Skip to content

Blogs for all of us

I have called the post this today because I have become involved in a new blog that I think could be beneficial to all of us, well those of us who like to use textures.

The blog is called Public Domain Textures and is a site where you can take textures, post textures etc.  The idea is that the textures on this site are for anyone to use free of charge.  If you put your textures there then you are allowing them to be used in the public domain and you lose all copyright to them.  It goes the other way of of course, if you take textures from there you can’t then try and sell them or claim you have copyright for them.

I have already contributed a few textures, here is a gallery of the ones I have done.

I have a folder with over 300 textures so I am sure I will be contributing a lot more.  Of course, not all 300, but some more.  Textures can be a great thing to add to images, and you have seen me using them a lot lately on my portrait images.

Leanne Cole - Taking a WalkI showed you this image yesterday and this image had the red/brown plaster texture applied, you can see it main in the sky.  Plaster painted on paper has a great effect.

So I hope you will all go and take a look, Public Domain Textures.  It is still in the early stages so we need people to contribute, and there is a page there about the conditions and where to email you textures.

It is hoped that in the future that there will be some posts on how to use them, how to make your own and ways of changing the texures.  It should prove to be a great resource for anyone wanting to use and make textures.  There will also be scope for people to show off their images that have used textures from Public Domain Textures.

81 Comments
  1. BEAUTIFUL photos! Love the main image. Is that you lying among the leaves? Thanks for posting the info about textures. I’m not a photographer, but I’ll take any freebies I can get! 🙂

    July 31, 2013
    • Thank you, no the main image isn’t me, it was one of the first ones I did in this new style and a friend was the model. You are welcome about the textures, haha, well you are welcome to any of them. 🙂

      July 31, 2013
  2. I did like this post! I haven’t used textures, but it looks like it might be useful.

    July 31, 2013
    • They can be wonderful to use, but you also have to be careful not to over use them.

      July 31, 2013
  3. Thank you for this wonderful gesture.

    July 31, 2013
    • YOu are very welcome, though it wasn’t my idea, the thanks should go to Joseph.

      July 31, 2013
  4. I am following another cool free texture blogger. Good stuff !

    July 31, 2013
  5. I had no idea of such a thing. I will have to check it out. So very kind of you to share the information.
    Thank You,
    Isadora

    July 31, 2013
    • No problem at Isadora, having access to free textures is a great idea.

      July 31, 2013
  6. thanks for the tip!

    July 31, 2013
  7. I wish I would know how to add texture!

    July 31, 2013
    • I might do a post on it in the near future

      July 31, 2013
  8. Sonel #

    Stunning textures Leanne! I will check out that page for sure hon. Thanks for sharing. 😀 *hugs*

    July 31, 2013
    • Thanks Sonel, I quite enjoy making textures, I might have to do more. 🙂

      July 31, 2013
  9. Reblogged this on The artist in 6a and commented:
    Great is for s source of textured, especially for all my graphic design students! Don’t forget to source where you get the images from!

    July 31, 2013
  10. Leanne, this is a great idea. Thanks for sharing this with the community!

    July 31, 2013
    • It really wasn’t me, I just tagged along, really it was Joseph that came up with the idea, put the blog together, all I did was contribute some textures and then did a post about it. It is a great idea and I hope that people use it. Thanks

      July 31, 2013
      • Right. I did notice Joseph’s name. But thanks for giving it a push :-

        July 31, 2013
      • I think it is important to give him all the credit, I was just the sounding board, and provided some textures, It really was all him.

        July 31, 2013
      • Gotcha — you are very humble and modest :-

        August 1, 2013
      • No not really, credit where credit is due, it was 90% him and he should get the credit. I just make textures and upload them for him to use.

        August 1, 2013
      • Well I am glad I found the site…very useful

        August 2, 2013
      • 🙂

        August 2, 2013
      • If you want to follow one of my favorite photographers on WordPress, who uses even more advanced graphic programs, like Paintshop Pro and Photoshop, then follow Leanne Cole. I was lucky enough to stumble across her blog and have been following her now for about a year. I would think that she sees something in my photos to be interested enough to follow back.

        August 2, 2013
      • That is lovely, I am feeling a bit embarrassed now, okay I am blushing. Thank you. I don’t know what to say.

        August 2, 2013
      • You are welcome. I did not realize you would see this–sometimes things are sort of a blur on WordPress. But it is the truth. Take care………

        August 3, 2013
      • It was posted as a comment, I did think it was a strange comment for you to be making to me, if you know what I mean, it was lovely, but perhaps you meant to put it somewhere else, I don’t know.

        August 4, 2013
      • Frankly, I thought I was making it to George–I didn’t realize what it was really. It was late and I was tired. But I did mean it. I don’t just follow anybody on here. I am glad I found your blog and I hope you feel likewise……..

        August 4, 2013
      • We all make mistakes and this was a nice one, it could have been worse you could have said something horrible, so no harm done.

        August 4, 2013
      • Lol–I was thinking the same thing. But you should know by now I have respect for your work so if I did say something disparaging it would def make me look like a fool 🙂

        August 4, 2013
      • 🙂

        August 4, 2013
  11. Wonderful tip – thanx

    July 31, 2013
  12. leecleland #

    Thanks for the post about “Public Domain Textures” it’s always handy to have a place to browse for a new texture that is free and I have enjoyed using your free textures from a previous post, thank you.

    July 31, 2013
    • You are welcome, hopefully people will use it, contribute to it and take from it. Joseph did a great job of setting it up.

      July 31, 2013
  13. Great post, Leanne. Your textures are sublime!

    July 31, 2013
  14. I’m so intrigued!

    July 31, 2013
    • Intrigued about what?

      August 1, 2013
      • How to effectively use these textures, of course. 🙂

        August 1, 2013
      • Haha, well, I am to try and do a post next Wednesday on how to use them, as in how to apply them to your images. I hope that will help people.

        August 1, 2013
  15. great shot…interesting idea regarding the textures…I’ve not used them before as I’m still working on simple adjustments to my photos…maybe someday! 🙂 thanks for sharing though…

    August 1, 2013
    • Textures is something I have just started using myself really, I am finding making them quite interesting. Though I am hoping to do a post on how to use them next week, so that might give you some ideas. 🙂

      August 1, 2013
  16. I use textures all the time in my work.

    I usually get them from the Creative Commons section of Flickr – But this looks neat!!

    Thanks for the share.

    – Michael
    http://gay-male-art-blog.com

    August 1, 2013
    • I have always used my own, and it wasn’t until recently that I discovered you could free ones from the net. I have now started making my own, which I quite enjoy as well. I hope the site works and that people will use it.

      August 1, 2013
  17. Love textures – will definitely check that blog out, thanks!

    August 1, 2013
    • That would be great, it would be nice to get people using it.

      August 1, 2013
  18. What a wonderful contribution! I don’t know yet quite how to use textures :-/ but I shot some things like gravel, grass, water etc. do you think they’d be useful? I hope someone will eventally write that post on how to use textures!

    August 1, 2013
    • I have been asked if I will do a post on using textures, so I will see what I can do one next week. It won’t take long to do, so I will probably do it on Wednesday. Yes, if you have anything that you think might be used a texture, go for it. We just need to get lots right now. So please email them to Joseph.

      August 1, 2013
      • Ok…I’ve reblogged and have th post on hand! Again…good show!

        August 1, 2013
      • That is great Georgia.

        August 1, 2013
  19. Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    A new blog…and Leeanne contributes! A public domain site to go to to download and use free textures!

    August 1, 2013
  20. I am curious to see the future posts about how to use textures.

    August 1, 2013
    • That is good to hear, I am going to try and get one done for next Wednesday.

      August 1, 2013
  21. AJ #

    Great shots and nice textures! It would be wonderful if I could learn how to use them, (wishful thinking)

    August 1, 2013
    • Planning on doing something next week to help people work out how to use the textures. That could help a lot, I hope.

      August 1, 2013
  22. Thanks for letting us know, they are great quality and I have just used one. Look forward to seeing some more. Also look forward to a how to use post.

    August 1, 2013
    • That is great to hear Bruce. Hopefully others will email some to Joseph as well, that would be good.

      August 1, 2013
  23. interesting idea 🙂

    August 2, 2013
    • I hope so, nothing worse than starting a blog and not having anyone use it. A friend and I started a blog for artists/writers, in the Banyule area, to advertise shows, etc or organisations could advertise events, but we just can’t get people to use it, it is a bit frustrating. So I hope this works.

      August 2, 2013
  24. I will be submitting some of my own. 🙂

    August 2, 2013
    • That is brilliant, thank you. 🙂

      August 2, 2013
  25. Reblogged this on a Musing and commented:
    Here’s a great idea from a wonderful photographer, Leanne, whose blog I follow.

    August 2, 2013
  26. I am following another cool free texture blogger. good things !

    August 16, 2013
    • I think there are many places on the net for free textures, I have certainly found some others as well, but it was great for this to start as well, I put all the textures I make on it now.

      August 16, 2013
  27. Good idea… will be reblogged under category graphic resources on my blog if this is ok.

    September 10, 2013
    • Thank you, Joseph and I thought it was a good idea too.

      September 10, 2013
  28. Reblogged this on Diary of Dennis.

    September 10, 2013
  29. Johnb229 #

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving us something enlightening to read? kkbebgceedke

    May 16, 2014
    • I did the video because it takes far less time, writing is great, but it can take 3 or 4 hours to do them, and everyone keeps telling me that YouTube is big and that you need to get videos on it, so I tried it, but I can’t find any good software to do them, so I don’t now.

      May 16, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Playing with texture… | Ryan Photography
  2. Playing with texture… | On My Front Porch

Comments are closed.

