Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Small Country Pubs

Well, just one really.  I went to Inverleigh earlier in the week to take some photos of the Hotel there.  I was asked to take some inside and out.  It was a great opportunity.  They also said I could show you some here.

LeanneCole-inverleighhotel-20130924-5936_4hpmThis is by far my favourite one.  Can you believe that sky, all natural too, well I didn’t change the sky is what I mean.  I have photographed this building before, at the beginning of last year.  Though the image I took back then was a different angle.

They have spruced it up and done a lot of work to it recently.  More spaces have been created outside to sit, and the indoors is looking really good.

The building itself is quite old, built in the 1850’s out of Victoria’s favourite building material, you got it, bluestone.  I love the stone with the painted stone around the windows.   It is sort of small inside, pretty much what you would expect in a building of this age, but certainly big enough to run the pub in.

We were there on Tuesday night, there was a limited menu, but still the food was good, the service fantastic and we enjoyed sitting by the fire.

I have a few more images of the outside and some from the inside.  I am off to the beach this afternoon, it is freezing cold and gale force winds are present, so who know what sort of photos I will get.

 

85 Comments
  1. Beautiful old hotel 🙂 and that sky is a ripper..i love shots that show the sky in all her different guises and people often think they have been touched up but the natural ones most often need no help to show their beauty 🙂

    September 28, 2013
    • It is beautiful, I love it. I can assure you, that while I did emphasis it more, it is pretty much how it was. I loved it and was so happy with it. I got one the following morning with no clouds, and it just doesn’t have the same effect.Thanks FozzieM

      September 28, 2013
      • We get great sunsets and sunrises here and dewy mornings..i haven’t had to do anything to them yet..mind you I still don’t know how to anyway hahaha 🙂 spend too much time chasing the pics…most of the day on my stomach today watching a mob of roos…was great but my butt was frozen 🙂 You are welcome 🙂

        September 28, 2013
      • I might have to come and visit one day and see one of those, don’t know about spending all day on the ground, but I am willing to give it a go. 🙂

        September 28, 2013
      • Hahaaha it was bit damp under ass 🙂

        September 28, 2013
      • LOL 🙂

        September 29, 2013
      • HAHAHAH 🙂

        September 29, 2013
  2. Rosalyn McDonald #

    What a wonderful building … so glad it’s being saved. Hope your photos let more people know about this little treasure.

    September 28, 2013
    • It has been all done up beautifully Rosalyn, looks great inside and out.

      September 28, 2013
  3. What a lovely place!

    September 28, 2013
    • It is pretty amazing, thanks.

      September 28, 2013
  4. Those are fantastic, did you use any bracketing ? I mean they sounds like HDR but perfectly realistic!

    September 28, 2013
    • I did use bracketing, I bracketed for all the shots, but I did always use all of them, if that makes sense, some are HDR’s some aren’t. I try very hard to make them as realistic as possible, so thank you for the compliment.

      September 28, 2013
  5. HI! I’ve been in seclusion, I guess. I surely haven’t been visiting my friends as I should have. I love the light in all of these. Just perfect. I can’t believe it is so cold there. It was ninety degrees here today!

    September 28, 2013
    • I have been similar, very busy with work and images and finding time to look at blogs has been very hard, I am losing the battle I fear. Nice to hear from you George, though I understand and if you can only pop in occassionally so be it. It has been very cold here to day. Winter is definitely back. Though I know it will go again soon.

      September 28, 2013
  6. I commend your work ethic! You are out there every day taking on terrific assignments, getting the images, and maybe, having fun. I don’t comment too often, but I totally admire your work.

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you, though I don’t go out every day, but I go out as often as I can. I love doing these kinds of shots, would love to do more. Nice to hear from you, I understand about the commenting, it isn’t always easy.

      September 28, 2013
  7. That stormy sky certainly sets off the bluestone! What an interesting old place, it looks really cosy- great pictures, Leanne.

    September 28, 2013
    • I don’t think it would have been as good without the sky, it does really make it. It is an amazing old place, I love it, and it is cosy, very. Thank you sukie.

      September 28, 2013
  8. Wonderful photos inside and out.
    Perfect beach weather! Can’t wait to see those photos.

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you Angeline.
      It was terrible weather at the beach, my poor model got absolutely drenched. I put up some photos on my facebook page.

      September 28, 2013
  9. Wish I could photograph clouds like that!

    September 28, 2013
    • It is luck really Nia, they were there and I took the photo, I have done some work to them, but not much. There are some pretty cool tricks, will have to show you one day.

      September 28, 2013
  10. I can see why you love photographing people and buildings, you have a special connection with both, this comes through in the photos.

    Dare I say it you capture the soul.

    Great work.

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you Trevor, I have never though of it like that. I like that idea though, brilliant. The soul of the building.
      I fixed that other thing too.

      September 28, 2013
  11. Hello Leanne,
    I wish we could pop down to this place tonight, it looks lovely, and what atmospheric light and clouds – and your pics inside as well. I bet the owners are delighted with what you’ve produced, BW,
    Julian

    September 28, 2013
    • And if you could pop down, I could join you. Thank you, I haven’t heard from the owners yet, so fingers crossed they like them as well.

      September 28, 2013
  12. Great photos and my kind of pub 🙂

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you David, it’s a great pub.

      September 28, 2013
  13. Popping lighting! Great shots.

    September 28, 2013
  14. Really good phtos of course, it looks nice and homely.

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you, it is both of those.

      September 28, 2013
  15. Love your photos, they make me want to there and stay for a meal – beer, good work.

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you, I did both, enjoyed the meal and the pot of beer, very nice.

      September 28, 2013
  16. So beautifully done, as usual ! I think I could spot that style of yours anywhere.

    BTW, is all this wandering through the pubs of the Australian countryside being done on an unsupervised basis? What are things coming to down there, letting you artists roam about on your own? I suggest that Klara patrol the perimeter on her racing bike, wearing her sternest look.

    September 28, 2013
    • Someone else was saying something similar, thank you.
      I don’t know about that, some pubs are pretty horrible, but the buildings they are in are usually among the best in the towns.
      Thanks Claire.

      September 28, 2013
      • Oh. I was really just completely kidding around. But your’e the third person today who missed my hysterical humor, so I’m forced to agree with a friend whose explanation was,”You weren’t funny.” Ha!
        Now THAT was pretty funny!

        September 29, 2013
      • I thought it was a joke, so apparently I didn’t answer it correctly, haha, I love what your friend said, that WAS funny. Pub crawl, that is what they call it here, not sure, too far in between pubs and towns, and you know the cops are cracking down on people drink driving, and then there is the problem with staight photos, I can’t get them straight when I am sober.

        September 29, 2013
  17. Nice shots!!

    http://www.letgothelinear.wordpress.com

    September 28, 2013
  18. leecleland #

    A great gem of a country pub. and great images too. Thanks for showing us a part of Victoria.

    September 28, 2013
    • Thank you Lee, it is a pretty cool pub and a nice one as well.

      September 28, 2013
  19. LB #

    What a great place and you’ve captured it beautifully!! I just love pubs and inns!

    September 28, 2013
    • Me too, I was just saying that sometimes they are one of the best buildings in town, I love the architecture of them. Thank you LB

      September 28, 2013
  20. Sometimes the sky (and nature) just cooperates and you have a great shot – even though you have to post it with a non-processing disclaimer 🙂

    September 28, 2013
    • I know, it doesn’t happen to me often enough, I usually get the worse luck when it comes to that, but when I get it, I get it. I loved how the sky cooperated. Oh, it wasn’t really a non-processing disclaimer, I think I confused people, the image is most definitely processed, but the sky was already there, I didn’t have to add in a new one. The image is a HDR image, and I darkened the sky some and took out some power lines. Thanks Robert.

      September 29, 2013
  21. Ben #

    Great shots as always Leanne! And that sky really is incredible. Looks like a beautiful building, the brickwork is brilliant!

    September 29, 2013
    • Thank you Ben, how brilliant is that sky, I was so happy with it. I love buildings like that, it is nice to see them still around.

      September 29, 2013
  22. What a magical place! That sky is out of this world and inside the hotel so inviting.

    September 29, 2013
    • Thank you Georgia, it is a pretty amazing place, I loved it, shame it is so far away, but I might go back sometime, you never know.

      September 29, 2013
      • Well…yes, it is far away 😉

        September 29, 2013
      • It is very far away for you, but you never know, one day you might find yourself sitting out there having a drink with me, wouldn’t that be something. 🙂

        September 29, 2013
      • That would be the culmination of a wonderful fantasy! That beer looked good. 😀

        September 29, 2013
      • I had one with dinner and it was good, went down very well. 🙂

        September 29, 2013
      • 😀 prosit!

        September 29, 2013
      • 🙂

        September 29, 2013
  23. Beautiful photos, Leanne , and the picture of the hotel with the sky is amazing!
    greotjes, Francian

    September 29, 2013
    • Thank you Francina, it is my favourite.

      September 29, 2013
  24. Can’t believe the sky behind the hotel. Awesome! http://ohtheplaceswesee.com

    September 29, 2013
    • I couldn’t believe my luck, so happy with it, thank you Rusha.

      September 29, 2013
  25. Great photos–and it looks like a great place to hang out!

    September 29, 2013
    • We hung around for about 2 or 3 hours and loved it, we sat outside and just watched the world go past. It was very relaxing.

      September 29, 2013
  26. Amazing lighting! It looks like a place I would love to visit 🙂

    September 29, 2013
    • Thank you, it is a great place to visit, and so peaceful, well sort of, very nice place to sit and spend time.

      September 29, 2013
  27. I just have to stick this last thing in (sorry Leanne, I know I can be a blabbermouth) – What you said about not being able to get a straight photo when you are sober – the Irish immigrants I played pool with back in my early 20s got better and better as the night wore on. By closing, old guys came reeling and stumbling up to the table, peered at the balls with bleary eyes, braced themselves (if they leaned over too far, they fell down and got hauled back to their feet by six or seven helpful observers) and lined up their shot.
    Then, in a moment of perfect clarity and grace, they let loose the most incredible shots, often banking twice, getting two balls in, and leaving the cue ball perfectly positioned for the next shot.
    It was something to see.

    Okay, I’ve got to run; I can’t stand around and chat all night ( :

    September 29, 2013
    • You can tell whatever you like Claire, and I am glad you told me this, I can imagine the whole thing. Very funny, thank you. Great story to go with this post.

      September 29, 2013
  28. spooky gingerbread hotel!

    September 29, 2013
    • Apparently it is haunted.

      September 29, 2013
  29. Well it’s charming! So inviting, would love to visit! ~ Sheila

    September 29, 2013
    • It was great sitting outside looking at the park next door and just taking in the scene and relaxing. Thanks Sheila.

      September 29, 2013
  30. Pat #

    Such a warm, inviting atmosphere.

    September 30, 2013
    • It is Pat, I love old pub/hotels like that, they are so cute, if that is the right word.

      September 30, 2013
  31. Beautiful shots, Leanne – I bet they’re pleased with them. The sky in that first shot really does look unreal.

    September 30, 2013
    • I have heard and they are very pleased, so that is great to hear. I really enjoyed doing these images. I love the sky in that image, it was perfect. Thanks Richard.

      September 30, 2013
  32. Beautiful hotel to stay in and beautiful shots!

    September 30, 2013
    • It is a very nice little pub, thanks Inge.

      September 30, 2013
  33. carminaubrun #

    I had a big laugh with your photos at the see. Mdr 🙂

    September 30, 2013
    • That is great to hear, we laughed a lot too.

      September 30, 2013
  34. Oh my gosh that is a pretty awesome pub!! Haha! William and I love going on adventures to check out the local breweries 🙂

    September 30, 2013
    • It is awesome Amanda, so cool. I am sure you guys would love it. Thank you 🙂

      September 30, 2013
  35. I love the ambience in these pictures! Thanks for the tour.

    October 1, 2013
    • The ambiance is wonderful, especially in winter with the fire going. Looks very cosy, actually it is very cosy. Thank you.

      October 1, 2013
  36. LOL.. I am wondering if there is anything you don’t do well? :-). Love this series of images..

    October 1, 2013
    • I don’t do landscapes very well, and I am hopeless doing more traditional portrait images. Does that help, haha. Thank you.

      October 2, 2013

Comments are closed.

