Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Looking Back on a Couple of Other Visits to Lorne

Since yesterday I looked back at Inverleigh and Lorne, I remembered that at around the same time I went to Lorne on couple of mornings, very early, to take some photos of the sunrise.  Of course both mornings the sunrise was not great.  That is one area I very rarely get lucky, sunrises and sunsets.  So you do what you can.

sclorne-5hpm8073-3You can see there were no clouds, so the sun just came up.  Now I have shown these images before, and like yesterday’s post, many of them disappeared, or rather, were deleted from the blog when the upgrade was done (read yesterday’s post).  So as we were looking at Lorne yesterday as well, I thought we could look at it again today, early morning ones.

I am not going to talk too much today, just show some photos and hope you have a great Sunday.  Relaxing one for me I hope, well until the younger daughter wakes up and says “where are we driving too today?”

The photos are from two early, early morning trips, one done in February this year, the other in March.  So it was 3.30am wake up to get to Lorne before 6am.  We photographers can be strange people.  LOL

79 Comments
  1. Ana Santos #

    Always amazing pictures and tutorials on photography. Glad to be a follower of yours 🙂

    October 20, 2013
    • Thank you so much Ana, and that is wonderful to hear.

      October 20, 2013
  2. A perfect time of day. The light in 8018-2 just looks incredible.

    October 20, 2013
    • It is a good time of the day to take photos, but it is much better if you are already there and don’t have to travel 2 hours to get there, I would like to do more of these, but next time I would stay overnight. Thank you.

      October 20, 2013
  3. Al #

    They are beautiful

    October 20, 2013
    • Thank you Al.

      October 20, 2013
      • Al #

        You’re welcome Leanne 🙂

        October 20, 2013
  4. Oh yes, I remember these glorious images well. It was worth the early start to get these photos Leanne.

    October 20, 2013
    • Thank you Carol, it seems like I only just did them, but when I went back I was surprised that it was over 6 months ago. All I remember about the trip was how tired I was driving there and driving back, not great. It is nice at that time of the day, I would do it again, but I would spend the night there and then get up early.

      October 20, 2013
  5. Beautiful!

    October 20, 2013
  6. talesfromthelou #

    I can taste the ocean

    October 20, 2013
    • It is funny the senses that images can make us aware of, for me it is the sounds.

      October 20, 2013
  7. Reblogged this on deejayiwan.

    October 20, 2013
  8. screenshot #

    Reblogged this on Hollywood Pop Candy.

    October 20, 2013
  9. The Borg #

    amazing photos!

    October 20, 2013
    • Thank you, love you name here, The Borg.

      October 20, 2013
      • The Borg #

        lol, I have a popular last name!

        October 20, 2013
      • Yes, millions in the universe, so Star Trek fan?

        October 20, 2013
      • The Borg #

        I was as a kid back in the Shatner days and my housemate always has it on but I’m not really a ‘fan’. But people are fans of me simply because my last name is awesome lol.

        This is why I love Geeks! I get some geek lurve when they find out I’m a Borg and who doesn’t love positive attention 🙂

        October 20, 2013
      • So is your surname actually Borg, I am a little confused. I am much the same with the orginal series, a child when it was on. I do like it though, and so does my husband, our kids hate it though.

        October 20, 2013
      • The Borg #

        Yeah it’s probably not as high tech as your kids would like!

        Yes my surname is Borg. I like it 🙂

        October 20, 2013
      • My kids just have no taste, haha.
        What a cool surname, I can understand why you like it. 🙂

        October 20, 2013
      • The Borg #

        oh kids these days right!

        🙂

        October 20, 2013
      • I know, 😉

        October 20, 2013
  10. beautiful, they look otherworldly

    October 20, 2013
    • Thank you ksbeth, it was nice looking back at them.

      October 20, 2013
  11. Gorgeous Images… 🙂

    October 20, 2013
  12. aedanwriter #

    Reblogged this on The Hot Topic.

    October 20, 2013
  13. Well worth the early wakeup. What gorgeous pictures. It looks like a place with a kind of unreal atmosphere.

    October 20, 2013
    • It is worth it now, not sure I would do it again, it was a very tiring drive there and back, I think I will stay overnight next time. It is a great place, I love going to Lorne. Thank you.

      October 20, 2013
    • wow !

      October 20, 2013
  14. beautiful images!!

    October 20, 2013
  15. I could sit here for hours

    October 20, 2013
    • Thank you, that is a great reaction.

      October 21, 2013
  16. Love the feel of this set . The rocks are gorgeous.

    October 20, 2013
    • I love rocks at the ocean, and love watching the water on them. Though, in these I tried to still the ocean. Thank you Jane.

      October 21, 2013
  17. Beautiful shots and enjoy every moment of your Sunday!

    October 20, 2013
    • Thank you, alas, my Sunday is over now, but a new week ahead and new surprises I am sure.

      October 21, 2013
      • Can’t wait to see maybe one shot from your wedding work 🙂

        October 21, 2013
      • They look great and there are a few that I can’t wait to show you, hopefully they will let me. I haven’t heard from them, so no idea what they think of the images yet. This is the scary time, will they like them, or will they hate them.

        October 21, 2013
      • We all love what you you do with an image so maybe they are just blown away or on their honeymoon 🙂

        October 21, 2013
      • I hope that is what it is, time will tell.

        October 21, 2013
      • 🙂

        October 21, 2013
      • I keep forgetting you are 18 hrs. ahead or 8 hours behind 🙂

        October 21, 2013
      • It is easy to forget, we are ahead of most of the people in the world, except for New Zealand.

        October 21, 2013
      • 🙂

        October 21, 2013
  18. The 8023 image is my favorite of this group – you get the implied sunrise/set by the striated sky colors making clouds unnecessary.

    October 20, 2013
    • I know what you mean Robert. Thank you.

      October 21, 2013
  19. poppytump #

    Just perfect Leanne – you are so inspiring .
    Am very glad you were able to show these again 🙂

    October 21, 2013
    • Thank you Poppytump, I do like going back and seeing these older images, they sort of inspire me, if that makes sense? I need to get out and do more photos.

      October 21, 2013
  20. Some absolutely gorgeous shots here, Leanne. I love the ones where the sunrise is picking out the rocks in that beautiful pinky-orange.

    October 21, 2013
    • Thank you Richard. I like those ones as well, I think they were the best ones.

      October 21, 2013
  21. Ben #

    There may have been no clouds for the sunrise but your shots are stunning! The compositions are brilliant, they really draw you in. I love the shots that focus more on the rocky foreground with the sunrise lighting up the background. Fantastic!

    October 21, 2013
    • Thank you Ben, I love the rocky formations, they are so amazing, incredible that water does that to them.

      October 21, 2013
  22. This is a fantastic proof why we love the ocean side …. They are all stunning, but my favorite is the one with the pier and the distance and the sunshine on the rock, fantastic shot.

    October 21, 2013
    • I love the ocean, there is something calming, yet very dangerous about it. That one of the pier is one I had forgotten all about until I was putting them up again, nice reminder.

      October 22, 2013
      • Leanne, I have the same feelings about the ocean – the has this feeling of freedom, calmness .. excitement and danger. As an old sailor is important to understand what forces it really has.
        All photos are great … but it’s the sunshine on those rocks that makes that photo stand out for me.

        October 22, 2013
      • I agree Viveka, and those photos with the sunshine on them, I do think they are probably the best ones, and I think the ones that people have liked the most.

        October 22, 2013
      • Leanne, we all .. love the sun and when the sun kisses us an the nature we love, so not surprised that they are the most popular.

        October 22, 2013
      • Thanks Viveka, 🙂

        October 22, 2013
  23. Gorgeous photos. Your featured photo, especially so.

    October 22, 2013
    • Thank you David, it was almost worth getting up that early for.

      October 22, 2013
  24. These are beautiful.

    October 23, 2013
  25. myrin #

    Stunning. Make me ache. Want to go back there. NOW!

    October 23, 2013
    • What a great reaction, thank you. I hope you can get back there soon.

      October 23, 2013
  26. Real photographers are dedicated. oops, I just indicted myself as not being a real photographer. 🙂

    October 24, 2013
    • Lovely to hear from you Marsha, and great that you are bringing your humour, haha, I missed it.

      October 24, 2013
      • 🙂 It’s been on vacation! 🙂 Love you! 🙂

        October 24, 2013
      • Well, I hope it is back now. Love ya too. 🙂

        October 24, 2013
      • I’m still adjusting to the time change. It won’t be long now! 🙂

        October 25, 2013
      • LOL, brilliant. 🙂

        October 25, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Great Blog Posts From Other Blogs | My thoughts, pics and personal opinions

Comments are closed.

