Skip to content

Strange Kind of Day

Or maybe strange week.  It really has been.  I am swamped with work, well that is a good thing.  My coffee machine broke and I don’t seem to be able to get it repaired, so I have to get a new one.  Then this morning I was watching something on creativeLIVE, well a course I purchased, and Sue was talking about creativity and how nothing is original anymore.  It was something that was told to us over and over when I was doing my Fine Arts degree.  It is good to be reminded of it.

LeanneCole-emily-20130930-7240Now my head is swimming with stuff and I am confused about what I am doing.  I know that doesn’t make much sense.  It must be the weather, a thunder storm is happening right now as I am writing this, I know the weather does affect me and the way I think.

I went to a Business networking lunch today run by Banyule Council for Women in Business, I assume that is me.  It was interesting.  It was supposed to be an opportunity to network.  I don’t know if it was any good for me, I suppose time will tell.  I am still trying to work out this whole networking this.  I did meet some lovely people so hopefully that will be great.  It was also nice introducing myself to everyone as a Fine Art Photographer.

Sorry, very confusing post today, pretty much sums up how I am feeling.  The guest speaker today was a woman called Megan Quinn, she was a great speaker and she said a lot of things that really hit home and I need to do some thinking.

98 Comments
  1. Good for you! I’ve been trying to motivate myself to go to a writer’s meet up…one day.

    October 17, 2013
    • Thank you, you will have to get yourself motivated to go, you never know what might happen.

      October 17, 2013
  2. No, a good post Leanne! Love the photo, she is really pretty. I think you will stop spinning soon, a good night’s rest and some hot java in the morning will make things right as rain. 🙂

    October 17, 2013
    • Thank you John, she is great for photos. I have to ask, what is hot java? I am still working on the wedding photos, but have got through the bulk of them which is great.

      October 17, 2013
  3. Some days we are just on overload.

    October 17, 2013
    • Oh yes, that is it exactly, thanks Angeline.

      October 17, 2013
  4. It’s good to see you are persevering with the networking; I am sure it will pay off in the long run. Have you considered calling your self something different from a photographer? I know a photographer near me who calls herself an artist who uses photography as a medium. It puts more emphasis on the art side of things.

    October 17, 2013
    • Yes, persevering, not sure if it is working, but I am told that it takes time. So I will keep going. I am trying to call myself a fine art photographer, and then people look at me and ask what that is, which is great, definitely separates me from being just a photographer. But your friend is right too, I am an artist who happens to use photography as my medium. Thank you.

      October 17, 2013
  5. I don’t know how much of a coffee connoisseur you are Leanne or if you just like to have a nice coffee. We bought an Aldi coffee machine recently and it is great. It hardly needs any cleaning and takes Aldi pods. We love it! On the work topic, I guess all you can do is what feels right to you and try not to overthink it all. You’re doing a great job.

    October 17, 2013
    • A friend of mine has a coffee machine with pods. I had a Breville machine, you know, grinds the coffee, then the espresso bit, and then you heat the heat and froth the milk. I like it because it takes some effort, otherwise I would drink too much. LOL I think I do think too much sometimes, or overthink, I need to calm down. Maybe once I get through all the wedding photos I can relax more. Still more to do, but I am through most of them now. Thank you Carol.

      October 17, 2013
      • We like the Aldi machine because it takes no effort at all! You’ll be fine!

        October 17, 2013
      • Haha, but do you have to get the pods from Aldi, that would be the problem where to get the pods from, Aldi is not easy to get to.

        October 17, 2013
      • Yes, it only takes Aldi pods. Believe me, it’s worth the drive.

        October 17, 2013
      • Thanks for the advice Carol, I might have to come and visit and try yours.

        October 17, 2013
      • Oh that would be fun. We have spare beds these days…you would be welcome. It’s a lovely 26 degrees here today…am I tempting you?

        October 17, 2013
      • Sounds fantastic, might have to give it some serious thought. Oh, yes, you are tempting me.

        October 17, 2013
      • We have plenty of nice places you could photograph.

        October 17, 2013
      • It is getting more and more tempting. Where exactly are you, I know Queensland, but not where there?

        October 17, 2013
      • Toowoomba

        October 17, 2013
      • Cool, sounds like some more planning needs to be done.

        October 18, 2013
  6. Hadassa #

    Reblogged this on hadassaab.

    October 17, 2013
  7. Life is like the “Gauss Bell”….sometimes creativity hides downhill just when you are trying to reach the top.
    Get a coffee machine RÁPIDO!

    Saludos!

    October 17, 2013
    • I like that, that sounds so right.
      Yes, new coffee machine tomorrow. I hate not having one.
      Thank you.

      October 17, 2013
  8. I like this a lot. Get a coffee machine! Java is coffee.

    October 17, 2013
  9. I think you’re voicing the uncertainty that most of us quite often feel.

    October 17, 2013
    • I think you could be right, it does happen from time to time, thanks Lucid, or should I call you Gypsy?

      October 17, 2013
      • My name is Gilly, but you can call me gypsy if you prefer 🙂

        October 18, 2013
      • Thanks, now I have to decide which, 🙂 I like Gypsy.

        October 18, 2013
  10. leecleland #

    I love this post, Leanne. It may jump all over the place, and churn around like a washing machine but your mind is thinking, is stimulated, and happy to be doing what you like best. We all get days like this and when the mind quietens then the clarity and a bit more understanding of ourselves pops up. Yup, need the coffee 🙂

    October 17, 2013
    • My mind certainly is, it hasn’t stopped all week, I think it is the wedding photos and trying to work out the best way to do them. Thank you so much Lee, it is good to know I am not the only one that feels this way from time to time. I certainly need coffee, a new machine would be good.

      October 17, 2013
  11. Good post, well done! Networking is really important, but I know how scared it can be! You’ll do great!

    October 17, 2013
    • Thank you, it is scary, and it is hard to gauge if it is working or not, I suppose I need to give it time.

      October 17, 2013
  12. Please tell me it broke AFTER you made coffee? I can’t start my day without it either… 😉
    Seriously, Hon, don’t let a thunderstorm and lack of caffeine mess with your head…other people have good (and not-so-good) ideas that you can take from and edit for your own use, but you don’t have to adopt them whole…you’re making progress, and it was feeling ‘right’ to you until just now. You’ll get back to that place as soon as the clouds clear 🙂
    Love that photo, too!

    October 17, 2013
    • Actually it broke about a week ago, and I can’t find anyone to fix it, and I am getting desperate, I hate having to go out each day to buy one. I like my Lattes. Getting new one tomorrow I hope, I can’t wait. 🙂
      The thunderstorm was massive, lots of hail. I think it is the wedding photos, I love doing them, but I have had to rethink how I do them, they don’t want them really dark, so I have been trying to find new ways of doing them. It has been tiring. I think I am finding my way through, it is great to have friends here like you that help me so much. I do love that.
      Thank you so much Marie. ❤

      October 17, 2013
  13. First and foremost Leanne, not only can you introduce yourself as a fine art photographer, but you indeed are one – not just for the quality of the work, but I sense an inner dissatisfaction with everything you do – that somehow it could be a bit better – the sign of a true artist. On the topic of nothing new…I think that is a bit of a stretch and depends on the definition of new – but each time I trip the shutter and then process the image it is a new an unique interpretation of a point in time that has never existed before and will never exist again. Just chalk up your confusion with things to no coffee ‘:-)

    October 17, 2013
    • Thank you Robert, I don’t know if it is or isn’t, but I suppose questioning myself and my motives makes me want to improve constantly. I think that has to be good. It is interesting telling people that I am a fine art photographer, because they always seem to ask what that is. I think your image might be original, though the techniques and other things aren’t. It is a nice idea, I actually quite like it, I like the idea that we all borrow from one another.
      Confusion to the lack of coffee, yes, I like that. 🙂

      October 17, 2013
  14. Hang in there Leanne … the difference between those who succeed and those who do not is that those who succeed keep on going when prospects seem dim. It’s easy to give up … don’t. Today’s another day … perhaps the clouds will clear as will your vision (in a broader sense that is). D

    October 17, 2013
    • Thank you D, I won’t give up, I have come to far, I just need to reassess and rethink some things. It is the wedding photos, and how I am approaching them I think. I have to think of different ways of processing them, and it has been rather a challenge. I am starting to understand what I am doing, and hopefully those clouds will have cleared.

      October 17, 2013
      • Although I have very much enjoyed ALL of your recent stuff Leanne … all the portraits and all the wedding stuff and (especially) the pre and post ‘baby’ material … I wonder if especially the wedding folks find the sort of stuff which is heavily processed appropriate? Aren’t they interested in more formal or classic images for their albums and framed prints? Is there a movement going on such that couples want more artistic images rather than the traditional stuff I’m use to? In any case, your processed images are striking and very nice. Would you find it frustrating to be asked to produce more traditional images at a wedding? D

        October 17, 2013
      • They asked me to do the wedding because they like the way I process images and that is what they wanted, though, they don’t want them as dark, which has been the hard part. I have had to rethink a lot. They had another photographer there that did the traditional photos. I was the art photographer. So a lot of what I had to do was different to him. Though I think we ended up with a lot of similar images. I am see how I can do the images in different ways, but still a little more unique. Hopefully they will like what I have been doing. I would find it frustrating to do the traditional stuff, though much of what I did was, I would need to find my own way, and find ways to be more creative with them.

        October 18, 2013
      • That’s interesting. When my older daughter recently got married we hired a photographer who did nothing traditional – that’s what the kids wanted. Nothing out of the very traditional wedding album that Joanna and I have. Everything they wanted was candid – and they turned out beautifully. So … perhaps you’re on to something! Great. Go with it. D

        October 18, 2013
      • It seems to be the way to go, though you can’t get many serious images, they are too happy, but we did set images up, and do things like that, but if I was to do more of this in the future, I would set things up a little differently. It was a fantastic experience though, and I hope they love the photos I took for them and what I have done to them.

        October 18, 2013
  15. The Fountain #

    Many great artists have doubts about itself and their art. Some of them for a lifetime. I think that precisely this Constant doubts, this ‘itself call into question’ get the art keeping alive. Exactly this questions are yet to take us to further develop our art. And with our art we develop ourselve. Because this i say: thanks for each day that brings me doubt, and shirk the day when i absolutely sure of my art. Thank you for your honesty and of course for your wonderful artwork!

    October 17, 2013
    • I think I totally agree with you, the constant doubts and questions do make you push further. It is an interesting process. Thank you so much for letting me that you feel the same way, and both of us shall continue the questioning and doubts and create some beautiful art.

      October 17, 2013
  16. Kris #

    Thank you for the insight into your thoughts. I think we all experience these moments and it helps to share amd realise it’s part of the process.

    October 17, 2013
    • Thank you Kris, it is good to know, and it is also good to know where to go for a pick me up. The people who follow my blog are invaluable and so special to me. I always know I can rely on them. I love it.

      October 18, 2013
  17. That experimental portraits course was interesting, I followed a few hours live. Have noticed your style leans toward what they suggested was a heavier-handed approach. I share what one might call your your objective doubt concerning mixers and networking events. Keep up the excellent work. You inspire.

    October 17, 2013
    • Yes, it was, I am not sure about Sue Bryce, and didn’t have much interest, but I started liking a lot of what she was saying, so I had to keep going back and seeing what I could capture. So, I am a bit confused, are you saying my work is heavy handed? I have to believe with networking that it will work in time, and that I have to give it time. I hope anyway. Some good did come from it, so hopefully, fingers crossed, I will get some work from it. Thanks Jonathan.

      October 18, 2013
  18. Not to worry…it’s a conjunction of planets with nearly fool moon, a storm on its way and maybe some voodoo too…as yesterday 1) my computer stopped working and wouldn’t boot then after an hour it booted for my husband 2) had to take the mo-ped to the gallery yesterday as the car wouldn’t start…guess what, it started for my husband an hour later…burnt the curry for dinner…then as if that weren’t enough, my ear started aching…so I think it’s “something in the air” as the old song says!

    October 17, 2013
    • I think you might be right Georgia, I feel like I am in a fog right now. It is very strange. I can’t believe all those things wouldn’t work for you, but then worked for your husband, I hate it when that happens. I hope the curry (yum) wasn’t too burnt. Let’s hope we get through this soon. Good luck Georgia, don’t plan any big trips right now.

      October 18, 2013
      • Too right…I’m sticking close to home! It was weird and know what you mean about being in a fog..you’re not by any chance an Acquarius or Gemini right 😉 (just kidding of course…well mostly, not about the mishaps though, they’re real!)

        October 18, 2013
      • No, I am a Capricorn, does that matter? Well I just got the new coffee machine, so at least one thing is on track. I need to knuckle under and just get them done.

        October 18, 2013
      • Naw…still pretty close to Acquarius…which is me, my ascendent I’ve been told is Gemini…it’s just one of those silly things we use to explain the unexplainable…glad you’ve got the coffee machine…that is of essential importance!

        October 18, 2013
      • Very close, I am a Capricorn Dragon, are you a dragon. Can I ask a question like that. LOL
        The coffee machine is very very important, makes my day great.

        October 18, 2013
      • Yes…I am a dragon! If I were Chinese you shouldn’t ask the question they tell me…but I’m not Chinese!
        How well I understand the coffee machine problem!

        October 18, 2013
      • So we are similar in that respect. I didn’t know you weren’t meant to ask, but as you said, I am not Chinese.
        Oh, the coffee machine, the new one is so nice, quieter, and I will be having my first coffee of the morning soon. I can’t wait.

        October 19, 2013
      • I don’t know if it’s true about Chinese astrology, it0s something I read in a book. Here’s a toast of hot coffee to you and your fab new machine, then!

        October 19, 2013
      • I don’t know either, yes, here’s to hot coffee. clink.

        October 19, 2013
  19. poppytump #

    Hope you get this coffee crisis sorted Leanne 🙂
    You have so much happening at the moment it must be difficult to separate your thoughts for each project – it’s not surprising you have a few little doubts about some aspects of your creativeness and work when each one requires a particular ‘ Fine Art Photographic’ approach .
    That very unique Leanne Cole way .
    Let the thunder roll and clear the air and your mind … all will be well 😉

    October 17, 2013
    • Oh yes, getting new machine today. The machine broke about week and half ago, it really can’t go. I need my lattes. 🙂
      It is so true, my brain is going a million miles an hour. I am really trying to find a style for these wedding photos, and it is harder than I thought it would be. I want them to soft and romantic, but they don’t want them dark. So I am having to rethink a lot of things, I think I have found some ways, so it is interesting. I am also waiting, not so patiently, for some money to paid so I can get a new camera, that is hard.
      The thunder left, but the fog remains, well in my head, but it will clear, I am starting to see what I need to do. Thank you Poppytump. Bring on the coffee.

      October 18, 2013
  20. Holy crap! Standing on its own, I can’t think of a more depressing sentiment, honestly. Was the larger message “even if it’s not original, it can still reach someone in a way, perhaps, by just being your style…someone who thinks more like you?” I come from a literary background and my creative writing teacher told us over and over…it may not be original, but it’s YOURS. You think in squares, you’ll attract other squares. If that wasn’t the larger point, then why bother? Depressing!

    October 18, 2013
    • I think the sentiment was meant to be more about stop trying to be original, or stressing over it, don’t worry that other people are doing similar work, and as your teacher said, make it yours. It is actually a very liberating expression, it means, it is okay that other people are doing stuff like you, but you have to make yours different enough that it stands out. Not depressing at all really. It can be so much more depressing trying to be original and then finding out always that other people are doing stuff the same as you. I just have to be better.

      October 18, 2013
  21. LeAnne, move away from your mind and its confusion to following your heart and intuition. That is where true art lies. This photo illustrates beautifully your abilities to photograph. There is truth to the fact that nothing is original, but a greater truth is that each artist has a unique perspective and style that only they can give the world through their chosen medium. You have so much to offer! Looking forward to seeing more of your photos in the future!

    October 18, 2013
    • I think it is the intuition I need, thank you, exactly what I need, I need to trust it.
      That is also true, nothing original, but it is how I do it that matters. These wedding photos have been a challenge for me, but I think I am slowly realising what I need to do with them. Thank you so much, great comment, as have many been, it is good to know that people are out there who can help. So very much appreciated.

      October 18, 2013
  22. Jaded critics aside, I cannot agree with the “it’s all been said and done” argument. No one does exactly what anyone else does. Yes, universal themes are constantly re-echoed, but each vision is uniquely one’s own provided your passion is present in your work. I am amazed by your efforts again and again, your portraits continually resonating with my own take on the human world and its dreams. Your technical execution is very good and your own creative vision comes through each time.

    What to think about is how to constantly refine oneself. If you do what you truly love, you’ll have no regrets. God bless and keep shooting. 🙂

    October 18, 2013
    • There is truth to what you say, though there is a certain amount of release in the statement, it can also mean don’t beat yourself up about it, just do what you want and do it well, which is what I think I am going to do. I like the idea of doing my own thing, so I might do that. I know I have a style and I think I will continue working on that.
      Thank you so much, lots of great advice here, it has been fantastic.

      October 18, 2013
  23. Went to see this photography exhibition recently. Thought you might enjoy this link:

    thephotographersgalleryblog.org.uk

    October 18, 2013
    • Thank you, looks really interesting.

      October 18, 2013
  24. Networking is such a big thing today .. when it’s about running your own business and I think that it will only do you good – because also it doesn’t matter what kind of business you have there is always something you can pick for your business.
    I don’t know about running a business … never had the urge to do that – too lazy.
    I admire those that take the step .. to be their own master, but you also become your own prisoner and that was my reason for not opening my own restaurant – never be able to let things go and and relax properly.
    Also you have to be very clear in the direction of you business .. nothing for me – because I’m all over the place.
    I know you will pick out the best from this strange kind of day and you will adapt into your business model.

    October 18, 2013
    • It is a big thing, though I think they just changed the words from word of mouth to networking. We are told to actively go out and find people who might be interesting in our business. It could be good, time till tell. I certainly will try lots of things to get my business off the ground.
      I want to run my own business, I think because I hated being an employee, I had some of the worse bosses. I want to set my own rules and stuff. I have wanted to run my own business and be my own boss since I was about 20, it is slowly taking shape. I like that. Networking is part of that also, and it has helped with some things, and I have got jobs from it, so not too bad.
      Thank you Viveka.

      October 18, 2013
      • Leanne, I strongly believe in you and your business idea – and I know you will make it work … and I also know that you know it means headache and hard work.
        I will be here cheering you on. *smile I wish you and the family a great weekend.

        October 19, 2013
      • You are so wonderful Viveka, I am going to give it my best, that is for sure. I am starting to work on some new ideas, so hopefully, things will start to happen for me. You have a great weekend too.

        October 19, 2013
  25. Love the photo!

    Kick back & take it easy.
    Hope you wake up feeling better after a good night’s rest.

    October 18, 2013
    • Thank you RoSy, well new day now, so hopefully things will be better today.

      October 18, 2013
  26. Love that processing.

    October 18, 2013
  27. Leanne Cole – From Chicago you are an inspiration to all us!

    October 18, 2013
    • That is fantastic to hear, thank you so much.

      October 18, 2013
  28. LB #

    Networking is exactly what you did! Meeting lovely people and introducing yourself as a Fine Arts Photographer! Good job!

    October 18, 2013
    • Yes, I did, time will tell if it was good networking, but it all helps, thank you LB

      October 18, 2013
  29. This pic here is superb, hits the nail on the head for . composition composure structure intelligence and clarity …..my photo judge would give this shot an A+++AWARD WINNING 🙂 AS LOTS of ur PHOTOS ARE “Keep on Keepin On!” Q

    October 18, 2013
    • Thank you, that is fantastic to hear, these images were great, and I got some fantastic ones was this session. I still have more to process, after I finish the wedding. 🙂

      October 18, 2013
  30. Well I hope you de-confuse yourself soon enough & do more lovely fine art photography. loving them! 🙂

    October 18, 2013
    • Thank you, I think it is the wedding photos I am doing, I have had to rethink everything about them, and well, it is a challenge, but I am getting there, slowly. 🙂

      October 18, 2013
  31. Hi Leanne. A quick question (apologies if I’m stating the obvious!!) – when you go to a networking event, do you take a portfolio? You can then introduce yourself and let your images speak for themselves! Extending this – would the networking venue allow you to display some photos as part of the event? Again, sorry if you do this already! Images are powerful and can convey more than words (for me, anyway!).

    October 18, 2013
    • You aren’t stating the obvious actually. No one does do that, though I often find I am the only photographer at these events. Something that photographers don’t do, I don’t know. Usually people just hand around business cards, have to have business cards to give people. My business cards have some small images on them so people get an idea, but I might have to rethink that whole thing. I did show a couple of people a couple of images at the lunch on my phone. I have a smart phone, very handy for that, and I am considering putting more on there so I can do that. I hope that answers your question, thank you.

      October 19, 2013
  32. hi leanne,

    strange kind of magic in your photos too!

    best regards,
    kap

    October 19, 2013
    • Thank you kap, I like that idea, I like it a lot. The fog is still there, but it is slowly lifting from my head.

      October 19, 2013
  33. So surreal! Good work! ❤

    October 19, 2013
  34. Liana #

    Well, to my way of thinking, the whole “nothing is original” POV just drains the inspiration while pissing off the Muse…and it is utterly untrue. Have you ever looked at a newborn and said “oh, yeah, seen lots of those before”– even though you have?

    October 19, 2013
    • You know, I have to say, I actually find it quite a freeing expression, I don’t know how many times I have been working on something and then realised that someone else was also doing something very similar, not exactly the same, as that is the difference, but very very similar, then I have got depressed and thought, what now. So realising that other people are going to be out there working on similar stuff, almost identical, just means that they are and I am, but I have to be true to me and work on it my work. I know there are lots and lots of people out there doing portraits like I do, but I just have to strive to do them my way. So I don’t get depressed about it anymore, I just keep doing what I want.

      October 20, 2013
  35. Must be something in the water Leanne! I’ve had a week a bit like that myself.

    The clarity will come. I usually get the much needed light bulb moment at the most random of times and long after I’ve given up trying to make sense of what it all means. 🙂

    October 20, 2013
    • I think it is coming, slowly, I have had to do a lot of thinking about some of the images I did last weekend. I can’t do them the way I normally do, so slowly I have to change what I am doing, but it is starting to happen. Thank you Leeann.

      October 20, 2013
  36. I understand when you hear that there’s no originality in photography anymore how depressing it can make you feel. It sounds like you have some positive things happening in your life and I hope it over powers the confusing feeling. I tell my husband I’m in a “funk” when I get in those moods haha! Just know that you are an incredible artist that, in my eyes, stand out above so many other people! Never lose hope Leanne!

    October 21, 2013
    • It is funny, because I don’t find it depressing, it is strangely liberating, like it is okay for me to do what I want without the pressure of having to be original, if that makes any sense at all. I can just work and do what I want to do. There are some positive things happening, which is fantastic and I am very happy about them all. Can’t wait to see where the future goes. It is great to have someone who can help you when you get into that “funk”, you make sure he keeps doing that. Thank you so much Amanda.

      October 21, 2013
      • That’s a great way too look at it and I will keep that in mind in case it ever brings me down again! Lol, yeah I think I’ll keep him around 😛

        October 21, 2013
      • I think so, it is certainly more freeing. Yes, you better hang on to him.

        October 21, 2013

Comments are closed.

