Skip to content

In the Beginning

A couple of days ago I was sent an image of a building that is now on the location where the School for the Deaf had its second home.

97 Henry Street WindsorIt isn’t a very impressive building that sits here.  Though, the original building was also not impressive, though, I am sure you would agree, had a lot more character.

image004It is quite a cute little building.  Not many houses like this have survived, though you do see them around.

Here is another image of it.

vhrThis photo was taken a lot later than the first image, and comes from the National Trust Database.

I told you about how the school came about in another post, you can read it here.  They didn’t start their life in the bluestone that is now belongs to Deaf Children Australia.  There were two residences before they were given the land the building was built.  This is the second one.  The first building, I believe, has also been demolished.

I also have a chronology of F.J. Rose, the founder of the school.  If you read this, it will give you a great idea of the history of the school.  He was an amazing man, and did so much for the deaf community, he gave them everything he had, quite literally.

Frederick John Rose – Chronology

Hopefully that has worked.

I have not taken any of the photos in this post.  I thought you might enjoy seeing more of the actual history.

Remember if you would like to help Deaf Children Australia and the restoration of the Blueston then you can Donate Here.

Update on the New Camera

Well after proposing that people be patrons to my photography and donate $150 to

Leanne Cole - Alice Alone at the Tea Party

Leanne Cole – Alice Alone at the Tea Party

help me get a new camera, and in exchange I send them a print, I have received my first patron.

In exchange for her patronage I am going to get Alice Alone at the Tea Party printed as a 14 x 14 inch print, which will be editioned, only 10 available, then it will be dated and signed and sent to her.  She is very excited and so am I.  I have never had a patron before, so I am really excited to get my first, and hopefully not my last. Only 34 more to find.

60 Comments
  1. Surely, there are 34 out of this many followers! 🙂 The history of the school for the deaf is interesting. I knew a girl who lived in a school for the blind for several years although she was only technically blind. I never knew why her mother sent her there. I knew her mother very well for years, but I never asked her. The history of all disabled people is something of a miserable one, I think. Today, we do a better job of it.

    June 28, 2013
    • I wouldn’t be sure about that George.
      I totally agree with you we do do a much better job today. 🙂

      June 28, 2013
  2. Hi Leanne. The comments and your replies to this post made me think I should do a post, or more, on the achievements of the tenants supported by the small charity for which I work part-time. Last evening I spent a while with one of them, Gordon, completely without sight and brain-damaged as the result of an accident, he high on a climbing wall while I filmed/shot him from below. Amazing people like Gordon demonstrated that, yes, we do do a bit better job, thank God. But as I use digital for my ‘work’ things it’ll be on grumpytyke rather than my film photoblog from which I’m commenting here. By the way, thanks for the ‘like’ on my new ‘hiddenplacespix’ blog. Couldn’t you start the ball rolling with one of your wonderful pix in Oz? You clearly see a lot of things missed by the majority.

    June 28, 2013
    • I am not sure what you mean, what would you like me to do?
      We do do a better job, we don’t try and hide them away anymore, we don’t assume to know what is best for them like they are brain dead idiots or something. I am so glad things have changed.

      June 28, 2013
  3. Nice post…I hope all your work is helping the foundation with their goals 🙂

    June 28, 2013
    • I don’t know if it is, but I hope so. Thanks Marie.

      June 28, 2013
  4. Maggie Beck #

    I enjoyed your bit of history this morning! Thanks!

    June 28, 2013
    • That is great Maggie, thank you.

      June 28, 2013
  5. What camera are you after Leanne?

    June 28, 2013
    • I really want to get a Nikon D800.

      June 29, 2013
  6. Congrats on your first patron; I’m sure there will be many more!

    June 28, 2013
    • Thanks Darla, I wish I can be confident, but I fear it may be my only one. That is just how the internet works.

      June 29, 2013
      • Hopefully you will be wrong on that aspect. After all, the internet has launched a thousand BIG businesses. I wish I knew how to market it better. I use facebook to advertise my business and my husband’s real estate, but i’m not sure it is affective. And today, it appears to be down! And he has an OPEN HOUSE in a few hours!

        July 7, 2013
      • I might be, but it has turned out to be my experience. Well my experience with this blog. I thought if I helped people, this is in the past, that people would help me, you know donate $5 here or there, I have seen another photographer do that, but in the end they didn’t want to help me, well a handful did, which was great, but majority no, so experience tells me that my camera idea won’t work. People want everything for free on the internet. I am trying to use facebook for my business as well, I am told it is a good way to go, but I don’t know. My images get likes, but it hasn’t brought in any business yet. I should check out your facebook page, do you have a special one for your business?

        July 7, 2013
      • I manage four businesses on facebook. I too have been told it is the way to go, but so far, very little business has come through. I guess the more likes you get, the better. The trick is to accept as many friends as possible on your personal page (that is is your pages are linked) and then you get a broader base to “invite” Unfortunatly after so many invites, facebook won’t let you reinvite people for a while. ???? I still use it, its the only avenue of advertising I have that I don’t have to pay for.
        Got some bad news on my camera. NIKON won’t even look at it beause they say its “gray market” meaning it wasn’t bought in the US. My hubby bought it as a surprise over the internet. The company is no longer in business, so have no recourse. The local camera company wrote a letter and listed a camera comproble to what this old one would be worth, but it is not a camera that I would use. Also, my flash can’t be fixed, its $600 – I hope the insurance co will pay up. I may have to finance and pay out when I get my final settlement. I don’t know. I really needed to do other things with the settlement money, but I can’t work without a camera. I haven’t been taking any work but I have a wedding under contract in three weeks. And I can’t find any equipment to rent. grrrrrr, stupid lady driver who ran a stop sign.

        July 14, 2013
      • I haven’t really done that with facebook, I have a link to my photographers page on my blog and website, and I get some from it, but not many. The place I seemed to be getting likes from right now are from the friends of the people I have been photographing, I tag them in the photos so that their friends can see what I have done.
        Yes, the gray market is a tough one. I buy myself with it, but I buy it from people in Australia who guarantee the Australian Warranty, luckily I haven’t had to see if it is true. So what exactly happened to the camera, I don’t think you ever said, I thought it just broke down, but it sounds like a lot more happened to it.

        July 14, 2013
      • I was in a car wreck and the impact “jacked” it up. The tech’s words. It just won’t shoot right. Its like the ISO function is all messed up and no matter what I did, all the images came out very dark and very grainy.
        Not really sure what I’m going to do. Going to try to finance it until the insurance settles because I need one now! Of course to upgrade means all new lenses as the ones for my ancient D200 won’t work on the D800 that I want. Also have to have a new flash. That should be covered by the insurance. and will probably only get about $900 to put toward the $3,000 camera and nothing for new lens.

        July 15, 2013
      • That really sucks, I hope you get some money for it soon. I really want the D800, but I need to earn the money first, well, I’m starting to work on that now. Good luck, if I lived close by I would lend you mine.

        July 15, 2013
      • What, I thought you shot with something way superior to that one. Although the NIKON guys (in the shop and at seminars) told me the only difference in the D800 and the D4 – besides 3 grand – is a tiny bit of speed. The D800E is a strictly RAW camera and its $1000 more. I like the option to shoot raw and jpg. I’ve got the camera (financed and will pay off with the insurance settlement if that ever happens) but now I need a decent lens and a new flash. Turned on my old one -the one they said couldn’t be fixd – it flashes, but then it sparked a couple of times. Not reliable. I did get a pretty decent used lens for $75 that will get me by if I can’t get the rest before my shoot. I’ve lost so much work this summer, and I really need my late summer and fall to be profitable.

        July 19, 2013
      • No, I wish, I just have the D300s, which is a good one, but not great when it comes to ISO and that is the area I am noticing the most, I really want something with better ISO. If I was going to be shooting cycling still, I would go for the D4, but I don’t need those extra frames a second anymore, so I think the D800 would be fine for me. LIke you I want the option of being able to choose when I shoot jpeg or RAW, I shoot RAW most of the time now, but sometimes, like what I was shooting earlier this week, jpeg is fine.
        I wouldn’t trust the flash either. Does the D800 have an onboard flash? Though you won’t look professional using that. It is a shame the built in flashes didn’t have more control.
        Can you sue for the loss of work? I think that is something you can do here. Not sure. Maybe you should try that with the insurance company, tell they are costing you money and you will sue to retrieve it.

        July 19, 2013
      • My last year at the paper, I finallly got them to purchase the D700 and I shot with it for a year! Loved it! and you are right about the ISO, far superior.
        Like I said, there is not much difference in the D4 except size and price. Even the NIKON reps advised that the D800 was just as good. I figured you shot RAW most of the time, I have not and if I don’t get the woopty do da compact flash I wont be shoot RAW at this next shoot as it takes up an enormous amount of room even in jpg because it captures so much more information than the previous D series cameras.
        Yes the d800 has an onboard flash, but it won’t work at the wedding, not when I need to back up into the room only has a distance of about 2-5 feet. I can shoot with no flash and just up the ISO, but I want to be able to have a fine finish for enlargements. I have actually used the onboard when my old flash wouldn’t work right and that was with a iso of only 1600 – it was the pits and I don’t want to go there again if I don’t have too. I should know something from the other credit card company in 2 days. I hate charging and haven’t for years, but this is an emergency and I will pay it off when I finally get the settlement if they don’t drag it out forever.
        I can use a lawyer, but it will slow down the process by probably a year and I can’t afford to make credit card payments right now. I haven’t let them know that and have “suggested” that I would “rather not seek legal aid” to hopefully get them to cooperate. But if they don’t, then I will.
        The insurance co said they would reimburse me for lost work, but not sure how I would prove it.
        thanks

        July 19, 2013
      • I almost bought a D700 when I bought my second camera, but the frames per second were less than the D300, so I went the D300, I needed those extra frames.
        I have heard the RAW files for the D800 are huge,
        I wouldn’t use the onboard flash either, not enough control, that is what I have always found, thought the D800 you should be able to go up the ISO and not be able to tell, I have heard or read, that it is amazing, and the detail it gets is wonderful.
        Hopefully it will all happen soon for you. I can imagine how frustrating it must be.
        Good luck with it all Darla.

        July 20, 2013
      • wow, I never had any trouble with speed on the D700 and that was taking basketball and football photos! but then again, I never used the D300. I’m so anxious to start playing with my 800, but got to come up with the cash to buy the storage device! The guy said my old one would work until I could get the big pricy one, but he was wrong. 😦
        I know it does go up in iso really well, but I wouldn’t want to try a whole wedding with it alone! got to get that flash and stoargae device. I can make it with the older lens, its really good except it doesn’t have any stabilizers. Which wouldn’t be a problem except my hands are shaky now that I”m older.
        thanks Leanne! 🙂

        July 21, 2013
      • I think the D700 took 5 frames a second, whereas the D300 takes 7 or 8 depending on whether you had a battery pack or not. In the end it wouldn’t have mattered too much, but it was important to have speed, as it turned out none of my lenses at that time would have worked, bar one. What do you mean by the storage device, I am assuming you mean the memory card? Does the D800 take two cards?
        No, I wouldn’t want that either, I hope a solution for the flash comes up soon for you. Oh yes the shaky hands, it is a pain getting old, 😦

        July 21, 2013
      • Yes, the D800 can use two, one as a back up. But the compact flash has to be a Type I and mine is a Type II. I think it has to do with size, mine is only a 4GB – wow, remember when we used KB???? and MB???? Who would ever think a 4GB would be two small even for jpg. The one I need can handle the RAW or so I’ve been told. If it won’t, I will shoot in jpg. I’ve always done well with that in the past.
        I know, I hate getting old. I don’t know why my hands shake, hope its from the neck injuries and not something like Parkinson. 😦

        July 22, 2013
      • I have compact flash cards too, mine are 8GB, I have never felt the need to get any bigger, they have been fine and the right size for me. I did fill it up once doing shots in the city, but I just changed it from RAW to jpeg and managed to get some more. My D300s has capacity for two cards as well, one for back up, which I have started doing with the portraits, it seems more important to do that now.
        I can remember getting a 1 gig card for my first digital, OMG how small that is. My card handle raw, so I hope that means they would be fine, though would probably find them too small with the D800 and the size of the files that it shoots. I am giving a women’s breakfast enough gift vouchers for everyone going, so I hope I get some work out of that, and maybe enough to get the new camera, I have the lenses for it, I just need the camera.
        Yes, I hope you are right about the hand shake problem, maybe you aren’t drinking enough water?? I get like that when I have had too much coffee. My hands just get sore, I have tendinitis in both hands, so it can be painful sometimes.

        July 22, 2013
      • Well, if you get the D800, you will have to have bigger and faster. I picked up an 8gb let me practice before my 64gb came in (and actually it got here sooner, the day after I bought the small one so I wasted that money). The 8gb only holds 100 raw images and about 300 jpg fine. not much for a job like weddings. Not that I can shoot raw, my photoshop won’t recognize the files.
        If I use two cards, one is an SD and I’m not fond of those types because they are so small and easier to loose. I would rather just have backup CF.
        I know, who would have ever thought that a 1gb would be SMALL?! One raw image is 40mb of info. I remember one of my first computers had 40 mb of memory and I thought that was huge! My how times and tech have changed.
        About the hand shake, I drink lots of water, have to because I have on ging kidney problems, I think I’m getting old and with my shoulder injuries and my arthritis, I just don’t have the support to handle lifting things. I need to get back to the pool and do my exercises to build up my strength. I don’t drink coffee or any caffeine on a reg basis because of my bladder/kidney thing.
        Sorry about your tendinitis, it can really make working hard on some days. I went out this morning and I was afraid I would drop my camera because mornings are the pits with arthritis.

        July 29, 2013
      • Haha, Darla, I am working on when I get it, I have heard that the sizes can be really big. I think my current one has RAW files that are aroun 13 or 14mb. That is pretty big for me, keeps filling up my laptop.
        I remember my first computer had 512mb hard drive, would be unthinkable now.
        Getting old is the pits, I hate it, I can see things falling apart, not much you can do but get on with stuff and work out ways to make things work, I mean that for me. My hands can hurt a lot, but I will take it easy for a day or so, use Voltaren gel and then I’m good to go for a bit. I haven’t experienced the morning thing, usually for me it is towards the end of the day. It is such a bugger.

        July 29, 2013
      • one of my first computers only had 40 megs! Even with this big Mac, I keep getting the message that I’m out of RAM. I’ve closed everything and it is still full, have to figure it out?!
        I hear you on getting old(er). LOL I use essential oils; a blend my friend mixes up for me. Don’t really know what alls in it but it works.
        I had so much fun last night (your yesterday morning) chatting and collaborating over the web cam. The echo was distracting and intimidating but it was fun. 🙂

        August 7, 2013
      • I keep getting told I have filled my hard disk, that is frustrating. I have to delete things.
        I like that idea, I have a friend who’s daughter does that sort of thing, I should ask her what she would recommend for my hands.
        It is fun doing the chat thing. There is always something, I can remember what calling someone overseas used to sound like, and how hard it was, now look at us.:)

        August 7, 2013
      • I know, its cool and kind of scary at the same time! Technology has come so far!

        August 10, 2013
      • I really agree.

        August 10, 2013
      • 🙂

        August 19, 2013
  7. Wow really interesting story on the building! I’m sorry I wont be able to donate for your camera 😦 Financially, we are having troubles and my hubby might not be happy about it HAHA! But I’m so excited for you and I think it’s a brilliant idea! Lots of luck!

    June 29, 2013
    • It was nice to look at it and see what it looked like. Thank you Amanda for even thinking about it, I appreciate that so much. I know that a lot people can’t afford it. 🙂

      June 29, 2013
      • I would help if I could! I completely look up to you and I’m one of your biggest fans 😀

        June 29, 2013
      • You don’t need to worry about this, I know what you are going through, just look after you, maybe one day you will be in a position to buy some work. Thank you so much, you are such a sweetheart. 🙂

        June 29, 2013
  8. An interesting piece of history, seeing how the school had humble beginnings. And, congratulations on gaining your first patron.

    June 29, 2013
    • Very humble beginnings, thank you David.

      June 29, 2013
  9. You will find them! 🙂

    June 29, 2013
    • Nice idea, but I’m not hopeful. 🙂

      June 29, 2013
      • Don’t even SAY that. Don’t even THINK that, Leanne!

        June 30, 2013
      • LOL, experience tells me think like that Marsha, it is unfortunate, but it is true.

        June 30, 2013
      • OK, you older sister here, is telling you to change your thinking! Fake it until you make it! You WILL make it! 🙂

        June 30, 2013
      • Haha, you are too funny, I am sure I will make, but not through the blog. 🙂

        June 30, 2013
      • Probably not entirely! But it can’t hurt you! 🙂

        July 1, 2013
      • That is true. I will try. 🙂

        July 1, 2013
      • 🙂

        July 2, 2013
  10. Stu #

    Kudos to Leanne for bringing this subject to her amazing blog.

    an anecdote: for a year I looked after an autistic man. He was fully blind and almost completely non-verbal. One day I read through his case history. As a younger man he’d spent a number of years in a local institution, (now thankfully closed). At one point, he was discovered to have lost 70lbs. How did this happen? Simply because at meal times, other inmates took his food before he could eat it. That this was noticed only after he’d lost 70 lbs speaks volumes about the myriad suffering endured by the disabled.

    (He did however love music. I played for him for an hour every day, which thankfully always brought a smile to his face).

    June 30, 2013
    • That is a terrible story for the man. I am sure there are some very ugly stories of what happened to people in some homes. Though I am pretty sure this one was different, not totally, but the children here were just deaf, and not intellectually disabled, they had voices, and could talk. They were educated, and they were intelligent, though autistic people are as well. I think what i am saying is that this school was more like a boarding school, and the kids were treated much the same way as any children in a boarding school were, except they were deaf.
      I love the story of the music, must have made you feel great doing that. What happened to him?

      June 30, 2013
      • Stu #

        Not too long ago I heard he was doing ‘comparatively’ well.

        Listening to music was what he enjoyed. He also liked going to music related movies. He absolutely has a thinking process. By his facial expressions, I often had the feeling that he was critiquing whatever I played. Considering the extreme difficulty of his life, a smile was always great to see.

        July 1, 2013
      • That is great to hear, and thank you for letting me know. Autistic people are so different to the people considered similar. They are often highly intelligent people, and usually have a gift for one something. I have a friend who’s little boy is autistic, but he functions fairly well. He is very good at numbers and remembering them. So if he asks his mother a question about something, and then asks again, if she doesn’t give the same answer he gets very upset.

        July 1, 2013
  11. You are so passionate in everything you’re doing and put your hear to.
    I hope that you passion for this organization will pay off. How do I donate to your camera.

    July 1, 2013
    • Thank you Viveka, I do love what I do, so I think that helps.
      You can use the donate button if you like Viveka, that would be wonderful, thank you. You can email me as well leanne@leannecole.com.au.

      July 1, 2013
  12. Sorry, for my Swenglish … heart against it should have been.

    July 1, 2013
    • spelling mistakes, happens to us all, I knew what you meant, that is the important part, thank you.

      July 1, 2013
  13. When photographers shoot places of historical interest, they often pique the viewers interest in places and subjects that are new to them. Not only do I enjoy your photographs, but I also have learned a little about Australia, a place I don’t know much about. Thanks. Good luck with your camera.

    July 1, 2013
    • That is wonderful to hear, it is great to know that you are enjoying your virtual tour of Australia. It is an interesting country, but very much like the US in many as well. Different but the same, if I can say that. Thank you.

      July 1, 2013
  14. Congrats, Leanne!

    July 4, 2013

Comments are closed.

