Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – City Streets and Lanes

Last weekend I showed some photos that I took in the city.  I  have some more of those photos today.  We went to Hosier Lane to take a look around and when we got there we saw something that I haven’t seen before.  There was a graffiti artist up a ladder actually painting.

leannecole-sccity3374There were lots of people standing around, and they had photographers and a video camera set up.  They were making a documentary or something of the work.  It was quite amazing to watch it all happening.  I was lucky enough to be in the lane way the following day and saw it finished.

leannecole-sccity3798Quite an amazing piece of work.

I have more images of this in the gallery for you, plus an image of a tour group in the lane, the lane with no people, not an easy one to get.  I also have a photo of some graffiti that I took at Centre Place and I was asked if I could show the images of the heads of the businessmen that I showed you last week.

I went out this morning for another photo shoot and I need to go and start working on the images.  Have a great weekend.

112 Comments
  1. They look fantastic.. What great art.. there’s some real talent there 🙂

    June 15, 2013
    • It really is the place to highlight it, and yes, some fantastic art work there. 🙂

      June 15, 2013
  2. Wonderful graffiti! I also know how hard it is to photograph in narrow alleys and a more or less constant stream of visitors ….

    June 15, 2013
    • It is. There were about 5 people there, but I managed to get rid of them, so weird seeing it with almost no one in it. Really nice surprise, of course it wasn’t like that for long.

      June 15, 2013
  3. Sonel #

    I’ve always admired artists like that Leanne. I have nooooo idea how they get it right. It’s absolutely stunning and to watch them work is indeed amazing! Thanks for sharing these lovely photo’s hon. I always enjoy these wanderings of yours. 😀 *big hugs*

    June 15, 2013
    • It is amazing working big, but it is hard too, you have to be so careful. It was fantastic watching them. You are very welcome, and that is wonderful to hear. 🙂 Thanks Sonel.

      June 15, 2013
      • Sonel #

        I can only imagine and you are so lucky! Have a great day hon. 😀 *hugs*

        June 15, 2013
      • 🙂

        June 15, 2013
  4. What an amazing piece of work. Fantastic.

    June 15, 2013
  5. lensaddiction #

    Love the finished work, talented guy. I walked a very long way (from the OTHER end of Flinders Lane) to find Hosier Lane when I was in Melb and was utterly delighted at the artwork I found adorning the walls and spent ages taking loads of photos. Its all changed several times over I am sure, but an absolute highlight of my trip for sure 🙂

    June 15, 2013
  6. May I reblog this?

    June 15, 2013
  7. The face is incredible!

    June 15, 2013
  8. Reblogged this on bearspawprint.

    June 15, 2013
  9. Stunning. I have a pic by who I assume is the same artist as a screen saver on my phone – street art pic taken in Newtown. How wonderful you were able to see him doing ths piece 🙂

    June 15, 2013
    • I think there were a couple of them doing it, it was a big production, and lots of people were watching. It was amazing to watch. 🙂

      June 15, 2013
  10. Are people allowed to graffiti buildings in Australian cities then? I’m intrigued to know how it all works.

    June 15, 2013
    • In certain places, yes, though I think they have to apply to the council to do it. There are a few laneways where it is accepted and it is not becoming a big tourist attraction. They even run tours looking at the work.

      June 15, 2013
      • It’s a good idea in designated areas. Round here if anyone did that it’d be whitewashed over by morning.

        June 15, 2013
      • that is a shame, I think it has been great here, it really helps to encourage then you start getting some really amazing work being produced.

        June 15, 2013
  11. Doesn’t it brighten up the alleyways in winter..great shots 🙂

    June 15, 2013
  12. I love good street art. It’s always exciting to discover new pieces when your in a city.

    June 15, 2013
    • Yes, it is true, some of it is so amazing and the graffiti artists have so much talent.

      June 15, 2013
  13. Graffiti can be so stunningly beautiful, but also very ugly and provoking. I would love to walk those streets and lanes one day – brilliant art all of them. If I win on the lottery – I will be there next week. *smile My pick has to be the woman’s face.

    June 15, 2013
    • Forgotten to wish you a great weekend!

      June 15, 2013
    • Yes, some of it can be very ugly, that tagging is horrible. It is pretty incredible when you see it, and the wonderful thing is that it is always different every time you go. I think you would love it Viveka.

      June 15, 2013
      • I’m sure I will like it … and my camera too. *smile Brilliant gallery as always.

        June 15, 2013
      • That is one of the wonderful things, the graffiti is fleeting, but it lives on in photos.

        June 15, 2013
  14. Beautiful photo’s and glorious graffiti…..

    June 15, 2013
    • Thank you, I really have to agree, it is quite amazing.

      June 15, 2013
  15. Wow, I love graffiti art! And this was nice art indeed – would love to go there!!

    June 15, 2013
    • Graffiti can be really good and wonderful. Glad you enjoyed it, maybe one day you will.

      June 15, 2013
  16. amazing work. ever see, exit through the gift shop? it’s a doc about banksy – gifted yet secretive graffiti artist

    June 15, 2013
    • No I haven’t seen it, sounds fascinating, I might have to look for it, thanks for that.

      June 15, 2013
  17. Great photos!

    June 15, 2013
  18. joshkellogg #

    Nice! Just came across your site on the press- I love your photos. Particularly the land&cityscapes…awesome.

    June 15, 2013
    • Well Hello, and welcome to my blog. Thank you, I so love photographing the city, I love Melbourne and there is so much to photograph. Thank you.

      June 16, 2013
  19. Amazing, all of it…How cool you got shots with no people, too! Must be wonderful to live in a city that supports public art 🙂

    June 15, 2013
    • I am pretty amazed at the image with no people as well, it is pretty amazing to get one with no one in it, well there were about 5 people in it, but right down the end so it was easy to get rid of them in photoshop. You know, I thought it was something that all cities did, I was really surprised to find that it wasn’t, Melbourne has always done a lot to support artists and their work. I live in a city of creativity.

      June 16, 2013
  20. Ajaytao2010 #

    I Nominate you for a Special Bouquet of Awards – 3 Nominations

    please accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    June 15, 2013
    • Thank you so much.

      June 16, 2013
      • Ajaytao2010 #

        thank you so much I feel honored

        June 16, 2013
  21. Fantastic photos!!!

    June 16, 2013
  22. I love seeing graffiti like this. We went to Rincon Puerto Rico in March and I took several pictures of the surf graffiti there. It speaks both to art and culture.

    June 16, 2013
    • I love it too, I also love how everytime you go it is different, so it always looks different. Surf graffiti sounds really interesting. I totally agree with your last statement. Thanks Nora.

      June 16, 2013
  23. PSsquared #

    What a talented artist he is! And your photos are stunning as well.

    June 16, 2013
    • He is very talented, such a large work of art. Thank you.

      June 16, 2013
  24. The wall mural is stunning!

    June 16, 2013
    • Isn’t it, so big too.

      June 16, 2013
      • The artist is really quite talented. It is a pity the wall murals are transient.

        June 16, 2013
      • Yeah, but if they weren’t, then people wouldn’t keep going, and it would mean that not as many artists would get to show their work. Millions of people visit the lane every year, so there are millions of photos of the work all around the world, so that has to count too.

        June 16, 2013
  25. Credit to you and the artists for some amazing images.

    June 16, 2013
    • Taking photos of this is easy, it is the graffiti artists who should get the credit here, brilliant job.

      June 16, 2013
      • You still found the subjects, and efficiently captured them.

        June 16, 2013
      • Yeah, it was a lucky find, perfect timing. Lucky I got the day wrong for the photo shoot I had to do, otherwise I would have missed it. LOL

        June 16, 2013
  26. It’s amazing to see how a mural comes together, and the artist working up-close to his “canvas”. I think I’ll stick with the “paint-by-numbers” approach.

    June 16, 2013
    • It would have been great to watch it from start to finish, but I was unable to do that, it is pretty amazing. LOL, 1 – blue

      June 16, 2013
  27. lifewithlelah #

    Excellent timing! I love some of the graffiti artists work and find they often represent the unheard voices of our society. What a great work of art you captured!

    June 16, 2013
    • It was great timing, so lucky. That is so true. Thank you so much.

      June 16, 2013
  28. Wonderful shots! Nothing like a Melbourne laneway 🙂

    June 16, 2013
    • Thank you, and that is so true, love our lanes.

      June 16, 2013
  29. Great photos! I have yet to be able to catch an artist at work. It must have been an amazing sight. We don’t get art that big, here…I wish we did. What a wonderful piece.

    June 16, 2013
    • I think in this laneway the walls go up really high, so the only thing stopping them is how high they can go. It is great here that it is supported as well, and great that they have somewhere to do their work and for people to see.

      June 16, 2013
  30. When I grow up, I want to be a photographer like you 🙂

    June 16, 2013
    • Hahaha, that is too funny, thank you. 🙂

      June 16, 2013
  31. I just noticed your Comment Box Intro. How funny! Leanne, I had a great time last night. You can check out my blog today. I just published a short post on it. Your graffiti artist is fabulous. So are the pictures, BTW. Interesting that you have a Hosier Lane. It caught my eye because the nickname for someone from Indiana is Hoosier. I misread it and wondered why in the world there would be a Hoosier lane in Australia! 🙂 I need new eyes! 🙂

    June 16, 2013
    • Yeah, I changed it after I got a really vile comment from someone who said that I invite opinions, so I remembered yours and thought, I will change it make it longer, and make sure people know what I want.
      I saw the post, I didn’t comment, it seemed a little self serving to do that. The graffiti is great. Haha, I love it, Hoosier, I need new eyes too. Thanks and I really enjoyed talking to you as well. 🙂

      June 16, 2013
      • 🙂 Not self-serving at all, just commenting on my take on the whole thing. I read through the notes. Very good. I took some pictures of my bookcases today for another blog. The office is so small that it’s hard to get far enough away to get the whole bookcase – in fact impossible. But I did think about things. I also missed some things that were in the way – like laundry on the floor I didn’t know you could see in the picture. oh well! 🙂

        June 16, 2013
      • That’s good feedback for me too, on the notes. I hand them out in my classes. Well, you know what they say, it won’t happen overnight, but you will get there eventually. I imagine your head is swimming with all sorts of ideas and techniques. thanks for the plug Marsha.

        June 16, 2013
  32. Great series of photos, Leanne! 🙂

    June 16, 2013
    • Thank you, I do love photographing the graffiti. 🙂

      June 16, 2013
      • There’s always something striking about it. 🙂

        June 16, 2013
      • Very true. 🙂

        June 16, 2013
  33. Beautiful works of art
    in unexpected places!

    June 16, 2013
    • You can always find some fantastic artwork in Hosier lane, it is really good.

      June 16, 2013
  34. Reblogged this on blaming the norm and commented:
    These pictures are beyond legit.

    June 16, 2013
  35. That is so totally amazing. I wonder how he did that. Love the whole gallery.

    June 16, 2013
    • I don’t really know, it was all laid out when I got there. Thanks Nia.

      June 16, 2013
  36. Ely #

    This is just breath taking!

    June 17, 2013
  37. How cool to see this! Graffiti in action — awesome. Love your photos, Leanne.

    June 18, 2013
    • I was really happy to find it, quite a great find. Thanks Steph.

      June 18, 2013
  38. Love this graffiti and the little statue. Colorful shots.

    June 18, 2013
    • The graffiti is pretty incredible, thank you.

      June 18, 2013
  39. Nice work! I have recently started a blog about alleys and lanes,particularly in the Verdun borough of Montreal where I live. I plan to discuss how art plays a role in how we photograph places, amongst other things, Hope to see you drop by.
    http://verdunlanes.wordpress.com/

    June 19, 2013
    • Lanes are very interesting places and the stories about them can be really interesting. Sounds like a great idea. I will do my best, but I can’t make promises. Thanks

      June 19, 2013
  40. Some very interesting shots. Thanks for sharing.

    June 19, 2013
  41. machine gun grey graffiti’s just amazing, also liked the perspectives on the bronze head… very niceLeanne 😀

    June 21, 2013
    • That was in a part of town I hadn’t really taken much notice of before, of course I won’t make that mistake again. Thanks.

      June 22, 2013
  42. Really cool place 🙂

    July 4, 2013
    • Thanks Amanda, we have some great places around here.

      July 4, 2013
  43. Hi Leanne. I was in Melbourne a couple of weeks ago and visited many Graffiti lanes and the 3 Businessmen. (Have uploaded photos on my blog) Melbourne has amazing street art!

    July 26, 2013
    • And you didn’t say hello? I hoped you enjoyed the lanes. How cool are the businesmen? I will take a look at what you put up.

      July 26, 2013
      • Oh yes, lanes are really unique in Melbourne. I definitely had a great time. Was very short visit though…

        July 27, 2013
      • It is funny how you can have something here and don’t think it is special until people from elsewhere tell you they are, so thank you for that feedback. I love Melbourne, have you guessed that?
        YOu better say hello if you are coming back.

        July 27, 2013
      • That’s true. Will definitely say hello next time…

        July 28, 2013
      • 🙂

        July 28, 2013

Comments are closed.

