Skip to content

A Wednesday Experiment

I have been seeing some images and wondered how they were done, see if I could use that technique.  I still don’t know how they were done, but I have tried something new and I quite like the technique.

For this I have used photos that you have seen in the last couple of weeks, that way you can go back and see what the original looked like.  Now I am not saying that I think this is better, but it is an interesting thing to do.  Here let me show you the four images.

Do they look any different?

Really the only thing you should notice is that they are lighter.  I didn’t use curves or levels to achieve this, I find it can change too much.  For these I added a new layer, filled the layer with white, then I blended it with soft light mode, then changed the opacity to where I wanted.  I like the effect, how about you?  Don’t think I would use it a lot, as I like my images dark, but it is another technique to add to the tool box.

I will include the original images for comparison here.

86 Comments
  1. I quite like it, I think it adds to the mystical feeling in these pictures. Good idea.

    October 9, 2013
    • I was happy with it, quite an interesting idea. Thank you.

      October 9, 2013
  2. Thanks, Leanne! I just tried this technique on a photo I was working on (that I thought wasn’t going to work at all). It was just what I needed to do to save the shot!

    October 9, 2013
    • That is brilliant, glad I helped.

      October 9, 2013
      • Try it with a black layer over a photo that’s too light – you might like that, too.

        October 9, 2013
      • I had wondered about using black, so thanks for the heads up.

        October 9, 2013
  3. Hard to say which effect looks better. They both look great in their own way. The first effect almost looks like a painting.

    October 9, 2013
    • I think I would have to take it image by image really, see when it works and when it doesn’t, so I think I am with you RoSy. Thank you

      October 9, 2013
  4. Excellent pictures, as it is typical of your production. Congratulations !

    Just out of curiosity: wasn’t this style of posing typical of the 1st years of photography ?

    October 9, 2013
    • Thank you, and yes, it was popular back then, it was also very popular with paintings.

      October 9, 2013
      • Thanks for your explanation. When we visit your photo blog, there’s always learning besides the visual delight.

        October 9, 2013
      • You are welcome, and that is also brilliant, I wonder if people learn anything, so that is great to hear, thank you.

        October 10, 2013
    • Rest assured your visitors do learn: images can teach, and besides that you always provide short explanations, that even the TL;DR people can read with delight. 😎

      October 10, 2013
      • That is wonderful to hear, it is hard for me to know, I just ramble sometimes and I wonder if any can even understand what I am saying, so thank you for letting me know that I do make a difference, I do appreciate it.

        October 10, 2013
  5. A bit of time travel Leanne.

    October 9, 2013
  6. The woman standing on the shore seems to show the most difference between the two techniques. I’d love to see the weathered edge of the original combined with this lighter shade; it might make it appear to be a truly aged and worn-looking photo. Nice work either way! 🙂

    October 9, 2013
    • Oh yes, I know what you mean, I think I used the wrong version, woops. So you want me to do it again? LOL, thank you.

      October 9, 2013
  7. I usually prefer dark images too but I really like the boost of light here.

    October 9, 2013
    • It is quite different, might have to try using it with some other stuff. Thank you.

      October 9, 2013
  8. Reblogged this on artattack.

    October 9, 2013
  9. Looks worth exploring – the images reminded me of Isadora Duncan. btw, noticed your interest in pre-raphaelites; I used to live a few minutes walk from where Ophelia was staged; the stream’s more clogged, but the field boundaries are as they were 400 years ago.

    October 9, 2013
    • I think so too nexi, I have been looking at Isadora Duncan, though still have lots more to look at, thanks for the name. That must so amazing being that close and being able to see it. I love history.

      October 9, 2013
  10. I like these better, lighter but still valuing the certain darkness ❤

    October 9, 2013
    • I’m not certain, will have to see. I do like that the shadows aren’t just black, that is good. Thank you.

      October 9, 2013
  11. I need to buy photoshop for editing my photos!! I love your work! I want to learn how to do stuff with mine like that! Awesome!

    October 9, 2013
    • It is a long process, but if you want to learn, you will. I am basically self taught, I bought books, looked at tutorials, there is lots of information out there, go for it Lisa.

      October 9, 2013
  12. Excellent!

    October 9, 2013
  13. Leanne, you know me … and I prefer the original ones. Only one I think has improved is the “white” the last photo. Fantastic photos always.

    October 9, 2013
    • Thanks Viveka, I think I feel much the same way. I do like the originals.

      October 10, 2013
  14. With the exepction of Emily (last pic) they much more my taste, lighter. Emily’s picure is better in the dark version, the detail in the grass distracts imho. It can be fruitfull to re-edit old photo’s. You take a new look to these pictures and (hopefully) have grown in taste and computer skills.

    October 9, 2013
    • It is interesting doing different things, some things work some things don’t. Though these images aren’t old and I used the images that I had processed, I do often like to find images from months or a year or say back and try processing them again, see if I would do anything different this time. Thanks again.

      October 10, 2013
  15. I quite like the lighter versions, but the darker ones have a certain kind of intensity, honestly I like both ways you’ve done these, they are equally beautiful!

    October 9, 2013
    • I think I agree Jessica, I can’t decide if I like it or not. Thank you.

      October 10, 2013
  16. Hadassa #

    Reblogged this on hadassaab.

    October 9, 2013
  17. Your images are always stunning.

    October 9, 2013
    • I don’t know about always, but I do try, thank you nuvofelt.

      October 10, 2013
  18. The Borg #

    I have absolutely no idea about photography, not the first thing, but the new technique to me makes your photos look like oil paintings, in a way ethereal – or moreso. I like both styles, I think I’d choose two from the first technique and two from the second for my own wall.
    aaah that’s my blab, I just like your work I don’t know how to work a camera or any software!

    October 9, 2013
    • I think someone else said something similar so there must be something in that, I might have to look some more. That is great to hear, I don’t know which one I prefer, I think I would tend to lean more towards the originals the darker ones, but I can see how the light ones could work as well.
      Hang around here and you will want to learn how to use a camera, maybe. 🙂 Thank you.

      October 10, 2013
      • The Borg #

        I hope so because as you know from reading my post on photography for calm, I would like to learn more and get better and take better shots, therefore more opportunities for me to take more photos and be calmer and happier. Ease the old anxiety!
        I do love your blog 🙂
        I will try hard to learn the lingo!

        October 10, 2013
      • I find I go somewhere else when I am taking photos, time stops, it doesn’t matter what the weather is, I don’t feel it, I am in the moment of the next shot, always waiting for that next shot.
        I hope you love it as much as I do, good luck with it.

        October 10, 2013
  19. ~meredith #

    Your organic mermaid is truly poetic, now. Sandy fins and girlish feet… that’s a transformation in progress. Other are all lovely, Leanne.

    October 9, 2013
    • ~meredith #

      (They’re all lovely. Raphaelite delight.)

      October 9, 2013
    • It was completely by accident that, and it wasn’t until I put it up the first time and someone mentioned it, that I realised what I had done, or how the rocks like like fins, I was quite surprised and very happy. Thank you so much Meredith.

      October 10, 2013
  20. Yes you can see the difference 🙂

    October 10, 2013
    • That is so good to hear, Thank you.

      October 10, 2013
      • I am so not one to mess with mine but I do love your technique.

        October 10, 2013
      • I can’t help myself, I don’t know what I enjoy the most, taking the photos or playing with them, perhaps both equally. I love seeing what I can come up with.

        October 10, 2013
      • Well keep up the great work!

        October 11, 2013
      • I’ll do my best, thanks.

        October 11, 2013
      • 🙂

        October 11, 2013
  21. You are just getting better and better every day my friend. You seriously ought to check into trying to do book covers or selling prints on Ebay. I just love the changes you made in these… it’s amazing that you can do that. Not you personally, but that anyone can… 😀

    October 10, 2013
    • Thank you so much Keli, I like the idea of book covers, but ebay is too hard, people don’t want to pay what things are worth. I love the changes and I love that it is possible to do them. So many things to learn and do. Thanks again.

      October 10, 2013
      • Oh, and you might enjoy experimenting with some of the Hair Chalk off of Etsy. You can turn their hair all kinds of colors… bright red, pink, blue, streaks… I don’t know, but it seemed like something I’d like to experiment with if I had more time and talent. 😀

        October 11, 2013
      • I must look into that, my daughters would like that, on Etsy you said? I like experimenting. Thanks Keli.

        October 11, 2013
      • Yes, on Etsy… called “Hair Chalk” if I find the link again I’ll send it to you.

        October 11, 2013
      • That would be great Keli, I will see if I can find it too.

        October 11, 2013
      • I put the link on your FB

        October 13, 2013
      • Thanks Keli, I saw it and we have ordered some. Sorry I didn’t say something on FB, this weekend has been crazy.

        October 13, 2013
  22. I saw this post last might from my Kindle but wanted to see the images on my big screen today…I like them a lot. While I love your usually darker interpretations, this way of processing them adds nuances to the pictures, so I guess both styles have their place in your repertoire 🙂

    October 10, 2013
    • I think I have to agree, and it will have to depend on what I want or am trying to express as to which way I go. I do find the images often take over and I don’t have much control. If that makes any sense. Thank you.

      October 10, 2013
  23. Simple and effective technique. Thanks for sharing it with us. I noticed that one can give any colour cast to the image, if desired, by choosing the fill layer of that colour.

    Some of the above images almost look like paintings. I am hoping you’d share the technique with us someday 🙂

    October 10, 2013
    • You are welcome. Yes, you can, it is quite amazing, but you nearly always have to change opacity or it becomes too overpowering.
      Thank you so much, I am not sure how to share it, though I am thinking of sharing it with people who do my classes, though it can be quite different for each image. 🙂

      October 10, 2013
  24. I love that you are experimenting with your work. I’m fascinating by the new images, as they have a very fairy-tale bookish feel. My favorite is the woman with sticks.

    Yet I am also a fan of high contrast…I really love the original picture of the woman by the sea.

    October 10, 2013
    • I have heard from a couple of people recently that you will never grow as an artist if you don’t experiment, I like that. I love the woman with the sticks, I was so happy with how they came out.
      Thank you so much.

      October 10, 2013
  25. Nice piece of technique development on your part. Could envision it as part of the antiquing approach.

    October 10, 2013
    • Yes, I was thinking the same David, I will have to try it. My antiquing tends to get a bit dark. Thank you.

      October 10, 2013
  26. Brilliant! – Thanks for the tip.

    October 10, 2013
    • You’re welcome Robert, I hope it works for you.

      October 10, 2013
  27. Both sets are beautiful. The whitened ones look like paintings

    October 10, 2013
    • Thank you, some others have said similar too, I must take another look.

      October 10, 2013
  28. Michael #

    Hi Leanne, lovely images as always – interesting technique – in fact it is similar (but not the same) as pre-flashing (not-fogging) photographic paper in the darkroom before exposing a negative as it initiates a faster response in the paper and increases detail in the highlight areas – so although there are fundamental differences in the process your goal in using the white layer chimes a little with this analogue technique.

    October 11, 2013
    • I had never heard of that darkroom technique before, sounds like something I would have liked, not that I was big fan of the darkroom. Thank you for telling me about it, it is an interesting thing to do.

      October 11, 2013
  29. Shay #

    Beautiful! 🙂

    October 11, 2013
  30. i love the raphaelites style!

    October 11, 2013
    • I do too Olive, they are wonderful.

      October 11, 2013
  31. That’s a good technique. I don’t know if I’d be able to apply it with anything I’m doing but I definitely want to keep this one in mind.

    October 13, 2013
    • I have been thinking the same, not sure how often I would use, but I can certainly see how it would come in handy for some shots. Thanks.

      October 13, 2013
  32. Beautiful.

    October 13, 2013
  33. Reblogged this on Rise of The West and commented:
    Great form presentation. We hope everyone checks this portfolio out.

    October 17, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Summit County INDIAN SUMMER | John's Space …..

Comments are closed.

