Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Melbourne Architecture.

Today, I thought I would do a quick post and show some of the places and buildings that are fantastic to photograph if you come to Melbourne.  I love Melbourne, I know you know that, but I also think we have some amazing architecture and I think for a photographer Melbourne is a fantastic place to take photos.

I am going to put all the images together in a gallery, and under each one I will say what the building or place is.  Enjoy your weekend.

125 Comments
  1. Structural B-E-A-U-T-Y…….!! Great Composition…!!

    September 21, 2013
    • Thank you, Melbourne has great stuff to learn on.

      September 21, 2013
      • You make it more adorable and attractive through your composition……..!! Agree with me or not….upto you my friend…. 🙂

        September 21, 2013
      • What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much. 🙂

        September 21, 2013
  2. superb photo’s of beautiful architecture , Leanne. Thank you for sharing so I could visit Melbourne through your eyes . have a wonderful weekend!
    groetjes, Francina

    September 21, 2013
    • I hope you enjoyed the tour Francina, thank you.

      September 21, 2013
  3. Love these, and love Melbourne 🙂

    September 21, 2013
  4. eljay7 #

    Cool 🙂

    September 21, 2013
  5. Impressive… 🙂

    September 21, 2013
  6. Reblogged this on Spiritual challenges .

    September 21, 2013
  7. I loved this gallery! What an eye for photography!

    September 21, 2013
    • Thank you, Melbourne has some photographic opportunities.

      September 21, 2013
  8. I didn’t know that Melbourne is so interesting and beautiful. Thanks!

    September 21, 2013
    • It is very interesting and very beautiful. Thank you.

      September 21, 2013
  9. Fantastic set of photos. I have always liked what I have seen from Melbourne and your photos inspire me to want to go even more.

    September 21, 2013
    • Thank you, maybe I should do more posts like this, highlight Melbourne more, there is so much to photograph.

      September 21, 2013
      • I can imagine. I just spent the night in Hollywood, as I live in Cali and THAT city is a haven for photographers. I went to a world-class tourist hot spot with a friend to check it out and will be posting some photos from there over the next week or so.

        September 21, 2013
      • I think a lot of cities are fantastic for photographers, you just have to open your eyes, though the advantage I have here is that I live here, and I know the little secrets, well, some of them. I like to share my city, I hope people like me sharing it. Thank you. Oh, I look forward to seeing your photos.

        September 22, 2013
      • You are so right. Plus, I focus on the little things a lot of the time, so sometimes I drive my friends crazy by having to stop and shoot something……..

        September 22, 2013
      • Haha, I think that is something we all do, my daughters hate coming somewhere with me if they know the camera is coming as well. The elder one especially.

        September 23, 2013
      • I get this–but they can just play on their mobile phones while you take pics, right?????

        September 23, 2013
      • Well you would think so, but one doesn’t do that much and she is the one that gets shirty about me taking too long, I try and leave her at home.

        September 24, 2013
      • One day she will realize that her mom is a world-class photographer and might regret not being your assistant :-

        September 24, 2013
      • Maybe, we will see, when I become one. 😉

        September 24, 2013
      • A tad more exposure is all you need :-

        September 26, 2013
      • I hope so, thank you.

        September 26, 2013
  10. I know Melbourne well but you have helped me see it with new eyes, Leanne. I particularly am surprised by the Nicholas Building ceiling and the soaring angle that you have taken the footbridge over the Yarra. Bronwyn

    September 21, 2013
    • Thank you Bronwyn, next time you are in the city just go into the Nicholas Building, that ceiling is street level, it is incredible, I wish they would fix it up a bit though. It is looking dirty and grungy, needs a clean. I love taking photos of that footbridge, to see what I can get, it is so interesting.

      September 22, 2013
  11. Looks like your country uses such wonderful architecture! I wished ours did too!! Awesome awesome!

    September 21, 2013
    • Surely yours does too, I thought all cities did? I have to say we do have some crap buildings too, but we do have some magnificent ones, I think due to the gold rush in the mid 1800’s. The city wanted buildings that represented that wealth. Lucky us. Thanks Lisa.

      September 22, 2013
  12. jessicablundell #

    Reblogged this on jessicablundell and commented:
    Taking note of this for when Matt comes to Australia!

    September 21, 2013
  13. Incredible work! What camera do you prefer to use?

    September 21, 2013
    • I prefer using my DSLR, I have a Nikon D300s. Thank you.

      September 22, 2013
  14. Beautiful Leanne!

    September 22, 2013
  15. Stunning architecture and some of the buildings look very English!

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you, the architecture is pretty incredible. YOu are right about them looking English. Many people who came to Australia never thought of it as home, Mother England was home, and they were stuck here. So they tried to create their own version of “Mother England” here is Melbourne, so many buildings were copied, or styled on buildings from England. We started getting over that in the last 50 or so years. Started to realise what a gem we had and that there was nothing wrong with Australia and nothing wrong with being Australian.

      September 22, 2013
  16. Absolutely beautiful!

    September 22, 2013
  17. Wow! you took an awesome shot of Flinders Street Station! And the theme of checking out architecture of Melbourne is awesome 🙂

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you, I think Flinders Street Station is one of the most photographed buildings in Melbourne, it is certainly our biggest landmark building. I thought it was a nice idea, I might see if I can do more posts like this.

      September 22, 2013
  18. Man you take some crazy good photos!

    September 22, 2013
    • Ohh, thank you Rachel, that is great to hear. 🙂

      September 22, 2013
  19. Melbourne looks to be full of interesting architecture, and you take great photos to illustrate this.

    September 22, 2013
    • Thanks Chris, There are a lot more, these are just the ones I had already, maybe I should have called it part 1. I must go back in and see what else I can get. I should try different parts of the city.

      September 22, 2013
  20. Gosh, it would be so wonderful to Visit Melbourne (camera in hand, of course). However, I would need you as my guide Leanne.

    September 22, 2013
    • Anytime, would love to show you around. Make a whole day of it. Thank you.

      September 22, 2013
  21. As photos, I love them. As illustrations of the Melbourne scene, they sadden me – we in South Africa have to accept that those controlling the country do not value or respect them. Signs of neglect accumulate shockingly.

    September 22, 2013
    • I am a little confused Colonialist, are you saying that, like your country we are neglecting our buildings, or you are sad that you can see how ours are maintained and yours aren’t being? I am thinking the latter. Our health system is falling apart, and our education, but we know our government will make sure that Melbourne stays pretty because it brings in the money. It is unfortunate but I believe, in the future, we will just be another tourist destination and that is where our money will come from, as does a large percentage now. Thank you.

      September 22, 2013
      • Sorry, badly worded. I can see that your heritage looks pristine, while ours is becoming increasingly tatty, Example – Pietermaritzburg, once the best-preserved example of Victorian architecture in the world, now looks like a slum;

        September 22, 2013
      • We have been through similar things, in the 70’s and 80’s much of our heritage was torn down, thought to be old and who cared about it, until they realised that people were horrified that it was happening. I am happy that ours is being preserved, though it does cost a lot of money to do that. You will have to show me some photos, do you have some on your blog?

        September 22, 2013
      • Sadly, not. I could kick myself now for not having taken lots of pictures of the best buildings.

        September 22, 2013
      • You could start now, show the world what is happening. See if you can get some exposure, I will help if I can.

        September 22, 2013
  22. Wonderful photos of a great looking city. I especially love that first photo….it draws me in

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you, I do love showing off Melbourne. I love that first photo as well. I did it a while back and it has remained a favourite, though it does quite look like that in real life, almost but not exactly.

      September 22, 2013
  23. Well Melbourne is looking a pretty cool city. Thanks for sharing Leanne. MM 🍀

    September 22, 2013
    • It is a pretty cool city, you will have to visit one day, I will show you around. Thanks MM

      September 22, 2013
  24. 338 likes … so I can’t be wrong in saying this an amazing gallery .. you have such fantastic eye for the details and know your angles.
    Webb Bridge, under the railway bridge, Melbourne Museum, Federation Square, National Gallery, Block Arcade glass roof and the bakery … is my favorites. You live in a beautiful city.

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you Viveka, though it is hard to get bad images when you are confronted with some magnificent buildings. Great to hear which ones are your favourite. I think I live in a beautiful one too.

      September 22, 2013
      • I totally agree, some surroundings makes it much easier to get good photos from – and even eaiser if we are passionate about the surroundings as you are about Melbbourne. Leanne, I sound like an old record every time I visit your world … because I like your art and job so much. *smile

        September 22, 2013
      • You don’t sound like a broken record to me Viveka, it is always good to hear, and I do appreciate it, a lot. Thank you so very much my friend.

        September 22, 2013
      • Leanne, great … then I can carry on say that your photos are fantastic. *smile

        September 22, 2013
      • Hahaha, yes of course, really I think I will insist on it LOL 😉

        September 22, 2013
      • Okay … if you insist *laughing

        September 22, 2013
      • 🙂 🙂 🙂

        September 23, 2013
  25. Really nice. Specially of the webb bridge!

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you, shame you couldn’t have joined us, another time perhaps.

      September 22, 2013
  26. Fabulous shots!

    September 22, 2013
  27. Wow, how gorgeous. You’ve managed to make me quite homesick just looking at your photos. Melbourne really is so photogenic.

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you, oh, I hope you aren’t too homesick, but you are right, Melbourne is very photogenic. I love it.

      September 22, 2013
  28. I haven’t been to melbourne yet, but it sure is beautiful!

    and I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but that wire-wrapped bride looks very much like our helix bridge here!

    September 22, 2013
    • I hope you get to come and visit it one day.
      Yes, I have heard that said before as well. I must look up that bridge, thank you.

      September 22, 2013
  29. Thank you for liking “Sea Caves.” These architecture photos are superb. My favorite photo in the group is Webb Bridge, Docklands. I also enjoyed looking at the radial symmetry in many of these photos.

    September 22, 2013
    • You are so welcome. Thank you, I love photographing this kind of thing.

      September 22, 2013
  30. How timely: I’m off to Melbourne next week, with a camera, too. Such warmth in your photographs.
    Cheers, Laurie Keim

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you Laurie, well if you want any tips or help working out where to go let me know and I will see if I can help you.

      September 22, 2013
  31. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Love this post, amazing photos…

    September 22, 2013
  32. Wow! these are the sort of images that make me realise just how much I still have to learn about photography AND art! thanks for stopping by my new blog, very happy to have found yours to be inspired by.

    September 22, 2013
    • We all have so much to learn, you learn one thing and then it is time to start learning something else, haha, welcome to my blog and congratulations on starting a new one.

      September 22, 2013
      • I love how photography is still a unique way of seeing the world through each others eyes, it’s an art that can be aspired to but rarely copied precisely, but technically I’m a long way off yet and only just started grappling with photoshop……something else to learn! Love your blog 🙂

        September 22, 2013
      • I hadn’t never thought of it like that, but that is so true. It is very difficult to copy others. you get similar, but never the same. It does take time to learn. I have found that myself, it has taken me years to learn what I know, and I am still always learning new things, especially with Photoshop. Great that you want to learn how to use it, it is a fantastic tool. Of course I love hearing that people love my blog, thank you.

        September 22, 2013
  33. Amazing photos. Melbourne is on my to “visit” list.

    September 22, 2013
    • Oh yes, if you can get here do, it is a fantastic city and a great place for architecture, and coffee. Thank you.

      September 22, 2013
  34. Love your work! I live in Texas. My sister lives in Sydney. I wish I would stop by Melbourne next time when I go visit my sister.

    September 23, 2013
    • Thank you, yes, it would be good if you could, Melbourne is a beautiful city too, very different from Sydney.

      September 23, 2013
  35. Superb gallery, Leanne

    September 23, 2013
  36. Gorgeous architecture!

    September 23, 2013
  37. Shaniqua B. #

    Gorgeous, clear, well-captured photos

    September 23, 2013
    • Thank you so much, wonderful to hear.

      September 23, 2013
  38. Fantastic photos.! I have always been a fan of architectural photos.!!

    September 23, 2013
    • I love architectural photos, that and portraits, both fantastic subject matter, great too because buildings don’t move. Thank you.

      September 23, 2013
  39. I love Melbourne too! Fantastic shots 🙂

    September 23, 2013
    • It is a fantastic city, thank you.

      September 23, 2013
  40. Brilliant images.

    September 23, 2013
  41. Nice post. Under railway bridge on Flinders street is really cool

    September 24, 2013
    • I love that one, has been one of my favourites for a long time. Thank you.

      September 24, 2013
  42. Wow! Love these photos! Really amazing work here. 🙂

    September 24, 2013
    • Thank you, I do love photographing the buildings of Melbourne.

      September 24, 2013
  43. So share these with the tourist bureau ! I know they’ll want them. 🙂

    September 24, 2013
    • They are so funny here, I have sent them emails and they just ignore me, but hopefully if I keep doing it, then one day they will listen. 🙂

      September 24, 2013
      • You should go in person..emails never work. 🙂

        September 24, 2013
      • I don’t know where to do, that is the problem, though there is something in the works, so hopefully that will help.

        September 24, 2013
  44. Your photos really bring out the best of Melbourne.

    September 24, 2013
    • Thank you, that is fantastic, I do like to hear that.

      September 25, 2013
  45. These are amazing!

    September 25, 2013
  46. These are seriously awesome pictures. Really show the city’s vibrancy, I just love them

    September 25, 2013
    • Thank you, I like that word vibrancy, it seems really apt for these images.

      September 25, 2013
  47. Aren’t you glad to be living now, and not back when Melbourne was first populated? I see such an architectural ‘richness’ in these images that I know (from studying history) no one back then would ever have thought possible!

    September 26, 2013
    • What an interesting idea 1000, I would never have thought of that. I must say Melbourne does have a richness with its architecture, I love it. Thank you.

      September 26, 2013
      • 😉 !!! Some days, I stop and think of some of the weirdest things, I guess, but I cannot imagine myself living in any other time at all. I would have been laughed at for many of my ideas, and probably run out of town!

        October 2, 2013
      • I know what you mean. I can imagine living in other times, but it depresses me when I do, how would I live without my phone, or computer, haha.

        October 2, 2013
      • Same here!!!

        October 5, 2013
  48. I love architecture, Leanne, and you have many stunning shots here. I enjoyed both the slide show and finding the pop-up titles on the collage. Nice touch!

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you John, I do love working on architecture, I also tried to make the post about places to photograph in Melbourne, wasn’t really sure if I should give more information or not. I am glad you enjoyed the post and photos.

      September 28, 2013
  49. Love your pics of Melbourne. I grew up there, and my daughter is currently living there (I now live on the Sunshine Coast in Qld). It brings back very happy memories of a place I still love and wish I could visit more often! By the way, thank you for following my blog, and I am now going to follow you too!

    November 7, 2013
    • Thank you Penny, always glad when an ex-Melbournian loves my photos of the city they love. I love it too. I hope your daughter is loving it too.

      November 7, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings – Melbourne Architecture. | Dina's Illustrations

Comments are closed.

