Skip to content

Wednesday With Some News

It is Wednesday here and I seem to be writing posts for the other blog on this day now. I have written another post for Photographers.com.au, this one is about finding a market for fine art architectural images, Finding a Place for Fine Art Architectural Photography.

LeanneCole-inverleighhotel-20130924-5936_4hpm-3I prepared this image for the post.  I tried to do a fine art image of one of the images that I took of the Inverleigh Hotel.  I really like this, and I hope the owners like it as well.

News

For today’s post I am going to do some housekeeping.

Blog Updates and Notifications.

I have heard from several of you that you aren’t getting notifications when I update my blog, and I am told that WP are having issues with this.  Here is a link to the forum explaining what the problem is.

http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/weekly-and-daily-digest-email-subscriptions?replies=24

So if you are having trouble, please look at that and see if helps you.

There is another reason that we have discovered as well.  Some said they don’t get any notifications at all, and I asked WP to check out what happens with some people, and they have discovered that some people are not receiving any notifications because they are actually subscribed to the blog that I was self hosting, blog.leannecole.com.au which no longer exists.  So you may need to subscribe to this blog now to get the notifications.

New Gear

I am so happy to announce that I am getting a new camera.  I have finally got the money together and I am getting a new Nikon D800 and a 50mm f1.8 lens.  I am really excited about the new toys I will get to play with.

nikon_store_brandmarkI have ordered them from the Nikon Store.  They have always been great to deal with and I really appreciate the help they give me.

One of the things I have noticed is that if you order with authorised Nikon Dealers you get a two year warranty with your gear.  I have purchased things in the past from websites which are referred to as the “Grey” Market.  I know that I have to be careful with warranty, if you are going to buy something that costs several hundred dollars you want to make sure that you get that warranty.  Some places offer the Australian warranty, but only for one year, and I have never had to put it to the test, so I don’t know how good it is.

If you decide to purchase on the “Grey” market then you also have to ask yourself how much money are you prepared to lose if the item you buy is faulty and the people you purchased it from refuse to honour the warranty.

I have had this happen to me, I purchased something from the US, it turned out not to be a Nikon product, but a copy and a bad one, it fell apart and the site I purchased it from claimed that it had nothing to do with them and didn’t want to know about it.  I only lost $100 but it was enough for me to realise that I need to be more careful.

So when it comes to buying cameras, well, there is a lot of money involved and I don’t want to be left with a faulty one, or one I can’t get fixed under warranty.  So my new camera is being purchased through the Nikon Store, as has much of my equipment lately.

We all need to be careful and more careful with conditions of warranty.  Be careful buying things from overseas and how the warranty works.  Most times the warranty is only good for the country it is purchased in.

67 Comments
  1. TK #

    This is really cool, I love this!

    October 23, 2013
    • Thank you TK, that is fantastic.

      October 23, 2013
  2. Leanne, I don’t use email subscriptions because I follow too many blogs, rather I check the reader daily. As for the D800, you will fall in love with it instantly. It has more resolution, dynamic range, color depth and high iso performance than anyone could ever hope for.

    October 23, 2013
    • I do a mixture of both, but I have to admit I have been cutting down the number of email subscriptions because I just don’t have the time for them. Sad, but true. I follow so many blogs. I can’t wait to get it, now the bank is being really difficult, I can’t believe it still takes so long to get a cheque cleared, with all this internet stuff and the global economy it still takes 3 days to get a cheque cleared, and then they charge you an arm and a leg for it. So annoying, but I will definitely have it next week. It is going to be fantastic, thanks Ron.

      October 23, 2013
  3. Love the lighting in the picture!

    Very dramatic!

    And have fun with the new camera!!!! New toys are always fun : )

    October 23, 2013
    • Thank you, I like dramatic. I will have fun, I can’t wait for it to arrive. 🙂

      October 23, 2013
  4. Fantastic photo, it reminds me of when I lived in Australia in the mid 80’s. During that time we visited the wine areas in South Australia, and there were several hotels that looked very similar to the one in the photo.

    October 23, 2013
    • It is a pretty typical sort of building from that period, I hope the image brings back great memories for you. Thank you.

      October 23, 2013
  5. The clouds are awesome in the hotel picture.

    October 23, 2013
    • They really made the difference with this image, thank you.

      October 23, 2013
  6. Excellent, as always, Leanne!
    Fabio

    October 23, 2013
    • Fantastic, thank you Fabio.

      October 23, 2013
  7. Yay 🙂 Happy for you and your new gear !

    October 23, 2013
    • Oh yeah, very happy happy happy, I can’t wait. Thank you. 🙂

      October 23, 2013
  8. Congrats on the new camera! And beautiful image.

    October 23, 2013
    • Thank you so much Catherine, I am really looking forward to it arriving. I am happy with the image, I hope they are as well.

      October 23, 2013
  9. Enjoy your new camera (when it comes). The D800 is meant to be one hell of a camera.
    I never order off the grey market, one for the reasons you stated (warranty) but also if people keep buying big ticket items from abroad to save a few dollars then it won’t be long before we have no nice show rooms to go look at things we might want to buy as all our local stores will have gone out of business.

    October 23, 2013
    • I will enjoy it Geoff, thank you, and it is meant to be a fantastic camera.
      I have to agree to a certain point with you on the second part. I think us buying things overseas has to change things here, we get over charged for everything in Australia, the Australia Tax it is called, when we are paying 3 times the amount of our overseas customers it is hard to keep buying locally. I do if I can afford too, and with something like the camera, no choice really. I was happy to see that the camera is roughly the same price overseas as it is here, which was very nice to see. Will get off my soapbox now.

      October 23, 2013
  10. Good Luck for your new camera… It is always so exciting to have a new one… I love your blog and I don’t have any problem about notification mails… Just I have problem about time and I try to visit all my blogger friends’ places but it is not being easy to catch them on time… Thank you dear Leanne Cole, have a nice day, love, nia

    October 23, 2013
    • Oh yes, it is very exciting. I can’t wait for it to arrive. I know what you mean about the time and finding that to visit people, I do what I can. Thank you Nia, you have a lovely day as well.

      October 23, 2013
  11. Love the hotel photo – very spooky and Shiningesque!!

    October 23, 2013
  12. That will give you seriously serious equipment!

    October 23, 2013
    • Oh yeah, hopefully let me take some seriously great images, well, great ones when I have to go up the ISO. Thanks Colonialist.

      October 23, 2013
  13. That photo of the hotel is magnificent. Regarding buying faked high branded products … happen to friends of mine, when they had been shopping in HK, both Rolex watch and camera. Also if you buy a camera in US – the warranty will not applies anywhere else than North America. Because I was on my way to buy a new camera in NYC, but when I asked about the warranty .. they told me it only applies for North America, a pity because the cameras are so much cheaper there. My little powerful Canon I bought on Ebay, from Canon .. it had been reconditioned and it has been working fantastic for over 5 years now. Not one hick up and only 40% of retail price. So happy that you bought your new camera.

    October 23, 2013
    • The warranty is the real issue, if you buy it in another country then you often don’t have a warranty. We have places here that will give you the warranty,but it is there warranty and I don’t know how good it is. I think it is better to buy things like cameras where you know you can get that warranty. Glad you like the photo, I was kinda happy with it. Thanks Viveka.

      October 23, 2013
  14. Ooooh, new toys! Early Christmas for Leanne! 🙂

    October 23, 2013
    • Ooooooh, yes, so excited, Santa is coming early, just in time for me to do the Christmas photos. 🙂

      October 23, 2013
  15. I love the image. It is so much more than just a photo.

    I agree. With big-ticket items, it’s worth it to pay extra to get it from the dealer with a full warranty.

    October 23, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, it is most definitely not worth risking your money or your warranty. I did hear a story in one of my classes from a student who bought a camera from overseas and when it arrived it was smashed to pieces, she told them, they told her to send it back, then they claimed she had dropped it, and wouldn’t give her another camera or give her her money back. She was lucky she paid with paypal and they gave her money back to her, but if she hadn’t, she would have lost all her money.

      October 24, 2013
  16. Wow, I can’t wait to see some photos taken with your new camera. You will have some fun playing with it and learning all about it.

    October 23, 2013
    • I am so excited, I almost can’t contain it. Though, the bank is being really difficult, so instead of getting it before the weekend, I will have to wait until next week. They can be so horrible to deal with, it just amazes me in this day with so many things like internet banking and stuff that they are so backward in some areas, but charge 23rd century fees. Okay stepping down off the soap box now.

      October 24, 2013
      • That’s nothing. You should go to Europe. Most restaurants will only take cash, some supermarkets wouldn’t take visa card…it was so frustrating. Well it’s probably not nothing for you…how annoying. Just think how thrilling it will be when it arrives.

        October 24, 2013
      • Oh I know, I have been waiting for the camera for so long. I am giddy with excitement. haha
        Banks are pains. I’ve noticed here that shops and places, well some will charge you extra if you want to use your credit card, I had one place, when I went to buy my camera the first time expected me to pay $2000 in cash for it, who, I mean seriously, would carry around that much cash on them. I told them to go away and I purchased it somewhere else.

        October 24, 2013
      • Good on you. Businesses need to be realistic. I need to leave this computer and get ready to go to work. Have a lovely day.

        October 24, 2013
      • I agree, yes, go to work, talk later. Have a great day.

        October 24, 2013
  17. Pat #

    Great shot of this attractive old hotel. Congratulations on the new camera.

    October 23, 2013
    • Thank you Pat, I love buildings like this, thank you on the camera as well, I can’t wait for it to arrive.

      October 24, 2013
  18. Thanks Leanne – and another gimmick that happens time and time again is a camera store offering up a “better” lens than the manufacturer’s lens – which of course the lens is not better but the store’s margin on the lens is much better. So beware of the switch!

    October 23, 2013
    • I haven’t heard of that, or maybe I just haven’t taken any notice as I tend to use only Nikon lenses. They can be funny about the whole thing. I think sometimes you just have to go the extra dollar and protect yourself.

      October 24, 2013
  19. Leanne, I don’t mean to add more “not working for me” things to your list, but I tried to hit the link to your “Beginners Basics – learning your DSLR” link in the left pane and it went to a “dead page.” I am interested in purchasing that guide, if it’s still available. Have a blessed day.

    October 24, 2013
  20. New gear: Congratulations on the new purchase. What you said about warranties are so true. Buying on the grey market is always a “buyer beware” market with warranties not likely to be honored.

    WP notifications: Had some problems regarding them about 10 days ago, but it seemed to have resolved itself in my case. However, it seems to be one of their nagging problems.

    Other blogs: Being able to write for another says they value your opinion as a professional. Good to be recognized.

    October 24, 2013
    • Thank you David, I can’t wait for it to arrive. I don’t think people are always aware that if you buy something from overseas you are probably losing your warranty.
      I am not sure what the deal is with the notifications, I do get people telling me from time to time that they aren’t getting them. Hopefully they will get it sorted.
      Thank you David, it is nice to be able to do that too, hopefully people will read it as well.

      October 24, 2013
  21. just to say… I’ve nominated you for a WordPress Family Award! Thanks for giving me inspiration to keep blogging. 🙂 Details here http://myfourtographylife.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/wednesday-23102013-award-winner/

    October 24, 2013
    • Thank you, I am starting something new with awards, as I don’t really reciprocate, but I have added you and your blog to my awards page, thank you so much for the nomination. Glad you find inspiration, and I will keep going, for as long as I can.

      October 24, 2013
  22. Good article on the Photographers.com.au website. Being a civil engineer by profession, and experiencing some client demands, I found that quite often the client incorrectly turned to the architect to meet a need that would have been better served by a professional photographer. When I was at university we had the running joke that engineers build buildings, architects tell you what colour to paint the sky. In this case, the competition for architecture photography may also include architects themselves. Regardless, they may be skilled with the CAD and design software, but photographers are masters at processing images like you have demonstrated countless times.

    October 24, 2013
    • Thank you, that is great to hear. I used to find a similar thing in theatre, directors thinking they can do everything, then ending up with horrible sets because they won’t let the people who know how to do them do them. It is hard when you are dealing with people that won’t let you do what you are good at. I love your description of Engineers and Architects, brilliant. So I should be trying to find engineers to employ me. Thanks for reading the article and letting me know how you found it.

      October 24, 2013
  23. Can not wait to hear how the new one is, Me learning the Nikon that was gifted me is very nice.

    October 25, 2013
    • I cannot wait to get it. I had some problems with the bank letting me have my money, all good now, so hopefully it will arrive early next week. I can’t wait to start using it, I can’t wait to see what the full frame will be like. New cameras are always exciting. Which Nikon do you have?

      October 25, 2013
      • A D80 I think with a 18 X 55 lens that has a manual/auto switch on it’s side still trying to learn all I can about it.

        October 25, 2013
      • I think most lenses have that switch, well the digital ones. I can never work it out, it is supposed to change it from manual to autofocus, but then the focus does seem to change, or I aren’t doing it properly, I change it on the camera now. How do you find the range of the 18-55mm?

        October 25, 2013
      • Not what I need but will have to hit the lottery for ones I want. I am into super macro and beautiful landscapes 🙂

        October 25, 2013
      • I know what you mean and sometimes we just have to live with what we have until we can get other stuff. I would like a macro lens, but I don’t do enough of it to need one. If that makes sense. I would think the 18-55 would be good for landscape. I take nearly all my landscapes with my 14-24mm.

        October 25, 2013
      • It is good enough but I want it crystal clear very far away 🙂 maybe I ought to try the tripod lol

        October 25, 2013
      • LOL that might help. 🙂 maybe you could try it.

        October 25, 2013
      • ;0

        October 25, 2013
  24. Congrats on your new camera! I’ve been curious, I know you’ve tried both Nikon and canon cameras and I was wondering why you prefer to use Nikon. I’ve asked a few people and they usually say it’s personal preferance, but do you favor Nikon for more reasons than that? Forgive me if I’ve asked you this in the past lol, when I research cameras it’s hard to say which is the better one.

    October 25, 2013
    • When I first got serious about photography I just had the Pentax all manual K1000, so when I needed another camera a woman I knew at the time had bought a Canon, and she had so much trouble trying to work out how to use it. So when it was time for me to look at cameras, I found the Nikon very easy to use, so I purchased a Nikon film camera. Then when I was changing to digital, I couldn’t afford a lot, but I still had the old Nikon lenses that I knew would work on the camera that purchased, so it made sense to stick with Nikon. They say that the thing that makes Nikon stand out is it’s lenses, I always knew that I would get the very good lenses that Nikon made, and I have now. Nikon is known for their Lenses, Canon for their cameras. I wanted the good Lenses. When you see reviews for lenses or ones where they compare them, Nikon nearly always comes out on top.
      The other thing that I liked about Nikon is that they have never changed their lens mount, so if you have a lens from 50 years ago, it will still fit your camera today. Won’t work well because it won’t have auto focus and stuff, but you could still use it. I have heard that same can’t be said about Canon. I would hate to buy a camera and the lenses for it, then decide to upgrade the camera, only to find the mount has changed and I can’t use the same lenses anymore. That worries me. There you, probably way more information than what you wanted, but they are the main reasons.

      October 25, 2013
      • Thank you so much! Those are really good reasons and that’s exactly what I wanted to know 🙂 someday I’d like to switch out of curiosity, but for now I definitely can’t buy another camera hahaha! Thanks again

        October 25, 2013
      • I am not saying Nikon is superior, but for what I want, they were the obvious choice. I think the camera you have is really good too, and for many people the real answer to doing better images is just learning their camera and what their camera can do. I met a woman recently who seems convinced she needs a better camera, because the one she had doesn’t take very good photos, I had to tell her that it was because of her, not because of the camera, that a better camera wouldn’t help, she just needed to learn how to use the camera and get the best out of it. Frank is good and Frank serves you well. 🙂

        October 25, 2013
      • Hahahah agreed! He’s amazing in my eyes. Just recently I decided to learn more about what he can do, there’s so much more that I don’t use. It’s exciting to get into it 🙂 so I definitely will look more into my beloved Frank, I just wanted to know your input 🙂 thank you so much for taking time to explain everything for me! I really appreciate it

        October 25, 2013
      • Yes, learning how to use him to his best ability will help a lot, I nearly always use aperture priority. Change things around, experiment. Good luck. 🙂 Remember you can always ask me, though send me email.

        October 25, 2013
      • Hahaha right, I probably should have sent you an email instead lol! Thanks again for everything! You’re the best 🙂

        October 26, 2013
      • No not at all, others might like this discussion. I don’t know about that, but I always like to help a friend. 🙂

        October 26, 2013
  25. Love the sky on the photo, and good advice you’re given there about where you buy your products. Good luck with the new camera, I’m sure you’ll be as good as ever, if not even better (if that’s possible).

    November 3, 2013
    • Thank you Chris, and it was good advice, not something I had ever thought of. The new camera is here and I am having fun with it. Thank you, not sure about getting better, but maybe different, I want to start trying some new things and playing in photoshop more, but this camera is just what I need for it.

      November 3, 2013

Comments are closed.

