Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Point Lonsdale Dumping

You know how much I like going out and taking photos.  Yesterday I took a trip to Point Lonsdale, one daughter driving with the “L”‘s on and the other in the back seat with her friend who was being my model for the day.  I had tried to take photos of Kelly before, and it rained, so no photos.  As soon as we got to Point Lonsdale, you guessed it, it was raining.  She was happy to do it anyway, so we went ahead.

I think she lived to regret those words.  The tide was coming in and she got wet.  She was a trooper and we went on.  Now, I haven’t processed any of the photos yet, but I have to share with you a series of images I took yesterday.  I will put them in a gallery, but they were so good, I have to share them unprocessed.

A fun post today, will process the photos and show them to you later in the week.  Take care everyone.

98 Comments
  1. Amazing pictures. Delicious. We’re going to the shore for a week in the middle of October … I can already smell the salt thanks to you 🙂

    September 29, 2013
    • Thank you, have a great time on the shore, we certainly got more of it yesterday than planned. 🙂

      September 29, 2013
  2. Leanne, Wow! As always, great job!!!

    September 29, 2013
  3. The Inadvertent Mermaid!

    September 29, 2013
    • Yes, that was her story to sit there and think about whether to return to her life as a mermaid or not, seems the ocean wanted her back.

      September 29, 2013
  4. Rosalyn McDonald #

    Poor thing … and the water must have been freezing.
    But great memories of the event.

    September 29, 2013
    • It was freezing, I am sure she had to be cold right from the start, and I kept asking her if she was cold and she kept saying she was fine. We didn’t stay out too long though, I was very mindful of how cold she would be getting. I know she was very pleased to get dressed after it.
      They are great memories, and we did have fun. Thanks Rosalyn.

      September 29, 2013
  5. HA! That series is priceless!! 🙂

    September 29, 2013
    • Hahaha, I know, I love it, I was so happy the photos came out. 🙂

      September 29, 2013
      • I was hoping for one more – the AFTER. hehe 😉

        September 29, 2013
      • LOL I don’t think I got that one, but she was very wet. haha. I should add very cold too, it was really cold there.

        September 29, 2013
  6. Brave girl, it was cold with storm and wild weather alerts coming in left, right and centre…she would’ve had goosebumps on her goosebumps…today at least the sun is shining but the wind is still wild. Great shot though. 🙂

    September 29, 2013
    • Yep,that is exactly how it was, I asked her several times if she really wanted to do it, and she kept saying yes it would be fine. I hope the other shots when processed turn out to be wonderful too. Thank you.

      September 29, 2013
  7. The ocean is a fickle thing. At least you could give her moral support.

    September 29, 2013
    • I think I gave that to her as I ran out of the way of the water, haha.

      September 29, 2013
      • Now I know why I never get wet without a wetsuit…

        September 29, 2013
      • Yean, I should have worn my gumbies. oh well.

        September 29, 2013
  8. Smashing! She’s a good sport indeed!

    September 29, 2013
    • She really was, she was great, I will definitely be photographing her again.

      September 29, 2013
  9. welcome work and a great laugh out loud

    September 29, 2013
    • That is great, the response I was hoping for, thanks.

      September 29, 2013
  10. Reblogged this on Life after work and commented:
    A great sequence of pics. How many subjects would tolerate such a drenching? I hope she had some dry clothes into which she could change?

    September 29, 2013
    • I think the same, she did have dry clothes with her.

      September 29, 2013
  11. Love the images of the water! You are amazing! ~ Sheila

    September 29, 2013
  12. Neptune wanted his mermaid back!

    September 29, 2013
    • Yes, that was the look we were going for.

      September 29, 2013
  13. Sonel #

    Just love the shots Leanne and the captions made me smile. 😀 Thanks for sharing hon. *big hugs*

    September 29, 2013
    • No problems at all I really wanted to show them, I though they were so funny, I think she likes them as well.

      September 29, 2013
  14. saundrafox #

    Ha ha! I’m sorry, I know we should not laugh at others misfortune, but that was simply priceless. But seriously: Kelly (if that is her real name) does have some amazing work ethic to work through that cold!

    September 29, 2013
    • It was funny, and she knew it, and I am pretty sure she laughs when she looks at these. I am sure she is glad it is over, but it was a funny time. Kelly (her real name) was fantastic, and a great model.

      September 29, 2013
  15. all Photos are captivating…

    September 29, 2013
  16. Lol poor dear! She really is a model…not many would have bben so game I’m thinking!

    September 29, 2013
    • I have to agree, not many would have done it, she was great, didn’t complain just did what I asked.

      September 29, 2013
  17. Paul #

    Great shots, Leanne ( and Kelly).
    If they were reversed you could call the series The Birth of Venus. 🙂

    September 29, 2013
    • Thanks Paul.
      That could be really funny, I might have to try it, so what it looks like. 🙂

      September 29, 2013
  18. poppytump #

    Where was King Canute when the lovely mermaid needed him 😉
    Three cheers to Kelly for keeping her composure .. still sat there in that last shot ! I would say she passed her modelling audition with flying waves .
    Great *unexpected series of shots Leanne .

    September 29, 2013
    • I don’t know where he was 😉
      Kelly did great, she was the best, I felt really bad, but she just kept smiling and saying it was all good. I think she passed too, I can’t wait to work on the images we got, the other ones.
      Thanks Poppytump.

      September 29, 2013
  19. Don #

    Absolutely wonderful Leanne. Amazing shots. I hope Kelly is still around and not drifting off somewhere.

    September 29, 2013
    • We brought her home safe and sound, even bought her some dinner. Thanks Don.

      September 29, 2013
  20. its GONE.. 🙂 waiting for other photos.

    September 29, 2013
    • Haha, more photos from the shoot, the ones I meant to get will be later in the week. Hope they are the ones you mean.

      September 29, 2013
  21. LOL… great catch!

    September 29, 2013
  22. Haha! You should turn them into a flip-book.

    September 29, 2013
    • That could be funny, thanks Brian.

      September 29, 2013
  23. Just the smile I needed this morning…Fabulous set of photos! 😀

    September 29, 2013
    • That is great to hear, I am glad it made you smile. Thanks Marie, hope everything is good where you are.

      September 29, 2013
  24. Whollly macinolly great shots!! Cracked me up too. Kudos to your model for being a trooper. Awesome pics!!!!!!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    September 29, 2013
    • Thank you Lisa, she was an absolute trooper, it was pretty hard for her, I think.

      September 29, 2013
  25. A post showing the real life challenges of photography. Hilarious! 🙂

    September 29, 2013
    • Oh yes, it was a real life challenge, the photographer was moving quickly too, hoping not to get caught in it. Hilarious, great word for it. Thanks.

      September 29, 2013
  26. Maggie Beck #

    You are right, Leanne. These are delightful! Looking forward to the finished products!

    September 29, 2013
    • Thanks Maggie, will take me a few days, but hopefully near the end of the week.

      September 29, 2013
  27. Great photography as always, look forward to seeing more!!

    September 29, 2013
    • Thank you Jessica, hopefully soon.

      September 29, 2013
  28. Oh the poor thing! Great shot though 😉

    September 29, 2013
    • It was pretty funny, she was really great about it though. 🙂

      September 30, 2013
  29. This is so funny! Awesome candid moment. LOL

    September 30, 2013
    • Thank you, it was funny, she laughed too, we both thought she would be safe there, guess you never know. LOL

      September 30, 2013
  30. Great photo’s ! Maybe you can turn them into a animated film (gif- file) next time 🙂

    September 30, 2013
    • I would have to see if I can remember how, maybe I will wait until summer to do anymore near/in the water. 🙂 Thanks

      September 30, 2013
  31. Pat #

    Great series. The hard part will be getting her to sit for you a second time. 🙂

    September 30, 2013
    • No Pat, she was very happy too, and will sit for me again, she said anytime, she was really good, I was probably more concerned about her than she was. She was very cold at the end and finally admitted to it, but she was so good and great to work with. thanks.

      September 30, 2013
  32. love this!

    September 30, 2013
  33. Poor Kelly! Love the wave shot though!

    September 30, 2013
    • It was funny, she laughed too, she was great about it. The wave came out so well, I loved it. Why don’t I get them like that when I am trying.

      September 30, 2013
  34. Ed #

    Sorry, I had to laugh at that one. I had the same thing with my niece when she fell off a dock into the water, if she was’nt 17 I would have not laughed so hard my sides hurt. Great shots..:-)

    September 30, 2013
    • You don’t have to apologise for that, we all laughed. Sometimes you just can’t help laughing, laughing is good. She laughed too, so that was good.

      September 30, 2013
  35. Wonderful images!

    September 30, 2013
  36. LB #

    This post IS so much fun!!!

    September 30, 2013
    • That is what I was hoping for, we had fun.Thank you.

      September 30, 2013
  37. Fabulous! So expected and so fantastic – great timing and shots.

    October 1, 2013
    • Haha, that was a great series, so glad I did actually get it, of course then I realised it was coming straight for me, so I ran. thanks Mary.

      October 1, 2013
  38. Fun, for sure!

    October 1, 2013
    • It was certainly funny. Thanks.

      October 1, 2013
  39. Reblogged this on oceanicexplorer and commented:
    Great sequence here from the shoreline that shows the unpredictability of the ocean!

    October 1, 2013
    • It really does show that, also funny.

      October 1, 2013
  40. I’m too late to say anything new but these made me chuckle – cruel I know 😀
    Great shots and a great sport!!

    October 2, 2013
    • I think if it had been anyone else it might have been cruel, but she was so good and seemed to really get into it, was great about the dumping, she laughed too. Thanks Noeline.

      October 2, 2013
  41. LOL I hate getting wet! I’m glad she was a trooper 😛 Can’t wait to see the photos you came up with later 🙂

    October 2, 2013
    • Yes, I am still trying to work on them, had such a busy week. She was a great sport, and I love that you see that, I say that to people now. 🙂 Thanks Amanda

      October 2, 2013
  42. amazing photo!

    October 2, 2013
  43. Fantastic- having fun is the best 🙂 And a great sequence of images.

    October 2, 2013
    • Yes, it is the best, we certainly had fun, though I think she was a little cold after this. Thanks EllaDee.

      October 2, 2013
  44. wonderful pictures!, I’m doing some photography projects of my own at the moment, but mine are abstract photography. Would love you’re opinion on them!

    October 8, 2013
    • Thank you so much, abstract photography is an unusual idea, I have seen some great images, though I don’t think I would be a good person to look at them as I don’t it and wouldn’t know what to say or if I could give any advice.

      October 8, 2013
  45. Great splash sequence. Thanx for sharing these with us. Have a wonderful day.

    October 11, 2013
    • You are welcome, and thank you too. Have a great weekend.

      October 11, 2013
  46. Lovely!

    October 22, 2013
  47. What is “driving with the L’s on”?

    October 26, 2013
    • In Australia when a new driver is learning to drive they have to have these plates on the car, maybe 5, 6 inches square that are yellow with a big black L on them, it lets other drivers know that they are learning and hopefully, give them space and be forgiving if they make a mistake.

      October 26, 2013

Comments are closed.

