Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – The Mornington Peninsula Revisited

It is almost two years now since I first went down to the Mornington Peninsula to take photos, and this coming November will be two years that I went down there to stay with my photography friends for a weekend of photography.  November, 2011, was also the month I started blogging everyday, just as a challenge for myself.  When it finished I couldn’t stop doing it and did it until just recently.  I still try to post 4 or 5 posts a week, sometimes 6, but it was a great challenge.  I will always think of the Mornington Pensisula and my photo-vember together, they are connected.

scmpLC1_8419

Haven’t been down there much since, I would like to, as there are places that I would very much like to visit again, like the place above.  I don’t know if I would stay down there again, or just go down for small trips.  I might have to get my daughter to drive me there.

I won’t talk much today, it is a big day.  I have a class on today, and also today is Election Day in Australia.  Everyone over the age of 18 has to vote.  Big day for my daughters as it will be their first time voting, so we are going as a family down to the voting booths.  No idea what the outcome will be, if we will have a new Prime Minister or not.

So I have all the photos from that weekend, plus a few extras.  Here they are in a gallery for you.  Have a great weekend.

107 Comments
  1. salam kenal

    September 7, 2013
  2. I wonder if it’s still the ‘same’. wow.

    September 7, 2013
    • I am sure it is pretty much the same, I must go back some time and take a look.

      September 7, 2013
  3. Some beautiful rocks down there. Good HDR’s because they don’t have the overcooked look.

    September 7, 2013
    • One thing our coast is good for, is rocks, so many to photograph. Thank you, I haven’t been showing older HDR’s but I thought these weren’t too bad.

      September 7, 2013
  4. These are beautiful. What an inspiring place.

    September 7, 2013
  5. Beautiful photos !

    September 7, 2013
  6. Stunning images!

    September 7, 2013
  7. Stunning, stunning, stunning!!! You are inspiring Leanne 🙂

    September 7, 2013
    • Thank you, what a lovely lovely thing to say Norma.

      September 7, 2013
      • You’re welcome. I actually aspire to be like you one day. Your photography is amazing in every way 🙂

        September 7, 2013
      • I am not that good, anyone can take photos like me. Thank you though. 🙂

        September 7, 2013
      • Well I think they’re amazing 🙂

        September 7, 2013
      • Thank you Norma. 🙂

        September 8, 2013
  8. Great shots… fascinated me dear Leanne Cole, Thank you, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    September 7, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, you have a nice weekend too.

      September 7, 2013
  9. The first 2 letters of the alphabet say it all: Awesome & Beautiful 😉

    September 7, 2013
  10. every photo is stunningly gorgeous Leanne

    September 7, 2013
    • Thank you Leanne, have you been down there?

      September 7, 2013
  11. Nice place, beautiful photos 🙂

    September 7, 2013
    • It is a great place, thank you. 🙂

      September 7, 2013
  12. Very different from you normal work but equally as good, I love the way you have captured the spirit of the place.

    September 7, 2013
    • Actually very normal for what it used to be, I have only recently changed to doing all the portraits. It is nice to go back and see what I used to do, or what I have done. Thank you.

      September 7, 2013
  13. Wonderful series.

    September 7, 2013
  14. Beautiful images Leanne

    September 7, 2013
  15. fine collections. amazing place nicely captured by you.

    September 7, 2013
    • Thank you so much, I love these areas.

      September 7, 2013
  16. Lovely to look back with you…has it really been almost 2 years?
    So good that the whole family is going down together – I wish more people here took voting seriously…

    September 7, 2013
    • Yes, almost 2 years, how quickly it flies.
      We don’t have a choice here, we have to vote, everyone over the age has to register as soon as you turn 18 and you never leave the list and every election you have to vote. If you don’t you get fined. We missed a local one, completely forgot it was on and got fined. I think it is good. I have always felt that you can’t complain about the government if you don’t participate in the system, that is just my belief.

      September 7, 2013
  17. leecleland #

    Great stuff, you have captured the south Victorian coastlines spirit in these images.

    September 7, 2013
    • Thank you Lee, I love our coast line and I love exploring it.

      September 7, 2013
  18. Absolutely breathtaking photos!! 🙂

    September 7, 2013
  19. Mornington near Drogheda Ireland looks nothing like that. Your Mornington is incredible. Thank you for checking out Bob’s site.

    September 7, 2013
    • Our Mornington is small, but there are so many great areas to photograph. I know there is some coastal areas of Ireland which are amazing. YOu are welcome, and thank you for returning the favour.

      September 8, 2013
  20. Lovely pictures Leanne. MM 🍀

    September 7, 2013
  21. Wow, gorgeous photos!!

    September 7, 2013
  22. an exciting day indeed. love the photos and happy you’ve let yourself off the hook about posting daily. do it when the mood strikes you and you are able and the quality will stay high.

    September 7, 2013
    • It was an interesting day, big elections are always a very nervous day. I had to let myself off the hook, it was getting all too much, it is getting better now. I like what you said about the quality, I hope so. Thank you.

      September 8, 2013
  23. Your photos are stunning as always Leanne.

    September 7, 2013
  24. Lovely shots no wonder you long to return 🙂

    September 8, 2013
  25. Happy Voting day!!!

    And wonderful shots!

    (as always : )

    – Michael
    http://AmazingPicturesBlog.com

    September 8, 2013
    • whoops – tweeted this on my model side – retweeted on my flower side : )
      – Michael

      September 8, 2013
    • Thank you Michael, I think we have a new Prime Minister now, interesting times again.

      September 8, 2013
  26. Beautiful use of silhouettes and reflections in this set of photographs. Thanks for sharing.

    September 8, 2013
    • Thank you, I love reflections.

      September 8, 2013
  27. Lots of WOWs here!

    September 8, 2013
  28. Pat #

    Beautiful work, Leanne.

    September 8, 2013
  29. Fantastic set of images Leanne

    September 8, 2013
  30. Wonderful wonderful light!!!

    September 8, 2013
    • I was very lucky with that that weekend. thanks

      September 8, 2013
  31. Love love love these photos!

    September 9, 2013
    • That is fantastic, thank you.

      September 9, 2013
  32. Reblogged this on Lisaiceland.com.

    September 9, 2013
  33. Photos are beautiful, really lovely.

    September 9, 2013
    • Thank you Chris, that is wonderful.

      September 9, 2013
  34. Amazing captures! Very peaceful location.

    September 9, 2013
    • Thank you, yes, great way to describe it, it was very peaceful.

      September 9, 2013
  35. Want to go there! Amazing pictures!

    September 9, 2013
    • Then you must go, it is a very popular part of our coastline. Thank you.

      September 9, 2013
  36. Incredible shots, Leanne. I really love your palette.

    September 9, 2013
  37. Inspiring spot for photos, indeed.

    September 9, 2013
    • It is quite inspiring, I must go back, thanks Colonialist.

      September 9, 2013
  38. Stunning gallery, Leanne! The votes are IN, and you have a new PM!

    September 9, 2013
    • Thank you. Yes a new PM, not good news, well I don’t think it is. The party he belongs to are notorious for stuffing up the economy trying to make everyone their friends, giving money away left right and centre, then when the other party get in they have to make tough decisions to stop us from going off the rails. It isn’t good. This new PM is going to send us backwards. Scary times ahead.

      September 9, 2013
      • I’ll be watching that…though he can’t possibly ‘stuff it up’ more than our own President has done to us. EVERY price has risen, from gas to groceries to healthcare under his tenure…and now he wants to interfere in the Syria situation, but he cut the military budget so heavily, I fear taxes will rise astronomically–again! All to save his own bum!

        September 9, 2013
      • Oh I don’t know, we will see. It isn’t so much taxes, but the stripping away of things, like funded university fees, the rights of women to choose to have an abortion, then deciding that women should get 6 months paid maternity leave, who on earth is going to pay for that. Everything here has risen so much from previous liberal governments selling off everything and privatising it, to help with competition, and the only competition it created was to see who could charge the most. It is getting very hard to live on what my husband makes, and he earns good money.
        I fear what is happening there too. I don’t know, this idea that we can go, and say we, because if the US goes, so will we, into other countries and tell them how they have to live, how they should fight amongst themselves is just not right. Who are we to decide what they should and shouldn’t be doing. If it leaves that one country and they are imposing themselves on another, then that is different, but we have no right to tell another country what is right and what is wrong. Though chemical warfare is pretty barbaric, so I am kind of on the fence with it.

        September 9, 2013
      • Me too, but I just think we should leave them to themselves and be outraged at the usage of chemical weapons, but let them fight each other. The UN doesn’t seem to be doing much of anything, and our Secretary of State has been hemming and hawing, saying the US has many countries supporting a war–but those seem to be only ‘moral support’ and not military.

        As so many soldiers are still in Afghanistan, we can’t really afford another war, nor the loss of more men and women who serve.

        It’s a terrible dilemma…one the US should not be in, as there are so many other problematic situations here which need our President’s immediate and full attention (the economy, for one!)…but he prefers to fundraise and go golfing more than come up with the necessary solutions.

        September 9, 2013
      • There are other ways of fixing the problem rather than going to war, and sometimes I think that is the problem, they don’t really look for those other solutions. The rest of the world could put embargos on them, refuse to trade with them, refuse to buy anything they produce, it has been done before and done effectively, I don’t understand why they aren’t doing that this time. War with middle eastern countries has not been good for anyone and has, in many ways, made the situation so much worse. We need to find more peaceful ways to deal with these crisis.

        It is like it is with our children, we tell them not to win an argument by turning it into a fight, but our governments are doing it constantly.

        You know the rest of think exactly the same way you do about where your gov. attention should be. We find it so incredible that there is such a huge percent of people who have jobs, but can’t afford to live in a home, and are effectively homeless. We have homeless but not to the same extent. Though, many in the world get this idea, that American’s don’t think their President is really successful unless he has gone to war. I don’t know how true that is, but a large number of presidents do seem to go to war. Peaceful solutions, look after your own home.

        September 9, 2013
      • Ah, it’s all so POLITICAL and POWER-oriented, and yesterday Russia DID come up with an alternative–perhaps not as viable as embargos, but….

        And people here are wondering why our ‘Dear Leader’ and his administration hadn’t thought of that ages ago! It’s because they are greedy and power-hungry, nasty self-seeking people in general…and war means MONEY! But…they continue to lie to the American people.

        It’s so very sad to me, Leanne, as I’ve been around for 10 presidencies, and cannot recall one as being so arrogant, deceitful, so oblivious to the ‘will of the people’, as this current phoney!

        I could go on and on, but you get the drift…and I see AU joined in with others offering ‘moral support’ for a strike in Syria–what is wrong with these people?

        September 11, 2013
      • First of all, let me tell you about our politicians, they are gutless, if your President says jump, how PM says how high and how many times. We hate that out government just rolls over to the will of yours. It is horrible.
        There has to be so many other ways to do this without going in there with guns blazing. I haven’t heard what Russia has come up with, our news if full of the election still. I will have to do some research.
        I keep hearing about how much people don’t like this one. I was also really pleased to see images on the news the other day of people protesting at his idea of going to war with Syria, people saying that they have people going hungry, with no where to live and other things in this country, so why doesn’t he do something about that first.
        Can I let you in on a secret? For many many years we have had this idea that America was a war mongering country, we still think that, but we are starting to understand that it has nothing to do with the people, and so much more to do with the people in power. It is very sad really. I really hope a peaceful solution is found.

        September 11, 2013
      • America was founded as a government “of the people, by the people and for the people”. That nation is long gone, I fear…even my doctor today called our guy”…a FOOL!”–something I never expected. Making war is all about money, Leanne, a sure way to boost the economy and create jobs.

        Meanwhile, our brave troops still over in Afghanistan are not even allowed a hot breakfast, while our guy and his nasty wife party on. The White House, an historic landmark, is no longer open to tourists, but the nasty wife can fly to the state of Wisconsin to promote her “Drink up!” campaign, telling people that drinking water gives you more energy…riiiight! There’s been much on-and-off talk that the election last November was rampant with voter fraud, but the media here just keeps giving this Dumbo a pass. It is so very sad and disheartening, as I DO keep track of politics in other nations as well as my own, and we now seem to be the laughingstock of the world.

        September 14, 2013
  39. poppytump #

    Such a variety of moods created here Leanne with the colours and timings of your images . I am looking at them keenly Lol .
    From little dinghies to ravaged rocks and swirly sea …Gorgeous .
    Hey I spy an Aussie ‘Washing Ledge’ a bit like the one in Dorset 😉

    September 9, 2013
    • Okay, I give, what is a “washing ledge”? I haven’t heard of that before.
      I hadn’t thought of the variety of moods, but I can see what you mean. Thank you Poppytump.

      September 9, 2013
      • poppytump #

        Ah its the ledge like formation of rock going out into the sea .. all to do with Geology Leanne … The acquiring of such knowledge I will leave to others in this family Lol I’ll just take the pictures 🙂

        September 9, 2013
      • Thank you for explaining that, I had never heard of that before.

        September 9, 2013
  40. Lovely Lovely..I just can’t find any words to praise them.. 🙂

    September 9, 2013
    • Thank you, you have said plenty.

      September 9, 2013
  41. Love the pastels and the misty shots 🙂

    September 9, 2013
  42. I really liked this collection of photos.

    September 12, 2013
  43. These pictures are too nice to be described!

    September 14, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say.

      September 14, 2013
  44. Such lovely images!

    September 16, 2013
    • Thank you so much Elizabeth.

      September 16, 2013

Comments are closed.

