Skip to content

Something New

I have been watching a show on CreativeLIVE and they have been looking at things on Photoshop, creative stuff.  Part of what they are showing is making a photograph a painting, or making it a drawing.  I have never been a fan of that.  I think it is because if I wanted a photograph to be turned into a drawing then I would draw it, I would be photographing it, well, I would initially, but then I would do a drawing.  The same with a painting, if I wanted an image to look like a painting, I would do a painting.  Hey that is just me.  I am lucky, I can do those things.

It does however lend itself to something and because of those things it did get me thinking.  Though it isn’t a new thought, but I have been wondering for a while, if it would be possible to draw on my images.  I don’t want images to look crap, but I like the idea of being able to do things on them that I may not be able to do otherwise.

Leanne Cole - Ostracised From the GroupOn Tuesday I went out with Lara.  We started with her being a fairy.  I didn’t have wings.  I also knew that if I went and bought wings they would look silly, like toy ones.  Then I thought, what if I draw some?  So I did, actually I drew them several times.  They aren’t great, but I like the options it opens up to me.

Leanne Cole - Hiding

On this one I drew some more wings.  They are a lot more subtle and I am much happier with how they came out.  I like the possibilities that are opening up to me and who knows where this might lead.  The only thing I don’t like is drawing on the tablet.  It is very slippery and you don’t get the same resistance that you get when you are drawing on paper.  I have some ideas, but I need to try some things.

Leanne Cole - Running from the Ball

I love this one, and we had so much fun doing them.  You can see the skirts I made.  She had a bit of trouble with them, but we worked it out.

Leanne Cole - Dancing All Night

I think you can tell by the look on her face how much she was enjoying this.  This was taken not long after she put on the skirts, so she was playing around with them.  I told her that her story was she had come home from the ball, but was so happy and she didn’t want to stop dancing.

Leanne Cole - Dancing Around and Around

I tried something new here, not sure it worked, but I tried putting three images together of her dancing.  It was an experiment, and something I might try again sometime.

The session with Lara was probably my most successful yet.  I had an idea of what I wanted, I took the costumes and we went from one to another and in the end I had a lot of photos.  I have a lot of images that I can work on and try things with, which is fantastic.  I was so happy with the session.

105 Comments
  1. frederiquedolle2013 #

    A reblogué ceci sur fredtroy and commented:
    news of war .

    July 11, 2013
  2. I LOVE these photos!!

    I am just starting out with photoshop… (so far I have worked out how to crop photos!!) It looks so complicated to me… but it is just a question of jumping in & trying it…

    These are great & thanks for inspiring me to have another look at photoshop!!

    July 11, 2013
    • Thanks Barbara, I have been learning a lot lately, heaps of new things, it is unbelievable what you can do with it.
      You will be a pro at it one day as well. Glad you find inspiration.
      I forgot all about the photo you sent me, I think I accidentally deleted the second, but I wasn’t quite sure what you wanted me to do with them.

      July 11, 2013
      • Lol, it was just an old building that I thought you might like to play with! xxx

        July 11, 2013
      • Oh okay, I might still have a play with it then, might see what I can do to it.

        July 11, 2013
  3. sarahcolliver #

    What beautiful and mystical pictures…I love being inspired by people like your talented self…thank you! 🙂

    July 11, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say Sarah, thank you so much.

      July 12, 2013
      • sarahcolliver #

        You are welcome and I really mean it x

        July 12, 2013
      • Thank you very much Sarah.

        July 12, 2013
  4. fujitsu1522 #

    Julian Margaret Cameron, your work reminds me so much of hers, well done, you really are Artistic, I myself like painting, more abstract style, and the odd dark imagery of Men queuing no idea where they came from deep within my mind somewhere, I’m not a photoshop person, I wasn’t going to spend a further three years just to lend myself to a piece of Software, so I like to use what’s Available to me. Great work though.

    July 11, 2013
    • Thank you for the name, I have already looked her up, she sounds very interesting. I think we all find our way of being creative and artistic. I started in photography, went to drawing, painting and printmaking, and ended up back here, but I think I am a much better photographer because of that route. I love photoshop and I love what I can do with it. I am still learning how to use it and that is fantastic. Thank you again.

      July 11, 2013
  5. poppytump #

    Just love the Midsummer Magic going on here !
    Yes .. you can really see Lara is having fun … very playful images 🙂

    July 11, 2013
    • Oh, I love the description, that is it, haha.
      I think she had a great time, then again, they all have. I am loving them and the ideas still keep coming. 🙂

      July 11, 2013
  6. Ted Ryan #

    I think the mix of photography and drawing is a fine idea. It’s all just a form of mixed media I suppose and mixed media can get a bit of a bad name – I’m wary of anything thus described myself. A friend of mine used to work with classic drawing/painting techniques but with woven material ‘cut-ins’ inserted in the canvas or board. I’ve talked with another friend (photographer/printer) who often prints onto canvas about printing photographic images with ‘whited-out spaces’ for me to draw into. It’s a way of depicting things I see in my head – the way some places were/could be etc. As you know I’ve got to get my technique up to speed before I can get best use out of such approaches but I don’t see why you shouldn’t be doing all sorts of things given your skill level.

    July 11, 2013
    • I like the idea too Ted. Now that I have started with these images I keep thinking of new things and wondering how I can make them happen.
      I look forward to seeing what you do, it sounds intriguing, but as you said you have to be ready to do them.

      July 11, 2013
  7. Very creative! I like it!

    July 11, 2013
  8. I understand what you mean about aping drawing or painting in photoshop – I normally treat those effects like the plague! I like what you´ve done here. Adding to images is something I´ve been playing with too. As for the tablet being too slippy – have you tried a thin sheet of paper over it? Just a suggestion.
    I really do like what you´ve been up to here!
    Cheers
    Charles

    July 11, 2013
    • Haha, I feel the same way about those effects. Thank you, glad you like what I have attempted. I was thinking of doing that, some paper and see what happens, I hope it works, might go and try it now.
      Thank you Charles.

      July 11, 2013
  9. henrywilliamsonn #

    Reblogged this on henrywilliamsonn.

    July 11, 2013
  10. WOW! Those are AWESOME! The fairy and the tree was my favorite…then I saw the dancing ones…now I don’t have a favorite, ’cause I can’t choose 😉
    Hope you find a comfortable was to do the drawing-on-the-photo thing…the results here are cool, and the possibilities are endless 🙂

    July 11, 2013
    • Thank you Marie, it was a fantastic session and I had so much time doing these. I am starting to find my way with these.
      That is great to hear that you can’t pick just one. They are really nice. I have more to work on yet, so you don’t have choose just one.
      I like the concept, but I don’t want it to look clumsy and silly, so it will take a lot of thought and what I want to draw, The possibilities are endless. 🙂

      July 11, 2013
  11. I’m like you, I’m completely adamant that less is more and photographs are more beautiful left in their naturual form however, this effect really works on these images of yours. I’m not a confident user of Photoshop but I might start trying to learn new techniques as there seems to be alot more out there than I thought. This has definitely changed my opinions on re touching photos. Well done on the photographs, they look great!

    July 11, 2013
    • There are so many different things you can do with photoshop, I thought I was pretty good recently, but I have been learning some new stuff recently and I have learned a whole lot of new things. I wonder how much more I can learn. Of course, much is stuff I may never use, but it is good to know it is there. Thank you, I love playing with images, and spend hours doing it. I hope you have some fun with some too.

      July 11, 2013
  12. These images are absolutely phenomenal!!!! Love them!

    July 11, 2013
    • Thank you Elizabeth, they are getting really interesting.

      July 11, 2013
  13. You should be very happy with what you’ve accomplished. The images are beautiful. Photoshop is not one of the things I do, but I keep thinking….

    July 11, 2013
    • You keep thinking what?
      I am very happy with what I have done and where I am going. Thank you.

      July 11, 2013
  14. These are awesome Leanne! This series is my favorite of your new scenes. You created an fun, playful atmosphere and your model clearly was having a great time. Great idea to draw in the wings, love the second photograph!

    July 11, 2013
    • Thank you, they were fun and I think it is nice to do some like that from time to time. They won’t all be fun, but she was the type of person that fun was needed. Thank you Mary, the second is my favourite too I think.

      July 11, 2013
  15. I love these! You really created such a magical, playful feeling – the color and texture are wonderful!

    July 11, 2013
    • Thank you, that is great to hear.

      July 11, 2013
  16. Lovely! You really captured the imagination and playfulness in the fairy photos! Just love how rich the forest looks in contrast to the white skirts too! Wow factor!!

    July 11, 2013
    • Thank you, I was really happy with how these came out. It was a great session. She played the fairy so well.

      July 12, 2013
  17. Helen Boyd #

    Hello Leanne, I am not the best for keeping up to date on my WP Reader, but I follow you now on Bloglovin, so now I wont miss any of your posts. Helen 🙂

    July 11, 2013
    • That’s fantastic, Bloglovin is great for that. I follow some on that as well.

      July 12, 2013
  18. Maggie Beck #

    Absolutely lovely set of images, both the fairy winged beauty and the ball dancer. Well done!

    July 11, 2013
    • Thank you Maggie,it was a great session, I think I am finding my way around all this.

      July 12, 2013
  19. Love the one with the fairy hiding behind the tree, the wings totally work in that photograph..BEAUTIFUL!

    July 11, 2013
    • Thanks Jessica, I think that one is probably my favourite so far, I was really happy with the wings in it.

      July 12, 2013
  20. Great series, love the style.

    July 11, 2013
  21. Your model looks so happy moving all that fabric around 🙂
    The pictures of her are stunning Leanne.

    July 12, 2013
    • I think that is the key to these images, they are fun, it can be hard to get them not to laugh or smile. It has been fantastic, they really enjoy playing.
      When you put all that fabric on she loved it and sat around for a bit afterwards because she didn’t want to take them off. Thank you Colline.

      July 12, 2013
  22. Beautiful!

    July 12, 2013
  23. You have a fantastic series of images, Leanne. And judging from the expression on Lara’s face I think she had a great time as well. Great work.

    July 12, 2013
    • I think she did have a great time, I did too. It was a lot of fun. It was probably the best session I’ve done, in that I mean because I knew what I was doing. I am getting better at planning. Thank you.

      July 12, 2013
  24. These are really nice photos. The editing fits perfectly to the girls dress.
    Very good!
    Would you say a bit on the process? and maybe even show a raw?

    July 12, 2013
    • Thank you, I do love the editing.
      I don’t know what to say on the process, at this stage, perhaps later on, but right now I probably won’t. I am not ready for that yet.

      July 12, 2013
  25. Certainly the subtle wings (#2) is more realistic – if a fairy can be called realistic in the first place…

    July 12, 2013
    • Haha, that is true, I have some other ideas, and working out how to draw them is very new. Thanks Robert.

      July 12, 2013
  26. Having read and liked several of your posts, I had to stop by to say that your technique is wonderful, I love your photographs, keep them coming.

    July 12, 2013
    • Thank you Nicola, I love doing them, so I think there will be plenty more.

      July 12, 2013
  27. I agree–these images are among some of your best yet and they are filled with magic-love what you are doing with the drawing experimentation too-this is a great journey you are on Leanne!

    July 12, 2013
    • It certainly feels like the right journey, so I hope I am on the right one. I loved drawing on the photos and look forward to trying more. It seems like a good way to go. Thank you.

      July 12, 2013
  28. Pat #

    Lovely images.

    July 12, 2013
  29. All of these are good. Among your best yet, I think. The wings work especially on the second one. There the wing looks, at first glance, like a path of light. This session was highly successful. You got some superb images! 🙂

    July 12, 2013
    • It was a very successful session, and I am so happy with how we did it, I still have more images to work on, though a little different, I hope you will like those as well. Thank you so much.

      July 12, 2013
  30. I’m definitely a fan of the wings – turned out really well 🙂

    July 12, 2013
  31. The wings aren’t perfect? Oh. I thought they were. I’m totally stunned with these photos. I just love them. Love that you’re adding drawing onto the photos. That’s a great idea. I use a Bamboo which has nice resistance.

    July 12, 2013
    • Thank you Nia,glad you like my wings, it is interesting and something new for me. I have a Wacom tablet, I tried putting some paper over it and it was much better, so I might have to use it like that.

      July 12, 2013
  32. I was looking at the wings and wondering how you got them to look so ethereal. They are fantastic.

    July 12, 2013
    • Thank you Carol, they were interesting to do and I tried to make them subtle so my mistakes wouldn’t stand out too much.

      July 13, 2013
      • I didn’t see any mistakes.

        July 13, 2013
      • You are so kind, thank you Carol. I am hoping the more I do the better I will get.

        July 13, 2013
  33. I really love the second shot! It reminds me of Alice in Wonderland for some reason. It’s great how you’ve experimented and I really like the mysterious feel to all the pictures… vibrant yet dark and definitely magical! I guess that’s why Alice in Wonderland came to mind 😀 keep experimenting!

    July 12, 2013
    • I will keep experimenting, I am loving where it is going and each session seems to get better and better. It fun trying to work out what to do. I love that second shot too. Thank you so much. 🙂

      July 13, 2013
  34. Love it! Very whimsy & enchanting 🙂

    July 12, 2013
    • Perfect words to describe them, thank you RoSy. 🙂

      July 13, 2013
  35. Some very interesting shots Leanne. You asked if I had a contact email, this comment should give it to you. 🙂

    July 13, 2013
    • Thank you, and yes, I do have your email address, will send you an email now, thanks. 🙂

      July 13, 2013
  36. Wow! I love these images – so much mystery, like going into another spellbound world!

    July 13, 2013
    • That is a great response, I love that, thank you so much.

      July 13, 2013
  37. these shots are absolutely stunning, your model is lovely and the wings you drew look fabulous! congratulations on an amazing shoot!!!

    July 13, 2013
    • Thank you Heather, she was a great model, I have been so lucky with the people that I have been privileged to photograph. Thanks again, it has been wonderful hearing that I didn’t totally screw up the wings.

      July 13, 2013
  38. I have some art by a variety of cartoonists that combine a print of their cartoon with paintings (by them) that they added. The concept seems similar, so why not? I bought it. I’m sure others will too. I like the wings. A lot.

    July 13, 2013
    • I think it seems like a great way to do some things, things that I don’t want to buy, little things that might add something a little special. I like that people have liked what I’ve done so far. Thank you for your thoughts, that is wonderful to hear.

      July 13, 2013
  39. Hey, Leanne. Yes, the model’s enjoyment is really coming through. Your concept for the shoot made me think how differently photographers approach an assignment. I probably would have said, “Stand their, turn your chin left, straighten your shoulders and smile. But you created a mystical vision. Neat!

    July 14, 2013
    • It was little different, I have done that type of session that you talked about, but I never enjoyed it, I find giving them a role to play is so much better and I think that is the part that they enjoy. Thank you Dave.

      July 14, 2013
  40. Beautiful work! Your subtle wing in the 2nd shot is just perfect – restraint isn’t so common these days, is it? There are times to be restrained, like you did there, and times to be unrestrained, which Lara knew…

    July 14, 2013
    • I thought if I made it too obvious you would see how bad it was, haha. I like the last part of your comment, brilliant, thank you so much.

      July 14, 2013
  41. I like the tranceparency of the wings. Much more realistic (haha)

    July 14, 2013
    • Thank you, I was so happy with the wings, I just want to keep playing with them now, haha 🙂

      July 14, 2013
  42. Beautiful angelic photos!

    July 14, 2013
  43. I like how you share your steps, whether they be experimental or experienced, with us boldly. It’s nice to know that we all have to start somewhere, and that we can always ultimately get good results. Your growing experience and expertise is always apparent.

    July 19, 2013
    • That is great, I am glad you like me doing that. It helps me as well. I think having to write about what I do helps me to understand what I do as well or why I do it.
      Yes we all start somewhere, go back a couple of years on this blog and you can see that. Thank you, that is so lovely, I am enjoying this new growing experience, hopefully I can continue to keep doing it.

      July 19, 2013
      • It’s neat to be able to see our own journey as well as that of others. It’s proof of how far we’ve come; the talent has developed. I’m glad wordpress fosters a community for bloggers to share in the growth experience.

        July 20, 2013
      • It is really good to be able to do that. I was told when I started drawing not to through everything away, to keep some so I can see how much I develop, and I think photography is the same. WP have created a fantastic community, and I love it.

        July 20, 2013
      • It is a fantastic community that encourages each other through the development. Knowing people have interest in our work, no matter the stage, is great. There’s so much potential!

        July 29, 2013
      • It is that indeed, I think that is one of the wonderful things about WP, the community it inspires.

        July 29, 2013
  44. The drawing wings into the photograph is interesting and has alot of potential, I think 🙂

    July 20, 2013
    • It could be a great tool, drawing on the images, and I might have to see how I go with it, I don’t want to do it too much. Will see how I go. Thanks Dawn. 🙂

      July 20, 2013
  45. I love the skirt that you made! So fun and beautiful 🙂 That girl is so cute! Love what you had her do for the shots, really amazing as always. I think that last shot was really cool with layering the different pictures, I liked it!

    July 22, 2013
    • I think it was a great idea to do the skirts, and the girl was fantastic, she loved wearing those skirts. It was an interesting idea, that last one, didn’t quite work the way I hoped, but it is a start and I can try to do it more, and learn as I go. Thanks Amanda, I really love doing these images.

      July 22, 2013
      • I can’t wait to see more 😀 You’re really shining in this new style of yours!

        July 22, 2013
      • Thank you, someone else just said something similar. 🙂

        July 22, 2013
  46. WOW, and double WOW! These are stunning, Leanne…an excellent example of your fantastic, creative brain!

    July 23, 2013
    • Thanks 1000, these ones are probably from my sucessful shoot, I think. I got a lot more shots and I felt more comfortable with what I was doing. It was a great experience. Of course drawing the wings on was a new experience, but I am so glad I tried it.

      July 24, 2013
  47. Reblogged this on Sherry's Space.

    August 1, 2013

Comments are closed.

