Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Looking Back on Parliament House

The wedding photos have been delivered and the couple are happy.  They have agreed to let me show you some, but you will have to wait until Tuesday, although if you go to my facebook page you can get a sneak peek at one.

So today I thought I would fill in more gaps and take another look at the photos I took when I went on the Architectural Tour of Parliament House earlier in the year.  The tours are conducted on certain days and you need to book to be able to go.  Please, make sure you are always on time, or you will miss out.

Again, these photos were lost from the blog when I went to self hosted and then deleted everything.  So I will just include them in a gallery for you to look at.

42 Comments
  1. Your interior shots are always superb Leanne. Rich and colourful.

    October 26, 2013
    • Thank you David, great building to photograph, I suspect it would hard to get a bad shot.

      October 26, 2013
  2. leecleland #

    Great detail images, Leanne. They certainly knew how to do detail well back then. Love the floor and the wording it contains.

    October 26, 2013
    • I have to agree so much, they just don’t do detail like that anymore, which is a shame really. I love that floor too. Thanks Lee.

      October 26, 2013
  3. I was simply stunned by your photos.

    Getting a like from you sure is a compliment.

    So thank you very much for that.

    October 26, 2013
    • Thank you Sony, not really a compliment, it is just support, and I think that is something that WP is so good for, the way we can all support one another.

      October 26, 2013
  4. JF #

    Reblogged this on closetoeighty.

    October 26, 2013
  5. Love the staircase photo.

    October 26, 2013
    • Thank you, I do too. Great staircase/bookcase

      October 26, 2013
  6. Beautiful shots!

    October 26, 2013
  7. I must remember to do this tour the next time we are in Melbourne. What a grand old building. The wedding photo on your face book page is gorgeous. Can’t wait to see the rest.

    October 26, 2013
    • It is a great tour, you get some fantastic things. Though you have to book, so I hope you can see when you come. I loved it. Thank you, glad you looked, I was really happy with it.

      October 27, 2013
  8. I took a sneak peak on FB and certainly the photo you shared is wonderful, not one of those “ten in a dozen” that one normally sees. Looking fwd to seeing more next week. Have a great weekend!

    October 26, 2013
    • Thank you for taking a look. It has been very popular, well for me on facebook, which has been great. I am glad you don’t think it is normal. No doubt some will be, but I hope I have put my own spin on them. The couple seemed to love them, so that is the best part.

      October 27, 2013
  9. poppytump #

    Full of gravitas isn’t it Leanneand your photos do it justice.
    Love that mosaic too .. I looked up the quote.. hadn’t realised that it came from The Book of Proverbs.
    I had a peek at your facebook page 😉 REALLY nice Wedding Photo !

    October 26, 2013
    • Oh yes, I think so too. Thank you. They started building it during the gold rush, and I think they put everything into it.
      I didn’t know that about the quote. I loved the mosaic though, it was so big and wonderful.
      Thank you Poppytump, I will put some up on the blog on Tuesday. 🙂

      October 27, 2013
  10. Pat #

    Love that gracefully curving staircase.

    October 27, 2013
    • That staircase is the best bookcase I have ever seen, I love it. Thanks Pat

      October 27, 2013
  11. You have really shown the beauty of this building Leanne.

    October 27, 2013
    • Thank you Colline, that is great to hear.

      October 27, 2013
      • It is almost as good as being able to visit there 🙂

        October 27, 2013
      • Thank you Colline, glad you enjoyed your virtual tour. 🙂

        October 27, 2013
  12. You have captured the beauty and elegance of this building. What wonderful photos!

    October 27, 2013
    • Thank you, though so easy to do when the building is so beautiful.

      October 27, 2013
  13. Pioneersandpirateships #

    These are beautiful.

    October 27, 2013
  14. Parliament houses are always so pretty! I love adventuring about places like that and capturing their details. These photos look great! 🙂

    October 27, 2013
    • I agree they are, do you think it has something to do with whose workplace they are and how the people there control the states money? Thank you.

      October 27, 2013
  15. Great architecture, and photography! Bravo, Leanne!

    October 27, 2013
    • Thank you, always great to have good architecture to photograph.

      October 27, 2013
  16. Amazing architecture!

    October 27, 2013
    • It is incredible archtitecture, thanks.

      October 27, 2013
  17. Oh, good. Want to see those.
    These are fine studies of that impressive edifice.

    October 27, 2013
    • That is great to hear Colonialist.
      Thank you, it was great to be able to take photos on the tour.

      October 27, 2013
  18. Beautiful building! I love the photo of the stairway and the bookshelves. Looks both glamorous and cosy in the same time;)

    October 27, 2013
    • I think that photo of the staircase is probably the most liked photo of this set. I love it too, I just can’t help thinking what a great bookcase it was, wouldn’t mind it in our house. Thanks

      October 27, 2013
  19. Nice to see these again, Leanne. The staircase/ library and the mosaic floor are particularly stunning.

    October 27, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I think you just picked the two most popular ones.

      October 27, 2013
  20. thanks for dropping by again Leanne. 🙂
    I haven’t visited your site for a while now but as great minds do think alike,
    I just made an ‘architectural’ post of my own
    http://pacha34.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/angles-on-architecture/

    October 27, 2013
    • Architecture is always great, thanks.:)

      October 27, 2013

Comments are closed.

