Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Vintage Markets

This morning my daughters and I went to Northcote Town Hall to go to a vintage market that was organised by Take 2 Markets.  Lots of people with vintage clothes have stalls and sell there items.  It is a very nice market and the people there are so friendly.  I was also sorted of invited by Rina to take photos of the market so they could use some.  I met Rina recently through Miss Rosanna, networking working brilliantly.

t2m-20131027-0058We were there early before the market could get into full swing, but the clothes were so good and I found so many things I wanted.  Of course I am looking for clothing that I can use for my portraits.  I found one top and one dress which was great.

Lady Divine Vintage Hats

Lady Divine Vintage Hats

Lots and lots of hats, I think it because it is the Spring Carnival Racing time here in Melbourne, that’s horse racing for those that don’t need.  The Melbourne Cup will be in just over a week.  “The horse race that stops a nation” or so they want us to believe.

t2m-20131027-0054I thought this woman was a plant, but she wasn’t, how amazing does she look.  She looks like she has stepped out of time.  Just stunning.  I was told that she often comes to the market.

I love the outfit, and Richard, if you see this, I was certainly thinking of you when I took her photo.  You would be proud of me, I asked her if I could take her photo, if you can believe that.

I took lots of photos of the hall that it was in and some of the stalls, and I even took some details, really, I did.  I will put them into a gallery and maybe you can go and visit a market this Sunday.  I hope it is a beautiful day where ever you are in the world.

74 Comments
  1. leecleland #

    The woman you photographed looks fantastic, now all she needs is a pair of gloves. My mother always worn gloves when she went to town dressed like that. Lots of other great imaages too.

    October 27, 2013
    • Oh yes, some gloves, maybe she had them but took them off while she was looking at the clothes there. I think gloves were not really in when I was growing up so my mother never wore them. I remember the mini dresses she wore in the 70’s though. Thank you Lee.

      October 27, 2013
      • leecleland #

        Yes, we are a generation apart, I’m talking about the early 50’s. I was the one in mini dresses in the 70’s.

        October 28, 2013
      • It is scary when you think of those dresses now and how short they really were, very very short. 🙂

        October 28, 2013
      • leecleland #

        And how many of us shouldn’t have been wearing them – like me!

        October 28, 2013
      • Haha, I don’t think I will go there, I can’t really remember that much about them, I just remember having a school teacher who wore them, they were very short and the boys were always trying to look up it.

        October 28, 2013
  2. What wonderful things we find when we wander!!

    October 27, 2013
    • Oh yes Mary, lots of wonderful things there. Thanks

      October 27, 2013
  3. That’s a lovely portrait of a very stylish woman! I’m really touched you thought of me – and thanks very much for the mention. It’s fun asking people isn’t it? Looks like a great market – looking forward to seeing the top and the dress “in action”.

    October 27, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I am honoured that you say that. How could I not think of you, you are the most experienced street photographer I know. I don’t know that I will do it a lot, I don’t mind doing it when I am sort of somewhere doing a job, you know, so I can say, I am here for so and so and taking photos for them. I will have to plan some work for the top and the dress.

      October 27, 2013
  4. Thanks for sharing the market! I love markets and was very frustrated yesterday because I went to a fab one with friends but we only had twenty minutes and it was heaving!

    October 27, 2013
    • That would be terrible, 20 minutes is not long enough. I think we were at this one for about an hour. Glad you liked the photos Gypsy. Thank you.

      October 27, 2013
  5. I’ve got a few pair of vintage gloves (50’s or 60’s), some of which I actually wear. I’m nowhere near as committed as the woman in your photo. She looks fabulous! I saw three or four women in Elizabeth St one day who were all dressed up like that, and wondered if it was their ‘thing’ or they were going to a party…I’ll never know!

    October 27, 2013
    • I think the woman is amazing, but I could never do it. That must have been amazing to see those 4 women. I wonder too. So do you worry about your gloves, I would be too scared to wear them I think. Thanks Sukie.

      October 27, 2013
      • I worry about losing them! I’ve got a few pairs that are too small for me, but nice to look at. maybe little Juniper will enjoy wearing them one day – although I might not let her outside the house with them! Her Mum’s hands are bigger than mine, so I guess they’ll fit in about 10 years…

        October 27, 2013
      • My eldest daughter has the smallest hands, they are so tiny and petite, you just want to squish them. Would be nice for you someone wearing them. You could take photos. How many pairs do you have?
        Now I have to ask, I gather you live in Australia, but where? I tried to work it out but found Perth and nothing else.

        October 28, 2013
      • I’m in Perth for another month – I live in country Victoria, near the Grampians. I’m not sure how many pairs I have exactly – I know there are elbow length kid leather ones, and unworn pale blue crochet lace. I’m sorry, I can’t be more precise until I go home!

        October 28, 2013
      • I know that area near the Grampians, lucky you, having them right near, well when you get back, great place for photos. Sounds like you have some fantastic gloves, you must have a lot of them. Can’t wait for you to get home.

        October 28, 2013
      • I volunteer in an op shop…not that they all came from there…I’ll let you know when I’m back.

        October 28, 2013
      • Cool, sounds good.

        October 28, 2013
  6. WOW! What a beautiful vintage market, dear Leanne Cole, I loved this blue dressed lady too, she is amazing… Thank you, love, nia

    October 27, 2013
    • It is a pretty amazing market, last one for the year now. I know, how amazing was that woman, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing when I saw it. Thanks Nia.

      October 27, 2013
  7. The woman in blue would make a fantastic model for your photos – I agree aout the gloves though. No well-dressed lady would be without them !! 🙂

    October 27, 2013
    • OH yes, I should have asked her to model for me, oh well, damn, I really should have. That is true though I don’t know that she didn’t have them, she may have been holding them in her other hand. I must look for her next time. Thanks Jacqueline.

      October 27, 2013
  8. I love vintage clothes!
    I think the story’s behind these clothes are more interesting then the modern clothes nowadays.

    October 27, 2013
    • It is amazing how many people do, my eldest daughter does as well. I like the way you look at them, the story behind them, lovely. Thanks

      October 27, 2013
  9. You had me at hats. Vintage is just the icing on the cake, preferably hat-shaped 😉

    October 27, 2013
    • Haha, that is fantastic, you would have loved this one today, there were hats everywhere. 🙂 Thanks

      October 27, 2013
      • I’m sure I would’ve found them irresistible. That said, I must find more hat-friendly events to go to, otherwise the poor hats will go mad with boredom.
        Umm that would make me a madhatter, wouldn’t it? All good as long as Halloween is here, but it won’t do for the rest of the year 😉

        October 27, 2013
      • See if you were in Melbourne you could wear the hats a lot at the moment because of all the horse racing that will be going on in the next few weeks.
        Your hats wouldn’t be bored then. Sounds like you need to travel around the world with your hats, haha. 😉

        October 27, 2013
      • What an great idea! There must be a story in this: “Vic’s Wondering Hats” or “The Adventurous Ramblings Of A Travelling Hatter” 😉
        Have been meaning to visit Australia for quite a while now – perhaps this next year will be the year when I finally make it.

        October 27, 2013
      • I love that how wonderful would that be. You could be like those poeple that blog about what clothes they wear, you could blog or write about what hat you wore and wear you wore it. Love it. Love both titles.
        Well, if you want to wear hats this is the time for them here, I don’t really know how long the Spring Racing Carnival goes for, but I know next week is the major week, with the Melbourne Cup.

        October 28, 2013
  10. Love the textures!

    October 27, 2013
    • They are great, I even photographed some from clothes to use in images. I asked first of course. Thanks.

      October 28, 2013
  11. how cool and what a treasure trove

    October 27, 2013
    • Oh yes, it wasn’t really expensive either, which was also good. I love it, but my girls kept rushing me, maybe next time I will leave both at home, well definitely one of them. Thanks ksbeth.

      October 28, 2013
  12. What criteria qualify clothes to be regarded as ‘vintage’? I must admit it is not a term I have come across in that context.
    The style of that blue dress, with stiff petticoats, was very much a sixties thing.

    October 27, 2013
    • Well that’s the thing isn’t it, you keep hearing stall holders saying, oh its new, so if it is new how can it be vintage, I did wonder that myself. I would have thought vintage meant old, anything before 40’s or 50’s, but in this case maybe not, seems to be anything that wants to sell second hand, so I am not entirely sure, there is also clothes that are vintage inspired, so maybe it is more that.
      See, I thought the woman in the dress was definitely late 40’s or more 50’s dress. I thought she looked vintage. I think stuff from the 60’s and 70’s is called retro isn’t it?

      October 28, 2013
      • Why on earth did I say sixties? I know full well that it was the fifties. I suppose they mean vintage in the sense of an earlier style, like stove-pipe pants for men or the first candy-striped shirts and socks.
        Or is the ‘vintage’ another euphemism for second-hand clothes like the ridiculous ‘pre-owned’ cars for secondhand ones?

        October 28, 2013
      • I don’t know Colonialist, yes, I think 50’s too. Yes, I think that is what they mean too, I sort of remember that style, meaning I’ve seen it on television, I”m not quite that old.
        I think you hit the nail on the head there, with that second part, I think it probably is mostly definitely that, still you can get some nice clothes and they aren’t too expensive, though I think it is all for women.

        October 28, 2013
  13. The woman who comes dressed in vintage clothing is intriguing! Thanks for sharing this market. I love vintage anything, but I didn’t know there was a place primarily dedicated to clothing!

    October 27, 2013
    • You are welcome Rusha, it is a great market, so much stuff to look at. They have markets all the time around Melbourne now, it is becoming the new thing, vintage clothing. The woman was so cool, she looked like a character from a tv show. Thanks Rusha.

      October 28, 2013
  14. Looks like a pretty neat place!

    October 27, 2013
    • It was, some wonderful clothing. Thanks

      October 28, 2013
      • Can not wait to loose the rest I want and hit the tiny shops in NYC I will ave a complete MAKEOVER 🙂

        October 28, 2013
      • Good luck with that, very exciting time for you. 🙂

        October 28, 2013
      • It will be a huge celebration to be back fully to my real self
        🙂

        October 28, 2013
      • I can imagine. 🙂

        October 28, 2013
      • 🙂

        October 28, 2013
  15. poppytump #

    Oh great post Leanne ! Really looks very much like the Vintage Markets that are very popular over here with everything from clothes to everyday items for the home .
    I think you had fun ! Am glad you took the photo of the well dressed woman … so striking … so elegant … so b r a v e 😉

    October 28, 2013
    • Thanks Poppytump, great market, only this one only has clothes, shoes, jewellery and hats. So much stuff to look at. I have to admit I wasn’t looking for lots of costumes as I found a place to get all my costumes for my portraits, and while they will cost money, not a lot and I change them often. I can’t wait to start using them. I am glad I got the woman too, I just had to take a photo, just so I would remember her, she was incredibly brave, not sure I could do that. 🙂

      October 28, 2013
      • poppytump #

        I’m pretty D*** sure I couldn’t Lolol
        Looking forward to seeing these vintage costumes of yours in future photographic portraits 🙂
        Loved the image of the young happy couple on your other website !

        October 28, 2013
      • Me either, LOL
        I just need my models to finish their exams so I can start organising some shoots.
        Thank you, I loved that image, I have more to show you guys on my main blog but will do it tomorrow, Tuesday. They were happy with what I did and wrote a beautiful wonderful review on Photographer.com.au for me. I am almost sad that it is all over now.

        October 28, 2013
      • poppytump #

        Aww more to come like this I’m sure now Leanne 😉
        I shall hop over there to see .
        Enjoy your day … we are battening down the hatches for a big storm … hoping it bypasses us and our very vulnerable Victorian slate roof eeek ! x

        October 28, 2013
      • I hope so, I can’t believe I am saying that, but I do want to do more weddings, though not a lot, maybe one a month.
        Oh, I hope you don’t get any damage, I love big storms, but they can also be quite scary, hold tight. Will be thinking of you today.

        October 28, 2013
  16. Oh my are these things not beautiful…fantastic little hats!

    October 28, 2013
    • They certainly are Georgia, there were many beautiful things, I couldn’t stop looking at them, though we didn’t spend a lot of money which is also good. Thanks.

      October 28, 2013
      • the temptation must have been vicious though!

        October 28, 2013
      • It wasn’t too bad, as none of the stuff I liked fits me anyway, so I would show my girls and they would say yes or no, but usually no, seems we don’t have the same taste.

        October 29, 2013
      • ah…these younger generations 😉 but they do help us save that way!

        October 29, 2013
      • That is so true, oh, so that is what I should do, say they can only buy things if I like them first, now that would save a lot of money. 😉

        October 29, 2013
      • lol…most certainly! 😉

        October 29, 2013
      • LOL 🙂

        October 29, 2013
  17. Thank you. I’ve had a very trying day and your post made it all much better. What a wonderful place! I love going to antique fairs but haven’t seen any specific vintage clothes ones organised close to where I live. Maybe I’ll have to venture a bit further afield in the future.

    October 28, 2013
    • That is wonderful, glad it made you feel better. They are fairly new here, so may be they do have them there. They aren’t widely known about around here. Great idea though, I love seeing all the old clothes. Let me know if you find one around you. Thanks Olganm

      October 28, 2013
  18. Reblogged this on deejayiwan.

    October 28, 2013
  19. I’d love to take our younger daughter there, although I’d have to take a lot of money, too. 🙂

    janet

    October 28, 2013
    • You would be surprised Janet, it wasn’t really that expensive, I think we got 2 dresses, 2 tops and a pair of boots, all for $90, I think that is pretty good. It is a great market and really if you look it isn’t that expensive.

      October 28, 2013
  20. Vintage is the best! 🙂

    October 28, 2013
    • Oh yes, you can get some wonderful stuff. 🙂

      October 28, 2013
  21. I would have a great time here … The lady i blue … what a great photo – and she is so beautiful … thanks for bringing along. *smile

    October 29, 2013
    • It was a fantastic little market, I loved it, you never know what you will find. The lady in blue was spectacular and everyone just stopped and watched her, she was very beautiful.

      October 29, 2013
  22. What a fun place! I’d feel like I stepped into a different time 🙂 it would take me a few hours to leave lol

    November 3, 2013
    • It was fun Amanda, we had a great time. If you love vintage you would love it there. Thanks 🙂

      November 3, 2013

Comments are closed.

