the depression at bay. 🙂

        I’m always bossy..heheheh…camera or not. And I do enjoy it too. Yes, you have to yell when there is too much noise..hahahaha

        June 12, 2013
      • I am sure there are people that don’t like them, they just should keep their opinions to themselves,
        That is terrible, but as long as you care about what you do, and I like that you really enjoy it and don’t let anyone make you feel inferior.
        We sound like quite a pair. 🙂

        June 12, 2013
      • Sonel #

        I totally agree Leanne and it’s not if you’ve asked for their nasty opinions indeed. If they don’t like it, then they shouldn’t look at what you have to offer. 😀
        Yes, I’ve had a few that didn’t like what I do with my photo’s, using different kinds of programs like Pixlr/Lightroom/Photoshop to manipulate them and had quite a lot to say. Some even went as far to blog about “amateurs” (like me) that can’t take decent photo’s and then using programs to hide or correct the faults and then in the same breath brag about their expensive camera’s. 😛 That is one of the reasons why I closed my blog a few years ago as I just couldn’t handle all that negativity and one day I just realised that it’s their opinion and I should care less. What I do with “my” photo’s is up to me. It’s not as if I am selling it to them or offering them up for sale, so why should they care. Hubby and some friends told me that people like that are envious because some of them might have expensive cameras but don’t know how to use them or the programs available and now they like to strike out. If that is true, I don’t know but I’d like to believe it and not the nasty things some had to say about my photo’s. After all, in the end it’s our creations and if we like it, who cares what people like that think. 😀

        Quite a pair I would say..hahahaha
        *hugs*

        June 12, 2013
      • I moderate my comments, I started doing it because I didn’t want comments like that on my blog, so now I delete them, I don’t care if I lose them or they stop following, I don’t need that kind of negativity. There are people who will tell you that they may not like something, but they do it in a way that comes across as their opinion, and that is fine. It is the people who tell you what you “should” be doing that I don’t like. So now they just get deleted. I also like to moderate because I find it a easier way to keep up with the comments, I don’t approve them until I can respond to them at the same time. I was losing track of comments before.
        Even if you were selling your photos it would be between you and your buyer, if they don’t care, then no one else should.
        Yes, believe me, I have met some, they have this lovely equipment and no idea how to use it, do you know how many DSLR’s there are out there that are never taken off auto. I have heard instructors tell students to use on auto. Just silly, why have a camera like that if you aren’t going to learn how to use it.
        You do what YOU like, tell those people to go away, and enjoy what you are doing. I have some telling I am not a real photographer because I use digital, and not film, I think they aren’t either, they should be using glass negatives, if you really want to get technical about it. Then I tell them that all their chemicals are bad for the environment, so leave me alone.
        You do what you like and it will always shine through.

        June 13, 2013
      • Sonel #

        Same here Leanne and just like you I keep my comments on moderation until I can answer them too so I can’t lose track of them and just like you I’ve also deleted quite a few of those “comments” you are talking about and I also don’t care if they stop following me or never visit my blog again. I totally agree that no one needs that kind of negativity. If we can be polite and kind enough to leave nice comments, who give them the right to tell us what we “should” or “shouldn’t” do?

        Yes, it actually saddens me to see how many are out there with these expensive cameras and have no idea how to use it. I always say that my Fujifilm is just my “learning” camera for the day that I can afford that Canon 7D EOS with the telephoto lens and even then I know there will be lots more to learn. I love to learn new things. It’s exciting. 😀

        That is a fact for sure Leanne! If a person keep that camera on auto, how will they ever learn how aperture and shutter speed are controlled to determine exposure or anything else for that matter? I play around with the different settings on my camera all the time. From Manual to Custom and shoot one scene with all the different settings to see how they compare. It’s very interesting and that is how I learn. 😀

        Those people telling you that you are not a real photographer should rather go and do something they can do because it seems to me they don’t have a clue what a “real photographer” is and I totally agree with you there where the environment is concerned. They should wake up and realise they’re not living in the stone ages anymore.

        We will keep on doing what we like hon and enjoy what we do. Thanks for the support and lovely words of comfort. It really meant a lot. 😀 *big hugs*

        June 13, 2013
      • In the end we just have to do what works for each of us, and what makes us happy. I love what I do now, and I don’t care if some people don’t like it, that is their problem, not mine. I think you should do the same.
        No problem at all, it is a great place to give each support. I am glad it helped. 🙂 big hugs back.

        June 13, 2013
      • Sonel #

        I totally agree with you hon. I hope one day to find my kind of “style”. As yet I am still playing around and experimenting but I do love macro shots more than anything else. Thanks again and yes, it is a great place to give each support for sure and I am truly glad I found your blog. You’re a huge inspiration. 😀 *big hugs*

        June 13, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 13, 2013
  17. Amazing work! I mean really stunning… Also, I think the word commission (s) sounds good.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, I need to hear that right now. I like the word commission to, it sounds more arty.

      June 11, 2013
  18. I like the dark quality. That’s what makes them different. Dark and vibrant – both at the same time. That’s your USP.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Brian, that is fantastic, so what does USP stand for, I can work out U – unique and S-style, but the p has me stumped, I know I am going to feel silly after this. Haha.

      June 11, 2013
      • Unique Selling Point.

        June 11, 2013
      • So I got it totally wrong, I like it though, I do hope it is, thanks Brian

        June 11, 2013
  19. I like the concept of the photos. You are correct the first one is too dark. The rest are great. Love the red dress! Very cool!

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Elizabeth, the concept is working so far, I hope I can keep it up, I love the red dress as well.

      June 11, 2013
  20. Absolutely wonderful…I’ve missed seeing your work these last few days…it’ll be fun catching up…these are on prettier than the other 🙂

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, hope you enjoy all the new work, I am so far behind in blogs unbelievable. I don’t know if I will ever catch up. 🙂

      June 11, 2013
      • Same here…I’m thinking of starting over as if the past couple of weeks just didn’t exist…there is so much to read it’s not even rediculous! But, I want to see what you’ve been up to… 🙂

        June 12, 2013
      • Sometimes that is the best thing to do. Just start again. Which is pretty much what I have done. Yes, I have to look at some people too, friends, but I think it is time to start looking at new artists work, unless it is something that I might inspirational. Good luck Bastet. 🙂

        June 12, 2013
  21. Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    Leanne is working on her new project…potrais1 And how lovely they are!

    June 11, 2013
  22. these are very beautiful and i don’t mind the darkness at all actually, especially in the red riding hood shot, it kind of sets the mood – the contrast between innocence and something dark lurking around her. i like that you are adjusting as you go though, and finding ways to make your work even better. i agree it’s important to know what you want from the models and tell them what you are looking for, though occasionally there are pleasant surprises to be found just by accident. as far as financing, i’d say ask for a set fee, depending on how many shots, how elaborate, etc. maybe research people who do similar work for their fee structures. kickstart is a good way to get going, i agree with your other reader, as another alternative to a start up nest egg. never undervalue your work, charge what you are worth and what is a fair price and it will get easier as you get going. best, beth

    June 11, 2013
    • There have been a few that have said the same thing about the first image. I like that idea between innocence and darkness, I might have to think of that a lot more. I think it is important to keep adjusting, I have to be getting it right when I start charging. I think that will be very important. I have work out prices, what my session fee will be, how much I want for images, I have put together some packages, that I think are fair, and helps me to get the price I want. I have done a lot of research, but many photographers don’t say what their prices are. I have been looking at Sue Bryce on CreativeLIVE and she has some great advice. So I am not really cheap and I am not really expensive, hopefully in between.
      I took a look at Kickstart but according to their site, it isn’t available in Australia, which is a shame. I think this work is valuable and worth what I am asking for.

      June 11, 2013
  23. lovely portraits…i am totally inspired by you..to get down and organise my photography life:)i love the dark feel and i also like the pink in the pic…though the lighter one is as lovely…so i guess it would be a mood thing:)good luck leanne..and thank you for sharing everything…it helps somebody like me get started:)

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, it is good doing it here as I feel it makes me accountable, and it pushes me on, I also get lots of information from people and it helps me to think about what I am doing. I am so glad you like the portraits, that means a lot.

      June 11, 2013
  24. I do prefer the image with more light. The red seems richer somehow.

    June 11, 2013
    • I think the red stands out more in it whereas in the other one is blends in more. I did lighten the dress a bit more so it would stand out more.

      June 11, 2013
  25. Stunning photographs! Love that last one, the dress is awesome and your daughter was spot on about the pink! 🙂

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, I am so happy with them, I think she was also right, and the image is better for it.

      June 11, 2013
  26. These images are magnificent! There is some strikingly haunting aspect that lingers… You have achieved what I consider to be the ultimate challenge, that is, creating emotion in the viewer, not simply capturing an image. Brilliant!

    June 11, 2013
    • Oh wow what a compliment thank you so much, I love what you have said, it is fantastic. I hope they show a lot of drama.

      June 11, 2013
  27. You really have established a style all your own with your portrait pictures. Very unique and interesting. I am reminded of the children’s fairy tale – Little Red Riding Hood in the first one.

    June 11, 2013
    • I hope so, Nora, that would be so good. I love the images and love what I am doing now. The only thing that is not good is having to wait until the next shoot. You are spot on with the first image, that is what she was told to do, be Red Riding Hood coming out of the bush. Thank you Nora.

      June 11, 2013
  28. We collect Brook Shaden – an photographer and artist living in Los Angeles. You can see her work at Brookshaden.com. This is reminiscent of hers. What I like is the action she puts into her shots and you began capturing that with the umbrella and jump shot. She is also a mentor for the After Dark group and has led a number of sessions. She might be a good reference as you further develop your art. Really like how you are heading though…. Good luck!

    June 11, 2013
    • I read this and realise that you didn’t see the post from the day before LOL, I did one on Brooke, in my influencing me post. I love her work as well and I do look to her for inspiration. Though I don’t want to copy her directly. I am trying some of the things that she has done and I am sure you will see more of that, but I also want to do my own thing as well. She is such a lovely person, I saw her on CreativeLIVE. I have been trying to do photos similar to this for so many years and her workshop on cL was a massive moment for me, and she showed me how to do what I have been trying to do. Just Brilliant.

      June 12, 2013
  29. 1annecasey #

    Oh wow – the umbrella shots and those two red dress shots are stunning. Have you thought about an exhibition, with limited edition prints, signed by you? Have you talked to local art galleries? Restaurants and cafes also often offer free wall space as a way of exhibiting your work (with contact details for sale displayed underneath)?

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Anne. I have thought of an exhibition, but I might try and get more work together first, would be good to have a whole heap of work to show first. I am definitely going to enter some into some competitions which I think is a great place to start. Galleries are really something that I want to get into, but I need to get more work going, so maybe in about 6 months or 12 months. I am going to put some on my website and I have put a couple on Etsy, but of course I am asking too much for Etsy, will see what happens.

      June 12, 2013
  30. Reblogged this on mercyjay's Blog.

    June 11, 2013
  31. Dunno about renaming your price list as “Commissions”. I know you’re aiming at the fine-art photography world, but to me “price list” is a bit less pretentious than “Commissions”. An alternative is “Prices on request”, that gives you room to haggle. Remember: you don’t want to scare anyone off.

    I love the pic of your daughter in that dress, but I prefer the purple-leaves version. It’s all down to what the customer want, of course, but you gotta keep a copy of the purple image. It’s lush, and fits the other colours so well.

    June 11, 2013
    • Yeah, but isn’t all pretentious, haha. I am thinking that if I were a painter and you wanted me to do your portrait you would be commissioned to do it, so why not commission me to do a portrait, but my medium is photography. I might have to try a few things and see what happens.
      Oh it isn’t my daughter, it is her friend, though she was there with me. I have copies of both and you are right, it is down to personal taste.
      Thanks

      June 12, 2013
  32. Thanks for sharing your reflections on putting together your folio and working with your models.

    June 11, 2013
    • I should be thanking you and I will, for reading it, it is an interesting process, I am really enjoying to folio process. Thanks Pearlz

      June 12, 2013
      • I have to do a photoshoot for friends, and was thinking of putting a folio together to show them the kind of portaits I like to take – I think it helps to have it to work wit, good on you. Thanks for your generosity, I love your photosite.

        June 12, 2013
      • If they have already asked you, then doesn’t that mean they like your work? Though if you are pre planning, I suppose that can help, I need to start doing sketches, that has been my problem, I think the sketching will help me resolve some issues as well. Thank you as well Pearlz.

        June 13, 2013
  33. |{3ÑZ!3 #

    I like the effect ion the red dress it looks like it turns into in an oil painting.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you, I wasn’t sure about it, so it is great to read that.

      June 12, 2013
  34. Wow, this is all so exciting, Leanne! Very best of luck with it. Your portraits are great.

    June 11, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I think so too, I have so much trouble getting to sleep at night because I can’t stop my mind from going. I am loving these and have so many ideas for others.

      June 12, 2013
  35. Beautiful! I like the lightened versions better, but I’m liking the pink with the red! They are both appealing images, maybe give the client the choice?

    June 12, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, some other people have said the same thing, which is a great idea, it is good to get the same idea a few times, it is something I should consider.
      I like the lighten ones as well, I think they are nicer, or something.

      June 12, 2013
      • When dealing with a subject, the light is better for showcasing their features. The dark, moody shots are great for art.

        June 13, 2013
      • I am finding that teenage girls don’t tend to like their features, so this type of portrait is perfect for them, they don’t feel like they are on show as much, it is fun and they get to pretend to be someone else. It is going to be interesting to see if more will do this for me.

        June 13, 2013
      • You are so right, didn’t think about that. I love the drama and I can see the appeal for portraits. 🙂
        I bet if you put the word out that you need models (perhaps on Facebook) I bet you will get a bunch of models.
        A portrait photog friend of mine, does senior portraits and gets models by giving them their senior images in exchange for them showing others his work. He will make each model an album to show all their friends and he gets work from the referrals.

        June 17, 2013
      • I am almost at the stage, where I have enough models, I have two more girls to do and one guy, I still haven’t done anything with my girls, they are wanting some now, so that is good. I think I have done enough to stop doing it for free, so I might start looking for people, but people who want to pay at a reduced rate. I am using facebook a lot, and making sure the photos go up there. They now go up there long before they go up here. I also tag the girl in them so it goes to all her friends. I am thinking about my next step now. Where to go from here. Thanks Darla. 🙂

        June 18, 2013
  36. Very, very fine and interesting images. Thank you for sharing them!

    June 12, 2013
  37. It is always so nice to visit your website Leanne – your work is always fabulous to view. Be well!

    June 12, 2013
    • Thank you John, it has changed a little lately, but I am so happy with what is happening.

      June 12, 2013
  38. Brilliant … I love the photo with Nicole in willies and umbrella … and that last one with the orange “skirt” – brilliant job – I can see how excited you are about this new style of yours. I’m exciting for you too. Love the new path you’re going down now.

    June 12, 2013
    • Thanks Viveka, I am really excited and the best part is that people really want to have me take their image, though having to pay might be a different matter, but I know that people love what they see when I have done all the work to them. I love this path too, I think I might enter some competitions as well. Can’t hurt.

      June 12, 2013
      • Leanne, great news .. and you should enter also Metro’s competition in September. That is the way to go. Get your photos out there. You can enter Metro’s for daily challenge, but there is no price then.
        I have done a post about the competition if you have missed it. So excited for you and I think it’s a great move you have done, because you have such a creative heart and soul … dark buildings are beautiful through your lenses, but not very fun … they don’t talk back .. they don’t laugh …

        June 12, 2013
      • What is Metro, haven’t heard of it before. Yes, getting the work out there is definitely the way to go, I am so excited, so much to do. I don’t know that all my images will be fun, some won’t be, but hopefully they will all talk to you and show some emotion, I am looking for theatre and drama in the images, some will be comedies, some will be dramas, some might be sci fi, others tragedies, it is going to be exciting I hope.

        June 12, 2013
      • http://wp.me/p293Pw-6sx – here is the link about Metro Photo Challenge, you sign up and they will email you when it’s time for the big competition. Metro is the biggest free newspaper in the world … you get it all over the world.
        I love that you have found something that you can play with and be truly creative with … drama, fun and colorful.

        June 13, 2013
      • Thank you for the link, I will take a look at it. I see it was in a post I haven’t got to yet. I am quite behind, I look in the reader a little, but yours I get emails to and read properly then. Sorry.
        I will definitely take a look at it.
        I do love these, and I feel like I am finally on the right path. finally.

        June 13, 2013
  39. By the way I love your new header image – love it …

    June 12, 2013
    • You are the first person to comment on it, haha, I didn’t show that image on here, though it is all over facebook. Thanks

      June 12, 2013
      • Last two posts I read of yours … had the new header – with the girl covered with leafs Love it. Such a big change to the dark building.

        June 12, 2013
      • Yeah, I put the header up yesterday, so it would appear on any post you read now. Weird how the headers work. Yes, it is very different, I like this a lot more I think.

        June 12, 2013
      • It’s so creative and bold. Keep it … be bold.

        June 13, 2013
      • Thanks Viveka, I will.

        June 13, 2013
  40. captureyouphotography #

    Put out a model call out that you will be doing portraits on a certain weekend.Plan this a few weeks ahead of time. If you plan a weekend you can get 10 – 20 models in depending on how many you want to actually do.Get some flyers printed up to leave at local businesses and the library etc…Make sure to add in there to book early for your time slot. Tell them they will receive 3 images on a CD for their time in exchange they will sign a release stating that you get to use the images for advertising on your website, blog or a any form of advertising.. By setting aside a entire weekend you might get more models plan it out enough ahead of time to figure out what you want to do as far as locations, props etc go.. Sometimes this goes really well sometimes it does not but its worth a shot.

    June 12, 2013
    • That sounds like a lot of work, I am not sure I could do that many. I am going to start handing out some flyers, soon, so will see what happens there. The model release is something that I really need to get onto. Someone sent me a link to one, but I need to find out if it is good for Australia as well. So many things to do. I try to make as many shoots as I can, but one a day is often enough, as they take a lot of time in photoshop, so I need time for that as well. I can see how that would work for other types of photography though. Thank you, it is great getting all these ideas. Great place for brain storming.

      June 12, 2013
  41. Seems like you’ve found your niche. Please do call your pricing page “Commissions”. It sounds more refined.

    I like your header image as well. Very, very pretty with those purple leaves.

    June 12, 2013
    • I really hope so, I was having breakfast with a friend on the weekend and she was saying that she has never seen me so excited about a project, so I think that is good. I love the word commissions as well, I think it is more like what people will be doing as well, they will be commissioning an artist to give them a portrait. Thanks David.
      I don’t know if many have noticed the new header, I only did it yesterday, but you are the second to have noticed. I love that image as well. Thanks again.

      June 12, 2013
  42. The lightened version is beautiful. And reminds me a lot of Brooke Shaden’s work you showed yesterday.

    June 12, 2013
    • Thank you Delft, I hope I will develop my style but for now I am really happy with where the work is going and I don’t mind the comparison, and it is great that it reminds you of her, means I am on the right track.

      June 12, 2013
  43. I think commissions is a good way of saying personal photo shoot. Your portraits certainly are intriguing. The colors are bold. You are developing a style like that of your architecture. I am still working on a definite style.

    June 12, 2013
    • I like that word too and I think it better describes what I am doing. These images are more art than straight portrait shots. I love the colours. I think the style for these is very similar to the architecture, and it will be interesting to see how it develops. The style of your work is something that is hard, or sometimes you can have a style without even realising that you do. I didn’t think I had one, but then people started telling me they can tell my work. So that was interesting. I think you just need to do the work that you love and how you want to do it and the style will follow. Thank you.

      June 12, 2013
  44. Hi Leanne, very interesting photos. I like the third one best, the playfulness against a sort of brooding background. The first one I think might be too dark — I like the forest, but the model seems so much clearer, as if a photo was inserted over a painting. I find it a little jarring, not sure if you intended it as such.

    Anyhow, keep up the good work! I hope your business takes off; I really wish you the best. It’s nice to read about a photographer trying to forge a path with her work.

    June 12, 2013
    • Thank you Michael, it is a lot of fun, but also a huge learning curve, some things I try work, and others don’t, and it is all part of trying out stuff, rethinking and then redoing. I don’t mind, I am really enjoying the process.
      I will keep it up, and I hope it does too, the big test is will people pay me to do the images for them. So time will tell.

      June 12, 2013
  45. WOW…these are absolutely fabulous Leanne!!! Love your header…all shots are great but the very last one with the red dress is stunning!!! This must be so exciting for you…it certainly is for me to see what you are accomplishing here…

    June 12, 2013
    • Haha, that is fantastic reaction Heather, I love it. I haven’t put the header shot up on the blog, it has been on facebook and google+. I really like the shot. I love the red dress, it was a great image to do, but also I learned a lot from it and if I do it again, I would shoot it differently, but this is what this all about, learning how to do all this. It is very exciting and it is so good to hear that others are finding that way as well. Exciting times ahead. Thank you so much Heather.

      June 12, 2013
  46. Striking! And not as in laying down tools and doing protest marches … 🙂

    June 12, 2013
    • LOL, best comment I have had today. Thanks

      June 12, 2013
  47. I love the header! The purple leaves and gold dress – perfect! These are really wonderful, Leanne. How much fun is this!

    June 12, 2013
    • It is a lot of fun Marsha, I am really enjoying it, but I just did one and I think I might have gone too far, but perhaps that is necessary.

      June 12, 2013
      • I replied to this, but it didn’t send for some reason. I can’t imagine in what way you might have gone too far. I love it! 🙂

        June 13, 2013
      • That happens to me sometimes too, my comments just disappear. I did wonder if it was too over the top, I know I did one yesterday and it just didn’t work, but I think I know what the problem was, which happened when we were shooting it, so I can’t fix it, I I could redo the image completely, we will see.

        June 13, 2013
      • That’s true. I have some photos that just can’t be fixed. They are blurry and you can’t unblurry them. Oh well. Problem is that sometimes they are important to other people. 🙂

        June 13, 2013
      • I have some of those as well, nothing you can do with a blurry photo except delete it. It isn’t good when they are of important people, we are going to have to teach you how to get them in focus so you don’t have to worry about it anymore. I hope that doesn’t sound condescending, let me know if it does.

        June 13, 2013
      • You never do! 🙂

        June 14, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 14, 2013
  48. Awesome effects!
    ABout your daughter’s comment about the pink clashing. I’m gonna’ agree with her & LOL because it brings back a traumatizing (a bit exaggerated) memory of my HS senior picture. I wore a red sweater & put on pink lipstick. I have no idea what I was thinking… 😆

    June 12, 2013
    • Thanks RoSy, I think I have to agree as well, maybe if the pink was a different shade, then maybe, but I like it without it. What a memory for you, thank you for sharing it with me. The things we do when we are young. Some of them are such shockers.

      June 12, 2013
  49. I enjoyed these very much! I like how these are so different from the types of shots I’ve seen in your blog since I started following … and yet, your beautifully artistic style remains present. These are such creative portraits — the kind of images that seem to make magical new worlds open up to draw the viewer in.

    June 12, 2013
    • That is great, I think they are as well, it is great making them, and as you said, I think there are influences from the previous work, it is still dark, haha. I like the at last part that you wrote, I like that a lot, thank you so much.

      June 12, 2013
  50. TK #

    Wow, I’m a bit blow away by the last picture. The force is not as strong as some of us.

    June 12, 2013
    • Thank you so much, that is fantastic.

      June 12, 2013
  51. Pretty impressive, Leanne. You’re going to be great as a portrait photographer, and you’re acumen in the virtual darkroom will go far to enhance the end results. Great job.

    June 12, 2013
    • Thank you so much, I really want this to be successful, so I am going to give it everything, thank you the support is just wonderful.

      June 12, 2013
  52. Los Travelleros #

    Good shots. They are so dark that they feel shots from a gothic bands album cover. The one with rainy/wind blow effects I didn’t like so much. Shot would work without effect, I guess.

    June 12, 2013
    • Yeah maybe, but others seem to like it, so I might keep it as it is, Thank you.

      June 12, 2013
      • Los Travelleros #

        Of course, keep it like that. It was just one random opinion more. Good work!

        June 12, 2013
      • You know, I know that everyone isn’t going to like everything I do, I live in the real world haha, so that is fine, and your random opinion is fine too. Thank you.

        June 13, 2013
  53. I hate red and pink together, but I actually like that version of the photo better. Its more vibrant I think 🙂 Again great job!

    June 12, 2013
    • That’s interesting linbritt, I don’t know, I should ask the girl and see which one she likes more. Thank you.
      We haven’t been out to take any more photos, just thinking I should organise something.

      June 13, 2013
      • It’s been rather miserable lately hasn’t it??

        June 13, 2013
      • Yes, very, we have been thinking about some National Trust Buildings.

        June 13, 2013
  54. Reblogged this on M.A.D. and commented:
    love it!

    June 13, 2013
  55. Hi Leanne: I usually NEVER comment on technique, etc., because I always feel that the artist is portraying what they feel, or, if not, they are on their way there. I do love these, particularly the settings, but I am also one who tends to lean towards the Rembrandt style of light. I do agree with your own assessment about the posing and that’s why I’m commenting. I find that often I spend the first few minutes with a ‘model’ just chatting and getting a feel for their own movements and comfort levels. Then, if things aren’t going as planned, I will have them turn in a circle, or walk away and come back…although either of these would be difficult with the big dress… 🙂 In that costume, you might just say, “bend down and touch your toes”, and see what body language evolves from that. On a specific level, in that one particular shot, I think I would like to have seen her hands clasped in front and her face looking down a bit and to the side…but please don’t take that as a critique…I love the photo…maybe just a thought for the future. I used the word ‘model’ but I usually work with ‘regular’ people…as I think these portraits probably are. If you can find a professional model who would swap posing for prints for their portfolio, it might be worth the swap as you will see what someone can do who feels totally comfortable in front of the camera, and then use that knowledge to help your subjects to relax and be playful yet real…. along with having some ‘sketches’ from the shoot that you might show them. I enjoy your work and how prolific you are with your blog, but rarely have the time to comment on every one….Thanks!

    June 13, 2013
    • I have a small confession to make, but it is a big secret, so if you tell anyone, you know I will have to kill you, hahah, LOL, that was a joke, just in case you didn’t get it. It wasn’t actually a dress, it was two metres of fabric that I composited together to make it a dress. That is why she sort of had to stand there, well she probably did have to, but it was easier. She is a friend of my daughters and she didn’t really know what to do, and that was my fault I think, I should have been clearer about what I was after, though, in the end she loves the dress and that is the main thing, I think. I hope. I like your ideas and maybe they will be useful for future images. I did get her to do all the things you suggested, well most of them, but she kept laughing, I think she knows me too well. I didn’t want her laughing. I think sketches is really what I need to do. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, I really do appreciate it. I know I can get angry with people, but what you said, or more importantly how you said it was perfect and I didn’t take any offence to it at all, I really appreciate it.

      June 13, 2013
      • Your ‘confession’ has made me even more impressed with this photo than I was before. To feature a dress made by a fashion designer is one thing…to have created a ‘dress’ to bring your creative vision into fruition is something else entirely….Excellent!!!!

        June 14, 2013
      • I stuffed a few things up with it, but the more I do it, the more I start to realise what I need to shoot and how I need to put them together. I think the shot of the Lady in the Woods, that dress worked better. But I have to say I am so happy that everyone actually thought it was real dress, that makes me feel really good. Thank you.

        June 14, 2013
  56. Amazing work! If you fund raise for the camera, how about putting up one of those trackers so people can see how you are doing on the goal. People love that.

    June 14, 2013
    • That is a good idea, I might try that, I will need to choose an image or a selection of images for people to choose from. Or maybe do a special image for the occasion. What do you think?

      June 14, 2013
  57. These are stunning.

    June 15, 2013
  58. You’re definitely on a ‘good and right track’ here, Leanne! One suggestion? Don’t be afraid to ask your model to “Move an elbow an inch to the left, please”, and things like that. I love the shot you lightened, except for the position of her arms–they almost look too ‘casual and defiant’ to achieve what I think you wanted to achieve.

    That all takes time and practice (I learned these things back when I was shooting and directing videos)…but I see a certain excitement in these images, which wasn’t fully there in your prior ones. Keep going at it, as I seem to know you’ll get the feeling of fulfillment you deserve…and a few $$$, too (;>D !!!)!

    June 15, 2013
    • I can be quite bossy when it comes to shooting people, and I do give them lots of intructions, but I suspect that part of the problem was that I didn’t have a clear idea of what I wanted to get, and therefore we were both confused. I am learning a lot from these first shoots and I am learning what I need to do or not do. I need to have a clearer idea of what I want to get.
      I like what you said about the excitement in them though, and hopefully that will help make them successful. Thank you 1000

      June 15, 2013
      • That’s what ‘first shoots’ (rehearsals?) are for, Leanne, to get out the kinks and tweak the composition. There would seem to be a wide market for this type of image, so romantic and mysterious!

        June 16, 2013
      • Yes, I am glad it is friends that I am using for these images, they are great. I photographed the girl yesterday and put one of the photos up on facebook and she loved it. That is the first time she has liked an image of her, so for me, I knew I had done well. I really hope there is, I am looking forward to trying it out.

        June 16, 2013
      • Oh, that’s really great! Your eye and your talent go beyond the norm…I really look forward to seeing more!

        June 16, 2013
      • I have worked on three so far, and the response on facebook has been good, if you click on the facebook link you should be able to see them, I don’t think you have to be on facebook, or have an account to see them. I think.

        June 16, 2013
      • Oh, I forgot I have been putting some on my website, you could see them there,
        http://www.leannecole.com.au/

        June 16, 2013
      • Shall try!

        June 16, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 17, 2013
  59. So beautiful!

    June 20, 2013
  60. poppytump #

    You should be really proud of what you are doing here Leanne .. In such a short space of time look at these !!
    You are honing your skills and artistic vision with great results . Its so lovely to hear your enthusiasm for what you are doing and where you are heading .
    Faerie tale fantasy images with so many possible outcomes and interpretations that can be hinted at depending how YOU choose to portray them . Wonderful .
    The umbrella shot model image looks so full of spontaneity 🙂
    Beautiful and punchy fieryred for drama too !

    June 20, 2013
    • Thank you, a friend said the same thing about my enthusiasm, she said she had never heard me talking about work with such passion before. I do really love doing these and planning them, working out what to do.
      I love how you have written faerie, I might use that spelling, makes it look every more mystical. I am using faerie tales for inspiration, but more what happens behind the scenes, or if things hadn’t gone the way they do in the story. They don’t always work, but I can always try again.
      The woman with the umbrella, had such a great time, we both really enjoyed the shoot. 🙂 Actually so far everyone had had a lot of fun doing them.
      Thank you so much, the response has been fantastic.

      June 20, 2013
      • poppytump #

        yes when faerie tales go b a d … Lol as often they did for some of the characters .. the wicked stepmother Queen being forced to wear iron hot red dance ’til death shoes in one version of Snow White comes to mind !
        It sure is working .. Leanne your enthusiasm is infectious 🙂

        June 20, 2013
      • Haha, I don’t know about them going bad, but looking at aspects of things that aren’t written. I am looking forward to doing one this weekend, which could be a lot of fun.
        That is wondering poppytump, I hope you continue to enjoy the images. 🙂

        June 20, 2013
      • poppytump #

        Oh I will to be sure 😉
        Time for bedly here now Leanne Zzzzz
        Enjoy your days ahead 🙂

        June 20, 2013
      • Thank you, and good night, sleep well and don’t let the bed bite. 😉

        June 20, 2013
  61. Pretty Awesome !!! I love them

    June 24, 2013
  62. Reblogged this on Sherry's Space.

    August 1, 2013

Comments are closed.

