Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Trentham Falls

This morning it was an early start and a day trip to Trentham with the “L” plates on.  If you go on the freeway it is only an hour and a half from Melbourne.  It is a good drive for my daughter, and I think we are both starting to love Trentham, it is a great little place.

One place I wanted to check out was Trentham Falls.  I have seen photos of it and they are great, but the reality was a little different.

LeanneCole-trentham-20130922-5578

It was running really fast, but you can’t really get near it.  I was hoping that you could go down near the bottom, but there are signs everywhere telling you not to.  Apparently people do, but they risk a lot as it is very steep.  I don’t understand why Parks Victoria don’t build stairs to go further down and have viewing platforms further down.  It is very hard to get images from above.  I was told it would be easy to do, so I don’t know why they don’t do it, it is what everyone would like.  Might have to try going back another time.  This was the best image I got.

On a positive note, I found a fantastic place for Victorian Costumes today.  There is a wonderful woman who has been collecting them since the 80’s and has the most amazing collection.  She isn’t too expensive and I have to say, it is worth it just to go into her store, Mr Ed’s Victorian Emporium, near the Cosmopolitan Hotel.  I am hoping to work with her on some for my photos.  Thanks Kate, lovely meeting you today.

I did get some fine art images done and if you are on my facebook page then you will already have seen one of the images.  I couldn’t wait to work on it.

71 Comments
  1. Still a very expressive photo in spite of the handicaps you had to face.

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you, you are so kind. It was disappointing, at least the whole day wasn’t a bust.

      September 22, 2013
  2. What an excellent waterfall. Looks like the sort of place where Sherlock Holmes and Moriarty would wrestle to their deaths.

    September 22, 2013
    • I don’t really know those characters, so will have to take your word, haha, Thanks Brian. At sunset would be nice, down lower though. Nice neutral density filter and a very long shutter speed. Perfect.

      September 22, 2013
  3. Beautiful falls and yes a shame one couldn’t get further down without risking life or limb!

    September 22, 2013
    • There is probably a way down, but we didn’t look for it, the possibilities could be wonderful.
      Thanks Georgia.

      September 22, 2013
  4. Hi Leanne,

    I visited the falls back in March and was very disappointed. Fortunately I have images taken at the base and near the top when there where still tracks going to both. My understanding is that there was an assessment of the site and concerns raised about erosion and rockfalls that led to access being cut off.

    Drive a little further to Daylesford and sailors falls is more accessible

    http://www.victorianwaterfalls.com/sailors.html

    September 22, 2013
    • There didn’t seem any obvious way down, it was great today, as in the water flow, but not for access. What you said makes sense.
      Thanks for the link, there are so many waterfalls around Victoria than I thought. Will have to go searching for that one.

      September 22, 2013
  5. For a compromised view, I’d take this any day, especially beautiful in your exceptional imaging. Thanks for the look. M

    September 22, 2013
    • Oh, you are being too kind, it really was a point and shoot kind of photo, shame really, but thank you very much.

      September 22, 2013
  6. phrenzel #

    lovely

    September 22, 2013
  7. still looks beautiful and always an adventure when driving with the ‘l’ plates on )

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you ksbeth, and you are right, it is always interesting, you never know when you will need to panic, though she is pretty good.

      September 23, 2013
  8. Yes saw them on FB loved them! Nice chat as well.

    September 22, 2013
    • Thank you, I will do more, but over the next few days, yes, it was, we could do a chat thingy on FB maybe one day. Take Care

      September 23, 2013
      • 🙂 Sure thing! Nice to know we have so many like us here there and everywhere that CARE about this world of ours 🙂

        September 23, 2013
      • You can definitely count me in as one of those. I definitely CARE. 🙂

        September 23, 2013
      • I know, lol I only find good people 🙂

        September 23, 2013
      • Then I must say I think you have excellent taste, 🙂

        September 23, 2013
      • 🙂 I seem to think I always did with just a few slip ups 🙂

        September 23, 2013
      • I feel the same. 🙂

        September 23, 2013
      • 🙂

        September 23, 2013
  9. How fantastic! The shot as well as meeting the costume lady! I love the costumes and they really can make the picture what it is… Hope you are well! 😀

    September 23, 2013
    • Thank you Keli, It was worth the trip for a couple of reasons, of course catching up with my friend and then taking photos of her. The costume lady, Kate, was an absolute bonus, a great one, can’t wait to go back and talk to her. 🙂 We are all well, hope all is going well for you.

      September 23, 2013
  10. beautiful image, even if it was from above! Great score on the costume store!

    September 23, 2013
    • Thanks Darla, the waterfall was disappointing, but we are hoping to go back sometime. Yes, great score on the costume store.

      September 23, 2013
  11. Deine Bilder – immer wieder toll! 🙂

    September 23, 2013
  12. Beautiful. I need to check out your new art images!

    September 23, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, hope you like it.
      We need to talk about when you come here, organise stuff.

      September 23, 2013
  13. Leanne, glad you didn’t try to clime down – because I think it had been very difficult to make back up again. Beautiful shot – very hard to take photos of running water … at least for me – I set my camera on night mood and sometimes it works. *smile

    September 23, 2013
    • I think you are right Viveka. They can be hard, I didn’t get the nice marshmallow effect, but it was too bright and the wrong time of the day for it, there was so much water, they have had a lot of rain up there lately. I haven’t heard of that, but if it works, why not. Thank you.

      September 23, 2013
  14. Pat #

    It’s a beautiful scene.

    September 23, 2013
  15. LB #

    Stunning shot! and I loved the ones of Melbourne, too!

    September 23, 2013
  16. I was there a year or so ago and because there hadn’t been much rain so it was a little disappointing. We walked down a small grassy, rocky path. it was quite dangerous but we wanted to get down to the bottom. I’m sure they would get more visitors if they made more of the facilities and paths.

    September 23, 2013
    • I have to agree totally Leanne, it is so hard to see it from the platform they have set up, get more than 5 people there and you can’t see anything. They should so more to help people get a better view. It is a pretty good waterfall, very good after a lot of rain.

      September 23, 2013
  17. I think you need to ask if she’ll lend or rent them to you. In exchange you can provide images of the garments. The waterfalls are stunning. Glad you stayed safe.

    September 24, 2013
    • Oh I did Emily, she said she would be very interested in renting them to me, so I will have to go and talk to her about it, but I really want to work with her. Yes, I am a bit of a chicken, and proud of it, LOL.

      September 24, 2013
      • Oh that is cool then ! You’ll learn not to be as shy. Respectful yes..shy..no.

        September 24, 2013
      • I am getting so much better at going up to people and asking them that sort of thing, I still have a long way to go, but I am getting better.

        September 24, 2013
  18. It is pleasant to get closer to such attractions, but often difficult to make a safe route without spoiling the ‘natural’ look, so I have sympathy both ways. That is a lovely shot you did get, though.

    September 25, 2013
    • I completely understand what you mean, there are pluses and minuses, it would be good if you could go down futher back and then walk up the creek bed, something. Thanks Colonialist.

      September 25, 2013
      • Yes, I also wondered why they didn’t think of that.

        September 25, 2013
      • I don’t know, Parks Victoria can be very territorial at times, sometimes I think they would like it if we stopped using them altogether.

        September 25, 2013
  19. Sometimes, people just don’t want to cooperate with photographers, do they?

    Nonetheless, it DOES look like a very inspiring place…and the image would be greater…if only you carried around a 1000mm lens (as I feel certain Parks Victoria just might say something like that!)!

    September 26, 2013
    • No, they don’t, they just don’t get it.
      The worse thing is that you can’t really set up a tripod anywhere and take good shots, it is very photography unfriendly. It is a nice place though.

      September 26, 2013
      • Kind of sad, in a way…but, as this seems to be becoming a very “Up is down!” world, is it any wonder?

        October 2, 2013
      • That is so true, it really is. We pay for these places, but we are only allowed to experience them in certain ways. It is very sad.

        October 2, 2013
      • We have a similar situation here in the States, Leanne. Our president has closed the White House to tourists…this has never occurred in my lifetime! So many school children tour Washington DC every year, to see “our” house and learn its history first-hand…and ‘His Arrogance’ claims this will help our ‘non-existent-for-almost five-years-budget (thanks to him and his cronies in Congress!), when it is really a drop in the proverbial bucket, and denies totally one of our many freedoms here in the States–while also denying the children a magnificent learning experience.

        BAH, HUMBUG! on all politicians, everywhere!

        October 2, 2013
      • When a government closes something like that, you have to wonder what they have to hide and why they don’t want people coming through. I don’t understand why it costs money to let people come in, don’t people pay to go in? No, I think he is hiding something, seems logical to think that.
        Oh yeah

        October 2, 2013
      • Oh, he’s been hiding an awful lot from the get-go…and his petulance (he seems to think he’s a dictator!) has really brought down his approval ratings this past week….plus he lies a lot, then doesn’t remember his lies, and tries to cover up. People ARE catching on, though…finally!

        October 5, 2013
      • I have been hearing from a lot of people and they all seem to say the same thing. I suppose you can be thankful that he can’t stay president, it isn’t like that here, here we can have a PM forever if people like him, and keep voting him in.

        October 5, 2013
      • I’m surprised…there are no ‘term limits’ there? How terrible–what if the PM is not up to the job of governing properly? Can he/she be voted out? I guess I’ll have to do a bit of research, huh?

        October 7, 2013
      • There are term limits, in that the PM has a term of 3 years and there has to be an election, but there is no limit to how many terms he can serve, so we could have the same PM for 21 years, if the people like him. That isn’t normal, it is usually around 2 or 3 terms and people get sick of them and they get voted out.

        October 8, 2013
      • I would think 2 or 3 would be enough. Our president is limited to 2 four-year terms (thankfully!), but people are already wondering how we’ll make it the next three years, what with all his ignoring the laws of the Constitution, and using Executive Orders, just to get his way.

        Other nations, especially those in the EU and Mid-East, think he is laughable as a leader.

        October 11, 2013
      • It depends really, if you have someone that is really great and doing a great job, then why do they need to be replaced. Though people tend to get sick of them after awhile. Our longest serving PM was in office for 18, I don’t know that he was great, but that is how it was.
        At least you don’t have the joke of a leader that we do right now, now he is laughable, he only has one woman in his cabinet, he is so sexist. He is going to ruin the country and it is already obvious that he is going to get as much as he can out of being Prime Minister.
        He makes rude, inexcuseable comments all the time, he is going to be so embarrassing when he travels overseas.

        October 11, 2013
      • Oh, but we DO have a jokester too, Leanne…who is ruining the US, step by step, and defying ‘the will of the people’ with his own 12-year-old’s brattiness–it seems this guy never grew up emotionally beyond that age. Plus, he lies, and then denies that he lies–except it’s all caught on video! He is nothing but a small, petty thing living in a very small, petty world of sycophants–and he lives for attention to himself.

        It’s such a disastrous time, right now here in the US…I watch the news from everywhere many times a day, just amazed at what happens from one day to the next!

        October 12, 2013
      • I have to admit it is hard for us here to determine what he is like, I know that there has been a shutdown there, but as to actual US policies and how he runs the country, in respect to its actual citizens is not something we fully get. Though my husband and I had to laugh when we saw what you debt was, well the countries, and how bad it is, and he wanted to go to war with Syria a few weeks ago. I am so glad the rest of the world said, we don’t need to do that and it has been resolved peacefully, well, for the time being.
        You will have to keep me up to date.

        October 13, 2013
      • Ah, now he continues to savage the Republican party, who stupidly ‘caved’…and by late Jan./early Feb., we’ll be going through the exact same turmoil of a possible shutdown!

        Our ‘Natioanl Debt Clock’ has been sort of stalled for several months, so that the almost $17 TRILLION number is really no longer correct. This guy is a real ‘big spender’, and a lot of money goes toward foolish items.

        In addition, the healthcare website for his ‘legacy’ (the Affordable Care Act!?!–people are finding it NOT very affordable, with sky-high deductibles!) cost around $634 MILLION and does not work–it’s been crashing most of the 2 and a half weeks it’s been up–because it was set up by a ‘bunch of morons’. The company was actually fired by the Canadian government for screwing up something for Canada!

        It’s all horror stories/all the time…just in tome for Hallowe’en! Isn’t THAT fun???

        October 19, 2013
      • I cannot believe the debt, they tried to use out national foreign debt during the last election, but we have one of the smallest debts in the world, apparently.
        I don’t understand the health care there, if you want to explain it to me, would be very interested.
        Oh yes, just in time. Lots of fun ahead huh.

        October 19, 2013
  20. I actually love the perspective and composition of the shot. If I were you, I’d be out there an hour before sunrise with a CPL and tripod. Start shooting the second you have enough light to focus. (:

    September 27, 2013
    • Long way to go and that is a possibility at some point, but I don’t know when. I think sunset would be the best time though, maybe. Thank you.

      September 27, 2013
  21. Just beautiful, Leanne!

    September 28, 2013

Comments are closed.

