Skip to content

The Lady in the Woods

Today I planned on spending the day working on my website, then I thought, I will just a look at some of the images I took of Sandra that I hadn’t processed yet, and here we are almost 4 hours later and I have one image done, and nothing done on the website.  So you get to see the image, though, it may change again when I look at it later on, but for now I am happy with it.

Leanne Cole - The Lady in the WoodsI am really happy with how the dress looks and what I have done with it.  I know you can’t see her face, but I don’t mind that, adds to the mysteriousness of the image in my opinion.

No more for today, I really want to get on with the website, so enjoy the rest of your day.

81 Comments
  1. Sonel #

    Wow! I absolutely love it Leanne and what you’ve done with it. You are right, by now seeing her face it really adds to the mystery of the photo. Love that dress too. 😀

    PS: I keep forgetting to add that I love your new header. It’s gorgeous! 🙂
    Here my morning only started and it’s chilly. I have no idea what the time is there but you must enjoy your day as well. 😀
    *hugs*

    June 13, 2013
    • Thank you Sonel, that is great to hear. That dress, well that dress isn’t real. 😉
      Thanks for that, nice to know that some have noticed it. It is cold and wet here today, it is almost 3.30 in the afternoon here.

      June 13, 2013
      • Sonel #

        Well, then you have done you job quite well hon as I thought that dress was real for sure! 😀
        Oh, I’ve noticed it every time I visit your blog and well, old age is creeping in and I get so pulled in by your lovely images and the words jumble around in my head sometimes, and then I forget half the things I want to say…hahahaha.

        Cold and wet sounds like the perfect weather for soup. I like the rain. Here it’s just cold..brrr. Enjoy the rest of your afternoon hon. 😀 *hugs*

        June 13, 2013
      • Haha, that is great to hear. I am getting better at it.
        I have that problem from time to time, especially with things I want to say on the blog.
        Yes, soup weather, I am home most of the weekend and I was thinking that soup might be really good. You enjoy your day. 🙂

        June 13, 2013
      • Sonel #

        That you are for sure Leanne. 😀
        LOL! Well, I am sure you are far from old. I think it’s just too much brain activity on your part..heheheh.
        I’m also in the mood for soup today. Guess we will both be having it then..hehehe. Thanks, have a fun day too. 😀 *hugs*

        June 13, 2013
      • No I won’t be having any, but I think I will look forward to some on the weekend. 🙂

        June 13, 2013
      • Sonel #

        Enjoy! 😀

        June 13, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 13, 2013
  2. I agree, your new header is quite stunning! Great colour combinations.

    June 13, 2013
  3. I thought this was a painting from the 1800’s! Awesome effects, not seeing the face, the colors are exquisite. Well done!

    June 13, 2013
    • Thank you, that is a wonderful compliment.

      June 13, 2013
  4. every hour spent makes it wetrth jest that much more …superb auctually…especially unique!………

    June 13, 2013
    • Thank you that is a wonderful compliment.

      June 13, 2013
  5. spaghettisquiggles #

    This is absolutely amazing! You’re so talented 🙂

    June 13, 2013
    • Oh thank you, it was quite a project, so I am really pleased that you like it.

      June 13, 2013
  6. Love the juxtaposition of the dark, raw elemental nature of the forest against the impossibly billowy man-made costume. It adds to the gothic, would-never-actually-happen-in-reality feel.

    June 13, 2013
    • NO I don’t think it would happen in reality either, completely set up, though the different coloured trees are probably a give away, haha, it is all about fantasy and different worlds. Thank you Brian, I do like that word, juxtaposition.

      June 13, 2013
  7. Wonderful photo… and dress! 🙂

    June 13, 2013
    • Thank you, I was really happy with the dress. 🙂

      June 13, 2013
  8. Lady in the woods
    Faery queen captured by you
    Rendered immortal!

    June 13, 2013
    • That is beautiful, thank you so much Bastet.

      June 13, 2013
      • I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

        June 13, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 13, 2013
  9. Amazing!!!

    June 13, 2013
  10. Fabulous work, Leanne… 🙂

    June 13, 2013
  11. 1annecasey #

    Wow – lush, dark, mysterious… Surely she will be a muse for some intriguing tale of escapade, gallantry and dashing rescues..??

    June 13, 2013
    • Ooooh I hadn’t thought of the Anne, maybe, you have me thinking now. Thank you.

      June 14, 2013
      • 1annecasey #

        : )))))

        June 14, 2013
  12. This is stunning – beautiful!

    June 13, 2013
  13. shlehora #

    Wow!!

    June 13, 2013
  14. Beautiful photo, Leanne…looks like something from the cover of a novel…or maybe a perfume advertisement…..full of richness and mystery….very nice.

    June 14, 2013
  15. This is a beautiful imager Leanne!

    June 14, 2013
  16. Very nice and intriguing photo.

    June 14, 2013
  17. lifewithlelah #

    I absolutely love your work. And I too think that not seeing a face here allows the viewer to become enchanted not by the woman, but the entire scene itself and all the emotions, sounds and smells that we can imagine there. At least that is what happened with me when I saw this.

    June 14, 2013
    • That is fantastic to hear, I like what you have said about the emotions, sounds and smells, that is wonderful. Thank you.

      June 14, 2013
      • lifewithlelah #

        Well, I will now feel comfortable providing my opinion of your great work more often then. I really appreciate your photography!

        June 15, 2013
      • Thank you.

        June 15, 2013
  18. Leanne, I like your Lady in the Woods, but for me the header is the winner….love it!

    June 14, 2013
    • Thank you, I think the header images was probably the best from that shoot.

      June 14, 2013
  19. fabulous lady in the woods, love the dress, what you’ve done to the photo…you sound like me, getting side tracked often…happens to me all the time!

    June 14, 2013
    • Thank you Heather, I am so happy with how the dress came out. Oh yeah, I often get side tracked. Not good sometimes. Haha. 🙂

      June 14, 2013
  20. Really beautiful Leanne !

    June 14, 2013
  21. she is, quite naturally, a creature of the woods, quite comfortable in her surroundings… this image incites me to write. passionately dark

    June 14, 2013
    • That is lovely to hear, I hope you do write something for it and I hope I can read it. Thank you ksbeth.

      June 14, 2013
  22. Love the look you’ve established here, Leanne…and as for not being able to see her face? Imagine a gentle breeze has just ‘mussed’ her hair, to cover the ______ (use your imagination again to complete the sentence!).

    June 15, 2013
    • Thanks 1000, I might try doing it again so you can see her face, but I didn’t have a problem with it, though, sometimes if I don’t look at it properly it looks funny, that concerns me. Then again, it is art, so it doesn’t have to show her face.

      June 15, 2013
      • Thge ‘mystery’ prompts one’s imagination, Leanne, which forces one to really look closely, Leanne. When you’ve got an image that makes people stop and think, you’ve got success!

        June 16, 2013
      • Thank you, I was talking to the women who is it yesterday and she was telling me how much she loved the way the dress came out. She really liked it, which is great.

        June 16, 2013
      • Where do the dresses come from? So curious, as they are really gorgeous!

        June 16, 2013
      • They don’t come from anywhere, I make them up. The are all made from a piece of material that is 2 metres long that I composite together. Does that ruin it for you?

        June 16, 2013
      • Fan-freakin’-tastic! Ruin it–NOT!!! So very amazing, Leanne, and such a superb idea!

        June 16, 2013
      • Yes, someone else said the same thing when they were asking about the big red dress. I have to say, I am pretty pleased with myself, that people think they are real. But they were all done with the same 2m piece of purple satin like fabric. I have some red stuff now as well. I wish it was my idea, but I got it from Brook Shaden. She really is inspirational to me.

        June 17, 2013
      • It doesn’t matter where the idea came from, Leanne, it’s the fact that you have the talent to make it happen!!! And the results are beyond SUPERB!

        June 18, 2013
      • Thanks 1000, I don’t seem to be able to turn the ideas off at the moment.

        June 18, 2013
      • That’s good, Leanne, and difficult to deal with at times, but really, really good!

        June 19, 2013
      • I need to make sure I start writing them down, that has been a problem. Planning, planning, planning.

        June 19, 2013
      • Even the shortest ‘note to self’ is worth the moment it takes, Leanne! You and I both have great memories, but a little ‘nudge’ from a note will not fail to help keep things straight!

        June 21, 2013
      • I don’t know about my memory, I keep forgetting things, I think it has something to do with being a wife and a mother, I have to remember stuff for so many people. I am going to get better at writing things down and planning. That is my goal.

        June 21, 2013
      • With so much going on it gets difficult, Leanne! I’ve decided to stop posting every day, as I’m really in a funky place!

        June 23, 2013
      • I did no post yesterday, it was amazing, didn’t bother me at all not posting, it was almost a relief. It was relief not to have to find the time to do it as well.

        June 23, 2013
      • Hasn’t bothered me either…I let it fo for four days, have not even been in my e-mail to view your and others’ blogs…just feeling I need to approach things differently for a bit. Summer and its hot sun are very hard on me…today I walked two miles, taking the streets with the most shade!

        June 29, 2013
      • It is almost a relief actually, I blog if I can, and sometimes when I don’t really want to blog I just do something quickly, or not at all. I feel the same as you, time to approach everything a little different. Time will tell if it works. Lovely to hear from you. I have missed seeing your comments.

        June 29, 2013
  23. I love it! Though, common sense tells me that the dress is not real. No one in their right mind would wear a dress like that. Or I wouldn’t, anyway. 🙂

    I agree, the header is awesome. I love the purple leaves, too bad they don’t grow that colour here! 😀

    June 15, 2013
    • Thank you Joseph. I don’t know, some celebrities wearing some amazing get ups, watch the red carpet events. Though you are right, the dress isn’t real, all compositing. And I hope you wouldn’t wear a dress like that 😉 LOL.
      I love the header image too, one of my favourites so far. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if leaves really were purple. 🙂

      June 15, 2013
      • True. But then, are they really in their right mind? 😀
        Yes, it really would. Actually, there is a tree in a neighbours yard which has purple leaves. I have no clue what type it is.

        June 15, 2013
      • I love the colour purple. 🙂

        June 15, 2013
  24. I love it! And I agree. Your new header is wonderful. It’s amazing to me to see this departure from architecture to people. I’m stunned by your range.

    June 25, 2013
    • I always wanted to photograph people, but I didn’t want to do the happy snaps, which seemed to be what everyone was doing. I liked images that showed something else, but when I tried to work out what it was, I was lost, but I know now that what I really needed was photoshop. Now I can create some of those things.

      June 25, 2013
  25. Reblogged this on Sherry's Space.

    August 1, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. For You, the FRIGGIN’ AWESOME BLOGGER (FAB) AWARD! Why? Because I Can! | The Arkside of Thought | Poetry, Politics, Philosophy, Life

Comments are closed.

