Skip to content

Trying to do Pre-Raphaelite Babies

The photos for the wedding are coming along.  I have had to rethink how I do them in some ways, but it is fun exploring new options.  So as I have so many photos to do, I thought I would show you a couple of photos that I took of Alison, remember Alison.

LeanneCole-alison-20130910-0006I know some of you asked me to see if I could get some images of her with the baby, so when baby Sara was about 10 days old I went over to visit her and her mum.

LC1_8045-2We tried to take some photos of Sara, unfortunately Sara didn’t understand the idea that she was meant to go to sleep.  We tried everything, but she would have none of it.  I wonder if this is a sign, a girl who doesn’t like to miss out on anything.  We had to go with what we had.

LC1_8070I am trying some new things with the processing, I have to say the wedding photos have inspired me to try some images using some different sorts of textures.  So I went searching for free lace textures and then used a couple on this image.  I like it, I like the softness of it.

I also like the way the two of them are looking at each other.  You can’t really see Alison’s eyes, but I think you can tell there is a connection there between them.  I like the slight smile on Alison’s lips, and you can tell Sara is looking straight at her mum.

I am trying to make some images softer and seeing what they would be like.  I don’t know, what you think?

I also thought I might include some of the pre-wedding photos I showed you a few weeks ago.  I do hope to show you some of the wedding photos, but it is going to be a while, so please enjoy this small gallery with the above images and the others.

I do have to mention that I finally got the Nik Collection by Google working with Photoshop CC and it is fantastic to be able to use it again, it is turning out to be great for the wedding portraits.

49 Comments
  1. Such a beautiful bride. 🙂

    October 15, 2013
    • She really was, she looked so beautiful on the day, I am loving doing the photos.

      October 15, 2013
  2. Gorgeous images

    October 15, 2013
  3. There is nothing more beautiful than watching how love means a new life.

    October 15, 2013
    • I know exactly what you mean, thank you.

      October 15, 2013
  4. I do like the lace texture for the Mum and baby photo – it fits the whole soft and sweet baby ideal. I’ve seen a lot of photos lately of sleeping newborns lovingly posed in nests and bowls etc and wished we’d thought about it 5 weeks ago for my little grand daughter…too late now, she’s grown too much.

    October 15, 2013
    • I thought the lace was a great idea. I have seen those photos too, I decided I wanted to do something a bit different, something more about mothers and babies and the love, or like the old paintings you see. Thank you Sukie.

      October 15, 2013
  5. Sara’s parents must be thrilled with your photos!

    October 15, 2013
    • Thank you, I think they are.

      October 15, 2013
  6. This is beautiful work Leanne, I just love the creativity, I’ve never seen anyone do weddings in this way – wish I’d had you around for mine! 🙂 x

    October 15, 2013
    • Oh this isn’t the wedding, they were images we did before the wedding, though, I am hoping to do the wedding shots, well some of them, in a similar manner. Thanks 🙂

      October 15, 2013
      • Well it will be amazing for sure, these photos are so lovely.x

        October 16, 2013
      • Thank you Amanda, they are different to work on, but I do love doing them.

        October 16, 2013
  7. beatiful

    October 15, 2013
  8. poppytump #

    Leanne … you’ve really captured such tenderness in your images .
    They perfectly embody the loving protectiveness of new Motherhood .
    How beautiful .

    October 15, 2013
    • Thank you Poppytump, I really wanted to capture that tenderness. I am glad you can see it in the image.

      October 15, 2013
  9. Beautifully done, Leanne! A pleasure to see the maternity photos! They convey so much in terms of purity, love, and magic. Again, you did a GREAT job! Bravo!!!

    October 15, 2013
    • Thank you so much delimaf, that is so great to hear.

      October 15, 2013
  10. Wonderful processing Leanne.

    October 15, 2013
  11. What a beautiful portrait of Alison and Sara – you’re right, you don’t need to see her eyes to know she’s looking deep into her child’s…
    Fabulous!

    October 15, 2013
    • Thank you Marie, glad you feel the same about it, I just love the look on Alison’s face, you can see the love in it.

      October 15, 2013
  12. Maggie Beck #

    The moments between an infant and mother are fleeting at that age, and you captured it! The lace is perfect. I find the darker “smudges” a bit discordant with the simplicity and purity of the relationship, though. It is the most innocent and trusting of all relationships, and the dark stains (to me) are not in keeping with the overall tone of the relationship or photo.
    I will be interested in seeing how you follow this mother and child over time. It would a interesting creative learning project for you, yes? Not that you need more projects! Best, Maggie

    October 15, 2013
    • I totally agree Maggie, they are fleeting, the next thing you know they are 18 and planning their own future. Thanks for your opinion, it is appreciated, I am not sure which I like more, I like both.
      It would be nice to be able to follow them, but they are about to move away, so it is probably not going to be possible, would be nice if it was though. Thanks again Maggie.

      October 15, 2013
  13. I like that you’ve used something more original than the usual baby photos. It’s great that Sara is wide awake and enjoying being with her mother.

    October 15, 2013
    • Yep, nothing was getting her to sleep, I think it worked out, and I like that they are not the usual ones as well. It is good to do something different, something, that hopefully will be timeless. Thanks Carol.

      October 15, 2013
      • Very beautiful! I love to see photographers experiment with different styles.

        October 16, 2013
      • Thank you, I feel like that is all I am doing a lot of the time now, is experimenting.

        October 16, 2013
  14. wonderful and i love the obvious and natural connections between the people who love each other in your pictures

    October 15, 2013
    • Thank you ksbeth, I like that too, the connection between them is wonderful.

      October 16, 2013
  15. I just love the one where mom and baby are looking at each other – really evokes emotion.

    October 15, 2013
    • I really like that one too, it really puts a smile on my face. Thanks

      October 16, 2013
  16. Tricia SweetRascalPhotos #

    How fun to see a baby done with your unique style of processing. You seem to be having a good time. {by the way, my daughter is a newborn photographer and she asks the mothers to keep the baby awake for 2 hours before the session so they will sleep during photos.} You have a bit of variety going on with weddings, portraits, babies, architecture, etc…. enjoy your time! ~Tricia.

    October 16, 2013
    • I thought it would be interesting to do some shots that are different to what a lot of photographers are doing, and I do like them, though I can also seem many other possibilities. I will have to remember that trick Tricia, thank you.

      October 16, 2013
  17. Reblogged this on Valerie Bey Photography.

    October 16, 2013
  18. I have nominated you for the Liebster award! Please go to my blog post for the info! I love your blog and your photos always brighten my day! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    October 16, 2013
    • That is so nice of you Lisa, thank you so much.

      October 16, 2013
  19. Pat #

    Beautiful work.

    October 17, 2013
  20. M #

    So beautiful

    October 17, 2013
    • Thank you.

      October 17, 2013
      • M #

        I know you probably hear this a lot but your photos are crisp, lovely, deep and intelligent. I someday hope to get a nice camera and create – capture such inspiring photos as yours

        October 17, 2013
      • I do hear it a lot, but I never tire of hearing it, so thank you so much. Good camera is good, but remember it is more to do with the person behind it. Good luck with your own photos.

        October 17, 2013
  21. Now this is wedding photography with a difference, Leanne! The digital filters you’ve used here have added a mythic element that is missing from 99.9% of portraiture I’ve encountered. I half expect to hear Enya singing in the background. The intimate poses and composition also combine here to make the experience complete. Thanks for sharing the inspiring work! 🙂

    October 18, 2013
    • These were more pre wedding shots, the actual wedding I photographed on Sunday is a little different and I have to process them a little differently. They don’t want them quite so dark. I have to rethink a lot of stuff and find a new way to work, it is really interesting. I want to have the same creativeness (is that a word) but have them much softer, so looking a few different ways to get that. Thank you so much. 🙂

      October 18, 2013
  22. Awww so happy to see the new baby 🙂 She’s such a pretty mommy! Thanks for the update

    October 21, 2013
    • That is great to hear Amanda, it was fun going back and photographing her and meeting her. 🙂

      October 21, 2013

Comments are closed.

