Skip to content

Making Some Textures

I am still away and thought I would do a quick post on textures.  Most of you know that I have been adding textures to the fine art portraits.  I take photos often of textures, stonework, woodwork, fences, anything really that has a nice texture.  I have almost 300 now, but I haven’t been happy with many of them for this work and decided it was time to make my own.

LeanneCole-plaster-6199This one was done with a plaster stuff that you used to fix holes in the walls.  I smudged it onto the paper and then when it was dry put some watered down paint over the top.

LeanneCole-6bpencil-6206This is just 6B graphite drawn and smudged on the paper.  The idea being the centre would be the lightest part.

LeanneCole-crumpled-6211Rag paper soaked in tea and then scrunched up, then flattered then scrunched up again.  I did that about three or four times.  Then let to dry.

LeanneCole-coffee-6208This piece of rag paper was socked in the tea and I put instant coffee onto it in some places.

I wasn’t really happy with that, so I tried soaking some paper then I put tea leaves over the top, the tea leaves wouldn’t stain the paper, so I did what any normal person would do, I stuck it in the oven.

LeanneCole-bakedtea-6214How amazing did it come out.  I was so happy with it.

Then I thought what would  happen if I did this with coffee.  Well, it wasn’t going great, so I added more coffee and then I turned the oven up a lot more.  My house stunk of burnt coffee.

LeanneCole-coffeebake-6220But I think it was worth it.  Quite an interesting effect.

If you are using textures probably best to make them black and white first, unless you want it to affect the colours of your image.  To make them work use blending modes, I usually go for Overlay or soft light.

I haven’t put any watermarks on these, so feel free to copy and save them.  My gift to you.  They are low res images, but you can make them bigger, it shouldn’t affect the image too much.  I’ve done it few time and it has been fine.

I have written a post for tomorrow on my interpretation of art vs photography, so I hope you will be kind to me when I publish it, though I might do it without images.  As I said I am away, and I don’t have much access to the internet here.

112 Comments
  1. I love the ideas! Pretty inspiring as I use 3d tools and I need textures sometimes. Never came to the idea to create them not only with photoshop but also on real paper and so and take photos of them! I think I will try out similar stuff soon! 🙂

    July 2, 2013
    • I used to do this sort of thing all the time, but recently thought, I really should get back into it, then I can make the ones I want and get exactly what I want. Good luck with creating yours.

      July 2, 2013
      • The results are absolutely creative. The first one for example could be either used as rust, ground or for a grungy wall and I do think there are even more possibilities. Amazing idea. Thanks… the workflow really inspired me to give it a try soon. 🙂 Let´s see if I find something I can spill on paper 🙂

        July 2, 2013
      • Good Luck, you need paper that will absorb it though, so normal paper won’t work, but as you experiment you figure that out. 🙂

        July 3, 2013
  2. “Is that breakfast I smell, or is Leanne making textures again…?” In all seriousness – very nice. I too like shooting textures, but have never thought about making my own.

    July 2, 2013
    • Hahaha, not a very nice breakfast, the house stank for ages. Making them seems like a really good way to get exactly what you want. Thanks Robert

      July 3, 2013
  3. How about filling a spray bottle with strong cold tea and spraying the paper with it. I know it works well with fabric.

    July 2, 2013
    • I don’t know Carol, it can really hard to get the stain to absorb into the paper, it often has stuff in it to make it almost water resistant, but it might, maybe if you left it there long enough. I would try everything, that is my attitude towards it, it can’t hurt.

      July 3, 2013
  4. Weathered sandstone makes for an interesting texture I’ve found. Especially when you change the colours in Photoshop.

    July 2, 2013
    • I have some like that as well, and bluestone is really good too. Actually cement can be great too, especially if don’t very badly.

      July 3, 2013
  5. That’s pretty cool.
    I’m still new to the idea of textures in PS. It is good to see that they are easy to create, if still hit and miss. I like the more ‘organic’ look that you’ve achieved.

    July 2, 2013
    • It is all hit and miss, you just experiment and sometimes they work and sometimes they are a massive fail. I am fairly new to using textures as well, but I can see how they can be really good. Good luck with your experimentation and thank you.

      July 3, 2013
  6. Lisa #

    good fun!

    July 2, 2013
  7. Great textures Leanne… I like the tea, coffee and graphite ones the best, I think.

    I also have a database of textured images – some are macro shots of my ceramic surfaces, and others are of stone walls (mostly from Europe) and bark and all sorts of things…. 🙂

    July 2, 2013
    • Yes, I have lots of those sorts of textures as well, but I have been thinking lately that they aren’t always what I want, so it was time to start making my own, I have done many of this stuff before, so it isn’t all new, and I do like to experiment and just see what you get. A smelly house is what I ended up with, but it didn’t last long. 🙂 Have more ideas, so when I get home I might experiment some more. Thanks Dawn.

      July 3, 2013
  8. It’s great to see your results of experimentation – playing with materials is the root of creativity, be it paint, paper or even a lens. Am looking forward to reading your post tomorrow. Your photos in my mind ARE art!

    July 2, 2013
    • It is fun to get your hands dirty from time to time. I hope you won’t be disappointed with the post today, it is just my opinion, well, what I can work out. Thank you very much, that is really nice of you to say.

      July 3, 2013
  9. I love your experiments here…Put it in the oven? Never would have thought of that!
    Very, very clever!
    Hope you’re having a good trip 🙂

    July 2, 2013
    • I have no idea why I thought, hey put it in the oven, but I am pretty sure I will try it again.
      We are having a lovely time here with my mum. I have taken almost no images, it just hasn’t been that imaportant, it is so nice just hanging around with my mum.

      July 3, 2013
  10. The tea and scrunching are my favourites.

    July 2, 2013
    • The scrunching was the best and probably the easiest to do. Thanks Colonialist.

      July 3, 2013
  11. good post and some lovely textures there…i am partial to the scrunched up one and the tea soaked one…i do some layering work too..and have tons of textures…should share them:)maybe you can use some…looking forward to tomorrow’s post…cheers

    July 2, 2013
    • Thank you Sandy, I am enjoying learning how to play with textures, there are so many things you can photograph to use. I am thinking of taking some time around the town to photograph some stuff for textures. I am sure I can gets lots of new ones here too.

      July 3, 2013
      • i am sure you will…it is raining here and there are so many textures popping up all over the place..lovely:)

        July 3, 2013
      • Textures when it is raining, that sounds good, I might have to try that the next time it rains here, thank you for the idea.

        July 3, 2013
  12. I love texture – but I guess you already knew that 😉 I love the ones you have created.

    July 2, 2013
  13. I see marble and hide in some of those textures. The last one reminds me of some of the textures in the ancient cave art I saw in France several years ago. Cool stuff!

    July 2, 2013
    • That is interesting and I like that, thank you.

      July 3, 2013
  14. Palimpsest #

    Goodness that sounds like fun! I have absolutely no idea how to merge or layer images to add texture (or anything else), but if I did I’d definitely take up your generous offer.

    July 2, 2013
    • It is fun, and I am sure one day you will get to it, I think we all do at some stage. Thank you.

      July 3, 2013
  15. These are very cool

    July 2, 2013
  16. Beautiful textures!!! Great works!!!

    July 3, 2013
  17. These are great, Leanne. You’ve created some really inspiring textures here. It’s not something I’ve ever done and I don’t use Photoshop enough to experiment with texture layers. You’ve made me curious again though. Really nice.

    July 3, 2013
    • That is great Distan, it is always good to inspire others. Thank you.

      July 3, 2013
  18. Sonel #

    Great textures Leanne and love how you played around with it. It sure is fun. 😀
    Have fun where you are. 😀 *hugs*

    July 3, 2013
    • Thanks Sonel, it was a nice way to spend an afternoon. I haven’t don’t anything like that for some time, so it was great. 🙂

      July 3, 2013
      • Sonel #

        I bet it was and glad you enjoyed. Sometimes it’s just what you need. 😀 *hugs*

        July 3, 2013
      • I did enjoy it, especially when I saw the end result, now I want to do more. 🙂 Yes perhaps it was.

        July 3, 2013
      • Sonel #

        Well, enjoy making some more hon. They are gorgeous! 😀

        July 3, 2013
      • 🙂

        July 3, 2013
  19. beautiful and thank you for the gift. I’m not sure if I would ever make these. Or if I even know what to do with them. 🙂

    July 3, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, they were great fun to do, and it seems textures is one of those things that we can share without too much hassle. 🙂

      July 3, 2013
      • well thanks again, I made a special folder with your name on it. 🙂

        July 7, 2013
      • Haha, I like that, thank you. My textures are all intogether in a directory called textures, how original am I? 🙂

        July 7, 2013
      • well, you gotta go with what works! 🙂

        July 14, 2013
      • Yep, so far it is working with me. All my cloud photos are in a directory called, are you ready for it, “skies” 🙂

        July 14, 2013
      • LOL, I need to take sky images and make directories. I used to be so organized and “annal” about backing up my photos when I was at the paper. Now, I haven’t backed anything up in over a year. Putting a lot of faith in my MAC not to crash. 😛

        July 15, 2013
      • It is good to have them, makes it great when you have an image with a horrible white sky, you can change it for another one. I have done that a lot. Backing up is so important. Let me tell you a little story, about 8 years ago my husband was talking about backing up stuff for his office and I said, I should have a back for my computer and he thought I was being stupid, nothing wrong it, then the unthinkable happened, my hard disk died, and really died. I lost everything, everything. So all the photos of our girls that we had been taking with one of our first digital cameras, all gone, I lost so much stuff. Even months later I was remembering stuff that I had lost. The next computer I got had a great back up system, and now we have back ups of our back ups. I am even thinking of getting a back up to stay with a friend. You can never go too far.

        July 15, 2013
      • Oh, I’m a backup guru – or I was. Its just when I became unemployed (newspaper) I haven’t had the funds to purchase the CDS. I know, not the best way to back up. When I get the settlement, I intend to buy an external hard drive and install time machine to instantly back up my computer and to store all my photos. I will actually upload all my hundreds of disks to the external drive. I might even get two and store one in a safety deposit box. In a perfect world. But at least with one external drive, if a tornado comes I can just grab it. I’m even going to scan all my old photos (or that’s the plan, I wonder how many years that will take me?) I have a MAC and it backs up stuff all the time and it also backs up some stuff to iCloud, but not all my photos are on the cloud. I really need to get busy and make my directories. I was so organized at the paper, and I’ve just gotten lazy. I have backed up all my shoots externally, so no chance of losing a customers work. My old computer died, died and I had about 10,000 photos on it in nice neat folders (these were all backed up externally), but I really liked having them organized and don’t really want to reload them all again. I will when I get the external hard drive.

        July 19, 2013
      • You have to be careful with discs they don’t last. I had a heap of them with images on them from about 10 years ago and when I went to put them on my computer only a couple were still useable and the images were still on them, the rest had degraded so much and I lost all the images, though they were from my film days and I do still have all the negatives, somewhere. I have two or three external hard drives. My husband is a programmer, so he set it up for me. I have photos on my laptop, then they are backed up onto one external drive, then backed up on another one.
        Being organised it so important. I want to get one or two more external hard disks so I can alternate them with a friend, so she will always have one so I don’t have to worry if something happens to the house, I want even have to worry about grabbing what I have, probably just grab the laptop because it would have the most recent ones on it. I have filled the drives on that so have had to start deleting stuff on it. Though I do tend to keep many copies of the same image, all the different stages, so I should probably start deleting those, especially when I am happy with the final result.

        July 19, 2013
      • Oh my, my disks are about that old – they will degrade even if they aren’t used???
        That is my plan as well, and my son in law is a programer/he works for a high end home theater company. He is there main guy and has even designed programs that HUGE companies have adopted. No schooling, all self taught but he is a genius and always keeps me up and running. So they are all linked together? Are they easy to disconnect in an emergency? That’s what I’m after with all our tornados. I want to be able to grab it and run to the shelter (oh wait, I need one of those too) I really hate being broke all the time. LOL Oh the nature of being self employed.
        I know, I know and I’m vowing to get back to my organizational good self. I was so anal about it and now, its like I don’t care. I think I may be a wee bit depressed.LOL Or maybe just lazy! Putting one with a friend is pretty good idea, seeing how I really hate paying for a safety deposit box. But my luck, we would all be hit by the tornados. But it would be good for in case of fire. Not much chance of both being burned down at the same time! Maybe a fire safe?
        Yeah, just keep the final edit and the original? But I tend to love all my play times in between. 🙂

        July 19, 2013
      • I would check the Darla, they do degrade, regardless of whether you are using them or not. I have heard they last 2 to 5 years.
        I was going to say, why don’t you keep one in the shelter, but it sounds like you don’t have one. I hate being broke all the time as well, it is so frustrating. Perhaps giving one to a friend or someone in the family. then swap them over, it would be good if there was a tornado you didn’t need to worry about it. They connect to your computer with a usb port, so easy to remove. Mine isn’t so easy because it is connect to something else I get access over the network.
        Do you have a friend with a shelter, that you could keep it in there. I don’t know the answer really, we don’t have tornadoes. Though fire can be a real problem where we are, it hasn’t happened, thankfully, but we have a lot of parkland over the road, and it is a possibility.
        I must go though my files and do some deleting. After I am finished I don’t really need all those.

        July 20, 2013
      • Thanks, that’s what I was thinking, my daughter is putting in a shelter, both are. We were going to, but I know the insurance money won’t go as far as we need it too. And if work doesn’t pick up for hubby’s real-estate, be might be selling our own home so no need to spend money on a shelter. LOL
        Fires are a problem during droughts, which we are out of right now. very wet for July! But house fires can happen anytime and no one is exempt! Photographs are the only thing that can’t be replaced except maybe some heirlooms. 🙂
        I need to purge photos as well, I really have a lot of junk that is of no use, but there is something final about that delete button. LOL

        July 21, 2013
      • Oh, I hope you can build that shelter, meaning that I really hope everything goes well for you and you don’t have to sell it. Fingers crossed.
        Yes, fires can happen anywhere any time, and you are right with what you can’t replace. I am scared now, I must get that other back up done and over at my friends house. Then I just need to grab my laptop.
        I have had to do that too, recently I delete about 50000 photos, they were from cycling and I really don’t want to keep them anymore, I don’t need. I had to, no more room, I had filled up everything, and I don’t feel any attachment to that.

        July 21, 2013
      • Thanks Leanne,
        My hubby was in construction for 35 years and we didn’t have a retirement. He went blind for about 7 years and we managed to keep our place then, but we have refinanced so many times that we will never pay it off in our lifetime and know the payements are so high. We are going month to month and If the item we have up for sale sells tomorrow, we are good for another month.
        The problem with real estate, is that it takes so long to close on the house and you don’t get your money until it does. And government own homes take forever; he sold one this last week but it will be 90 days before it closes. It always seems to work out, but I hate the stress of not knowing what next month will bring. I guess it shows how weak my faith is.
        Wow, 50,000 photos, you are prolific! I think I left that many at the paper. At first, I was going to keep them all and then I decided I didn’t want to store them. Its a shame I didn’t have time to go though them, because I had some amazing art type shots. I won a lot of awards while with the paper and helped my paper take 6 top awards each year. I was the only photographer and the main writer, my editors were lazy so I did all the work. Which was fine, I had fun until I realized they were never going to give me a raise. Six years and never a raise.

        July 22, 2013
      • How did he go blind? That would be horrible. Refinancing, we have done that a couple of times, but have been careful with doing it. They are very careful about doing that here, and the bank is pretty strict about who they will give money too and who they won’t. You have to be earning money and plenty to be able to do it, and they won’t let you borrow more than 80% of what your house is worth. Which I suppose is good, but sometimes. I am lucky in that my husband is earning a good salary, but things could change at any time, so I need to start earning some money as well. He wants us to pay off the house and I agree, it is time to do that. So most of what I make will go to doing that.
        I hope it sells for you guys. It would be hard to live like that, though we tend to live pay by pay. I understand about hating the stress, I would too.
        I was very prolific when I was photographing cycling, especially track, a day at the velodrome and I could have almost 2000 photos, I did one day and ended up with over 3000, but track was just happening in front of you constantly. Storing them wasn’t so much as problem but whether or not I needed to keep them. I went through them and keep the ones of my daughter racing, but that was all.
        That is crap about the paper, never a raise, no, that isn’t right, if you want people to continue doing well, you need to reward them. I am starting to understand why they went under.

        July 22, 2013
      • Well, Clint is a diabetic (type 1) and he had problems with diabetic retinaophoty. Its where the blood vessels in the eye bust and create a cloud of blood obscuring the vision. They did laser treatments to stop the bleeders and the blood would dissipate. We knew it was a matter of “when” and not “if” he would go completely blind and it happened about 19 years ago. The eye specialist he was going to said they had done all they could do so for about 5-7 years he worked as a blind vendor and we filled vending machines in prisons and truck stops (a program set up by the government). Then we met another eye surgeon that said he thought he could restore his vision. (they were training a dog for Clint) He did a special surgery called a vitrectomy and after a short while, Clint could see well enough to drive! He gave up his Social Security and went back to work in construction but not tile work because he could no longer see straight lines. He then went to work for Lowe’s Home Improvement and did that for about 7 years until he got sick of it and went into Real Estae. Its been slow going and not a consistent pay. We have managed to stay ahead, but each month its a gamble if we will make it one more month. I’m all for selling the home – but Clint is a hold out. He wants to keep trying. I would rather sell than lose, but he doesn’t panic like I do and he is usually right. Our banks are not like that, they will refinance your entire house and give you some extra if your house appraises for enough. Unfortunately, when you do that you start over and then you never get your house paid for. We would have to work until we were 80 to pay off our house at this point and we’ve lived here for 20 years. When we first bought this house our payment was just over $600 plus insurance; now its $1200 for all of it! I could kick myself for ever refinancing the first time, but oh well, what can you do – can’t go back in time.
        Wow, 3000 photos in one day! Did you get paid for all of them?
        The newspaper was owned by an Indian tribe (its funny, but the tribes are the only ones with money these days) and it never made any money because they spent so much on toys and other employees. I was considered low man on the totem pole (no pun intended) and therefore not worth paying although I wrote 80% of the paper and took all the photos. I was stupid for staying so long, but the health insurance was fantastic. If they hadn’t let me go, I would have lost my insurance a month later when they sold the paper to an individual anyway. The paper is still around, its just not very good. 🙂

        July 29, 2013
      • I am so glad he got his eye sight back, that must have been scary. I will never forget that episode in Little House on the Prairie when Mary wakes up blind. I think it would be the worse sense to lose.
        You have very different ways of doing things there, I mean you, as in your country. The banks won’t let you borrow too much because if you default they won’t to be able to get their money back. It doesn’t mean they aren’t bastards, but we are protected in some ways and in turn so are they.
        Perhaps time is what is needed for the business, I don’t know how long he has been doing it. I am starting to realise how important marketing is and how much of it you need to do. I am concentrating on working that out right now. I know diddly squat about marketing.
        No, I got paid for almost none of them. It is one of those things with cycling, you hope you will get paid, but you don’t get much.
        Just because people have money doesn’t mean they know what they are doing. I am surprised you stayed as long too. It would have driven me made. Your health system is a mystery to us, and one we definitely don’t want. While ours isn’t great, everyone is entitled to health care and everyone is part of a national medical insurance, though our government is trying to force people to take out private health insurance, which I think is so wrong, they are making some businesses in the private sector more successful, I wish they would do that for me. Your job here never gets you health insurance.

        July 29, 2013
      • I agree, blindness is the worst! He was miserable, the loss of freedom to get around on his own was the worst. My eyesight is not great and is getting worse, I have to depend on autofocus or my shots are blurry.
        Yes, the banks are way to free with money here. things are getting tougher, but still way too easy. I guess that is why so many folks default on loans. The banks are insured, but I’m not sure what keeps them in business, perhaps the really high interest rates they charge.
        Cycling sounds like newspaper work, you work your tail off and don’t get paid squat! I’ve been doing a lot of facebook marketing. I just realized that yesterday while I was editing, I kept posting a pick about every hour; I got more hits and likes yesterday than I have in a long time! But who has the time to stay on facebook all day????
        Well, our health system is a mystery to me too. LOL The problem is that doctors have long been the rich people in this country; they become doctors for the money, not to help people. Our biggest problem is our so called president. I think he is working for the other side!
        I only had health insurance once and that is when I worked for one of the Native American Indian Tribes. But I wouldn’t recommend that to anyone. Terrible people to work for, almost like working for the mob!

        August 7, 2013
      • I can imagine how frustrating it must have been for him, how lucky he was able to get it back. My eyesight is showing signs of age, but like you I use Auto focus as well, seems like the best idea.
        Apparently the banks are really clamping down here now. I haven’t tried to get money, so don’t know. We try and buy things on those plans that have interest free now, and so far we have never had to pay any interest, so it has worked really well for us.
        Yes cycling was exactly the same as the newspaper then. It sucked. Great about facebook, there seems to be something about putting work up at certain times too, I don’t know. I have tried different times, and it doesn’t seem to work.
        We have a national health system, it is good, but there are many problems with it. Though, I had two children with it, and it didn’t cost me anything, so I am not complaining. Doctors here make money, but it depends on what they do, and how long they won’t to study for. Doctors working in hospitals don’t make a lot. The ones that do make squillions, have to study for years and years and years. I don’t know anything your president, sorry, except what they show here. Wouldn’t they all be the same. They all seem to come from privileged homes, with the best education, so it does make you wonder how they can empathise with people who are struggling, they wouldn’t understand what that was like.

        August 7, 2013
      • I wish we had a health system like that. I have a lot of problems and I can’t go to the doctor. I think I have a kidney that is failing. It hurts all the time, but can’t afford the docs here. Specialist and tests cost thousands of $$$$. Clint is diabetic and his insulin is so expensive that he skimps which is not good for him.
        No, the presidents are not all alike, yes, most of them are wealthy, but the current one is awful. He doesn’t even honor our own flag, refuses to salute or place his hand on his heart. and His health care reform which is so expensive, he and the other politicians are exempt from it. Which is not right at all. Its a big crooked mess. There are so many people screaming Impeachment! I personally think that he is a terrorist plant put here to destroy our country from within the government. They couldn’t do it during 9/11 so this is the solution and it is working. Trouble is, even with all the evidence, the American people voted him back in. Stupid people. Not Oklahomens! Not one of our districts supported him, so he didn’t win in any city in our state.

        August 10, 2013
      • I couldn’t imagine not being able to afford to go to a doctor. The government here sort of controls how much GP’s can charge, though there is a low in the number of GP’s so many people are going straight to the hospitals for care, and that is overloading and over burdening ER departments. Our health system isn’t perfect, and you still have to pay a little, but you know if you have an emergency you will be taken care of. It is the things that they decide are “elective” that can go for a long time with no treatment, so if you have to have something like knee recontructed surgery you might have to wait a couple of years, unless you have private health cover then you can get it straight away, or you want to pay for it yourself. So advantages and disadvantages, but everyone in this country is covered and everyone is entitled to healthcare.
        I don’t know enough about the president, but I was asking my husband who keeps up with all this and he was saying Obama is bad, though to us Bush was really bad, and he said that at least Obama hadn’t started any wars, though has made them worse. You can never underestimate the stupidity of the people, and who they will vote for. It does seem to be a practice in your country that presidents, good or bad, will be in for 8 years now. The second election is about making sure people are still okay with it. At least you know they can’t be president for more than two terms. We don’t have that here. Once someone is made Prime Minister they could be that for many, many terms. Though our terms is only 3 years. We have a federal election coming up next month, and I have to say it won’t make the least bit of difference who gets in, as they are both as bad as the other. The only thing is that we are supposed to be getting a new broadband system and the one our current government are doing is supposed to be 10 times better and will be really good, whereas the one for the other party will be worse than what we have now, so I don’t like the current government, but I hate the opposition more.

        August 10, 2013
      • You know, I really hate politics! That is why I ignore it most of the time – it doesn’t make any difference anyway.
        Our hospitals will treat you if you have an emergency; I had a bleeding ulcer last December and was in for a couple of days. You just have to jump through hoops to get the payment down below what they charge the private insurance companies. They will let you pay it out or if you qualify, will erase the debt.

        August 19, 2013
      • That is good to know, I have to say, for all the faults in our medical system, I am glad we have it, nice to know that when you go to hospital here, you don’t need to worry about money at all.

        August 19, 2013
  20. Reblogged this on Through The Lens and commented:
    I’m rebogging this so I can keep the tutorial.

    July 3, 2013
  21. More interesting! 🙂

    July 3, 2013
  22. Cynthia #

    Very cool experiments. Look forward to your upcoming post on art vs photography. 😉

    July 3, 2013
    • Thanks Cynthia, I hope you want be too disappointed. 😉

      July 3, 2013
  23. Great work! Looks like you had fun.

    July 3, 2013
    • I did, a lot actually. Thank you.

      July 3, 2013
  24. Terrific textures Leanne! Keep up your experimentation-

    July 3, 2013
  25. Really cool! Adding texture to a picture can sometimes give it some sort of spooky appereance. I always wanted to try. Thanks for this great input!
    Cheers,
    Charlie

    July 3, 2013
    • Now you will have to give it a go Charlie, good luck, thanks.

      July 3, 2013
  26. what a great idea…this way you get what you are looking for!

    July 3, 2013
    • Yes Heather, that is exactly what I was thinking, I have a few more things I want to photograph as well. Thank you 🙂

      July 3, 2013
  27. Wonderful!! I love experimenting like this… these look fantastic!!
    Love the ‘burnt coffee’ quote… ha ha
    Thankyou for your generosity Leanne.. Hope you’re enjoying your time away.

    July 3, 2013
    • I missed it, and think I will do more, there is nothing like getting yours hands dirty from time to time. You are very welcome Robyn, I saw someone else doing it and it seemed like a great thing to do.

      July 3, 2013
      • Being tactile is such a rewarding thing… well mostly lol
        The end results are fantastic!
        I’ve tried an image or two 😀 I too forgot how much fun it is adding texture!
        Thanks for the reminder and again your generosity.

        July 3, 2013
      • That is great Robyn, I hope they worked, I love playing with textures now.

        July 3, 2013
  28. Awesome work. I’m going to have to give this a try myself!

    July 3, 2013
    • Yes, you could, it is so easy, though different papers will give different effects.

      July 3, 2013
  29. Nice textures. I’ve started to use textures recently and I think it would nice to go out and make my own as well

    July 3, 2013
    • You can get more control when you make you own. Thank you.

      July 4, 2013
  30. Wow! Thanks!!! I’ve collected some textures too. You are making me want to get back into my art… I have fallen off the wagon.

    July 4, 2013
    • That is brilliant Nia, always good to hear that I have inspired someone.

      July 4, 2013
  31. The oven was a terrific idea — it would never have occured to me. Not only are the textures great, they also have an air of mystery, like, ¨Ï wonder how they got that way¨. Stroke of genius, Leanne.

    July 4, 2013
    • Thank you Priyanka, I have no idea what made me think of it, possibly something to do with the staining happening in an oven proof dish not far from the oven. I am so glad I did it, and I might even try some more.

      July 4, 2013
  32. Leanne, you know that I love to take photos close up of different textures – I find it very interesting … and even the most rusty surface comes up beautiful .. amazed over what you have done with just pieces of paper. As I say .. there is beautiful in everything if there is an eye for it.

    July 5, 2013
    • Thank you Viveka, it is interesting when you just go, mmm, let’s try this, what happens if I do this. In the end it doesn’t really matter, if it doesn’t work, it is just a piece of paper, but you nearly always end up with something.

      July 5, 2013
  33. I’ve never thought of doing this, but think I’ll give it a try.

    July 5, 2013
    • It is so much fun, I think because ultimately it doesn’t matter if things work or not. I hope you will try it and can’t wait to see what you come up with.

      July 5, 2013
  34. Wonderful examples…and very inventive, too, Leanne! I love the randomness of these, as most of the textures resident in P’shop are repetitive tiles, and lose their fineness when the scale is changed. I especially HATE the ‘burlap’ and ‘canvas’ so ‘machined’-looking!

    July 7, 2013
    • They are really random, when you are making them, you really do have no control over how they will come out. I have tried, but it didn’t work. I haven’t used the PS textures. I have been slowly collecting them, but have started working out exactly what I want as textures, so I am planning and making my own, much better. Thanks 1000

      July 7, 2013
      • I think it just takes a little more careful thought when using these, Leanne, insofaras the placement, but ultimately well-worth the extra effort–they are beauties, no doubt about that!

        July 7, 2013
      • Thanks 1000, I will have to try some more. I have some ideas.

        July 7, 2013
  35. I love your process here: of making the subject before you photograph it. You’re a multi-artist!

    These photos point out the fascinating fact that our eyes gravitate towards objects that would be interesting to touch. The tactile draw of these surfaces makes for really nifty photos.

    July 8, 2013
    • It is funny that you say that, I am a very tactile person, it always drives me nuts when I go to galleries and museums and I can’t touch anything.
      I do like doing my own textures, it is fun to just try stuff, make a mess and then be able to use it.

      July 8, 2013
  36. michaelmulholland #

    You amaze me…

    July 9, 2013
    • Haha, thanks Michael.

      July 9, 2013
      • michaelmulholland #

        My pleasure…

        July 9, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Just a Small Hint about Creating Textures for your 2D or 3D Projects… | Diary of Dennis
  2. To Enhance or Not: Part I – Using textures and other exposures | Musings with Camera in Hand
  3. To Enhance or Not – Part II – Using Textures and Other Exposures or Not | Musings with Camera in Hand

Comments are closed.

