Skip to content

Looking at the Old Mallee

Making images look old, or antiquing them has been a lot of fun, I do really enjoy playing with images taken now and trying to make them look like they were taken a long time ago.  I know it is a fairly popular thing to do now, but I actually really like doing it.  It can really change the whole look of an image.  So today I went through some of my images from the Mallee and tried antiquing them.

LeanneCole-antiquemalle-7197They are all done differently, again, so some have worked better than others.  It is interesting to see what textures work and the more I do this, the more I understand that.  Some textures are perfect and others, well as soon as you blend them you know they want work.  So there is still a lot of trial and error.

It is a big week for our family, so I am not going to talk long today, but I am going to put them all into a gallery for you to look at, at your leisure.  Enjoy.

92 Comments
  1. Well done

    September 19, 2013
  2. Very cool. Sometimes, I play around with editing and change a photo to sepia or black and white. I really like the way changing your photos emphasized texture.

    September 19, 2013
    • Thank you, I love playing and seeing what is possible, it is a great way to develop and find out new things.

      September 19, 2013
  3. Nice edited..!!

    September 19, 2013
  4. Sonel #

    Absolutely gorgeous Leanne! Great job hon! 😀 *hugs*

    September 19, 2013
    • Oh, thank you Sonel, that if brilliant. 🙂

      September 19, 2013
  5. That is beautiful fantastic job.

    September 19, 2013
  6. Really nice series – I especially like the first & last.

    David.

    September 19, 2013
    • That is fantastic David, thanks for letting me know.

      September 19, 2013
  7. Nicely done!

    September 19, 2013
  8. Skye #

    I love LOVE the white flowers…the wagon is awesome, as well. Thank you, Leanne.

    September 19, 2013
    • Thank you Skye, I wasn’t sure about the white flowers, but glad you like them. How amazing is that wagon?

      September 19, 2013
      • Skye #

        Ten on the one to ten scale of AMAZING! 🙂

        September 20, 2013
      • haha, thank you so much Skye. 🙂

        September 20, 2013
  9. woah!!! – how did u do that

    September 19, 2013
    • LOL, you know how it is, a bit of this, a bit of that, it is mainly about putting textures on top of one another, blending them together. Thank you.

      September 19, 2013
  10. Love it. These are perfect candidates for antiquing.
    Have a good week – I know ALL about busy 😉

    September 19, 2013
    • It was hard picking photos, I really didn’t know which ones to do, so I am glad you think they are perfect.
      Thank you so much, it is nice that busy is starting to include photography jobs. 😉

      September 19, 2013
  11. Even if it is a popular thing to do – I agree it is still fun to try different thing with your photographs – I especially like the first two close shots and the house.

    September 19, 2013
    • I agree Robert, when you experiment and try new things, you never know what will come from it. I just like doing it at the moment too. That is great to hear, I do like hearing which ones people like. Thank you.

      September 19, 2013
  12. Great set of images! I particularly like the grasses and the old house.

    September 19, 2013
    • The grasses was the first one I did, thank you Noeline.

      September 19, 2013
  13. Thank you for comment on “Shotgun Lady” Your work is quite amazing, I love your photographs….looking for more,more……

    September 19, 2013
    • You’re welcome, thank you so much, what a lovely thing to say.

      September 19, 2013
  14. Maggie Beck #

    I like the discord between the very plausible antiquing and more contemporary subject material, or rather material/objects/scenes that would not have been used 50-100 years ago. It is a most pleasant tension! Well done!

    September 19, 2013
    • Thank you Maggie, That is so true, and I think I quite like that as well.

      September 19, 2013
  15. Lovely work Leeanne

    September 19, 2013
  16. Very good and most effective.

    September 19, 2013
  17. Dove Seven Gold #

    Hi, great effect, I really like the top one 🙂

    September 19, 2013
    • Thank you, I really like that one too, something about the first time I work on them. I should only do one a day.

      September 20, 2013
  18. grammietravels #

    Have you seen the work of woman Russian photographer who does a lot of portraits -sometimes surreal- in the forest or other natural settings. Amazing stuff. Let me know if you would like her name. But I did think of you when I saw her photos.

    September 20, 2013
    • I would love the name, thanks, always happy to look at the work of others. Thank you.

      September 20, 2013
  19. A very nice job of choosing which images to antique. I especially like how you’ve applied it to the grasses and the wagon wheels. I have also seen where the antiquing process has been applied to a very modern item or scene which doesn’t quite fit at all.

    September 20, 2013
    • I agree, I think you need to be careful with what you choose to do it too, and modern things wouldn’t really work, though I haven’t tried it. I know that as I was going through my images, I wasn’t really sure which ones to pick, so picked things that were either of old things, or plants, plants do seem to work very well. Thank you David.

      September 20, 2013
  20. Very nicely done! My favorite is the first one, but all of them are beautifully aged.

    September 20, 2013
    • I agree with you here, I think the first one is the best too, thank you.

      September 20, 2013
  21. Gr8

    September 20, 2013
  22. This is a technique I would like to try more often….

    September 20, 2013
    • Go for it, there are so many things you can do.

      September 20, 2013
  23. LB #

    Leeann, that first one is really wonderful!

    September 20, 2013
    • Thank you, that is great, I like it too.

      September 20, 2013
  24. Interesting images. Well done!

    September 20, 2013
  25. Wonderful moody broody … would make perfect illustrations for something. Maybe you should write a book to go with your pictures! I love your new header too.

    September 20, 2013
    • Thank you, I like the idea of the illustrations, though not sure about a book, maybe one day. Thanks for noticing the header.

      September 20, 2013
  26. I do love these pictures. I should do that with some of my cemetery pictures I just took. Wait till you see them, You’ll love them. BTW, I love your new header. ADORABLE! Hope you are doing well. I’m missing you, but I’m still in never never land, but at least I have internet service now. We hope to be home by Saturday. Time for a chat! 🙂

    September 20, 2013
    • Yes, time for a chat, that would be great. I have been seeing bits and pieces of what is going on, but haven’t had a chance to get on your blog, sorry, we are having a very very crazy week, sounds you have too. I look forward to chatting.
      I can’t wait to see the cemetery photos. Thank you. Glad you like the header, hard to find an image that suits that format.

      September 20, 2013
      • That one certainly works! Crazy weeks are good ones for catching up at the end of them! 🙂

        September 21, 2013
      • You are certainly having one of those, a forced vacation. How nice. 🙂

        September 21, 2013
      • It’s a lot of fun! 😍

        September 21, 2013
      • That is good to hear. 🙂

        September 21, 2013
      • You’ll have to read the next chapters. But first I’ll have to write them! 🙂 Lots of love M

        September 21, 2013
      • LOL, too funny Marsha, I look forward to reading them, after you have written them. 🙂

        September 22, 2013
      • OK, I just posted Chapter Six. Vince and I are enjoying revisiting each of the places. We took SO many pictures. You’ll enjoy this one. There are some picture flops in it! And to think I almost threw them away! 🙂

        September 23, 2013
      • I am enjoying this series, so will have to get on to it. Got photos to do right now, but will get to them soon. I can’t wait to see it.

        September 23, 2013
      • 🙂

        September 24, 2013
  27. On occasions like this, upon seeing artwork such as yours – i do wish WordPress had LOVE button… Beautiful, mesmerizing, breath taking!

    September 20, 2013
    • Thank you Ruth, now wouldn’t that be something, haha, but I do like hearing what people think.

      September 21, 2013
  28. The last one is particularly atmospheric.

    September 21, 2013
  29. I love artificially aged photos like these. It adds a kind of artificially imaginative “history” that draws the viewer in. Have you considered adding HDR effects as well? Might add a bit of surrealism to the mix.

    September 21, 2013
    • It is interesting doing this. I hadn’t considered adding HDR effects, I must admit I am not a big fan of the surrealism effect that is achieved and have always tried in my own to get a natural image. That is me though. Thanks.

      September 21, 2013
      • Regardless, it’s wonderful work. I’ve reblogged this entry; it deserves as much exposure as possible. Good job!

        September 24, 2013
      • Thank you, that is so kind of you. I really appreciate it.

        September 24, 2013
  30. I can see how you could become hooked on this – they’re great images, Leanne.

    September 21, 2013
    • Thanks Richard, maybe you could do some with your portraits, I am sure some of them would lend themselves very well to the process.

      September 21, 2013
  31. Whoa! This is awesome! I’m really enjoying this new style 🙂 does it take a lot more work to do it this way?

    September 22, 2013
    • Sometimes it does, depends on what I am doing. I like it and think it is fun, though I don’t know how long I will do it for, I am hoping it will lead to something else, or develop into something, we will see. Thanks Amanda.

      September 22, 2013
  32. wonderful set!

    have a nice Sunday evening,
    Vincent

    September 23, 2013
    • Thank you, Monday morning now, 🙂

      September 23, 2013
  33. Reblogged this on The World in Twilight and commented:
    This photographer has done work that’s after my own heart, so I wanted to share it here. Enjoy and be sure to compliment her efforts.

    September 24, 2013
  34. beautiful photos…visiting you via The Twilit Lens.

    September 24, 2013
    • Interesting idea, thank you.

      September 24, 2013
  35. Visiting you via The Twilit Lens…beautiful work 🙂

    September 24, 2013
    • Thank you, I have never heard that term before.

      September 24, 2013
  36. poppytump #

    The old waggon cart is SO perfect for this Leanne .
    All lovely choices out of your archives for this antiquing process 🙂

    September 24, 2013
    • Thank you, I thought it was great too.
      It seems to work well if you pick the right images to start with.

      September 24, 2013
  37. Beautifully done, all of them! And you’re certainly correct re: using the ‘right’ images..some of which seem to ‘cry out’ to be aged!

    September 26, 2013
    • Thanks 1000, it does seem to be the right thing to do, picking the right image, I am sure I will do more, I quite like doing these.

      September 26, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Drink Outside the Box Volume #002 | wdbwp

Comments are closed.

