Skip to content

The Glow of Woman

When I was pregnant with my first child my mother in law said to me, “pregnancy really suits you, but don’t do it too often”.  She was like that.  I loved being pregnant and I found the whole experience incredibly amazing.  Pregnancy is something that is really amazing and on Tuesday I was given an opportunity to photograph Alison who is due to give birth to her child very early month.

LeanneCole-alison-20130910-0003We had discussed ideas, but she seemed very happy to go along with what I wanted.  I knew she didn’t want the typical pregnancy photos of bare bellies and that sort of thing.  I have to admit, when I was pregnant I was uncomfortable doing that.  So the subject of this shoot was her and how beautiful she is.  I was photographing a beautiful woman who happened to be very pregnant.

LeanneCole-alison-20130910-0002

Showing the pregnancy was important, but it was more important that it be about her.  I used lots of different fabrics and draped them around her to look like elegant dresses.  I was really happy with what I got and can’t wait to try more.

LeanneCole-alison-20130910-0004I don’t know if everything worked, and so far I have only done about 5 images, so many more to do yet, but I can’t wait to do more.  We got so many different outfits and settings.  They do take quite a while to do, but I am just loving working on them.

LeanneCole-alison-20130910-0006

I really like this one above, almost like the calm before the storm.  She looks so peaceful, like she is really enjoying the pregnancy, as if it is relaxing.  The park had snow drop flowers everywhere and I tried to incorporate them into my images.

I really enjoyed photographing her, and realised that I would love to do more pregnant women.  Now I just need to work out how to find them.  Do images for womenwho want to celebrate their radiance and that glow that comes with pregnancy.

94 Comments
  1. few things approach a pregnant woman in beauty and hope

    September 12, 2013
  2. I love pregnant women. I am not sure if other people noticed that but women expecting babies have this very special healing aura. They look so pure and it absolutely amazing just to see it – very positive energy. I am not sure if I’ll have a baby myself too one day but wow hopefully it is going to be even more amazing then when I look at these women.

    September 12, 2013
    • Being pregnant is a magical experience, there is something about the way you feel, and then there is the way other women look at you, it is special. I am glad you like the photos of Alison, she was glowing and she looked gorgeous. thank you

      September 12, 2013
      • Oh and I actually like what you wrote that you photographed her without making her nude or with her belly out. Some women think thats the only way to do it. With that romantic dress it looks awesome ! And its obvious it is going to be an autumn baby seeing the colors 🙂 very romantic.

        September 12, 2013
      • I agree, some pregnant bellies are not great, I like the idea of celebrating her being a woman. Thank you so much, I like the idea of the romance in the images.

        September 12, 2013
  3. Malin H #

    Beautiful photos of a beautiful pregnant woman.

    Glad you didn’t do the bare bellie-photos. 🙂

    September 12, 2013
    • Thank you Malin, that is fantastic, I love photos like this.
      I am glad we didn’t do that as well.

      September 12, 2013
      • Malin H #

        🙂

        September 12, 2013
  4. poppytump #

    Lovely to see an mother to be exuding that glow you speak of Leanne .
    I like the symbolism of ‘ hope and new beginnings’ with the surrounding Snowdrops, along with her protective hand gesture in the last image .

    September 12, 2013
    • I know what you mean, it is lovely.
      I like what you have said about symbolism, lovely, thank you Poppytump.

      September 12, 2013
  5. I like to think I have that pregnant glow about me. Of course, in my case it’s just fat, but it’s very similar to being pregnant, only without the hassle.

    September 12, 2013
    • I had to wait to reply to this, I had to wait until I stopped laughing, haha. brilliant Brian, thank you.

      September 12, 2013
  6. Beautiful pics! My favorite is the last one! I love the fabrics you had her wear!! Awesome job!

    September 12, 2013
    • Thank you Lisa, I really like that last one too.

      September 12, 2013
  7. these are lovely and my fav is the last one at all, where she looks like she is in her ‘nest’, ready to bring her baby to the world.

    September 12, 2013
    • Her nest, what a great idea, there are so many ideas for that one, it is my favourite as well. Thank you.

      September 12, 2013
  8. I completly agree in the subject of “typical pregnancy photos of bare bellies”. I had the opportunity of photographing my cousin when she was pregnant and we both agreed that we didn’t want that kind of pictures. I’m on board with, not doing all about the bellie, and focusing on the beauty of the woman.

    September 12, 2013
    • I don’t think it is always necessary, I don’t want to do images like that, I want to create something completely different. I like the direction they are going. The beauty of the woman is what should be important. Thank you.

      September 12, 2013
  9. Fabulous photos! I hope she’s really happy with them…All the best to the new babe, too 🙂

    September 12, 2013
    • Thanks Marie, she has said much yet, but they aren’t all done yet. I will let her know what you said.

      September 12, 2013
  10. Gorgeous!

    September 12, 2013
  11. Sonel #

    Absolutely stunning shots Leanne. She is beautiful and you’ve captured it all. 😀 *hugs*

    September 12, 2013
    • Thank you Sonel, I loved, loved, photographing her. I want to do more like it. 🙂

      September 13, 2013
  12. This is truly beautiful.!

    September 12, 2013
  13. Beautiful as always!

    September 12, 2013
  14. Di' #

    She is so lovely, Leanne. She’s lucky you’ve captured the beauty side of her pregnancy.

    September 12, 2013
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say, it was great photographing her, and today I hope to get a lot more of the images done.

      September 13, 2013
  15. Beautiful photos Leanne. She looks so happy and pleasing 🙂

    September 13, 2013
  16. I like the contrasts and colors here, Leanne. The cold background and the color balance you’ve chosen succeeds very well in emphasizing your subject. There’s almost an element of mythic surrealism here.

    September 13, 2013
    • I like that, mythic surrealism, I will have to remember that. Thank you, I like playing with the images and seeing what I can come up with. Thank you so much.

      September 13, 2013
  17. Hope #

    Yes, I love the last one best, too! Beautiful work and a beautiful new Mom!

    September 13, 2013
    • Thank you Hope, I like that one too, though it is her second child, maybe that is why she looks relaxed, she is making the most of the time before the baby comes.

      September 13, 2013
  18. It’s a very beautyfull and romantic photo 🙂

    September 13, 2013
    • Thank you Susanne, exactly the look I was going for. 🙂

      September 13, 2013
  19. rusydi hikmawan #

    nice shot.

    September 13, 2013
  20. Since today is my Birthday and 57 years ago i decided to come here to visit well, i had to click on the blog here, hits home today lol, when i was in the dark and ready to arrive into this maddness, i am still trying to fugure out why but i think the big computer in the sky has me all figured out now LoL, kewl shots, # 2 shot is very kewl lewks like she is lewking to the heavens in wunderment of if it is a boy er Gurl 🙂 Over & Out frum Q……….kewl stuff………..

    September 13, 2013
    • Well Happy Birthday. Thank you so much, I like that one too.

      September 13, 2013
  21. Cynthia #

    Great opening to this post. Beautiful images as always. Love that concept of “celebrating radiance.” 😉

    September 13, 2013
    • Thank you Cynthia, I like that too, there is something about the way a pregnant woman looks. 🙂

      September 13, 2013
  22. Excellent approach to pregnancy.

    September 13, 2013
    • Thank you, hopefully classic and romantic.

      September 13, 2013
  23. Love how you took these, really classy and beautiful 🙂

    September 13, 2013
    • Thank you Amanda, I really like how they have come out, very happy. 🙂

      September 13, 2013
  24. These are beautiful!
    If you can – I would love to see a continuation of this series – maybe mom & baby after the baby is born 😉

    September 13, 2013
    • I am hoping to do that RoSy, though they may be moving soon after, so I am not sure. Thank you.

      September 13, 2013
  25. Our daughter called us about 9 months ago, and told us she was pregnant and I said “great”, she told me no, she was too old (she is 40 now), and I agreed and offered to take the child myself, she declined the offer, and as of yesterday we have a new baby boy, our 10th grandchild. Tatum Douglas, who will be known as T.D. or better yet, Touch Down… ok, I probably won’t get away with that.

    September 13, 2013
    • Congratulations, babies are always happy times. I don’t think you will get away with that either. Haha. Hope all goes well.

      September 13, 2013
  26. Jen #

    I have to say, this is one of the better pregnancy shoots I think I’ve seen. It’s so…fanciful, but in a sort of down-to-earth way, if that makes sense. That’s probably thanks to your processing. The fabric draping idea was a great one—looks wonderful!

    September 13, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say Jen. I loved doing it and would love to do a lot more. I think the fabric draping was definitely the way to go, I just need to practice more and get some great fabrics. Thank you so much.

      September 13, 2013
  27. Hi Leanne, not sure why but I’m not getting updates from sites I follow lately – sucks. Happy blog anniversary to you! And love the pretty mom to be photos. hope your all well there. 🙂

    September 13, 2013
    • There seem to be a very issues at the moment with WP with followers and numbers and stuff, not sure what is going on, hopefully they will fix it all up soon. Thank you, and thank you about the photos too. Yes all well here, things are starting to get busy.

      September 13, 2013
  28. She really DOES look calm there. Great photo

    September 13, 2013
    • Thank you, she was saying that she felt really calm when we were doing the shoot, and I think it really came out.

      September 13, 2013
  29. A great job of achieving your goal with this photoshoot!

    September 14, 2013
    • Thank you, I was very happy with the outcome.

      September 14, 2013
  30. My problem was that I was never pregnant, but when I wore the wrong clothes, people asked if I was. That didn’t make me glow – well maybe a little, but I don’t think it’s the look you wanted! 🙂 These pictures are exactly what the doctor ordered! 🙂

    September 14, 2013
    • Thank you Marsha, I was so happy with them, I am glad they aren’t all about the belly, and more about her, that is really what I wanted.
      I love your story, so funny. 🙂

      September 14, 2013
      • It is more about the face. I’m afraid, I’ve always been fascinated by the belly, though. I’m one of those annoying people who can’t resist touching! Well- if I know the person. It’s almost like something that is so taboo the rest of the time, when there’s a little person inside begging to come out, you can’t resist giving him/her a pat on the back – right through someone’s belly! I have one more funny story for you, then I have to go to bed. One of my colleagues is married to a man with a rotund belly, which she always rubs or pats. Our boss has the same kind of belly. I think you know where this is going… When she had done the deed, she looked at everyone and asked, “Did I just do that?” Of course everyone affirmed her misappropriate touching, but it became quite a funny story. 🙂 Good thing he had a sense of humor. 🙂

        September 14, 2013
      • I think that is one thing that is weird about pregnancy, how everyone wants to touch it. The questions you get asked as well, it is like you are not a person anymore and you belong to everyone.
        Oh no, that would be embarrassing, very funny though. I might need to go and have a nap too. I went to a Digital show/exhibition thing this morning and I am quite tired now. I got a new camera, well a little compact camera to have some fun with.

        September 14, 2013
  31. The Priceless Pooch #

    Gorgeous photos!

    September 14, 2013
  32. lovely and serene

    September 15, 2013
  33. she is glowing!

    September 16, 2013
    • Yes, I think so too, she told me that she felt really relaxed that day, and I hope I captured that.

      September 16, 2013
  34. Wow, I really love these images.

    September 16, 2013
    • I have to admit I am so happy with them, I love how they turned out. Thank you. 🙂

      September 16, 2013
  35. Incredible photographs. Love the composition.

    September 17, 2013
    • Thank you Phill, I was so happy with how these came out.

      September 17, 2013
  36. These are so stunningly beautiful, Leanne, as is Alison! A great idea, too–photographing pregnant women. Even though they may feel ‘huge’, i think it’s great that they’d have something to show their child, as it grows, how pleased and happy they were to be having that child.

    September 21, 2013
    • I think women who are pregnant are beautiful, so it is nice to show that in these images. I have to say, I would love to do a lot more pregnant women. I just need to work out how to find them. Thank you 1000.

      September 21, 2013
      • You might want to leave a few business cards at several OB/GYN offices (if that’s even possible?), because I’m sure you’d find a few women who would enjoy posing–just a first thought!

        September 21, 2013
      • Yes, I had thought of that, or a small album, though would like to get some pregnant ladies to photograph first, get more of a folio. I think it is the in thing right now, to get pregnancy photos, so hopefully it wont’ be too hard to find them.

        September 22, 2013
      • Easy-peasy, I think…and more of a portfolio will certainly help. Keep going at this, as I think you’ll also get some $$$ from it!

        September 23, 2013
      • I hope so, I really loved photographing her and she wasn’t interested in the usual pregnancy shots that everyone is doing right now, so that was really good. I have some ideas, also going to see someone like a business coach soon, so hopefully they will help.

        September 23, 2013
      • Sounds as if you’ve got the plan, Leanne!!! My best to you on this, because your efforts always seem to ‘pay off’!

        September 23, 2013
      • Well not always, not when I try and make money, but things are starting to happen, so hopefully it will all fall into place.

        September 23, 2013
      • It seems to be almost a ‘domino effect’ for you in the past year, though, what with teaching and all the new discoveries!

        September 24, 2013
      • It has been good, I am really excited about what is happening, I really like getting all this work.

        September 24, 2013
      • Wish the same could happen here…try as I might, nothing!

        September 24, 2013
      • It is a tough one, I don’t know what to say, though the blog has helped me a lot and helped show case my work which has been fantastic.

        September 25, 2013
      • Yes, my blog has helped, too, Leanne…and though I hand out business cards at every chance, I’ve still had no takers. Perhaps I should get my act together, and put something in the header re: “All images for sale” now that I’ve incorporated the watermark.

        The hospital at which I’ve had all these tests just purchased many new photos, and they’re not nearly as good as mine (and yours!), so maybe it will take a bit more effort on my part to ‘dress up’ and deliver some DVD portfolios (which are cheap enough for me to burn)–as soon as I’m finished with the apartment painting, that is!

        September 26, 2013
      • It can be so frustrating trying to get people to take you on or to buy your work. It is so heartbreaking when you see people selling work and you know that their work isn’t that good. It drives me nuts, when I was photographing the cycling I used to see that all the time. I don’t know what the answer is, except to keep trying, something will work.

        September 26, 2013
      • I shall!

        September 26, 2013
      • 🙂

        September 26, 2013

Comments are closed.

