Skip to content

With This Ring

Most of you know that a couple of weeks ago I photographed a wedding.  It isn’t something I normally do, but Sasha and Bianca saw my portrait shots and wanted me to take some wedding photos for them.  I wasn’t the main photographer there, and I tried to make sure that I didn’t get in his way, but I also managed to get some wonderful shots myself.  They have approved the photos and now I can show you a selection of the 1300 photos I took that day.

LeanneCole-sashbee-20131013-0302-2This one is probably my favourite from the whole day, though there were a lot more that came pretty close.  I put this image up on Facebook on Saturday and was amazed at how many people liked it.

LeanneCole-sashbee-20131013-0857-2I also put this image up on Sunday and again, so many said that they thought it was beautiful.  In truth, it was a beautiful wedding.  A lot of things didn’t go as planned, but we went with it and just did what we had to do.  I managed to get some amazing photos and I do feel really privileged that I was asked to take photos for them.

LeanneCole-sashbee-20131013-0337We tried lots of things, and some worked and some didn’t, but the great thing was that they trusted me and were willing to let me try many things.  The ones that did work were brilliant.  I think having the two photographers worked really well, the other one ended up doing the photos that the groom wanted and I concentrated on the bride and helped her to get what she was after.  Then while he was doing the family photos I went into the reception area and photographed all the little details that I thought she would want, as a reminder of what it looked like on the day.

LeanneCole-sashbee-20131013-1018-2I think you can tell from this image, that the day was crap, it rained on and off, and this was one of the very last photos I got in the city.  As soon as we got into the cars after this it really rained.    Though, it turned out to be good because if it hadn’t rained we would not have got the first photo I showed you.

They were such a beautiful couple and so wonderful to work with.  She kept saying she was being a bridezilla, but really she wasn’t, it was just really easy to see how much it meant to her for the day to go well.  She was never rude, or angry, in fact I thought she was a fantastic client.  I love it.  They wrote me a wonderful review on Photographers.com.au, what more could you ask for.

I am going to put a lot more into a gallery for you now, and you can browse through them.  I hope you like them as well.  I never thought I wanted to do weddings, but if I could do more like this, I would be very happy.

213 Comments
  1. beautiful, i love your title too 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, the title was so hard, but I am happy to see that you liked it. 🙂

      October 29, 2013
  2. These are beautiful!

    October 29, 2013
  3. Wow Leanne. I think you should consider more of these shoots. These are spectacular images.

    October 29, 2013
    • I would love to, just have to find the people who are willing to pay me to do them. thank you.

      October 29, 2013
  4. Those are some beautiful images!

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you.

      October 29, 2013
      • I love he pictures!! I love your atyle and vision! Can I ask you.. what lense did you use on the one with the car behind?? Fell in love wih that one!
        Congratulations again! Amazing job!

        October 29, 2013
      • That’s fantastic. I think I used my wide angle, I have fx lenses but use them on a dx lens, if that makes any sense. So I was using a 14-24mm lens, but it was more like a 21 to 35mm because of the cropped sensor. Really looking forward to getting my full frame camera so the 14-24 will really be a 14-24mm. Thanks again.

        October 29, 2013
  5. Gorgeous photos, what a beautiful presentation! And goodlooking couple of course! 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • Of course, they were goodlooking and that helped a lot, I feel so lucky to have got such a beautiful couple to photograph. Thank you. 🙂

      October 29, 2013
      • You have magic in your camera, that helps a lot too! 🙂

        October 29, 2013
      • I like the idea of that, though I couldn’t help thinking all day how much of a difference the D800 would have made. 🙂

        October 29, 2013
      • 🙂

        October 29, 2013
  6. Al #

    Magnificent Leanne.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you Al.

      October 29, 2013
      • Al #

        You’re welcome 🙂

        October 29, 2013
  7. Fantastic pictures! Many of them have a magical quality, all of the warm and beautiful.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, I love the idea of the magical quality.

      October 29, 2013
  8. Great shots! The one in the alcove and the one by the car are just awesome.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, that is great to hear. That alcove was actually a bit difficult to do, but worked out in the end.

      October 29, 2013
  9. These are fantastic. I wish I could create wedding portraits like this.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, that is fantastic to hear. I did find it hard, hard not to make them too dark, like my other stuff.

      October 29, 2013
  10. Weddings can be a real photographer’s headache, but if it is client with a preexisting relationship that is very different.

    October 29, 2013
    • I had never met them before they contacted me, but I think because I worked with the bride a bit before the wedding to make sure she was comfortable being photographed on the day really helped, so I think she trusted me to make sure she looked beautiful. thanks Ron.

      October 29, 2013
      • Leanne, modern portraiture depends a lot on people skills, somewhat less on artistic vision and least on technical aspects.

        October 29, 2013
      • I have to say that is something I am learning, and I know because I put work into helping her before hand, she was happy with me, and trusted me. I did like that a lot.

        October 29, 2013
  11. You sure did a great job, and not surprised they were pleased.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, I think the most nerve wracking part was letting them see the photos and hoping they liked them, but I think she loved them. So that was really good.

      October 29, 2013
  12. Smiles – love these Leanne!! You are awesome. 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you so much John, I am so happy with them. 🙂

      October 29, 2013
  13. Great work, Leanne. If I ever get married again, I want you to photograph the wedding.

    October 29, 2013
    • You’re on, haha, thank you.

      October 29, 2013
  14. Isaiah Williams #

    These are amazing, not the kind of tone you usually see in wedding photography! I definitely see why they wanted you there, everything looks so real and each picture tells a story. It gets old seeing the same cheesy glamourous photos in every wedding portfolio! Kudos.

    October 29, 2013
    • Yes, I know exactly what you mean, they had another photographer there that will have done those shots, I was there for a very particular reason, to get shots like this, and I loved the opportunity. It was wonderful, and I am so glad to hear that you think they are different to the usual shots, it means a lot, thank you so much Isaiah.

      October 29, 2013
  15. Fantastic!

    October 29, 2013
  16. Gorgeous shots of this beautiful couple! I love wedding photography – looking at it, not taking it – must feel like a lot of pressure! You did a fantastic job. 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • It wasn’t too bad, I actually never felt stressed, never felt nervous, I think because I was the second shooter, it was a lot more relaxing for me. I had specific things they wanted from me, and the rest of the day I could just do what I wanted and take what I wanted, I had a ball. So glad you like the photos, I am really proud of them and so happy they let me show you. Thank you.

      October 29, 2013
  17. lensaddiction #

    I like what you did with these, had a nice romantic feel to many of them. I will comment that the second image posted you chopped the edge of her train off on the left of the shot and also the first one with the car, you didnt quite get the bumper all in the shot as well, I know its a little thing but that … unfinished look is actually quite disruptive. You may well have done those deliberately but because they are so very close to the edge it feels like its just chopped off instead. I know you only want nice responses but if positive crticsm is not given, how will you know to improve 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • I have no idea how to respond to this, so I won’t.

      October 29, 2013
  18. Simply gorgeous.

    October 29, 2013
  19. stunning and i think you should have been the lead photog, but that’s just me )

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you ksbeth, actually I was very happy not to be, loved being left to do stuff I wanted to.

      October 29, 2013
  20. Really awesome photos… And your composition well just brilliant…. 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, it was a very different experience. That is wonderful to hear. 🙂

      October 29, 2013
  21. These are stellar Leanne ! In spite of not being something you usually shot, your images are fantastic ! Love how you processed them and are fashion magazine worthy.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you Emily, I was really happy with them, they didn’t turn out how I thought they would, and it was hard not to give them my usual treatment, but I am happy with them. Definitely not my usual sort of photography,but I think I could get used to it. That is great to hear, I love the idea of the fashion magazine, now wouldn’t that be something?

      October 29, 2013
      • Oh you could totally do that right now ! You have a very cutting edge look. I can see it now. You in Paris and I can say I knew you when you were a little photographer.

        October 29, 2013
      • I would love that, the fashion magazine, I am working on some new ideas, and hopefully it might be my ticket, I do love those kinds of shots, and Bianca was fantastic at the wedding, so beautiful and she just let me try things.

        October 29, 2013
  22. Congratulations to the new Mr. & Mrs.!
    They made the right choice in selecting you as their photographer. You did a most wonderful job in capturing moments of their celebratory event.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you RoSy, what a lovely thing to say, I really appreciate it.

      October 29, 2013
  23. Great job! I know one day I’m gonna be asked to do a wedding and it makes me a little anxious because people usually want the cliche shots and that’s not me but these are very interesting and gives me hope!:)

    October 29, 2013
    • I have been taking photos for a long time, and I thought it was interesting that the first time I get asked by stangers to take their photos they wanted something different, so I know that is how I would market myself, I usually tell people I don’t do weddings, but if people are happy for the Fine Art Imagery I do, then I know we could work together, it is amazing how many people out there want something different, we just have to find them. Thanks Warren.

      October 29, 2013
  24. Wow! You are really good at this. Future business?

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you so much Rusha, I loved doing it too, and future business, oh definitely if I can do the Fine Art Images, would be perfect.

      October 29, 2013
  25. Beautiful bride, beautiful images. You’re setting a unique standard for all wedding photographers. 😉

    October 29, 2013
    • Now wouldn’t that be something if I did, but there are many great wedding photographers out there, I do have to admit I loved doing it far more than I thought I would. I couldn’t do it every week though, I think I could handle one a month, that would be perfect. Thank you so much Catherine. 🙂

      October 29, 2013
  26. You did a very fine and professional job and the shots are beautiful. Along time ago, in the ages of dark rooms and color filters inside of enlargers, I did wedding photography. I eventually quit doing weddings because they were difficult and required a lot of time vs the monetary reward. That being said, you did a fantastic job. Congrats to the newly weds!
    -Mark

    October 29, 2013
    • I remember dark rooms, don’t think I could have done weddings in those days, too much hard work, so much easier with digital, then again, back in the day of film you wouldn’t have taken so many photos. Thank you so much Mark, that is great to hear. 🙂

      October 29, 2013
  27. I like number 2. The mirror shot. Very nice!

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, that was a collaboration between us, it worked out well.

      October 29, 2013
      • It really did! She should treasure that photo forever! Plus it’s good from an artistic standpoint!

        October 29, 2013
      • Her new husband is worried she will plaster the house with the photos, so I think she loved them and will treasure them. Thank you so much, that is so nice of you to say.

        October 29, 2013
  28. Maggie Beck #

    Portrait with her head on his shoulder, his eyes closed? Perfect. Magic. Speaks volumes. Positively lovely.
    Wonderful, Leanne! I am sorry all my daughters are married .. . Although it would have been quite a haul to get you to the east coast of the US to do the photos. Would have been worth it, though!

    October 29, 2013
    • I had ones of that portrait with them both having their eyes closed, and then that one popped up and I knew it had to be that one, the way she is looking at the camera, was just beautiful and him, looks like he has so much love and faith in her. I am so glad you liked it Maggie.
      Wouldn’t that be wonderful, to be flown around the world for weddings, nice thought.
      Thank you Maggie.

      October 29, 2013
  29. Truly wonderful photos!

    October 29, 2013
  30. Gorgeous photos 🙂

    October 29, 2013
  31. These are so beautiful!

    October 29, 2013
  32. You proved yourself as a wedding photographer here! The images are just superb, all of them! Congratulations, Leanne. You hit the ball out of the park! 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • Oh George, that is wonderful of you to say, I did love it, and I am so happy that people are happy with the photos, that is fantastic, thank you so much.

      October 29, 2013
  33. littlepinkdove #

    These photos are so special! I love the image with the car in the background the best (larger one). You have a unique way of combining different emotions in some of your photos, such as moodiness and happiness in the car image. The moodiness comes from the dark architecture, background and inanimate objects. The happiness comes directly to your lens from the people. You have combined your two talents into something unique and maybe this is your niche! Photographing people with the architectural elements you love to create a unique blend of emotions for the viewer.

    October 29, 2013
    • You know, I think you have really hit the nail on the head here, and it is something that I have been thinking about a lot recently and it is definitely something I want to explore a lot more. I love photographing people and architecture, so now the trick comes, how to combine it. I have started planning some photo shoots and when my new camera arrives, I will be all set to go.
      I am so glad you like these images, and I love how you have described them, this is such a wonderful comment that you have left here, thank you so very much.

      October 29, 2013
  34. I like how you infused your own craft and style into these photos vs. the random wedding photographer who takes one random photo after another.

    October 29, 2013
    • It was a tricky thing to do, they wanted my style but they didn’t want them to be too dark, that was hard. Thank you, I like that people have thought they aren’t normal photos.

      October 29, 2013
      • You are welcome. In fact, I find most wedding photos to be dull and boring. But each of yours seem to tell its own story and is what I would call an art-photo, something a step-up from the norm. Good luck on getting more wedding shoots…..

        October 29, 2013
      • Thank you Michael, I think I will have to be careful, and very specific, I don’t really want to do them as my main source of income, but hey if someone wants to pay me to do one, then I might consider it.

        October 30, 2013
      • I totally understand. Thanks for responding…..

        October 30, 2013
      • 🙂

        October 31, 2013
  35. Here you have really show what a versatile photographer you’re – you have really caught the magical moments of their day. The portrait (3rd from the top) is my favorite – such a beautiful photo – “a special moment” photo … of happiness.
    Magical gallery!

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you Viveka, what a lovely thing to say, I have many that I love and am so happy with how they turned out.

      October 29, 2013
  36. Beautiful as always! Whether your subject is water, buildings, or people…all amazing! You’ve actually inspired me to want to be a better photographer, and I just bought my first DSLR. I doubt I’ll be at your level of art any time soon. But I’m learning! Thanks for the joy! ~ Sheila

    October 29, 2013
    • Oh Sheila what a wonderful adventure you have started. How wonderful that you think I am inspiring, that is so wonderful to hear, really. I still find it hard to believe that people like my photography. Thank you so much and good luck with that DSLR, what did you get?

      October 29, 2013
      • I got a Canon Rebel, it had great reviews on Amazon, and I read that it is used by some of the bloggers I follow. Now to learn enough to really use it! ~ Sheila

        October 29, 2013
      • I don’t know much about the Rebel, Though I have people in my classes using them. Just be prepared to be confused and not understand some stuff, but the more you use it the more you will understand. It just takes time. Good luck and enjoy.

        October 29, 2013
  37. Great photos and very unique. Not surprised they liked them.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you so much Olga, that is fantastic to hear, I have been surprised at how much people have liked them.

      October 29, 2013
  38. Beautiful Leanne, you have brought that special Leanne magic and sprinkled it into these photos. Romantic, glamorous and intriguing….you have a wonderful touch. I love the outdoor shots best, especially the under the veil images, and the flying veil shots…..that brooding sky is something I associate with your portraits.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, what a lovely thing to say, I love that idea of the romantic, glamorous and intriguing and I think you are right about that sky, my favourite kind for photos. So happy you like the images, and the word magic has been flying around a lot with these images.

      October 29, 2013
  39. Exquisite, they must be thrilled to bits!

    October 29, 2013
    • I think they are, they wrote me a wonderful review, so I think they did. Thank you Gypsy.

      October 29, 2013
  40. Stunning couple and your photos are superb! x

    October 29, 2013
    • They were a stunning couple, and thank you Amanda.

      October 29, 2013
  41. Absolutely gorgeous. I am glad they let you share with us.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you Carol, I was really happy they did too, I really wanted to show people.

      October 29, 2013
  42. Wow wow wow fantastic job. I really love these. The bride and groom must be so pleased. Well done.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you Trevor, that is fantastic. I think they were really happy with them, then again they hadn’t seen the other photographers work, but hopefully they still love them.

      October 29, 2013
  43. I love this pictures, they are beautiful. I would really, really like to photograph a wedding some day. I think is a lot of responsability and you did great!

    October 29, 2013
    • It is a big job and could be a lot of responsibility, luckily for me there was another photographer as well, so that helped a lot. Good luck with that, you never know. Thank you.

      October 29, 2013
  44. It has a poetical beauty and also it is so creative. Fascinated me all. Thank you, love, nia

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, that is wonderful, I like the idea of poetical beauty.

      October 29, 2013
  45. I’m glad this was a pleasant experience for you and that you got some great shots. They all have the Leanne Cole touch to them so it is no surprise that the couple is pleased with the results.

    October 29, 2013
    • It was Robert, I was so surprised, I expected to be nervous, but I wasn’t at all, I just really enjoyed it. I was nervous going home, nervous about the photos and was so relieved to see they turned out on the computer. Thank you so much Robert.

      October 29, 2013
  46. Beautiful photos.

    October 29, 2013
  47. Leanne as I looked at the photos the thought occurred to me that these are classicly romantic images. Kind of like the old black & white colorized images from so long ago. The difference being, you get to use the actual color staying so true to the moment. They are a beautiful couple and you’ve done a great job capturing their love for one another.
    Teri

    October 29, 2013
    • I think the same Teri, I love that romantic feel to them, and think that is perfect for a wedding. Yes, I can use the colour that is true today which is so nice. Thank you so much Teri.

      October 29, 2013
  48. I’m blown-away by these…you captured a Perfect Moment in each of them. Truly, truly amazing work.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you so much Marie, I am so glad you like them, I was hoping you would.

      October 29, 2013
  49. These photos are stunning Leanne. You have captured their happiness and the love they have for each other. I would not be surprised if you are asked to do another wedding. Love these images.

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you Colline, I am so glad you can see that in the images. I loved doing them, and it would be good to do more, though not every weekend. Will have to wait and see what happens.

      October 29, 2013
  50. The Sparkling Butterfly #

    That is some of the best wedding pictures I have ever seen. They should be in a bridal magazine. Great Job! 🙂

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, that is a wonderful compliment, that would be nice, haha, thanks again. 🙂

      October 30, 2013
  51. Absolutely delightful Leanne! They have such tenderness in them. Pieces of art rather than just ordinary photographs.

    October 29, 2013
    • That is what I was hired for, to take fine art images, so I am so glad you can see that in the images. Thank you.

      October 30, 2013
  52. These are so great! May I ask what editing software you use?

    October 29, 2013
    • Thank you, I use Photoshop CC and I also used Google Nik Collection, or rather Color Efex for some of them.

      October 30, 2013
  53. Nice one, Leanne. I’ve been asked to shoot a few weddings now but have declined them all. I really love wedding photography but the pressure of being the primary shooter with no real second shooter options has scared me off.
    Sometimes I wish I was braver or more fool hardy but potentially missing a key shot is to anxiety provoking – particularly for such an important event that has taken months to prepare. Knowing also that the bride (at least) has probably thought about her ideal wedding day since she was a young girl.
    On top of this, I’ve read that some photographers have even had such insurance that the wedding could be re-staged in the event of a catastrophic disaster. Extreme, yes; but it’s been enough to make me pause at least for the minute.
    Good on you for giving your clients something they were really happy with. Well done.

    October 30, 2013
    • I have to say being the second shooter was fantastic, it was less stressful and gave me more freedom. I had things I had to do, but then I was free to take what I wanted. I think being the primary photographer is a lot of responsibility and not sure I want that. I think I would get a second shooter if I were doing a wedding, where each have their own tasks, but back each other up. That is a good way of doing it. I completely understand that dream day of brides, totally. I never got mine, but others should.
      Yes, you can get special insurance and if I were going to do more I would probably get it. It is extreme, but at the end of the day, it is the photos that they want.
      Thank you, I am so happy with them too, didn’t turn out as we had planned, but it was a lot of fun.

      October 30, 2013
  54. Nice work. Composition and lighting are first-rate.

    October 30, 2013
  55. Oh Leanne, these are indeed beautiful shots! All so pretty. Hard to pick a favorite, but mine was the one with that gorgeous car behind the newlyweds. I love what you did with that one, both in the composition itself, and the processing. Well done!

    October 30, 2013
    • So many people have liked that one and the other that is similar to it, I wasn’t sure about it and worried it might be too dark. They were concerned about the sky, and asked about a blue sky and I told them I didn’t think it would work because the lighting for everything else would be wrong then. It has been great to see so many who have liked it. Thank you so much Tricia.

      October 30, 2013
  56. These are gorgeous, gorgeous photos. Being able to work with couple, especially the bride beforehand, is definitely a plus. Your featured photo (#1) is undoubtedly has the feel of high romance, something most women like quite a lot (at least those I know).

    Fantastic work on your part.

    October 30, 2013
    • I think working with her before was a definite plus, she knew what I could do and she knew how I worked. I think it was good too because she realised I would do what I had to do to get the photos she wanted. I knew she trusted me, it was great. I love doing the photos. I love that first photos, hands down my absolute favourite. I love the style and class of it. I think you are right, women do love that sort of thing.
      Thank you so much David, it was an experience.

      October 30, 2013
  57. I love the one with the car so much!
    Actually the dark sky can all the better bring out the holy beauty of the moment.

    October 30, 2013
    • What a great way of looking at it, it certainly didn’t damper the day and I think everyone had a great time. Thank you.

      October 30, 2013
  58. Great job Leanne! I’m not sure that I’d like to shoot weddings but it would be nice to try.

    October 30, 2013
    • It is nice to do it as the second shooter, then there isn’t as much pressure on you, you can just experiment and stuff. Thank you Shane.

      October 30, 2013
  59. Pat #

    These are wonderful, Leanne. I’m sure this lovely couple were very happy with them.

    October 30, 2013
    • Thank you Pat, I really think they were.

      October 30, 2013
  60. Jen #

    Oh, these are beautiful! It was probably fun to sort of ‘stretch your legs’ with something new.

    So far as rain, I’m part Irish, and we say rain on the wedding day is very good luck. It rained cats & dogs during our ceremony—which cleared the sky for a few pretty outdoor photos before it began sprinkling again. 🙂

    October 30, 2013
    • It was Jen, great to do something a little more challenging.
      I will have to tell them that, what does it mean when the sun is really hot and it is a hot day. That is what our wedding day was like. Your wedding day sounds like how it was for this one, we got what we needed in between. Thanks

      October 30, 2013
  61. Jen #

    Oh my gosh. I’ve had such a long two days here it feels like I’ve lived through a week since Sunday night—but I love that close-up portrait of the two, 3rd from the top. The second photo is really lovely, too—it is very romantic!

    October 30, 2013
    • Thank you Jen, I love that close up too, it says so much, and yes the second one is very romantic, I love the romance in them. Isn’t that how weddings should be?

      October 30, 2013
  62. The Editor #

    Very good session – it reminds me of my wedding. The style of the photographer, very artistically gifted Italian lady, has many similarities to what you show in these images. Weddings are in my view a challenge as well as a great opportunity for originality and creativity; their very nature of predictability makes them challenging and the creativity of the photographer turn them them into opportunity to show new interpretations and styles.

    Here I like the mild low-key style, tones and soft transition, earthy colours, and composition. This is a job that ticks pretty much all boxes for great execution, processing and style.

    October 30, 2013
    • Wow what a wonderful thing to say, thank you, maybe there is hope for me. I love what you are saying, it is so true. Funny someone was telling me today how someone they knew had got married and they wanted different photos, and she got a photographer who photographed them running, and the person was saying to me, that everyone is getting that done now, so the other person thought they were getting something original and in the end they weren’t. Funny.
      Thank you so much, that is just wonderful, so glad you like it, maybe I should keep trying to do more.

      October 30, 2013
      • The Editor #

        Very difficult to comment on these things. I was reading your article about overlapping styles and so on, where you mentioned architecture. Architecture, like weddings, is predictable and repetitive, yet there can always be new interpretations. I think is down to vision, it’s what’s in one’s mind when he or she takes a shot that will turn that photo into something appealing, interesting and unique. The same photos processed in different ways can convey very different feelings. It’s like reading a story from a book: the words are the same but what is perceived by the listener will vary depending on who reads it, and how.

        What I think is the strong point in this batch of photos (and probably others from your weddings) is your interpretation of the “story”. It’s how you see it, how you live it, how you portray it in your images, your intonation, your way of telling it to those who look at the pictures, the way you sing the words in your own song…

        It’s more than hope, everything is there for you to keep doing well with weddings. If I had to condense this comment in two words, they would be: carry on.

        October 30, 2013
      • Thank you, I will carry on, though I have to confess this is really the only wedding I have done. I did photograph a friends wedding about 8 years ago, but that is pretty much it. I totally agree with what you are saying how one image can be interpreted in many ways, and some of these images were done in many different ways, conveying different feelings and such. They got all the versions, but I only showed my favourites here. I may still work on some more, they are so interesting to do.
        I really like what you were saying about the story and interpretation.

        October 30, 2013
  63. poppytump #

    These are truly beautiful Leanne .
    Your style of photography for this works so well in capturing the romance and love on such a special day .
    So many of your style elements shine through to make a really individual gallery …. no wonder the young couple were thrilled !

    October 30, 2013
    • Thank you Poppytump, I love how people have been saying that, it is so amazing. I don’t quite know what to say. Thank you, so much.

      October 30, 2013
  64. The number one shootist will have done marvellously well to succeed in taking more impressive shots than these.

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you, though I don’t think he was required to, I know his skills on the computer aren’t up the same as mine. His responsibility was to get the normal wedding photos, they wanted me to get them the images for the walls.

      October 31, 2013
  65. These are stunning, Leanne! Some beautiful captures. Exceptional portraits. I think you’re a natural.

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, thank you a lot, that means a lot.

      October 31, 2013
  66. The grey day really made their colors special. A blue sky wouldn’t have been as romantic. So…luck!

    October 31, 2013
    • I think you are right there, it did make the images something else completely. Thank you.

      October 31, 2013
  67. Oh my goodness Leanne, these are fabulous!!! You’re right they are both beautiful people, and the surroundings are lovely as well, but your creativity made it’s imprint on ever shot. I can’t wait to see my daughter’s pictures. She wouldn’t let me take my camera to the wedding… said it was “unsightly” for the Brides mom to be taking pictures… LMAO…. I still tried… a little, with my cell phone. She swears the fuzziness is “Operator error”, but I swear I think my little camera is flawed… 😀

    October 31, 2013
    • Haha, I think that is so funny she wouldn’t let you take hers. I am sure her photos will be fabulous too. My camera on my phone is crap and takes terrible photos, so I am with you on that one. Thanks Keli.

      October 31, 2013
  68. they all have such a dreamy feel to them…perfect for wedding photos! Very impressive, they are just exquisite!

    October 31, 2013
  69. Wow, a couple who gets you as a wedding photographer cannot possible be dissapointed! Lovely photos, all of them. I like the number 8 from above and left in particular since it’s so cute and feels so easy and unpretentious (for a weddingpic). Also number 12 and 16 are really good as well. Great work, as always:)

    October 31, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you. Great to know which ones you like.

      October 31, 2013
  70. (I’m late at viewing these, and make a point of not reading other comments before I write mine, and, not surprisingly, there are 148 comments already here) BUT, briefly, these are absolutely awesome, and you were NOT the prime photographer???? The style, lighting, creativity, mechanics, and processing, just make the already beautiful couple shine like diamonds. A typical question I would ask is how your lighting is so beautifully differentiated within many of the images, as in the second one down from the top (kissing.) If my two children were not already married, I’d be looking you up. (OK, half way around the world may be a problem.) Simply put: Nice work!!

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you so much, that is wonderful. I think it was a lot of luck with the lighting, though I did use the external flash on my camera, but set for very soft light and I put the diffuser over it.

      October 31, 2013
  71. The pictures are so beautiful!

    October 31, 2013
  72. these are beautiful. good job! So are you smitten by the wedding bug? Beautiful venue!

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, it helps when they are a great looking couple and the venue is beautiful. I might have got that wedding bug, LOL.

      November 1, 2013
  73. M #

    so beautiful. My daughter is getting married in a year….and she wants black, red and white to be her colors.

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you M, I like the colours she is picking, will she wear white?

      November 1, 2013
      • M #

        Yes she is wearing white dress but wants a black accent The red and white captured here are spectacular

        November 1, 2013
      • Sounds really interesting, I hope she gets what she wants. They worked really well in these images.

        November 1, 2013
  74. Again very nice work. Now you will have something to show others looking for some of the non traditional wedding shots. I am so glad they allowed you to show us.

    November 1, 2013
    • Yes, I think so too, it was a great opportunity.

      November 1, 2013
  75. TheWriteBoat #

    Emotion beautifully captured.

    November 1, 2013
  76. Outstanding work, as always.

    November 1, 2013
  77. Stunning work

    November 1, 2013
  78. Very, very nice.

    November 1, 2013
  79. Very nice stuff, Leanne. As far as weddings go, it’s from the various shots taken by the attendees and not the main photographer– which provide the best memories, especially later in life– So I say… Have a wonderful day.

    November 2, 2013
    • Luckily I wasn’t the main photographer, I took lots of shots of things like how the tables looked, the candles, the flowers, the view from where they were sitting, and the kind of things that I knew they would forget about in years to come. Thanks

      November 2, 2013
  80. Oh my goodness Leanne, what can’t you do?? Haha! These are so gorgeous and romantic and perfect! I’m so glad they worked so well with you and gave you such a great review! I was also thinking of creating a Facebook photography page, but haven’t gotten to it yet. I’m just so happy for you that you had this opportunity and I can’t wait to see more wedding shots from you 😀

    November 4, 2013
    • I am sure there is lots I can’t do, I don’t do landscapes very well. I am glad they worked out as well and they were happy with them. I think a photography page on Facebook can be good, for different reasons to the blog. I have one, had it for a few years now, and it works out quite well, good place to put stuff up quickly. I hope to get more weddings, eventually, see what happens. Thanks Amanda.

      November 4, 2013
  81. What beautiful photos, the couple must be very pleased, and you should be very proud of your work.

    November 6, 2013
    • Thank you Chris, I think they were, they seemed very happy.

      November 6, 2013
  82. Beautiful images, so much better than the standard shots. You could certainly do this for a living if you chose to!

    November 6, 2013
    • Thank you, I think I would like to do them every now and then, maybe no more than once a month, it is finding the market that would be the problem.

      November 6, 2013
  83. Absolutely stunning … congratulations.

    November 7, 2013
  84. Very creative wedding photography!

    November 7, 2013
  85. My favorite is the photo where to groom closed his eyes. So soulful.

    November 8, 2013
    • I love the look on both their faces, it is a beautiful moment. Thank you.

      November 8, 2013
  86. Wonderful photos. You sure made their day look especial (in pictures). 🙂

    November 9, 2013
    • Thank you, I hope so, hopefully they will treasure the images. 🙂

      November 9, 2013
  87. Wow – Leanne they are stunning! The main photographer would have to be pretty darn good to do better than yours. I’m sure Sasha and Bianca are stoked with these and the main photographer just a little jealous 🙂

    November 11, 2013
    • I don’t know, I haven’t seen or heard what his photos were like. Though, I was hired to do these kinds of photos, and I think they were really happy with them. Thank you.

      November 11, 2013
  88. What a stylish site and what breathtaking photos. I’m stunned you liked my virtual pictures, thank you for visiting. I’m sure that you must get more commissions if people see this work. Lovely!

    November 12, 2013
    • I think of WP as all about encouragement, I like a lot of things, Thank you for coming back and visiting mine.

      November 12, 2013
  89. What amazing photos – full of imagination and wonderful portraits

    November 12, 2013
    • Thank you, that is so good to hear, I was so happy with the photos.

      November 13, 2013
  90. Leanne,

    Beautiful work. I don’t do a lot of portraits – but if I did, I’d certainly go for the same look you captured.

    November 13, 2013
    • Thank you, that is such a nice compliment.

      November 13, 2013
  91. The bride and groom look so happy! I have been to a number of weddings and never have I seen such blissful expressions and body language.

    November 16, 2013
    • I thought they were a great couple and they were so good to photograph. I am sure they would love to hear that, thank you Jerry.

      November 16, 2013
  92. I’ve shot a few weddings and it’s now clear that I have to up my game! 🙂 These are simply brilliant.

    November 23, 2013
    • I have only ever shot a couple, it is such a big responsibility. Thank you so much Jeff, I was very proud of these.

      November 23, 2013
  93. What an incredible job!! Beautiful!! Very well done!

    November 23, 2013
    • Thank you Kirt, that is nice of you to say.

      November 23, 2013
  94. Beautiful photography.

    November 23, 2013
  95. hutchphotography2020 #

    Beautiful images. Terrific processing.

    November 24, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Experimenting on a Bride and a Groom | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

