Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Cape Schanck

During the week my photography friend and I took a day trip down to Cape Schanck.  Cape Schanck is right down past the Mornington Pensisula on the Victorian Coast.  It is easy to get to from most parts of Melbourne and is only a one and a half to two hour drive from my place.  I’ve been down there a few times.

LeanneCole-capeschanck-7625Cape Schanck is known for its rock formations, or what is left of them.  There are rocks everywhere, dark black rocks.  Not much sand really.  You also have to be careful if you start climbing around on the rocks, make sure you know what the tide is doing as it would be pretty easy to get cut off.

As you can see it was wild when we went.

LeanneCole-capeschanck-7401We were so surprised that it wasn’t raining, it had been earlier, but it was still very windy and the ocean was really rough.  There were some great waves crashing on the rocks.  It was really windy, and I mean really windy, blow you over kind of windy.  I got blown off a rock I was standing on, and I know my tripod would have been useless, it was too windy for that.  It was hard standing there against the wind to get photos, definitely a day for a fast shutter speed.

LeanneCole-capeschanck-7764If you look on the right of this image you can see the walk way we had to walk down.  It is a long way down, and it isn’t a place for the faint hearted.  It is a big climb back up, but I have some advice, and it worked well for us.  DO NOT stop on the way down, look around and think of places you want to photograph, but go straight down.  On the way back up, stop and photograph all the places you saw as you were going down.  That way you get little stops on the way up.  The first time I went I stopped on the way down, and then had to climb all the way back up, it was hard work.

I have selected some images for you to look at.  They are in a gallery, sorry many of them seem the same, but the waves and water were a little different.

 

138 Comments
  1. love it

    August 17, 2013
  2. talesfromthelou #

    Great afternoon I’m sure.

    August 17, 2013
  3. Nice, and solid advice!

    August 17, 2013
  4. C’est magnifique!

    August 17, 2013
  5. Leo #

    So beautiful place

    August 17, 2013
  6. I love this series, love the waves crashing. Very nice!

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you Tracy, the crashing waves were so mesmerising.

      August 17, 2013
  7. Reblogged this on SUSAN'S SPACE and commented:
    These are brooding and beautiful…thanks Leanne.

    August 17, 2013
  8. Most beautiful and brooding. Thanks.

    August 17, 2013
    • You don’t have to thank me, but I will thank you for your wonderful comment, thank you.

      August 17, 2013
  9. Beautiful collage

    August 17, 2013
  10. The sky is so dramatic. Like it a lot

    August 17, 2013
    • Yes, I loved that sky, really made the images, thank you John.

      August 17, 2013
  11. That weather and the thrashing sea do look scary, not to mention the walkway balanced against the hillside. Okay, so, storms and heights bother me a little — I’ll try to quit being negative. Anyway, these are great pictures, especially the ones where the waves are crashing to shore and making foam. Overcast weather tends to give photographs a lot of depth, and you got some fantastic shots despite the wind and no tripod!

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you Becky, it is a bit scary, I was scared a little, especially down the bottom with all the waves and the tide. It was so windy, and was hard to stand up sometimes. It was all worth it though, the walkway is quite solid, and the images were great, I was really happy with them. YOu are right overcast days, when you get that cloud definition is brilliant.

      August 17, 2013
  12. This is awesome, Piggletino and his scout would love to visit too! Clearly, Piggletino would have made his scout take a picture FOR him at these majestic formations, just like he did at Twelve Apostles! (http://piggletino.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/the-twelve-apostles-why-did-they-change-the-name/) Thank you so much for sharing!

    August 17, 2013
    • The cape is pretty amazing, and you can get some very dramatic shots there, I haven’t been to the apostles for some time, hoping to get there soon. Thank you.

      August 17, 2013
  13. Hi Leanne. Your gallery of photos is beautiful. I tried to post a gallery of seven pictures, but only one showed up in the Reader. On my site, all seven are there. Do you have any idea why only one photo is in the Reader?

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you.
      Oh I don’t know, did you put the images into a gallery in your post, they will only show up as a gallery if you have put them into a gallery in your post, I tried to find the post, but all your posts seem to only have one image.

      August 17, 2013
      • Thanks Leanne. Yes, the gallery is fine in my post and on my site, but only shows up as one photo in the Reader. I’ll have to keep working on it. As I recall, you will be doing some creative wedding portraits soon. I hope it goes well!

        August 18, 2013
      • It isn’t definite about the wedding yet, we still have to meet one another and make sure we are okay with what each wants, but it is looking good. Thanks
        I couldn’t find a gallery on your blog, sorry, but I don’t know why it works like it has with you, it normally doesn’t. Maybe you could contact support.

        August 18, 2013
  14. one thing I love about photography is that it can keep us physically active, sometimes there are physically demanding events… sometimes we have to lug around some bags of equipment to 3rd or 4th floor of buildings with no elevators, with photographers so cheap we can’t afford assistants… well I guess there’s always something for us in photography, the faint hearted included. I’m quite envious with the scenery you have there, and seeing the walk makes my feet feel a bit itchy. I had a kind of obsession to visit Australia, but strayed away, and this set of images rekindles the feeling. A very nice set, they look… dramatic.

    August 17, 2013
    • If you like this set, then you would love the Victorian coast line, there are lots of places like this. I know what you mean about photography being physically demanding, that is so true, you never know what you will be doing, Thank you.

      August 17, 2013
  15. Wow, that’s pretty. That walkway is amazing.

    August 17, 2013
    • It is a pretty incredible spot, it is a long way down, I tried to get an image from the top, but it was too hard. Thanks Nia

      August 17, 2013
  16. Great photographs and sounds like you got a work-out too with all that climbing up and down the walk way. Glad you listened to someone’s advice.

    August 17, 2013
    • I did get a good work out Mary, Thanks so much.

      August 17, 2013
  17. OMG! I wish there was LOVE WP button!!! GREAT photography!

    August 17, 2013
    • Haha, wouldn’t that be great, thank you so much.

      August 17, 2013
  18. PSsquared #

    Beautiful images.

    August 17, 2013
  19. What exquisite pictures! Glad you didn’t get hurt with all that wind but I can certainly see what drew you to this place.

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you Nareen, it was pretty scary with all that wind, but yes, it was fantastic to get these shots.

      August 17, 2013
  20. I like the calm in the pictures:)

    August 17, 2013
  21. What a beautiful landscape. Very nice and dramatic photos!

    August 17, 2013
    • It was the perfect place for those dramatic photos, thank you.

      August 17, 2013
  22. Hi! Thank you for this post as well. Lovely photos as always. From such posts I really miss your top choice of a photo. I mean although they work perfectly as a whole, I would really love to know which one is your favourite one.

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you, my top choice, I don’t think I really have one, but if I had to choose one it would be the one I made the feature image, the first image I put in the post.

      August 17, 2013
  23. Wow, these are gorgeous. I’d love to see this with my own eyes one day (but for now your photos will definitely do – thank you!)

    August 17, 2013
    • I hope you do get to see it for yourself one day, it is even better in person. Thank you Anna.

      August 17, 2013
  24. I love the waves crashing. These are really nice, Leanne. I like the tones especially.

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you George, they have turned out to be really dramatic.

      August 17, 2013
  25. beautiful, haunting, and intense )

    August 17, 2013
    • I like those words, thank you.

      August 17, 2013
  26. leecleland #

    Great set of images. I pleased to see that someone else takes heaps of photos of the waves crashing on to rocks and loves them all because they are all different and wonderful in their own way. It sounds like unpleasant weather to be out and about but you had the place to yourselves which is a bonus.

    August 17, 2013
    • You have to take lots of photos, you never know when that really big one would happen. It was unpleasant, but so worth it, and yes, an added bonus getting it ourselves, thank you Lee.

      August 17, 2013
  27. EJ #

    This is such a dramatic place; those first images with the larger formation standing against the sky are like the opening scenes of a story. I can already see the storyline forming! What an awesome and inspirational setting – thank you for sharing.

    August 17, 2013
    • That is an interesting idea, the story, Thank you EJ.

      August 17, 2013
  28. No tripod? This is the kind of environment where the Benbo really comes into its own, but it’s a brute to carry.

    August 17, 2013
    • I have to admit, I couldn’t be bothered carrying the tripod down as I didn’t really think I would get any good images, but when I got down there and saw how windy it was, I knew mine would have been blown over and it is usually quite good. I don’t know the Benbo, not something I have come across.

      August 17, 2013
  29. Excellent as always – very dramatic – as an ocean always are even on a sunny and blue sky day. Amazing shots .. and you really have caught the fear and the respect that an ocean gives us. Taking photos of rolling waves are not easy .. and create the effect on the same time. Magical job here, Leanne. I hope you will get a pleasant weekend.

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you Viveka, they are quite dramatic and I really like that.

      August 17, 2013
  30. Wild and windy indeed, and you caught that in your images 🙂

    August 17, 2013
    • Yes, very wild and windy, thank you.

      August 17, 2013
  31. Standing so close to the crashing waves and rocks makes me want to hold my breath. Or maybe I just want to see what will happen next in this beautiful and dramatic scene.

    August 17, 2013
    • I can tell you what happened next, you get covered in sea spray, haha, it was stuck on the end of my lens and took a bit to get it off. Thanks Gina.

      August 17, 2013
  32. brooding and moody

    August 17, 2013
  33. Brrrr, Leanne. It looks chilly there!

    August 17, 2013
    • Oh it was Carol, but after climbing around on the rocks I got very warm.

      August 18, 2013
  34. Hi Leanne – Beautiful photos as always. A couple of questions if you have the time: Was it a cloudy day or is this look mainly processing? If it was cloudy how did you get the shutter speed you needed for these photos? A related question is that if it was cloudy and you used a high ISO, what ISO did you use and how did you achieve such great quality?

    One idea for those super windy days, I have a bean bag camera holder that I keep in the trunk of my car. It can be used over car windows and doors, on rocks, over tree limbs and pretty much every where. It is much easier to lug around than a tripod. It is not as good as a high quality tripod, but it can often give you a very stable platform when a tripod is difficult to bring or could not be used.

    August 17, 2013
    • Thank you, to start with.
      It was that cloudy, and my ISO wasn’t that high, often when we have cloudy days it is still quite bright, I think I was using an ISO of about 400 or 500, somewhere around there.
      We didn’t really know it was going to be that windy until we were on our way down, and then it was even more so when we got down the bottom. I have seen those bean bags camera holders, but it hasn’t been something I have worried, it is rare that I can’t use my tripod.

      August 18, 2013
  35. LB #

    The clouds really enhanced your photos! I would so love to take that walk. Awesome post!

    August 17, 2013
    • The clouds really did, it is great to get them. That walk is hard, but it is pretty amazing, thanks LB.

      August 18, 2013
  36. Beautiful!!!

    August 18, 2013
  37. Stunning, Leanne! I can hear the waves crashing when I look at these images.

    August 18, 2013
    • Thanks Steph, they were very loud, and wet. Spray was going everywhere.

      August 18, 2013
  38. Jen #

    Beautiful photographs. I actually like seeing the ones that “look the same”, because of course they don’t—the sea is like a living thing, and your images capture that.

    Also, very clever strategy about plotting your shoot on the way down and giving yourself those photo op breaks on the way back up!

    August 18, 2013
    • That is great Jen, I feel the same way, the images look the same, but they aren’t, the water is always different.
      Experience, that was the key to the strategy, haha, I wanted to get back up and we stopped so many times, that when I got to the top I though, hey that wasn’t so bad. Thank you.

      August 18, 2013
  39. Beautiful scenes and photography.

    August 18, 2013
  40. It was lovely exploring a new area through your photography. I enjoy the contrast of dark against light, the textures of the heavy clouds, the rough waves and rock formations, and the smooth water pools mixed with scatterings of smaller rocks. The landscape reminds me of a game called Dear Esther, where you are on a deserted island and you just explore to your heart’s content. In any case, it is beautiful! I enjoyed the photos you selected for our viewing pleasure. You are right; each one is different and has its own elements of water and rock formations. I particularly like the ones with the lighthouse peeking through. Lastly, I wanted to thank you for stopping by my website (http://chasingteal.com) and liking Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden! Stop back by tomorrow to check out the Toledo Botanical Garden.

    August 18, 2013
    • Thank you Christa, it is a photographers dream that place, it is photographed a lot, and I have been there a couple of times before, and the reasons, for many of the things you have said. I have been lucky that I have been there on overcast days, not sure what it would be like on a sunny day. Wouldn’t mind being there at sunrise, that would be interesting.
      Also you are welcome, and I will stop by if I can.

      August 18, 2013
  41. Wonderful wanderings again, Leanne! I love the “darker tone” in many of your landscapes!

    August 18, 2013
    • Thank you, the darker tone really seemed to suit these images.

      August 18, 2013
  42. Wow! truly amazing place!!

    August 18, 2013
    • It is pretty incredible, I think it would give you something different every time you went. Thanks

      August 18, 2013
  43. This area obviously presents wonderful challenges for a photographer – and keeps one fit, too!

    August 18, 2013
    • Yes, challenges many, and fitness definitely, thanks Colonialist.

      August 18, 2013
  44. A great location. and, of course you photographed it perfectly. I liked your advice, “DO NOT stop on the way down…….That way you get little stops on the way up”
    Was this for those that need to catch their breath on the way up? Certainly not you.

    August 18, 2013
    • Oh it certainly does refer to me, I am not as fit as I used to be, and it is a long long climb back up and lots and lots of steps. It was so much better this way, I have done it the other way and it was terrible. Thank you.

      August 18, 2013
  45. Rugged coastline, I guess, would be an understatement. I can see why on the way down you just keep on going.

    August 18, 2013
    • The Victorian coastline is often referred to as ship wreck coast and it is because of places like this. It is quite rugged in many places and if you want to photograph these kinds of places there are many places to do similar images. Thanks David.

      August 18, 2013
  46. Looks amazing! I bet you guys had a great time there.

    Wonderful photography! Thanks for sharing.

    What was your favorite part of your trip?

    August 18, 2013
    • We did have a great time, thanks.
      Thank you too.
      My favourite part of the trip, getting back into the car at the end, haha. I think the best shooting part was when I was the images like the first one in the post. I would have liked to have stayed there more and done more, maybe moved around more, but I knew the woman I was with couldn’t see me and I didn’t want to be away too long, or have her get worried about where I was.

      August 18, 2013
  47. You take the prettiest photographs!

    August 18, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      August 18, 2013
  48. Absolutely beautiful!!!!

    August 18, 2013
  49. Amazing!!! Rockey coasts such as this are my favorite kind! Keep up the good work

    August 18, 2013
    • They are my favourite kind too, you can go so much more out of them. Thank you.

      August 18, 2013
  50. Incredible. Just love the last photo, the sky and landscape look amazing

    August 18, 2013
    • Thank you, that was taken from so high up, gives a great idea of where we had been.

      August 19, 2013
  51. Pat #

    It must have been an awesome experience. The resulting photos are breathtaking.

    August 18, 2013
    • It was pretty incredible, thanks Pat.

      August 19, 2013
  52. Wow Leanne, these are all SO good…. Of course I always love the mixture of water and land shots, but I love these as well as the advice about shooting others on the way back out. The gallery of shots are amazing! Hope you are well. Have missed not seeing all, but try to catch some here and some on FB. 😀

    August 19, 2013
    • Thank you Keli, I love rocks and water too, and the more wild the ocean the better. I have missed seeing you around too, but I understand, it sounds like you have had a tough time. We will always be here. 🙂

      August 19, 2013
      • Thanks… I’ve been watching your changes as often as possible and am really just SO impressed with your gift for photography. I really think there is nothing you can’t do if you decide you want to do it! 😀

        August 19, 2013
      • Thank you Keli, that is lovely of you to say. I am sure there are things I can’t do, but I am happy doing what I am doing.

        August 19, 2013
  53. Fabulous shots, Leanne. I love that first one to bits.

    August 19, 2013
    • That first one is probably my favourite too, thanks Richard.

      August 19, 2013
  54. Simply beautiful! You always make me feel as if I there with you! Thank you for sharing your wonderful countryside!

    August 19, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, what a lovely thing to say, I am glad you enjoyed the trip.

      August 19, 2013
      • I have to travel vicariously through my WP friends!

        August 30, 2013
      • Haha, I do the same.

        August 30, 2013
  55. Oh my… Well if I’d lived only 1,5 hours away from there I’d spend to much time there for sure! Great photos, filled with the power of nature. Grey sky and heavy clouds are always welcome when tou visit places like that. As I said, I like all of your pics but I must say that 7764 (with the very grey sky) and 7415 (with the double wave) really are amazing!

    August 21, 2013
    • Thanks for letting me know which photos you really liked, I like it when people do that. I think the climb down and back up are enough of a deterrent that makes me stay away, it is also hard working out the right time to go there. There are so many places along the coast to go that aren’t that far away, so I can go to many, but I don’t like going by myself, just in case something happens, so that is part of what stops, finding someone else to go with me.

      August 21, 2013
      • Ah ok I see your point. But still I think I’d have a bit of a problem with staying away from such a great place;) And I also think that it’s nice when others have an opinion in your photos especially when you’ve many with the same motive. You think you like everyone of them just as much as the others and sometimes you may get to a stage when you just cannot see the difference btw your photos only that you KNOW that there MUST be a difference! (Notice that I’m not at all saying that your photos are the same in this post-cause they really aren’t, I’m just setting up a scenario!)

        August 22, 2013
      • Well, I’ve been down there 3 times in the last 18 months, so there is something about the place that I like, I would like to go down one day at sunrise and see what it is like. I think it might be really spectacular, though my luck with getting good sunrises might be a problem. I think all the images are different, even the ones taken at the same place, the water is different in all of them. I was trying to get the best waves. Thanks mbee

        August 22, 2013
  56. Stunning images, Leanne…and your advice certainly makes sense! Wish I had a shoreline as wild as this one–Lake Michigan seems quite tame, even at its wildest, compared to Cape Schanck!

    August 22, 2013
    • It is a great shore line, shame we have to travel a couple of hours to get to it. I know what you mean about lame shorelines, the closest ones to us are like that too. The ones in the bay. Thanks 1000.

      August 22, 2013
      • Maybe…someday…I’ll have enough $$$$ to see Australia! In the meantime, I’m loving what I see through your eye and lenses!

        August 22, 2013
      • That would be brilliant. I am hoping that I can do the same thing one day. Our coastline is very rugged, well the south coast. That is great to hear.

        August 22, 2013
      • Though Michigan is a huge ‘inland ocean’ and a great beauty, the images you’ve presented of Australia’s coast are very compelling–makes me wonder how many ships were stranded through the centuries, getting damaged by all those rocks!

        August 22, 2013
      • The part of the coast that is mainly called The Great Ocean Road was also called shipwreck coast. Many ships crashed there, and there are memorials all along the coast. It is very rugged in places.

        August 22, 2013
      • Kind of had that feeling…and would really like to be seaside, just watching the waters splash wildly against those intriguing rocks! I’ll keep dreaming and wishing–who knows what could happen, right?

        August 22, 2013
      • Exactly who knows what could happen. There is some stunning places on our coast to watch that kind of thing. I will see if I get you some more photos like that this weekend.

        August 22, 2013
      • That sounds great! I DO love my lake, but your ocean fascinates the heck out of me!

        August 24, 2013
      • Wait until you see the photos I have been taking this weekend

        August 24, 2013
      • Guess that requires I make a visit to the ‘Patience Store’, huh?

        August 24, 2013
      • Yes, I think it might, but hopefully for not too long.

        August 25, 2013
      • At about $10 per pound, it’s STILL a bargain (Haha!)!!!

        August 26, 2013
      • I love that you put a value on patience, haha, brilliant. 🙂

        August 26, 2013
      • Gotta have it–in order to survive! Otherwise, I’d have probably ‘stroked out’ decades ago!

        August 28, 2013
      • I know what you mean.

        August 28, 2013
  57. Beautiful images, and I liked your previous post, but wasn’t able to ‘like’, just kept loading. By the way, you should have no doubts. Your work is great.

    August 26, 2013
    • Thank you Chris, that is really weird, I wonder what the problem was. Thanks again. 🙂

      August 26, 2013
  58. Absolutely stunning photos 🙂 You are very talented!

    January 22, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sunday Painting the Town Red! Saint Louis Mo U.S.A. | Bastet and Sekhmet
  2. Sunday Painting the Town Red! Saint Louis Mo U.S.A. | Through the Eye of Bastet

Comments are closed.

