Skip to content

Working on Families

This last week has been so busy with the wedding photos and I am glad to say that I think I am done, well, done until the newly weds get back and we go through them.  I am happy about that, I have heard that they like them so far.  I put them up on my website with a code so only they can view them.  They have had a quick look and I am relieved that they are happy with them.  They were a great couple to photograph.

For today, and since I have some time, I thought I would show you some photos of the baby that I shot, not a good word to use, but you know what I mean.

LeanneCole-alison-8054One of the things I’ve been trying to work on is making the images softer and perhaps not as dark.  I am not sure I am succeeding with that, but I like the softness of this one.  Something only a mother knows about.  There is such a connection and bond between a woman and her child when she is feeding that child.  It is special, and I am so happy that Alison allowed me to photograph her while doing this.

LeanneCole-alison-8085I let this one be a little dark, because one of the things I remember about this shoot was how much we tried to get Sara to go to sleep.  She wouldn’t, and this is the closest I got to that.  I wanted the image dark, as it reflected what we were trying to do here.

LeanneCole-family-8122-2A family portrait.  Alison said Ben would be hard to photograph, he doesn’t sit still long enough.  She is right, he is hard to photograph, but we managed this one.  Not a typical portrait, but I do like the way they are all connected and involved in what is happening.  It is a happy family unit.  I did do this without all the textures and layers, but it seemed so boring, so plain, so I played and experimented.  I like this.  I hope they do too.

37 Comments
  1. Hi Leanne, lovely portraits. I am sure that Alison and her family would love to have the family portrait framed and hanging on their living room wall. Just a little issue from me is the word card from post card shows up too clearly, apart from that it’s definitely saleable. I like the picture os Sara, because she has her eyes open. Again it would look great on the wall, and will be a fantastic reminder to the parents of Sara at such a young age.

    October 22, 2013
    • I would remove the card if they objected, but I like the idea of the family portrait being a postcard with many postage stamps on it, like something that should be shared and spread around. Thank you so much, I was a bit concerned about the photos of her with her eyes open, most photos you see they have their eyes closed, but she wouldn’t cooperate, so we got what we got.

      October 22, 2013
  2. Babies and little kids can be very unhelpful models at times, but you’ve got some lovely pics here – well done! The baby looks very sweet, even if she wouldn’t got to sleep for you.

    October 22, 2013
    • You are so right Sukie, I love the ones of the mother and baby, though, now, I think I would do things a little differently if I were doing them again. Thank you.

      October 22, 2013
  3. Beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    October 22, 2013
  4. Your “lightening up” looks great. What precious pictures.

    October 22, 2013
    • That you Anne, that is great to hear about the lightening up. It is hard to do, well for me.

      October 22, 2013
  5. Beautifully captured. 🙂
    A loving and beautiful moment of a mother and a baby that can not be described in words, simply loved it..

    October 22, 2013
    • Thank you so much, that is a great comment. 🙂

      October 22, 2013
  6. Reblogged this on Hollywood Pop Candy.

    October 22, 2013
  7. Very Nice Photograph..

    October 22, 2013
  8. poppytump #

    Lovely family portraits to treasure Leanne . All of them so natural .

    October 22, 2013
    • Thank you Poppytump, I don’t know that I am very good at shots like this.

      October 23, 2013
  9. It’s such a special time – I’m sure they’ll be delighted to have these photos to look back on for years to come

    October 22, 2013
    • Thank you Chas, I really hope so.

      October 23, 2013
      • My friend (a talented photographer too) took some lovely photos of all of us up in Sydney years ago when the kids were all small & lucky she did – they still have pride of place.

        October 23, 2013
      • Sounds like you were very lucky to have those done. Nice photos or rather great ones are really good to get.

        October 24, 2013
  10. the family portrait is good – typical does not always equate to an image working to convey what you are trying to get. The darker baby shot works as you are drawn first to the child then you can explore the surround.

    October 22, 2013
    • I think I forgot that I am trying to do what is not typical, and I am glad you think this works. I think they liked it. I thought the same about the baby shot as well, thank you Robert.

      October 23, 2013
  11. Lovely…Simply lovely!

    October 23, 2013
  12. lovely work

    October 23, 2013
  13. I love that first shot of mom and baby.

    October 23, 2013
    • It is nice to hear from someone that loves it, thank you Nora.

      October 23, 2013
  14. Reblogged this on fekedeabrham.

    October 23, 2013
  15. Wow, I love these photos. Good work.

    October 23, 2013
    • Thanks Nia, something a bit different to what other people are doing. I hope.

      October 24, 2013
  16. Your last family portrait looks so natural and loving. It’s perfect.

    October 23, 2013
    • Thanks Carol, I like that about it as well.

      October 24, 2013
  17. Love the first two. So different. But I love them equally. I like the casual, relaxed family vibe that the last one exudes.

    October 24, 2013
    • That is great to hear Elen, thank you, I like that relaxed family one too, really that is how families are, it almost feels like I am intruding on an intimate family moment.

      October 24, 2013
  18. So sweet, I love how soft you made these 🙂 Just perfect

    October 24, 2013
    • Thank you Amanda, I glad you liked that, I really wanted to make them soft.:)

      October 24, 2013

Comments are closed.

