Skip to content

Empty Nests

Today a very good friend, Teresa, came over with a piece of her art work so I could photograph it for her. It is a piece that she has gotten ready for the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize that is on each year in Sydney.  It is quite a prestigious Prize and I was accepted into it about 5 years ago, so I really hope that Teresa’s work is accepted this year.  I love what she is doing right now.

Teresa has given me permission to show you the photos I took and to show you her work.

LeanneCole-teresa-7012

This is the whole piece, little Empty Nests on a paling.  They are beautiful little pieces and so detailed.

LeanneCole-teresa-6993

So doing photos like this I also had to do some close ups as well.  You can see how delicate they are

.  It is all paper from magazines that she has spun together with some some cotton fibre.  They are then held together with very fine copper wire.

LeanneCole-teresa-7002

 

Getting closer now and  you can see the copper wire in these.  Photographing them is interesting and I really wished I had a macro lens to do these, it would have been so much easier.  Perhaps one day that will come.

LeanneCole-teresa-7005Another one for you to look at.  They are a great series.

LeanneCole-teresa-5878

 

Here is another nest, only a much bigger one that she made while doing an artist residency recently.  I’m sorry, I can’t remember the exact name of the place where she did the residence, but I know it had something to do with Sculpture.

Another amazing piece and you may have worked out that it is made with video tape.  Don’t know what to do with all your old videos, well you knit or crochet them into things.

LeanneCole-teresa-5866

 

This is another piece that is on an old fence paling as well.  It is so textural.  She does some great stuff.  I really really hope she gets accepted.  I am always very pleasantly surprised when I see her new stuff.  Blows my mind sometimes.

Photographing this sort of thing can be hard, but all you have to do is make sure you have a good background, consistent and that the lighting is good.  I used natural light and I diffused the light coming through the windows.  I didn’t want harsh shadows so we put a white reflector on one side to bounce some light back.  The backdrop was a large piece of thick paper.  We also put it on the floor so we could photograph looking down onto it.

Thanks Teresa for letting me put the images on my blog.  You can also check out her blog Teresa’s Textile Inspiration.

63 Comments
  1. Wonderful work – both of you!

    July 25, 2013
    • I am sure Teresa won’t mind me thanking you from both us, so thank you.

      July 25, 2013
  2. great work

    July 25, 2013
  3. I love the little cocons. Great work and nice pics too.

    July 25, 2013
    • She does do great work, thank you.

      July 25, 2013
  4. Amazing work! I love the one made out of old video tapes. I can’t imagine how long it took to create. A macro lens would be nice to have. It’s on my list of things that I want but can’t have. Not yet anyways. Nice work.

    July 25, 2013
    • I think it took her a while, there was another one there that she was working on as well. They are so pretty incredible.
      A macro would be wonderful. It is on my list too, one day. Thank you.

      July 25, 2013
  5. beautiful work, beautifully shot )

    July 25, 2013
  6. Beautiful nests & photographs! Good luck Teresa!

    July 25, 2013
    • Thank you Barbara, I am sure I can say that for Teresa as well. Hopefully she will read these and see the comments.

      July 25, 2013
  7. I saw these in the reader feed, the close up of the bright little nests, and it stopped me in my tracks. Gorgeous work and photography. Thanks for sharing the tips about lighting.

    July 25, 2013
    • It is gorgeous, she does some wonderful things that mix textiles with sculptures. Thanks Nia and you are welcome.

      July 25, 2013
  8. Su Leslie #

    These are fabulous; good luck to your friend in the Woollahra Sculpture Prize.

    July 25, 2013
    • Thank you Su, I really hope she gets accepted too.

      July 25, 2013
  9. You’ve done a good job here. You’re friend should be pleased. Art works, especially 3D, are not easy to capture effectively in photography. My wife is a ceramic artist and had some great shots taken – not by me though, I think i am too close to it. You can see it at http://www.juliebrunskill.co.uk

    July 25, 2013
    • Thank you, I think understanding the light is key, though I would love a different lens for doing this. Your wife has some great work.

      July 25, 2013
      • Thanks. Naturally, I agree 🙂

        July 25, 2013
      • Would be so nice to have a macro for this stuff. Really nice. 🙂

        July 25, 2013
  10. I like them. They remind me of the old fishing nets I find on the beach sometimes, with bits of seaweed and other flotsam and jetsam woven in.

    July 25, 2013
    • I think she would love hearing that. Thanks Brian

      July 25, 2013
  11. Fabulous – both her work and yours!
    And, no…I wouldn’t have noticed that the big one was old video tape if you hadn’t pointed it out – I thought it was nylon webbing…So much for the thought of hanging it from a tree branch and hiding inside 😉

    July 25, 2013
    • Thanks Marie, I keep thinking of the nests that you have been showing us when I look at her work. The video tape is wonderful, they would be interesting to if you could sit in them. She knits them or crochets them, not sure exactly which.

      July 25, 2013
  12. leecleland #

    Very creative work by Teresa and great images by you. That is hard without a macro lens, it is one of my more overworked lenses. Using paper and copper wire must be quite difficult as both are reasonably stiff I’ve tried basic coiling with fabric and thread which are much more flexible. My best wishes for Teresa in the Woollahra Sculpture Prize.

    July 25, 2013
    • It is really creative and thank you. It would be lovely to have a macro. Put on top of using all that, and then you she tells you that she spins the paper, like you do with wool, I can’t get my head around that.

      July 25, 2013
      • leecleland #

        Spins the paper – wow – that’s amazing. I would love to actually see her stuff up close and personal. Now you’ve made me so curious I’ll go and check her blog out.

        July 25, 2013
      • That is great, she would love that.

        July 25, 2013
  13. Very unique and interesting 3D work from Teresa. Good job of “compressing” the work into 2D as well.

    July 25, 2013
    • It is Robert, I find her work so interesting. Thank you, I actually like photographing artwork, it is quite interesting.

      July 25, 2013
  14. PK #

    You introduce me to some new artistic style just about every time I visit Leanne! I adore the tiny nests. I hope Teresa is accepted; good luck to her! And I also appreciate the bits of information on how you took your photos. I was trying to take some close ups of a beautiful piece of ceramic I have and it was just not right. May I ask how you diffused the natural light?

    July 25, 2013
    • Thank you PK, her work is wonderful, I really love it. I hope she is accepted as well. I am thinking of trying to do more of that, not with everything, but with some of the stuff I do. Oh, I mean the talking about how I do it. You of course you can ask how I did that. I put up some chiffon like fabric over the window. I needed two pieces because the light was quite strong. But you can buy that sort of fabric pretty cheap, just get enough to double it over the window.

      July 26, 2013
  15. Interesting and unusual art. Thanks for showing us Leanne.

    July 26, 2013
    • It was a pleasure Colline, I like to show unusual things.

      July 26, 2013
  16. The nests are truly beautiful and express so much creativity!

    July 26, 2013
    • She will love hearing that, thank you.

      July 26, 2013
  17. Great photographs of fascinating, powerful works. Good luck, Teresa!

    July 26, 2013
    • Thank you Richard and thank you from Teresa, I agree with you said about her work.

      July 26, 2013
  18. what an interesting concept…her work is fabulous…as always great photos of her work!

    July 26, 2013
    • Thank you Heather. I have to agree with your said about her work, it is great.

      July 26, 2013
  19. garyscheid #

    I really like how she takes old/unused/wanted things and makes them into something really cool and interesting. I like the crocheting and knitting, that is awesome. such beautiful and detailed work, really nice. thanks for the photos.

    July 26, 2013
    • I think the idea of recycling is very important to her for her artwork. I am sure she will love what you have said and would thank you.

      July 26, 2013
  20. captureyouphotography #

    I love the nest they are beautiful. I hope she wins. It looks like you did a great job photographing it without a macro lens.

    July 26, 2013
    • Thank you, you do what you can when you don’t have the right equipment. I love the nests too, I think at this stage she would like be accepted into the exhibition, then the next part is about winning. 🙂

      July 26, 2013
  21. oh my…. they are so beautiful….
    I love this art,,,, so alive.. and full of details… beautiful… and simply adorable ^_^

    July 26, 2013
    • Thank you on behalf of Teresa, I am sure this will be great for her to hear.

      July 26, 2013
      • send my greet to her… ^__^
        anyway, I love your pictures… your shots are more than only a photographer… you have artist soul in this blogsite…. I am really enjoying your wordpress… and I must be come here other time… ^_^d

        July 26, 2013
      • Thank you, that is wonderful to hear. I will make sure Teresa knows.

        July 26, 2013
  22. Reblogged this on Jendela Lain.

    July 26, 2013
  23. Lovely texture! You really caught the tactile quality.

    July 26, 2013
    • I think it was really important to get that, so thank you, glad you picked up on it.

      July 27, 2013
  24. Wonderful!

    July 27, 2013
  25. The empty nests are incredibly beautiful!

    July 27, 2013
    • I have to agree, I can’t get my head around how she does them.

      July 27, 2013
  26. Beautiful work and photos!

    July 27, 2013
  27. I love that your photography takes you so many places literally and figuratively 🙂 Both Teresa’s sculptures and your photos of them are great.

    July 30, 2013
    • Thanks EllaDee, it is interesting, I actually feel like I live like a photographer as well.

      July 30, 2013
  28. Thanks to everyone for all the lovely comments, I enjoyed reading them! The photos and the accompanying written statements have been sent off and now I have to wait till ‘some time in August’ to see whether I’m accepted. It was a no brainer to get Leanne (thankyou Leanne!) to photograph my work as she always gives and achieves her best.

    Thanks, Teresa

    July 31, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 100: From Electronic Waste to the Recycled Orchestra. | Almofate's Likes

Comments are closed.

