Skip to content

The Australian Sheep and Wool Show

Did I tell you that I went to Bendigo earlier in the week to take some photos of the above.  Actually I took photos of all the exhibits being unpacked and then being readied for the judges on Tuesday.  Then on Wednesday I went back and took photos of the judging.  It was an amazing experience to watch what happens.  I learned a lot and I know that I won’t be entering anything in it any time soon.

I have a heap of photos to show you.  They aren’t necessarily very good. They are straight from the camera, I haven’t done anything to them.  I don’t do this very often, so don’t cane me too hard.

The Wool show is also on tomorrow, so if you are in Bendigo go and along and check it out.

70 Comments
  1. leecleland #

    Looks like they had plenty of entries and some pretty amazing ones at that. Loved the reversible coat, the last image. Thanks for posting so many shots.

    July 20, 2013
    • I think they get more and more entries every year. Some of the work, actually a lot of it, is really amazing. That last coat was pretty cool, many people liked that.

      July 20, 2013
  2. You have caught the mood and feel of this typical Australian show. wish I was there and I love Shaun the Sheep 🙂

    July 20, 2013
    • Thank you, it was a wonderful experience, I had hoped to go back, but the weather has been horrible, so I stayed away.

      July 20, 2013
  3. Hari Qhuang #

    What an interesting and educative event! I wish we had something like this here!

    July 20, 2013
    • It was a great event, why don’t you have one where you are, maybe you could start one.

      July 20, 2013
      • Hari Qhuang #

        Sheep is pretty rare here. Most farmers raise fowls, cows and goats. 😦

        July 20, 2013
      • Yes, I could see where that would be a problem.

        July 20, 2013
  4. Looks like it was a wonderful show! I would love a flock for the wool and for something to keep JT busy 🙂

    July 20, 2013
    • It is a great show, there is everything there to do with sheep and wool, yes that would keep you busy.

      July 21, 2013
      • 🙂 We have a lot of them here as well all nice to see them sheared and then wool used for so many items 🙂

        July 21, 2013
      • I find it amazing what they make with that wool, especially when you realise some of them have spun the wool, then weaved it and then made something out of the spun yarn, just incredible. 🙂

        July 21, 2013
      • One of the first things my Grandmother bought me besides dolls was my own spinning wheel I was maybe 9 I loved that gift and they had a farm even better then I had 2 brats for brothers who in the end broke it. I have a HUGE antique one in my Kitchen here really for looks but it is from Ireland a gift from my better half I think he paid $20 at a yard sale CRAZY I looks so nice by the field stone fireplace(never burn in it though just is pretty lol)

        July 21, 2013
      • How wonderful for your grandmother to give you that. Brothers can be such a pain, I have two as well, I know what you are talking about. So does the antique one work, can you use it? Do you still spin? They are beautiful things. I went away for a spinners weekend back in April and I was so surprised at how different all the spinning wheels were.

        July 22, 2013
      • I have not done that craft since I was young over 2 million miles in a rig kept me busy in my 20’s till 50 🙂
        I supposed it would work I have two different heads I would have to ask a friend who works with wool to come look at it I often thought of using the dogs furs to make something that would last forever I see others do that. I do crochet 🙂 well before I started all these hobbies 🙂

        July 22, 2013
      • Oh wow, that is a lot of miles. 🙂
        I have no idea, sorry, I have never done any spinning. Sounds like you have been thinking about it, maybe you could try. 🙂

        July 22, 2013
      • 🙂 in between tossing that frisbee to her I keep saying she needs a flock of sheep 🙂

        July 22, 2013
      • Haha, sounds perfect. 🙂

        July 22, 2013
      • 🙂

        July 22, 2013
  5. Sonel #

    Love the last jacket Leanne! Looks like a fab show for sure and you’ve taken wonderful shots! Thanks for sharing hon. 😀 *hugs*

    July 20, 2013
    • There was some amazing work there Sonel, so creative. It was a great show, glad you enjoyed it. Thank you

      July 21, 2013
  6. Wow beautiful crafts! Wool-tastic

    July 20, 2013
    • They are Lisa, haha, love that.

      July 21, 2013
  7. Straight from the camera?…You are a brave woman!

    July 20, 2013
    • Or lazy, haha, There were so many and time was running out, I couldn’t find the time to edit that many images. They aren’t that bad are they.

      July 21, 2013
      • All quite nice actually. I think we are more hard on ourselves as photographers – knowing what we want to capture (and what we have seen) – than people who do not have an artists vision of the shot.

        July 21, 2013
      • Thank you Robert.

        July 21, 2013
  8. No cane, just wool 🙂 I loved the bicycle in the ceiling and all the very creative garments!!

    July 20, 2013
    • Thank you, the bicycle is great, we are seeing ones like that every where these days. There are some absolutely amazing garments, really inventive and creative.

      July 21, 2013
  9. Wow this would have been amazing to see…thanks for taking us there…enjoyed all of the exhibits!

    July 21, 2013
    • You are very welcome Tracy, I was really surprised at the standard of work and how creative some of it was, glad you enjoyed seeing it as well.

      July 21, 2013
  10. Amazing gallery …. the bike, my friend Colleen would love … and I wouldn’t mind the jacket with the letters, blue dress is always something for me – really enjoyed this gallery – so unlike you to post a gallery …

    July 21, 2013
    • Don’t you get bikes that are covered in knitting over there? We are seeing more and more of them around here. Often you see them in the street tied or locked up to a post. They are just left there for people to enjoy. There were quite a few things that I would have liked. Unfortunately I can’t wear wool. I have been doing a few galleries lately, well, now that I have worked out how, LOL. Thanks Viveka.

      July 21, 2013
  11. Straight off the cam is good Leanne!

    July 21, 2013
    • Haha, different for me. Thanks John.

      July 21, 2013
  12. love thees, fairly certain that you would make a pretty great photojournalist! Although there is less money in that than other forms of photography.

    July 21, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you. Ah yes the money aspect, I need some of that. Not sure I would like some of the things that they have to photograph at times though. I love my portraits now, so I might stick to them. It is fun to do this sort of thing from time to time, thanks Darla.

      July 21, 2013
      • I know what you mean about the money! I only get paid $35 a story as a freelancer and they pay me nothing extra for photos! And when I have to “go” cover an event I get nothing for travel (although its usually just 10-14 miles)- but its still time. Some stories I don’t come out ahead. But it keeps me busy and the ones I do over email or FB pay off I guess.
        I do have a real estate gig on Monday (I hope) and I’ll get $75 for less than 2 hours work. Not great, but maybe I can get my new flash card I need!
        With the repair of my tamaron lens, I’m able to use my D100 with the on board flash. I wouldn’t want to use this for a wedding but for real estate, it works great.
        Keep it up, you are too talented not to make a go of it!

        July 22, 2013
      • OMG that is crap money, I don’t know how else to say it. That would be really hard. Though it is some money, at the moment I am making nothing really, so I really hope something starts happening soon. I am pushing the portraits as much as possible, but I know it will take some time. I have tried things that have never worked. My idea for the field trips never worked and that is pretty much what seems to happen with everything I do, nothing works, but I have two clients already for the portraits, so I hope that is a great start, certainly more progressive than anything I have tried before.
        Real estate photography would be good, though I imagine competitive. It would be great if you could get the card so you can start using the D800, fingers crossed. So how much would a flash cost to buy there? The prices are always so different.

        July 22, 2013
      • I know, it is crap money and on the weeks where I give them 2-3 stories, they will only publish one! So after doing the work, I only get paid for one. They will eventually publish all of them, but its anyone’s guess how much I can count on each week. It is some money and when I’m strapped, even that little bit helps.
        I have the same problem with nothing I come up with ever working. I started my Repurposeful Design business (cottage) and then discovered that everyone and their dog is doing this right now. Grrrrr. I’ve been doing it for 30 years, but when I finally decide to make a business out of it, its always too late.
        I’ve had my wedding business up and running for many years, but I only get several jobs a year, not enough to even count on taxes! The Real Estate is not going well either. I had another photographer tell me I’m too cheap and people are scared of me, even though I gave samples of my work.??????
        I have my flashcard now and I’ve ordered the flash so I am set for the upcoming wedding. Although I couldn’t get the better lens, but the used one I got seems okay, not great, but okay.
        I hope that your portrait photography will really take off this year for you! You have so much talent. I loved the postcard you sent with the software; I’m going to frame it! 🙂 It is so pretty.
        have a great day!

        July 29, 2013
      • It is so hard working out how to get paid. What you have to do to get paid. I went and spoke to a friend the other day who is also a marketer and pr person and asked some advice. Well, actually I just spoke to her about what I was planning on doing and to see if she thought there was anything else I should be doing. It was great and she gave me heaps of ideas. One of them was getting in with my local council, so now I am going to meeting seminar thing this week on starting a new business, so hopefully that will also give me some ideas. It is such a pain nothing working, I know what you mean with then discovering others are doing the same thing. I have found that a lot, though the thing I have found quite a bit is that I don’t do enough marketing. I hate pushing myself onto people, but I think that is something I am going to have to do.
        Pricing is one of the hardest things, if you price yourself too low then people think something must be wrong with it, price yourself too high and then they think you too expensive. I have come up with some middle of the ground prices, I think, especially compared with other photographers, so I know that some people will not like the prices and others will say fair enough. My friend said to leave my prices as it is too hard to raise them up later on. I have some plans but I need to get some work with these first.
        Great that you have your flashcard, I am sure you will do fine. I hope the portraits do as well, I am doing my best to push them and let people know about them. I got your email and will respond later this morning. Thanks Darla.

        July 29, 2013
      • I will research other photogs that have my same limitations (no studio lights) and see how they price and then maybe I can get a better feel for what I should do. Thanks

        August 7, 2013
      • I think you will find that wedding photographers rarely, if ever use studio lighting, they do all with flash. There are some creative ways of using flash like studio lights though. But yes, see how much they charge, and what they do for what they charge.

        August 7, 2013
      • Yes, I know, but I could barley afford one SB910 so I know I couldn’t afford two or even three!

        August 10, 2013
      • I don’t think that is something that you need to worry about, it just means you have be very creative with yours.

        When I used to photograph cycling, I would look at the other photographers and think, I can’t do what they do because I don’t have the same gear. I don’t have a 300mm lens, or anything bigger. Then I would think, but if I did have one I would be just shooting the same images as them, so I have to be different, I have to find some way of shooting that sets me apart from what they do.

        August 10, 2013
      • wise words

        August 19, 2013
  13. Great photos of a very interesting local event. People’s creative endeavors are always wonderful to see. Your photos are perfect…every photo doesn’t have to be a work of art, it just needs to tell a story.

    July 21, 2013
    • Thank you Marilyn, that is pretty much what I thought about the photos as well. It was a great event, and the things that people make with the product is so astounding, I loved it.

      July 21, 2013
  14. lifewithlelah #

    What a cool event!

    July 21, 2013
  15. Great job on the photos. Thank you for bringing this amazing event to us.

    July 21, 2013
    • Thank you, and you are welcome Nia, it is something a bit different.

      July 21, 2013
  16. Great job Leanne, would love to see a photo essay of this… I always enjoy your images even those straight out of the camera 🙂

    July 21, 2013
    • Thank you, I don’t see one happening on these, sorry, It was a great event to go to, and to see, but I am happy for you to just look at the photos. 🙂

      July 21, 2013
  17. Agriculture meets art! The coat is pretty cool, but the felted dress is the one I like…always admired people who can take a pile of raw materials and create things like this…
    As photos go, the pile of wool roving (Detail) is a nice one 🙂

    July 21, 2013
    • That is it exactly, good way of putting it. I am with you, I really admire what they do, I know I wouldn’t have the patience to do what they do.
      Thanks Marie.

      July 21, 2013
  18. LB #

    People are so darn creative! and you’ve captured that well!

    July 22, 2013
    • I have to agree, I was amazed at what had been made. Thank you.

      July 22, 2013
  19. Great, atmospheric shots, Leanne. Like the jacket at the end very much.

    July 22, 2013
    • Thanks Richard, lazy shots really, but the work was truly amazing, and I think that jacket at the end was a lot of peoples favourite, apparently it was very warm.

      July 22, 2013
  20. What a cool thing to do, exhbit, visit and/or photograph. I love the shots you took.

    July 22, 2013
    • Thanks EllaDee, it was a great experience, and I loved seeing all the work, another thing that was great was that I got to touch the work, people visiting only get to see the work behind glass.

      July 22, 2013
  21. My favourite is the sheep and lamb – now, that is really woolly!

    July 23, 2013
    • I think many people liked that one too, it was a great piece.

      July 23, 2013
  22. Great post – Some beautifully crafted pieces there. Thanks for sharing!

    July 23, 2013
    • I really have to agree, it was pretty amazing what they did. You are welcome.

      July 23, 2013
  23. i wish i was there!!!!!!!!

    July 25, 2013
    • It was pretty amazing.

      July 25, 2013
      • Were they selling or was it just an exposition? Anyways it is a beautiful idea! Maybe i could organize something like this here in Barcelona…..

        July 25, 2013
      • It was just a competition and then an exhibition. Yes, try it there, you might be surprised by the response.

        July 25, 2013

Comments are closed.

