Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Docklands to Southbank

During the week I went for a trip into the Docklands to take some photos. I have only ever been there on the weekends before, it is usually busy, but during the week, well when we went, it was dead, so quiet.  We didn’t hang around for long.  If you want photos with almost no people, it really is the best time to go.

LeanneCole-scdocklands-3hpm4845I love this shot, I don’t know why, I think it is the red against everything else and I really like the light.

I think this sums up the Docklands, it was a great idea but it needs a lifeline.  Apparently not enough people are going there to visit it and the restaurants aren’t doing well.  The main problem with it seems to be that there is nothing there that is so special that you can’t find anywhere else.  There is the ferris wheel, which seems to be taking longer to fix than it did to build it in the first place.  It hasn’t been working for 4 years, you can’t tell me it took that long to build.  Maybe once it is going then maybe the area will pick up.  It is a lovely spot, but, but!

LeanneCole-scdocklands-3hpm4914After a coffee we headed over to the Webbed Bridge and towards Southbank.  I have photographed this bridge before, and every time I do it, it seems to look the same, the same sort of light.  We are planning on going back and doing some shots at sunset and then at night.  I think that might be better as well.

LeanneCole-scdocklands-3hpm4989This is another bridge crossing the Yarra, and not that far from the previous one.  I like the work on this one, it reminds me of a wagon.

Not long after this we went and had Yum Cha for lunch before walking back to Flinders Street Station.

LeanneCole-scdocklands-3hpm5001We were watching some guy taking some footage, and decided to try a photo ourselves.  As I was standing there this couple sitting down looked at me, and asked if I had been in a camera club once, I said yes and the guy said I thought I recognised you, and I said, I recognise you too.  We had both been in the same club about 15 years ago.  Though neither in it now.  He went to another club and I choose to stay away from them all.  It was lovely catching up with him.

I have to say, Camera Clubs were not for me, too much emphasis on competitions and then they keep information to themselves and aren’t willing to share because they don’t want you doing what they do.  Of course, they think they don’t have that emphasis, but then you start talking to them and that is all they talk about, what competitions they have entered and what they have won.  Surely there is more to photography than that.

I have a load more photos for you, here they are in a gallery.

It was a great day for photos in some ways.  I always have fun.  For those interested the cow in the tree is by an artist called John Kelly.

It was strange not posting yesterday.  Though, I wouldn’t have had much time to do one anyway.  I had to teach a class yesterday at Eltham.  I was sharing my knowledge on how to photograph sport.  Interesting class.

111 Comments
  1. lensaddiction #

    Nice pix, brings back my memories of being there at Worldcon back in 2010. I greatly enjoyed my wanderings and had the *best* risotto I have ever had at the food court. You must have been very early as I see no people in your pix 🙂

    I agree with you about the competitiveness in camera clubs, there is a big club here in CHCH that is very competition focussed and I have never joined it. I found a nature based one that doesnt do competitions at all except for a interclub one once a year. You should try looking around as I found it very nice to spend time with likeminded people and have learned a lot from them. Had some very enjoyable field trips to little places I didnt even know existed, and we know how you like trips away with your camera:)

    You might be lucky and find a club that is not so competition centered, I certainly hope there should be some out there in the world 🙂

    June 23, 2013
    • I had to look up Worldcon, haha, I love sci fi, but had not idea about it. So which food court did you have the Risotto in? We were there in the middle of the day, we had to wait a few minutes at times so there were no people, but southbank was dead, so it wasn’t a problem there.

      I don’t know about camera clubs, right now I am focused more on my work, and I am finding that I seem to be collecting people who want to come out and take photos. That is really nice, we just go chat, take photos and enjoy ourselves. It has been great so far.

      Apparently Melbourne Camera club is not so competition based, they do them, but they do lots of other things as well. So if I were ever to consider joining one, that is probably the one I would look at.

      June 23, 2013
      • lensaddiction #

        It was the food court closest to the convention center, on the right as you go in, behind the gelato counter, but down a couple of shops. I think it was italian and it was a chorizo and shrimp and chilli risotto and FANTASTIC 🙂

        its a shame Southbank is dead but i understand the difficulties of drawing people into a center city when parking etc is an issue. Given melbournes high quality of public transport that does seem to be a poor excuse tho, I would rather visit south bank than the rundown shops at St Kilda past Luna Park 😦

        June 23, 2013
      • I don’t know that one, might have to go hunting.
        It isn’t Southbank, it is the Docklands, they are kind of one end to the other, if that makes sense. Southbank is good and there are always lots and lots of people around, but Docklands, I don’t know, why would you go there? That is the problem, there is nothing special there. Though, I think you will find many of us think our public transport is crap, haha.

        June 23, 2013
  2. choppy123 #

    Briiliant shots again 🙂

    June 23, 2013
  3. Republicou isso em O LADO ESCURO DA LUA.

    June 23, 2013
  4. I got to the end and discovered that you did, indeed, explain about the cow. I liked these a lot. The skies in them contribute a lot. Along with the water and the general tone. Nice, Leanne.

    June 23, 2013
    • I didn’t explain much about the cows George, I can also tell you that it is made of bronze and it stands out a lot. You can’t miss it. Thanks George, it was a nice day for photos, and nice company.

      June 23, 2013
  5. Beautiful images-great processing!

    June 23, 2013
  6. Wonderful photos. One day, I’ll make it down there.

    June 23, 2013
  7. Great pictures, and I love the vibrancy in them. Melbourne is pretty cool. 🙂

    June 23, 2013
    • I think Melbourne is amazing :). Thank you.

      June 23, 2013
  8. I enjoyed your story about the Docklands. I expect most large cities have areas that struggle. And of course, (I always say this) it goes without saying that I liked your photos.
    Regarding clubs, my attitude follows Grouch Marks who said, “I don’t care to belong to any club that will have me as a member.”

    June 23, 2013
    • Yes, I expect you are right about that, the worse thing is the developers are still building and still trying to make it work, sometimes you just have to accept it ain’t working. Thank you.
      I love that about clubs, perhaps I should follow along.

      June 23, 2013
  9. superbe architecture

    June 23, 2013
  10. I have nominated you for a sunshine award

    June 23, 2013
    • Thank you so much, it is a lovely award.

      June 23, 2013
      • Your welcome, you are very inspiring

        June 23, 2013
  11. I very much like the second image down, Leanne – that could stand being rotated 90 degrees clockwise! Any nearer to getting the D800? Adrian

    June 23, 2013
    • I am not sure which one you mean, the bridge in the post or the second in the gallery. No, no closer the D800, I am going to have to find the money myself, haha. I will have to start working, though I am trying to do that now.

      June 23, 2013
      • Its the picture below the lifebuoy, of the webbed bridge – very good! Adrian

        June 24, 2013
      • Oh, okay, thanks,

        June 24, 2013
  12. Nice photos! I especially liked numbers 5, 7 and 10 in your gallery.

    June 23, 2013
    • Thank you, that is great. I was quite happy with these images.

      June 23, 2013
  13. What a great spot! Too bad it isn’t more of a draw, but it worked out for the photos anyway…Totally agree about the colors in the first shot – that red just Pops.
    Hope you’ve had a good weekend 🙂

    June 23, 2013
    • It is a lovely spot, and it is a shame that it doesn’t draw a crowd. I think if it wasn’t so close to the city it might have worked, but everything that is there is in the city 10 fold. I love that red. It has been a great weekend, I hope you got some time to yourself. Thanks

      June 23, 2013
  14. Great set of images – it’s always great to see hidden parts of a city you think you know so well!

    June 23, 2013
    • It is a shame that it is a quite part of the city, especially considering how much money has been spent on it. Thanks Richard.

      June 23, 2013
  15. I’ve seen goats up trees, but never a cow. There used to be a cow stood on somebody’s roof near us. However, it wasn’t sunbathing.

    June 23, 2013
    • Oh I like the description of it sunbathing, I hadn’t thought of that. Yes, we have a cow up a tree, he does a lot of paintings of things like that.

      June 23, 2013
  16. You had a productive wander around in an interesting area – lucky you!
    I love the design of the Webbed Bridge – it looks to have great potential for some minimal abstract shots.

    June 23, 2013
    • It was a great wander Noeline. I love the bridge too, I am hoping to get back there in the near future for photos of the sunset and some night shots.

      June 23, 2013
  17. Really lovely, and the photo of the cow in tree art is so intriguing, it got me going back and back to look again 🙂 I love it when the clouds are out, not to many, but enough to add some drama to shots.

    June 23, 2013
    • I agree about the clouds, it is great when they are like that. The cow is brilliant, though I have to say, Melbourne is great for art like that, we have many wonderful things around the place.

      June 23, 2013
  18. I too am competition averse and I dislike it when photographers do not share informations and locations. Very nice gallery of your weekday walk.

    June 23, 2013
    • Thank you Robert, they can be very cliquey groups as well. They are so weird.

      June 23, 2013
      • All of which is why I like the folks I’m in contact with via my wordpress blog.

        June 23, 2013
      • I have to totally agree, it much nicer here, no stress, no expectations, just nice people, for the most part.

        June 24, 2013
  19. Reblogged this on The Man of Letters and commented:
    Holy cow great shot!

    June 24, 2013
  20. Great series. The lack of people accentuates the landscape and architecture, which I rather like.

    June 24, 2013
    • I rather like it as well, it was good because there weren’t a lot around, and you could wait a moment or two for the people to be gone. Thanks Joseph.

      June 24, 2013
  21. Wonderful pics. Yet another place I need to visit.

    June 24, 2013
    • Yes, it is a really nice area, it would be good to see it being used a lot more.

      June 24, 2013
  22. Beautiful photos… I went to Melbourne twice but never went to the docklands. That Webbed Bridge is incredible! Wish I had seen it when i was there!

    June 24, 2013
    • I am sure the webbed bridge will still be there when you come back, not so sure about the docklands. Thank you.

      June 24, 2013
  23. Pat #

    wonderful shots of such interesting structures.

    June 24, 2013
    • Thanks Pat, a lot of money went into building up the area, but I don’t think much thought went into why would people go there.

      June 24, 2013
  24. Great shots – it looks a bit like parts of the Thames – same deserted, 21st Century melancholy 🙂 Yeah, camera clubs have never appealed to me either.

    June 24, 2013
    • It is quite strange that developers build these areas without much research. It isn’t like it is easy to get there, my daughters went there a few times to go to a factory outlet, but then there is one closer to the city, so they go there now instead, easier to get to.
      Camera clubs, a breed of their own I think. Thanks Richard.

      June 24, 2013
      • Yes, it’s odd. I think over here it’s partly down to where the government wants to appear to be redeveloping areas 🙂

        June 24, 2013
      • Madness, I do think the docklands will pick up if they ever get that ferris wheel working again, what a disaster that has been.

        June 24, 2013
  25. When you said empty, I didn’t think that empty. The bridge designs, though, are quite interesting.

    June 24, 2013
    • Some of it we waited for no people, but we didn’t have to wait long. It is very sad, but great for taking photos.

      June 24, 2013
  26. Love these pics Leanne… I felt like I went for a walk around there with you.
    Melbourne has some wonderfully interesting architecture! Love the cow 😀
    Love that webbed bridge and so interesting what you say… I thought it would be a never ending array of photographic options… I really like it and the single image you chose to post.
    Love the buoy image also.. you’ve got a harmonious and complimentary thing going on there…love it!
    Always enjoy your wanderings!

    June 24, 2013
    • Thank you Robyn, that is wonderful to hear. It is a great area, and there are some beautiful things there, but it is so barren, which is such a shame. I really hope the ferris wheel will help pick things up.
      That is great to hear, really hope one day to do some of our own wanderings.:)

      June 24, 2013
      • Me too 🙂
        Something to look forward to one day…will definitely keep this in mind!
        Ooh I love Ferris wheels. Hope it helps bring in the people.

        June 24, 2013
      • Yes, that would be fantastic.
        The ferris wheel is so big, and it would be a great place to see Melbourne, but it looks deserted and lost.

        June 24, 2013
      • You should take a pic. It sounds wonderful 🙂

        June 24, 2013
      • The worse part is that the best place to take a photo is on the Bolte Bridge and you can’t stop, maybe I should get my daughter to drive over it and I will wind down the window and take some photos. MMm, some ideas, stay tuned. 🙂

        June 24, 2013
      • Lol, yep go for it!

        June 24, 2013
      • Will see what I can do. 🙂

        June 24, 2013
  27. I meant I enjoy your wanderings 🙂

    June 24, 2013
  28. love the series…the bridge is amazing…I would have thought a camera club would be more to learn rather than be competitive?

    June 24, 2013
    • Thanks Heather, it turn out really well and they do look good together. No, camera clubs are probably not the place to learn, they are very stange about teaching people.

      June 24, 2013
  29. That webbed bridgy thing is really cool. So happy that you enjoyed the waterfront for us and showed us your images. The place looks so modern. Funny about the camera clubs – that’s probably why I haven’t bothered to join one.

    June 24, 2013
    • It was a pleasure, so glad you enjoyed it Emily. They turned out great too, so I am happy about that. It is a very modern place, it has all sprung up in the 10 or so years. Yes, it really isn’t worth it unless you want to do competitions every month. Thanks

      June 24, 2013
  30. Nice work. I enjoyed looking at these photos a lot.

    June 24, 2013
  31. I didn’t post today, and it feels weird. I posted something in the middle of the night on my other blog, and I haven’t looked at it since. I’ve been reading blogs today instead – relaxing. Did you see the moon last night? It was almost blinding. It hit its peak at about 4:00 a.m. our time, but I saw it earlier than that, and it was still very bright. Have a great weak, Leanne. 🙂

    June 24, 2013
    • I know what you mean, I did that on Saturday, though it felt good too. I didn’t feel stressed at all. No, I didn’t see it last night, I saw it the night before, pretty amazing.
      So do we feel like rebels? Haha, you have a great week too Marsha, we might need to hook up for another chat.

      June 24, 2013
      • That sounds lovely. Let’s see if we can get our schedules to match. I’m about off to get ready for bed tonight. Take care, Leanne. 🙂 🙂

        June 24, 2013
      • Sounds really good, I have a pretty easy week this week, so we can see what happens. 🙂
        Night.

        June 24, 2013
  32. Gorgeous post

    June 24, 2013
  33. Such a neat bridge design. Thanks for sharing your lovely photos.

    June 24, 2013
    • Thank you, it is good you enjoyed them.

      June 25, 2013
  34. Fabulous post x I was thinking it was Docklands to Southbank in London but then realised and enjoyed the photos all the more for looking twice. It is a joy to be transported across the globe by your wonderful photography. There is no competition going that you could fail to win but I am so glad you post your pictures for ordinary people to share instead.

    June 25, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you. That is great, I do love showing my city and if people enjoy looking at them, then all the better.

      June 25, 2013
  35. Oh what wonderful photos, the sky really created some intense shots

    June 25, 2013
    • Yes, I think that sky made most of these images. It really adds to them. Thank you.

      June 25, 2013
  36. A very nice collection to showcase your weekend wanderings. The bridge would make a wonderful play area if it wasn’t a bridge. ~~~~ : – )

    June 25, 2013
    • Thank you,the bridge would be a fun area, if only it wasn’t . .. .

      June 25, 2013
  37. absolute love the interior images. you take beautiful photos. Just finishing Visionary Structure, these definitely be in this category. Thank you again for awesome photos

    June 25, 2013
    • Thank you, I haven’t heard of that term before. The buildings down there are very much like that.

      June 25, 2013
  38. Love the photos. I’m heading to the Docklands today to take some of my own

    June 25, 2013
    • Have a great time, beautiful day for it.

      June 25, 2013
  39. Love these photos — I’ve been to the Docklands twice (during the week) and as you pointed out, it’s pretty vacant, which is too bad, since it’s a very visual place. You’ve captured that, definitely!

    June 25, 2013
    • I like that word vacant, they need to get something there that just isn’t anywhere else, give people a reason to go, the only reason I went was to take photos, but there is no other reason I would go there. Thank you Steph.

      June 26, 2013
  40. Your images certainly bring Docklands to life. I do like the cow in the tree, and also the life buoy. The bicycles also… it’s all good photographically. I’ve never been there but a friend always visits Dockland when she goes to Melbourne. I feel the same way about Darling Harbour in Sydney. We went recently as we needed lunch before the Dalai Lama talk at the nearby Entertainment Centre. Darling Harbour was surprisingly busy, but them again there were a few things on. As you say, Docklands just needs something else to help it out. People will come out it it’s worth it.

    June 26, 2013
    • Thank you EllaDee, you will have to ask your friend why she goes there all the time, I find it a bit boring, not much there. I saw that on your blog about the Dalai Lama, I have been to Darling Harbour, it seemed like a nice place, but I was only there once.
      Yes, they need to find a reason to make people want to go there.

      June 26, 2013
  41. Ben #

    Fantastic photos! The lighting is great and you have some lovely clouds there. I really like the tone of the images. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    June 27, 2013
    • Thank you, it was a great day for taking photos.

      June 28, 2013
  42. poppytump #

    It really does seem so strange Leanne it being so empty like that almost as those something weird has happened to everyone ….
    The skies played into your hands this day 🙂 a great offset to the architecture !

    June 28, 2013
    • Perhaps I should go back during the day again and do some doomsday images, perhaps it would perfect for me.
      They certainly did, they really made the images I think. Thanks Poppytump

      June 29, 2013
  43. Really a great series here, Leanne…I’m so fascinated by the Webbed Bridge, and your shots of it are more than terrific! The ‘life buoy’ is superb…I, too, love the color against the blandness of the background. Sad, though, about the Ferris wheel…here in Chicago, I believe it the grandest attraction at Navy Pier, and the only time it is ‘down’ is during extreme wind storms, as the wheel is actually halfway down the pier and several blocks ‘into’ the lake!

    July 1, 2013
    • Thanks 1000, the webbed bridge is so cool, I love photographing it. I would really like to get some shots of it on a sunny day though, I think it would have some amazing shadows, every time I go, it is overcast. Maybe one day I will just have to go when I see the sun out.
      The Ferris Wheel is unbelievable. They built it with inferior steel that buckled, not very good with our temperatures, so now it is being repaired, opened in October 2008, I believe, and was closed by January 2009. It has opened since. It has taken longer to fix it than it did to build it. It really is needed there, it would draw in so many more people. I think you would see some amazing things from it. One day, they reckon this year, well, I will believe it when I see it.

      July 1, 2013
      • Un-freakin’-believable! Must have been Chinese steel, which is not made with quite the same components as US steel, and is therefore cheaper!

        Wouldn’t it be great to ride it up, using a long lens–say 1000mm or so? You’d surely get some fantastic shots!

        July 1, 2013
      • You know I think it was chinese steel, they should have used Australian steel.In the long run it would have been so much cheaper.
        I think you would get some great photos from it, and if they ever get it going I will take a ride and take some photos for you to see.

        July 1, 2013
      • I would imagine Australian steel to be the REAL thing, Leanne…just from what I know of the Australians as a working people. It’s the silly polly-tickers who get bribed to purchase inferior products, then they walk merrily away, taking no blame!

        July 6, 2013
      • I think the difference is the price, Australian steelworkers get paid proper wages and aren’t cheap labour, which is the way it should be. Whereas in China, I imagine the wages are much less and therefore they can produce their steel much cheaper. It really isn’t a practice that we should support. Oh well, one day they WILL learn, we HOPE.

        July 6, 2013
  44. These places are so cool! You’re so lucky to have so many amazing locations to capture!

    July 8, 2013
    • I guess it is the advantage of living in a major city, we have lots of stuff everywhere, so it easy to get to. Melbourne does do a lot of stuff like this, so we are very lucky too. It is great to know that you enjoy it, I am sure there will be a lot more. Thanks Amanda.

      July 8, 2013
  45. If you need a reason to go to Docklands, Just believe you might meet Leanne there Ha! That would be worth while. Loved reading your replies, you sound a happy lady.

    March 16, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Guild Theater | Psychic Traumata

Comments are closed.

