Skip to content

Playing a Character

Short post today.  I have been in Bendigo all day photographing the unpacking of all the entries for the Australian Sheep and Wool Show which is on in Bendigo this Friday, Saturday and Sunday.   I thought it would be interesting to go up and see what happens with it all and tomorrow I am going back to photograph the judging, which should be interesting.

So today I am going to show you another couple of the photos from the session with Lara.  I had hoped to have finished them, but I have one more I want to do, so I thought today I would just show you a couple of them.

LeanneCole-WaitingLara was wearing the new cloak I have purchased and the an old second hand case I found in a little second hand store.  I liked the way she was just sitting there and waiting, which is what I called the image.  I put it on Facebook and a couple of people said it reminded them of Amelia waiting for the Doctor in Dr Who.

LeanneCole-straight_at_you

 

I do love this one, the intensity in her eyes, the way she looks straight at you.  I tried some new things processing it and I really like the effect, so I might have to do that again with close ups.

As I said, short today.  I expect that tomorrow there won’t be a post, as I don’t know what time I will get home and then tomorrow night I will be meeting with a potential client for the portraits, which I am really excited about.  It is going to be a great experience to photograph someone who may not want exactly what I want.

On Thursday I am hoping that I can finish that last image of Lara, then I will post the ones you haven’t seen yet and do a gallery of all the images of her.

PS, I am so happy with how yesterday’s post was received and I know Liana has been really happy with everyone going to see her work, so thank you for doing that.

57 Comments
  1. Lara has such piercing eyes and a haunting look in her face. Beautiful!

    July 16, 2013
    • I agree with you, she was so lovely to photograph. Thanks

      July 16, 2013
  2. These are so beautiful….rather haunting….I love the colours and the light 🙂

    July 16, 2013
    • Thank you, I worked hard on those, so it is great to hear that you love them. 🙂

      July 16, 2013
  3. Look forward to all the sheep views. MM 🐑

    July 16, 2013
    • Haha, I think I might only have views of what comes off their backs.

      July 16, 2013
      • I trust you are not talking about the ubiquitous Aussie herdsman there. 🐑

        (I do apologise and hope I don’t offend anyone, just couldn’t resist. Normally it’s the Welsh. Better stop digging.)

        July 16, 2013
      • Hey you didn’t offend me, not by a long shot.

        July 16, 2013
  4. I Have said this before also, your photography has traqualine effect. It iron outs the negativity.

    July 16, 2013
    • Thank you, that is always fantastic to hear.

      July 16, 2013
  5. Both are very nice and I agree that the first shot could be Miss Pond waiting for the Doctor.

    July 16, 2013
    • Thanks Robert, I must admit I never thought of that when I did it, I was thinking of her as a girl who has run away and she is waiting for the man she loves to take her away.

      July 16, 2013
  6. Wonderful pictures she has a very enchanting face :)..have fun at the show..was there last week for the arts and crafts show with the CWA…they were setting it up then..i am heading down obviously because of my love of lambies 😉 there are great shops in town to if you want ‘prop’ ideas 🙂 some good alleyways etc with some good art on walls..and my fave is the botanical gardens..they have a huge bat colony in the trees that I want to grab some shots of…have fun 🙂
    Fozziemum

    July 16, 2013
    • Thank you Fozziemum, not much is set up there yet. I don’t think I will get to photograph much of Bendigo but I should go one day and do some exploring. It is a very pretty town, and old which is also lovely. So many places to go and photograph. I am hoping that I might get back up there on Saturday to actually see the show. 🙂 Thanks again.

      July 17, 2013
  7. Lara is quite a good subject with her dramatic looks.

    July 16, 2013
    • She was fantastic to photograph. Thanks.

      July 17, 2013
  8. She is a very pretty girl and you did her justice Leanne.

    July 16, 2013
    • Thank you Carol, she was a lot of fun to photograph.

      July 17, 2013
  9. Sonel #

    She is just gorgeous Leanne and stunning shots as usual hon. Love it! 😀 *hugs*

    July 16, 2013
    • Thank you Sonel, she is gorgeous, internally and externally.

      July 17, 2013
      • Sonel #

        And you’ve captured all of that so well hon. 😀

        July 17, 2013
      • Thank you Sonel, it was really easy with her, she was fantastic. 🙂

        July 18, 2013
  10. I love this close-up of her.

    July 16, 2013
    • I have to say I really like it too Colline, I was so happy with how it came out. Thanks

      July 17, 2013
  11. poppytump #

    A beautiful composition. A dreamy look .. A promise of a romantic rendezvous.
    Lovely light there you have illuminating her face .
    *Oh* that gorgeous cloak ! Who wouldn’t want to wrap that round oneself and dream …
    I’ve already got the old suitcase 😉

    July 16, 2013
    • Thank you Poppytump, I love the stories you are starting to come up with.
      The cloak is gorgeous and a very popular item that people want to be photographed in. You are half way there with the suitcase, you could start doing your own photographs 😉
      Thanks again.

      July 17, 2013
      • poppytump #

        Leanne I’m liking your sense of humour very much 😉
        I just don’t think my old suitcase and the homemade huggly snuggly rug would cut it for a romantic rendezvous Lol

        July 17, 2013
      • You never know, it might tell a completely different story.

        July 17, 2013
  12. Pat #

    Lovely portraits.

    July 17, 2013
  13. fabulous Leanne…good luck with you appointment !

    July 17, 2013
    • Thank you Heather, fingers crossed it all goes well.

      July 17, 2013
  14. Lovely…can’t wait to see what’s up next 😀

    July 17, 2013
    • Thank you Marie, it is going to be interesting, and still fun. Will be interesting photographing people who want me to photograph them rather than people who I want to photograph. 🙂

      July 17, 2013
  15. These are great, Leanne. The cloak was a good purchase. The final shot is a real beauty – love the intensity of her gaze.

    July 17, 2013
    • Yes, I am really happy with that one. I totally agree with you about the second shot, thanks Richard.

      July 17, 2013
  16. This girl….
    Hmmmmm….
    Love it!
    OOpsss!

    July 17, 2013
    • I have to agree, she was great.

      July 18, 2013
  17. She looks so pretty!!! Wonderful shots!!!

    July 17, 2013
    • Thank you Rexlin, she is very pretty.

      July 18, 2013
  18. You know I love all your new work Leanne… Sorry to have been so busy, but just wanted you and your models know that a great job ya’ll are doing. Everything looks fantastic! 😀

    July 18, 2013
    • Thank you so much Keli, I know how busy you have been, so don’t stress at all, it is lovely to have you pop in though. Take care, 🙂

      July 18, 2013
  19. I have been enjoying very much the way you have been sharing and showing your process. Your work is fascinating and beautiful.

    July 19, 2013
    • That is wonderful, it is always good to hear that. Thank you.

      July 20, 2013
  20. Lovely shots, Leanne. Lara is very striking. I like how she is the light in the darkness of the first photo.

    July 20, 2013
    • Thank you Michael, she was a great model. I like what you have said about the light. I was hoping the images would imitate nighttime and moonlight.

      July 20, 2013
  21. She has great eyes! Wow she really does remind me of Amy on Doctor Who! HAHA! Great session here Leanne 😀

    July 25, 2013
    • I have to agree Amanda, I really loved photographing her. It was a great session, wait till you see the rest. Haha.

      July 25, 2013
  22. I really like these images, especially the second one. I think it would look more like night if it was a little darker, and slightly under saturated, with maybe a bit of a silver tone for the moonlight, but they are still lovely photographs. Was the cloak blue to begin with, or did you colour it? Also, I see that you changed your watermark. That should be a good way to direct anyone who stumbles across this blog to your other website. 🙂

    July 28, 2013
    • That’s your opinion, but not mine, I don’t mind them the way they are. The cloak is black, but has come out blue, I didn’t change the colours in either of those images. Hey Joseph I haven’t changed my watermark, I always tried and hide it within the image. It is maybe smaller, but I have done like that quite a bit. Thanks

      July 29, 2013
      • That’s not what I meant, sorry. I meant that it would look more like night if you were to change those things, but not that I didn’t like it. I do like it, rather a lot, actually.
        The colour is awesome. I love blue. 🙂
        It is the link to your other website, rather than this one, the blog, is it not? The style is still the same.

        July 29, 2013
      • Sorry I was a bit sharp, I had just woken up. so ignore me.
        It is interesting to see how the cloak comes out.
        It is the same watermark, it has been a link to my website for a long time now, maybe you have just noticed. I haven’t changed the watermark in about a year I think. I think.

        July 29, 2013
      • That’s okay, I wasn’t very clear. 🙂
        Interesting… I was sure it was for the blog on the post before this one. Oh well.

        July 29, 2013
      • I used to hand write Leanne Cole Photography, but then I decided to have the link to my website, so I changed it. But yeah, it has been this way for quite some time.

        July 29, 2013

Comments are closed.

