Skip to content

A Quick Look at the City

As I said yesterday, today I am driving along the Great Ocean Road with Nia and her husband.  It is exciting to be doing this journey, not something I have done before really .  Well, not all in one day, so it is going to be wonderful.  As I said, we are planning on stopping here and there to take photos, so I should have some great shots for my posts this weekend.

So for today I thought I would share with you a couple of photos I took in the city yesterday.

LeanneCole-city-0471This is the view from Nia’s room in the Sofitel in Melbourne.  Could you ask for any better?  I could have sat there for hours just watching.  Maybe I should rent a room for the night and just watch the world going by.

LeanneCole-city-0474This is to the left of the previous one.  It looks out onto the river, the Botanical Gardens, and our many sports stadiums.  I’ve told you before, haven’t I, how Melbourne prides itself on sport, really prides itself.  I couldn’t really care, I wish they would spend some of the money they spend on sport on things that are really important, you know, like education and, oh, I don’t know hospitals and health maybe.  Okay, I will stop there.

LeanneCole-city-0531I had to show them Hosier Lane and all the graffiti, or street art.  It was a bit disappointing, the taggers have taken over quite a bit and it looks like it is infected by something.  There are scribbles everywhere, so terrible and tacky.  Taggers really do lack respect.  I hate what they have done to the Lane.

LeanneCole-city-0525We went to lots of lanes, arcades, and places that I love.  Melbourne is such a great city if you love architecture.  The image above is part of the ceiling in the arcade that is part of the Nicholas Building.

LeanneCole-city-0611I have meaning to take a photo of this for so long.  These are signs along the wall of a tunnel at the end of Flinders Street Station, a short cut from Flinders Street to the river and the bridge over to South Gate.  We had lunch at South Gate.

It was such a pleasure and so much fun to show my city to people who didn’t know it.  Showing off places that I have photographed and realising there is still so much more for me to photograph.  If you love architecture, Melbourne is definitely the place to come.

51 Comments
  1. No surprise…beautiful work!

    October 31, 2013
  2. It is a treasure to see these images, and I can’t wait for the coastal road, as I’ve heard of it before, and would someday love to make it part of an Australian adventure

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you, the trip went really well and I got some photos that I will show over the weekend. I think the coast is a great to make, I really think they enjoyed it, and the last part they loved, the 12 Apostles.

      October 31, 2013
  3. The architecture looks incredible. You’ll need a trip stateside though to see Chicago architecture. You would so have a time shooting up the city. Beautiful work as always.

    October 31, 2013
    • I think you are right there, I have seen some photos of the architecture in Chicago and it looks amazing. Thank you.

      October 31, 2013
  4. What a splendid view from the Sofitel!!

    October 31, 2013
    • I know, how amazing is that view. I want to go and stay there now. Thank you.

      October 31, 2013
  5. I have been leaving in Melbourne for almost 5 years and the only thing I could spot was the graffiti lane-haha! That’s really bad on my part, but I guess I had to discover all by myself and sometimes I need a bit more motivation to venture the streets all by myself:) I should really check the signs next time I am at Flinders:) looking forward to see more of your adventure.

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you, I love the city and I’ve been exploring it for so many years. It is a great city to explore, so much to see. Good luck.

      October 31, 2013
  6. It’s good to show people around, it always makes me notice new things.

    October 31, 2013
    • That is so true, you start to see things through their eyes. Thanks Gypsy.

      October 31, 2013
  7. Suzanne #

    Enjoy the trip. I’m sure you will get some fabulous photos along the way.

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you Suzanne, I loved the trip it was a fantastic day and the weather was perfect for it.

      October 31, 2013
  8. The Great Ocean Road is amazing and Melbourne is my favorite city in Auatralia. I absolutely loved the architecture there.
    xo T

    October 31, 2013
    • Oh same, the architecture in Melbourne is wonderful. The Great Ocean Road is fantastic. Thank you.

      October 31, 2013
  9. The Fountain #

    Loved each one of them very much. And yes, a great view. Thanks for sharing it.

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you so much, that view is so amazing, I want to stay there. Thank you.

      October 31, 2013
  10. Nia surely has a great view of the city. She and her husband are so lucky to have you for a guide while they visit Leanne.

    October 31, 2013
    • Oh she did, just brilliant. Well, I don’t know, I didn’t know a lot of history, but I had a lot of fun and Nia said it was like walking into my blog which I thought was a fun idea. Thank you Carol

      October 31, 2013
  11. Thanks for the views from your part of the world. Good to see, except maybe the graffiti.

    October 31, 2013
    • You are very welcome Carolyn. The graffiti is in a lane that is for graffiti, street art, so there it is good to see. Hosier Lane has become a big tourist attraction because of it.

      November 1, 2013
  12. My son is a Graffiti artist and hate when someone ruins the love put into a piece 😦

    Dam they really spit everywhere 😦 Nasty

    November 1, 2013
    • It is just so horrible, no respect, those tags are just ugly. I am with your son on this.
      They do, but it is illegal in Victoria to do it and you can get fined, though I think that law may have been changed, but it was certainly there in the 90’s when a pedestrian spat at our then Premier (Govenor) and the Premier had him charged.

      November 1, 2013
      • Just disgusting 😦

        November 1, 2013
      • No not really, the Premier deserved it, he was a real pig, and really did ruin this state. Most people hated him.

        November 1, 2013
      • 🙂 Yikes!

        November 17, 2013
  13. nice! Looks like a great day!

    November 1, 2013
    • It was Darla, so amazing to talk in front of people that you have only ever typed with. Thanks

      November 1, 2013
  14. LB #

    Love the city shots, but can’t wait for the Great Ocean Road photos! I’ve missed many posts while recuperating from my accident. Any faves that you want to direct me to?

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you LB, I will post the Great Ocean Road shots on the weekend, thought I might see if I can get two posts out them. I hope you get better soon, sorry to hear the bike was totalled. Faves, good question, I put up some shots from a wedding a couple of days ago that I am really proud of. I will give you links to the 3 most popular in the last bit. Though you have probably seen them.
      http://leannecolephotography.com/2013/10/19/weekend-wanderings-revisiting-inverleigh-and-lorne/
      http://leannecolephotography.com/2013/10/24/trying-not-to-blend-in/
      http://leannecolephotography.com/2013/10/29/with-this-ring/
      Take care and I hope you get better soon.

      November 1, 2013
      • LB #

        WOW! The wedding photos are beautiful (as are the bride and groom). Even though some of the shots are sort of “traditional” they are still unique and not at all typical. I’d have been so happy if I was that bride!
        I also loved the Inverleigh photos. The skies / clouds were so dramatic. Really stunning!

        November 1, 2013
      • Well, you can’t be original with all the shots, sometimes you have to do the traditional thing, :). It was nice to do a mixture and then see what I could do with them. I think the bride was very happy. I loved photographing her.
        Thank you LB, those skies were so brilliant.

        November 1, 2013
  15. “DO NOT SPIT”; is that street art or actual signage from the city?

    November 1, 2013
    • It is actual signage, but it has been there since it was built, so over a hundred years. I think it is quite famous signage now, I hope they never remove it.

      November 1, 2013
  16. What a fantastic view. Looks like you took Nia and her husband on a really interesting tour. Yes, what is it about sport?…

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, we had fun, I took her to places that I had photographed, my favourite places. I have no idea what it is about sport. I think it has something to do that saying bread and circus’, if people have enough to eat and something to entertain them then they don’t notice that everything else is falling apart.

      November 1, 2013
  17. We had so much fun with you and loved Melbourne. I wanted to sit and look at that view all day too! I would recommend to anyone who has mobility issues, if you would like an easy thing to travel and sight see, to get a room at the Sofitel on Collins. You can just sit there in your room and see Melbourne and they’ll deliver room service!

    But thank you, Leanne, for getting us out of our room and sharing this cool city with us. The mix of old and new architecture is stunning. I loved the arcades, stopping for a beautiful scone, and later coming back for dinner on Degraves Street. Melbourne is a magical place.

    Best of all, I loved walking through your blog in real life! What a unique experience.

    Thank you again, for an amazing visit.

    Nia

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, it was great. I would want to do that with that view as well. I saw you night photo.

      I am so glad you enjoyed my tour, it was a bit all over the place, but we got there.
      I like that idea that you felt like you were walking through my blog, fantastic.
      You are very very very welcome, I loved it.

      November 2, 2013
  18. Leanne, thanks a lot for checking out my blog the other week. I am loving these shots of the city. It’s always great to connect with another photographer on the blogs and I am enjoying what you have on here so far. How did you get your start in the field? Thanks again and talk soon. -Alexander Johnny

    November 2, 2013
    • You are very welcome Alexander. I love connecting with others, this blog has been fantastic for that, and I love that I have made so many friends. How did I get started, in what way? Photography, I got a SLR for my birthday about 20 years ago and I have been developing my skills since then. I just keep going out and doing stuff. Thanks

      November 2, 2013
  19. “Do not Spit”… that one made me smile. 😀

    November 4, 2013
    • It is quite extraordinary to see a sign like that, I really hope they don’t get rid of them when they redevelop. My husband thinks that they might have been there because of tuberculosis, when it was epidemic.

      November 4, 2013
      • Oh… interesting! That makes sense. Neat to get the historical understanding of it.

        November 4, 2013
      • Yes it does, not sure if that is the reason, but it does seem the most logical.

        November 4, 2013
  20. Thanks for sharing these shots. I like it when a really good photographer gives me glimpses of cities I might never get to visit.

    November 5, 2013
    • What a wonderful thing to say John, thank you so much. I do love my city and I do love photographing it.

      November 5, 2013
  21. Wow those buildings are really incredible! I’m so glad it’s been so fun and I love the different art and signs haha! Its fun to explore with you guys 🙂

    November 13, 2013
    • We do have some good stuff here, you will have to come one day so I can show you.

      November 13, 2013

Comments are closed.

