Skip to content

My Wonderland

Last Saturday I took Alannah out to the park and we took some photos.  She was very happy to let me, which was wonderful as every other time I had tried to get her to let me, she wasn’t keen.  After she saw the photos I took of her mum and Nicole, she was very keen, well seemed to be keen to let me do some.

Leanne Cole - Running Away

Leanne Cole – Running Away

This was the first image we worked on.  It was probably one of the longest.  Images like this do take longer than others and I think this one has worked really well.

Leanne Cole - Alice Alone at the Tea Party

Leanne Cole – Alice Alone at the Tea Party

We planned this one before we went, I took a teapot and cup and saucer.  Alice never did go to a tea party on her own, but I like this.  I love the story and the image.

Leanne Cole - The Princess Dreaming After the Ball

Leanne Cole – The Princess Dreaming After the Ball

We went back to her house and took some more photos.  We had originally planned to take some photos in the park with her deb dress, but with all the rain we have been having I didn’t want to risk ruining the dress in the mud, so we left it at her house.  Though afterwards she was happy to come back and get into it.

I do love this image, there is a peaceful serenity on her face, as if she is sleeping and dreaming after a beautiful night.

Leanne Cole - Princess taking a Break.

Leanne Cole – Princess taking a Break.

I did this image last night.  I really like the stairwell in her house, there is really good light on them.  So I asked her to sit on them and be relaxed.  I like the composition and I like the way she is engaging with the viewer.

I have also been collecting new textures for the images, and on the right I have blended some sheet music onto the wall.  It is the music or part of the score for Swan Lake, it seemed appropriate, though thinking now, perhaps the Viennese Waltz might have been better.  I should look for that as well.

If you like my facebook page you will have seen these images before, I have been posting them on facebook and putting some on the Fine Arts Portrait page.  The blog, I think is going to become more about these images.

This shoot was probably my most successful, I have learned a lot from the other ones and I am feeling more confident about what I am doing.

I have some free shoots to do, but I have enough of those now.  I need to start getting paid for them, so I am going to work out a voucher for people, so while I am still folio building people can get a reduced rate.

Getting a New Camera

I have decided to try doing the kickstart thing myself.  I can’t do Kickstart because it isn’t available to Australians.  So I thought I would do it this way.

I am looking for 35 people who would be willing to donate $150 each and in return you will receive a print, like the Alice one above, that is worth over $200.  The print will be signed and it will be part of an edition.

For every $150 that people contribute they will get another print.  I am going to do a set of 5, and if someone donates $500 then they will get the full set of 5 images.

If you would like to participate in this, then please, send me an email at leanne@leannecole.com.au and you can donate the money using the donate button in the side bar.

I will also let you know how it is going and give regular reports.

140 Comments
  1. Wow, this is beautiful!

    June 18, 2013
  2. Breathless

    June 18, 2013
  3. What a great subject, very Alice in Wonderland, love them.

    June 18, 2013
    • That is great to hear, thank you.

      June 18, 2013
  4. The pics are very soothing to soul
    Didn’t felt like this way before but I can feel the pic

    June 18, 2013
    • I like that description, thank you.

      June 18, 2013
  5. Really lovely! She must be happy she decided to ‘sit’ for you.

    June 18, 2013
    • Thank you, I think she is very happy that she did.

      June 18, 2013
  6. Particularly like the last two shots as both have great light – beautiful images of a beautiful subject.

    June 18, 2013
    • I discovered that their house had great light, it was brilliant. thank you.

      June 18, 2013
  7. Stunning pictures! Love them all!

    June 18, 2013
  8. Love your work!

    June 18, 2013
  9. Really lovely, I like the two indoor shots the best, the light is so soft but bright 🙂

    June 18, 2013
    • The light was great in the house, thank you.

      June 18, 2013
  10. These are gorgeous photos! Have you checked out Pozible? It’s the Australian version of Kickstarter 🙂

    June 18, 2013
    • I did look at it once, but it was hard to work out, maybe it was just me. I just thought, why can’t I do it. 🙂
      Thank you, glad you like the photos.

      June 18, 2013
  11. Brilliant, as always.

    June 18, 2013
  12. Paul #

    IF YOU DON’T LIKE WHAT I HAVE DONE, YOUR SILENCE WILL LET ME KNOW.

    Not the case, Leanne. 🙂

    June 18, 2013
    • LOL, now what you mean, but I can tell posts that aren’t popular, they don’t get as many comments, or as many likes. I know you are a big silent supporter Paul, it is really lovely when you do pop in. thank you. 🙂

      June 18, 2013
  13. gorgeous photographs, the Alice one would have to be my favourite, but they are all so beautiful

    June 18, 2013
    • I love the Alice one, it is my absolute favourite as well. Thank you.

      June 18, 2013
  14. Great series – I hope from now on Alannah will embrace being photographed.

    June 18, 2013
    • I have a feeling she will pose for me whenever I ask. thanks Robert.

      June 18, 2013
  15. Hope one of the major fashion magazines lures you aboard to continue in this vein. Or better yet, names you artistic director. The work you’ve been sharing (including your inspirational colleagues) goes far beyond what we’re usually seeing.
    Wow.

    June 18, 2013
    • That would be nice, it would be nice to just get some work featured in a magazine. I might try sending a couple of images. Thank you so much.

      June 18, 2013
  16. Leanne, these photos have both a realistic and surreal quality to them at the same time that place them in their own unique world. I really applaud your efforts here.

    June 18, 2013
    • Thank you, I like that description, I want to enter some in competitions, I might use those words for my artist statement, if you don’t mind.

      June 18, 2013
      • No, please do. I would be honored. It is easy to take a good photo, but very tough to create a whole new world within that photo. I think you succeeded here…..

        June 18, 2013
      • Thank you, I need to write one and they are so hard to do. I know what I am trying to do, but putting it into artspeak is a whole other thing.

        June 18, 2013
  17. Love your use of fairy tales in your theme. Beautiful imagery all around.

    June 18, 2013
    • Thank you Jessica, I really like doing that as well, and from what I can gather it seems to be something that the models like as well, the idea of being someone from a fairy tale.

      June 19, 2013
  18. These are lovely and my favorite is “Running Away”.

    June 18, 2013
    • That is wonderful, I like that one too, it was the hardest to do, but well worth it in the end.

      June 19, 2013
  19. Shared on Google + 🙂

    June 18, 2013
  20. Absolutely beautiful! Great series of shots 🙂

    June 18, 2013
  21. I love the shot on the stairs – you are right – the light is great !!

    June 18, 2013
    • When I show that one to Alannah she said, OMG, OMG it is amazing, OMG I love the walls. Thanks Nora.

      June 19, 2013
  22. These are stunning Leanne; you will have no trouble building your portrait business! You should do some with some guy models to broaden your fan base. I love the locals you have to work with. Is the wind natural? I love the Alice image! Is it really that dark when you shoot or is that the way you edit them? Love it, whichever way!

    June 18, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, I have been thinking the same about the guys, but I have to find some. I had one lined up, so am trying to contact him again. My daughters friends have been great as models. I love the Alice image as well. It wasn’t as dark, but it was overcast. I have worked with the sun once and it was so hard. So our bad weather has been great. I do edit them to make them darker as well.

      June 19, 2013
      • Well, they are gorgeous and you have inspired me to take another look at some of my images and try reprocessing them with darker tones. Most of mine are shot in bright sunlight – its Oklahoma! So, they don’t darken down much without distorting the features.

        June 20, 2013
      • Sunlight can be bad, and it is something that I am going to have to think about. I live here so we get a lot of it. I need to think about that when planning shoots as well. We have been having lots of rain here, so lots of overcast days, but it isn’t going to stay that way, so I need to think about that. I think, for me, it is going to be about taking photos either later in the day or early. We are both going to have to experiment and see what we come up. I think the shoot I have this morning is going to be sunny, so could be interesting, it is also very cold, frosty.

        June 20, 2013
      • brrrrr; stay warm and dry. Nothing worse than a cold! Its cloudy and cool here. This is our summer and its usually very hot by now, not this year; was 68 this morning – Norm is around 80 in the morns for this time of year.
        I need to look for wooded shady areas to shoot in. Only problem is if it is wooded enough to not let in leaf shadows – the area is usually crawling with ticks, spiders and snakes!

        June 20, 2013
      • I will be staying warm, but I don’t know about my poor model, will have to be careful about how much time she is barefooted. We had record breaking temps last summer, now very cold winter, we seem to follow you guys, so that is encouraging, I don’t want a hot summer.
        Oh yuck, to the shaded areas, ticks, yuck. and the other things, our snakes like the sun, so shade is fine.

        June 20, 2013
      • Well if you guys follow us, this spring/summer we’ve had record breaking storms, tornadoes and floods. I hope you miss those!

        June 23, 2013
      • Oh no, well, we don’t have tornadoes here, but floods yes, though not in Melbourne, small ones, but nothing that sticks around. I think it is too hilly. Could mean a lot of rain though. Might mean that many other parts of Australia will flood. Brisbane has flooded twice in the last couple of years. Maybe it will be a record year for tropical cyclones, we are too far south for those, but it will hit other areas. I love Melbourne, you know that, and one of the things I love about Melbourne is that we are pretty much protected from everything, as far as natural disasters go, the only thing that has come close has been bushfires, or firestorms.

        June 23, 2013
      • Well you city/town is on my bucket list of places to visit! 🙂

        June 28, 2013
      • I hope that includes catching up with me? 🙂

        June 29, 2013
      • That would be great; but seeing how I don’t even make it out of Oklahoma, I’m not sure when I would ever get to check it off my list! 🙂 But I can dream!

        July 7, 2013
      • Haha, I know exactly what you mean. My husband and I are hoping to get to the states next year, probably California as his brother is living there, but I would like to see more of it than that if I am there. 🙂 So we have started saving.

        July 7, 2013
      • Well, if you find your self in the great plains state, give me a shout! I could make you a good old fashioned southern dinner or a authentic Tex/Mex meal – either one, is pretty much a heart attack on a plate! LOL

        July 14, 2013
      • I might just take you up on that. If we are coming over I hope to do more than just visit California. I would love to see more of the country. I love that heart attack on the plate, LOL.

        July 14, 2013
      • Keep in mind, Oklahoma is about 3000 miles from CA! But hey its a relatively short plane trip.
        Just let me know if you do come this way. I’m actually just out of Okla. City which is the center of the state, the capitol and where everything is. I’m afraid with all you have to photograph, you might be disappointed with our plains state!

        July 15, 2013
      • It is a big country, I really want to get to Rhode Island, and to Pennsylvania as well. I quite like the idea of driving across it, though, don’t really know how realistic that is, it will really depend on how much money we have saved.

        July 15, 2013
      • I might be wrong about the mileage. I think its 3000 across the entire USA. It would be fun to do a road trip like that. I’ve actually not been very many places. I have been to california, but not oregon or washington state (that’s where our only rain forest are). And I haven’t been further east than Tennessee and I didn’t see much when we lived there for 7 short months – too broke to go anywhere. 😛
        Hey, I have a friend that will be planning a trip to Australia and New Zealand and I was wondering if you could make me a list of must see & dos. Her trip will be a long one, about a month in country. She will do it in a year or so, but likes to plan everything out. She is planning to cruise to and from both places? Not sure how that works. I don’t have that kind of money for a trip like that, but I can live vicariously through her. LOL

        July 19, 2013
      • That could be right, I think Australia is similar, but a little smaller. I haven’t seen much of Australia, I don’t know if you know it, but I have been as far north as Brisbane, and as far west as Adelaide. I’ve seen a lot in my own state, but like you, haven’t seen a lot because of money, too broke. Hopefully one day though, I am planning a big trip.
        I can that for your friend, do you know what sort of things she is interested in? I know there is a cruise you can do from Australia to New Zealand, a friend of mine didn’t it a couple of years ago.
        I don’t have that kind of money either, but I really hope these portraits I’m doing will start making me some money.

        July 19, 2013
      • She loves everything special. Pretty much everything that is a MUST SEE OR DO. Money usually isn’t a problem for her, they just got back from a 5 week trip to Europe. She loves theme parks and zoos and beautiful cities and the neat things to do in the cities. I would think a trip to the Opera house would be in order. I think she thinks its like Europe just hop on a train and you are in a new country/destination. I don’t think she realizes its as big as the US. I will nail her down as to which area she plans to visit and get back with you.

        July 19, 2013
      • Yes, Australia is big, not as big as the US, but you have to travel a lot more I think. We only have 6 or 7 major cities and they are a long way from each other. There is a lot to see on the East Coast, but the West is where the magic happens. If she wants to see the real Australia, I would be telling her to head to West Australia, to places like Broome, and the Kimberley’s. Katherine Gorge is also supposed to be spectacular. Then there is Uluru or what used to be called Ayers Rock in Central Australia. Massive rock in middle of no where. There is the Opera House and places like that in Sydney.
        It is nothing like Europe, nothing like the US really, we only have a population of about 23 million, so sparsely populated, though majority of the population is on the East Coast. We are a very urbanised population, always have been. To drive from Melbourne to Sydney takes about 12 hours. If that helps.

        July 20, 2013
      • thanks, I will pass this along to her. 🙂

        July 21, 2013
      • Okay and if she wants any other advice, I’m happy to help if I can.

        July 21, 2013
      • thanks Leanne

        July 22, 2013
  23. I LOVE ALL OF THE PHOTOGRAPHS, BUT ESPECIALLY THE ONE TAKEN ON THE STAIRS! 🙂

    June 19, 2013
    • I love the look on her face in that one. So cheeky. 🙂 Thanks.

      June 19, 2013
      • I loved her look too! Very nice! How are you doing Leanne?

        June 19, 2013
      • I am doing well, how about you? I’m busy trying to get everything sorted for this new venture, but also really excited.

        June 19, 2013
      • I have been following along and have not always had the chance to pop in to say hi, have been busy over here on my end of the world, now that it’s gardening season! Your photography is just amazing and I just love your blog!

        June 19, 2013
      • I really understand, it is so hard to always comment, sometimes impossible. I hope your garden is going well.

        June 19, 2013
      • I just posted a garden update for you to see! I agree with you that it is quite difficult to keep up with all the blogs that I am following, and if I go a day or two without reading my email, I am over-loaded. I just don’t want to go down the list in my inbox and JUST CLICK the “like” button, as I enjoy reading each and every blog post from my bloggie friends. I love keeping up with what everyone is doing in their part of the world.

        June 19, 2013
      • I am finding that I am doing that more and more, just not enough hours in the day, do I want to spend time on my photos or on the blog, and the photos have to win I think.

        June 19, 2013
  24. Leanne-this are beautiful! I particularly like the top photo-you have created a wonderful world here-keep up your good work!

    June 19, 2013
    • Thank you, I think I am definitely on the right path now and can’t wait to keep trying things.

      June 19, 2013
  25. Pat #

    Beautiful work.

    June 19, 2013
  26. The red grass is neat. Your models worked hard.

    June 19, 2013
    • Thank you Ron, I love turning the green into anything but green. I picked up that trick from Brooke Shaden, she hates green, and I have to admit I am not a big fan of it either. I think the models have a lot of fun, they don’t seem to want to stop.

      June 19, 2013
      • I have a friend who knows Photoshop inside and out, I will ask her. You have done a great job developing your following.

        June 19, 2013
      • I am sure she can tell you, or better yet show you. It isn’t hard. Thank you Ron, it has been really good.

        June 19, 2013
  27. Pity I’m so poor. Otherwise, I would be happy to share the wealth. Sadly, retirement isn’t a good “money” time, but your work is wonderful and I hope you get everything you need.

    June 19, 2013
    • Thank you for even thinking about it, I think you are the only one that has. I do appreciate that. I am sure I will, I do love the current work. I can see real possibilities in it that I couldn’t see in previous work. Thanks again.

      June 19, 2013
  28. WOW – They are all fabulous!

    June 19, 2013
  29. Brilliant work! Thank you for sharing this.
    Jimi

    June 19, 2013
    • You’re welcome and thank you Jimi.

      June 19, 2013
  30. p.s. how did you edit the grass, so it turned out so nice?

    June 19, 2013
    • Do you mean in the Alice image? It was very nice green grass and then I just changed the colour.

      June 19, 2013
  31. Stunningly magical …

    June 19, 2013
  32. I like Alannah in the stairwell. A very excellent portrait. Hope your “kickstart” program works out well.

    June 19, 2013
    • Thank you David, that one almost didn’t happen, it was a “why don’t we try” kind of image, sometimes they work out so well. I don’t know about the kickstart program, suspect it won’t happen.

      June 19, 2013
  33. All quite appealing!

    June 19, 2013
    • That’s wonderful, thank you.

      June 19, 2013
  34. wow..these are stunning, so uniquely you! I don’t think you will have any problem with your portrait business, once people see these…

    June 19, 2013
    • I really hope you are right Heather, I think that is going to be the next step, see if people would pay to have images like this done. Thank you.

      June 19, 2013
  35. smallhandwriting #

    What photo editing software do you use, if any? Only a couple months ago I officially received a camera fit for taking high-quality photos: beforehand I had a small digital camera which struggled at producing a photo of any degree of quality. Anyway, I would love to begin experimenting with editing photos.

    June 19, 2013
    • I use Photoshop, I have just upgraded to the new Creative Cloud, though if you are just starting with editing, then there is GIMP which is free, or Adobe have some other products, LIghtroom and Photoshop Elements, all good.

      June 19, 2013
  36. Excellent work. The first one is the prize.

    June 19, 2013
    • Thank you, do I win anything, 😉

      June 19, 2013
  37. Love it, love it, love it…. 😀 I think maybe the top picture with the girl and the flowing white just might be my new favorite… Dang girl… I never would have guessed that you’d be so creative/good with people photography. I love your new stuff… Would love to send the $150, but am currently watching my pennies since I’ve had to buy my mom a new laptop as hers was taken… or so I was told. Anyway… I’m very excited for you! Love your site as well…. 😀

    June 19, 2013
    • Haha, that is fantastic Keli, I am loving this stuff so much, and it has been wonderful getting all the positive feedback from people. That’s okay, thanks for considering it, I do appreciate that. Thank you.

      June 19, 2013
  38. lifewithlelah #

    What a great idea for your fundraising. Best wishes!

    June 19, 2013
  39. Wish I could afford it right now! When I save up a bit, I’ll jump on board – if it’s not too late! I’m a fan! 🙂

    June 19, 2013
    • YOu are a darling, thank you Marsha, I didn’t really think this would happen, I don’t think. Thanks anyway. 🙂

      June 19, 2013
      • You don’t know till you try it.

        June 19, 2013
      • Actually, experience tells me it wouldn’t. Shame really. Oh well.

        June 20, 2013
      • Well we will wait and see. 🙂 Keeping my fingers crossed. 🙂

        June 20, 2013
      • Okay, you can do that for me Marsha, that would be wonderful. 🙂
        I have found that people like everything for free on the internet and not many people like to pay for anything, so I have stopped trying in that respect. I know people come here to learn, but if my business takes off, I will do the teaching privately for only a few special people, like yourself. 🙂

        June 20, 2013
      • Yay! I’ve been practicing feathering and lightening. I have a question about gradient darkening, but it can wait until my next session. I’m sort of in the blues now when I look over my landscapes and try to find the rule of thirds and there’s not many of them there! 🙂 Yikes!

        June 20, 2013
      • Haha, that is fantastic, When you are ready. Oh no, that can be one of the problems with getting your work critiqued, but now you know and I am sure you will find a big improvement when you shoot next time. 🙂

        June 21, 2013
      • At least I am aware of a lot. I’ve been practice feathering and lightening. You can see that I lightened Manny on my Manny post today.

        June 21, 2013
      • I will take a look Marsha, it is all practice.

        June 21, 2013
      • hahaha True! 🙂

        June 21, 2013
  40. These are all superb shots – it looks like you’re really hitting your stride.

    June 20, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I really hope so.

      June 20, 2013
  41. Reblogged this on Oyia Brown.

    June 21, 2013
  42. Beautiful lighting, composition and costume. Great idea to raise money!

    June 21, 2013
    • Thank you, that is great to hear. It is a nice idea, but doesn’t really work.

      June 21, 2013
  43. They are beautiful images. Very artistic. I love your idea to kickstart a new camera. I unfortunately don’t have the money to participate, but I you have a lot of success with it. I also checked out your website, it looks wonderful!

    June 21, 2013
    • Thank you for even considering it Colin, I have to admit, I like the idea, but I also knew that it probably wouldn’t work. Thank you also for checking out the website, I am happy with how it is coming along, more work to be done yet.

      June 21, 2013
  44. I love these photos Leanne. They have a whimsical feel to them.

    June 21, 2013
    • Thank you, that is fantastic, I like that word.

      June 21, 2013
      • You can use it in your artist’s statements! 🙂

        June 21, 2013
      • That would be good. Thanks for the suggestion, 🙂

        June 21, 2013
  45. poppytump #

    I’ve scrolled and scrolled but can’t pick a favourite Leanne .. which must be a gooood thing. Right 😉 I ❤ them all
    Love the alternative Alice storyline ! A look of innocence and mischief abound on that young ladys face 😉

    June 22, 2013
    • Thank you Poppytump, that is fantastic, haha. I love them too. I like the idea of the images not being straight from a fairy tale but a suggestion to one, or an alternative. Yes, she can be very mischievous, but also very innocent, which is something that I love about photographing her.:)

      June 22, 2013
  46. Beautiful photography, thanks for your recent visit to my blog, btw, I’m a Brit/Oz photographer, would be happy to collab on a joint photog project to potentially access Kickstarter from here (UK) 🙂

    June 22, 2013
    • Sounds interesting, I don’t know how that would work though.
      Thank you, about the photography I mean. 🙂

      June 22, 2013
  47. I love that you keep coming up with ideas… It’s not just you. I was chatting with an owner of a local second hand book store last week, and after 7 months, it still isn’t making even a small profit. She is looking at going online, and networking and blogging, yada yada. I think small start ups are the toughest thing to get going, and right now the economy isn’t supportive. Discretionary spending is all over the place. Have you considered a pop up shop? They are popular here… but I guess you have the expenditure of printing and even basic matting and framing. Is anyone buying photographic prints anymore? DIY photography seems to be the in thing.
    I like what you’ve been doing – don’t take my silence as anything else, it’s just so hard put in enough time to cover everything 🙂

    June 26, 2013
    • It is very hard and I think you are probably very correct there about the way people are spending. I want to try and do these images as a portrait style business, so people will come to me for a different type of portrait. That is the plan.
      Hey I completely understand about the time thing. It is hard. Thanks for popping in. 🙂

      June 26, 2013
  48. These are wonderful, Leanne, absolutely wonderful!!! The addition of the textures really make the image unique, and she is quite a fine model–lovely face, hair and smile–mischief!!!

    July 1, 2013
    • Thank you 1000. I have never really experimented with textures much, I didn’t really know how to use them, but I am learning and and I am really liking what I am coming up. Now I am photographing them everywhere, and have started a book making my own.
      She was a great model. I have been very lucky and everyone I have photographed has been great.

      July 1, 2013

Comments are closed.

