Skip to content

New Toys

I got a new toy, well two really.  The Nikon D800 arrived this morning from the Nikon Store along with a 50mm lens.  I have been playing with it all morning and sorting out what does what, setting all the different things up in it.  So much fun to get something new.  It seems incredible so far.

I wasn’t going to do a post on this today, but thought I would share a few photos I took with it this morning.  As I said, it isn’t all set up yet, but I couldn’t wait to tell you about it and show you some images.

These were taken with the 50mm lens and the aperture was set on f/1.8.  Love the depth of field.  I tried my 14-24mm on it, and I can get a much wider shot, that is going to be fantastic for shooting architecture.

So thank you to the Nikon Store for helping me out with this.

nikon_store_brandmark

111 Comments
  1. oh I’m so envious.. the photos look amazing..

    November 1, 2013
    • I know exactly what you mean, I never thought I would get this camera, you just never know what will happen. Thank you Livonne, I hope you get one too.

      November 1, 2013
  2. Yes, the bokeh is great with this lens. I will be interested to discover what you think of the D800 as you go along. These are sharp and really great images.

    November 1, 2013
    • So far fantastic George, I am looking forward to taking it out and really testing it, so will plan something this weekend. I will let you know. Thanks.

      November 1, 2013
  3. Have fun with your new toy! 🙂

    November 1, 2013
    • I am sure I will RoSy, thank you.

      November 1, 2013
  4. I have the D600 and LOVE IT! The full frame format is fantastic! Hope you enjoy yourD800, Leanne.
    Cathy

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you Cathy, I am sure I will, the full frame is going to be fantastic to explore. The D600 is a great camera too, I bet you are really happy with it, oh you said that, haha.

      November 1, 2013
  5. Thanks for sharing this amazing shots. Enjoy your new Toy. Cheers!

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you, I will enjoy my new toy I am sure.

      November 1, 2013
  6. how so very kewl 🙂

    November 1, 2013
  7. I have the 800E and I am so excited to see you have the 800 ! I am sure you will love it !

    November 1, 2013
    • I looked at the D800E but in the end decided the D800 would suit what I do more, and I am sure I will love it, they are great cameras. Thank you.

      November 1, 2013
      • I got the E cuz the 800 was out of stock ! lol ! but yayyy new gear is always happy time.

        November 1, 2013
      • Oh yeah, I would probably do the same, once I got the money together I did not want to wait any longer. I know what you mean, very happy time.

        November 1, 2013
  8. Love my 800

    November 1, 2013
    • Absolutely, thanks for the link.

      November 1, 2013
  9. BEAUTIFUL images… as always of course! 🙂 I’m a Canon girl, but one of my best friends shoots with a Nikon, and images she took with her 50mm when we were out on an adventure one night made it necessary for me to make a 50mm a goal. I was in HEAVEN once I finally got one- that depth of field is AMAZING. It’s definitely become a go-to for me.

    November 1, 2013
    • I have never been one for the prime lenses, but I decided to give one a go and see how it goes, could be interesting, though, I still think I am more a zoom lens person, not sure about the fixed focal length. I can see what you mean though. Thanks Katie.

      November 1, 2013
      • I am certainly one for zoom lenses. I only have two primes- the 50mm and a 40mm. I never use the 40, though I want to start playing with it more. The fixed focal length took me quite a bit of getting used to, I kept wanting to twist the front to zoom and I’d end up messing up my focus 😀 I mostly do portraits and I’m in the woods a lot, so the running backward to get more of the body in the frame can be dangerous, but I noticed my image quality was so much better with the 50. I’m also extremely excited about the aperture on it, because none of my zooms can compete 😀 I would say that my two most used are the 50 and my 24-105.

        November 2, 2013
      • I have heard the 35mm is great prime lens and many photographers use it. I am not sure how I would go with the 50, I would be a bit worried that it would be too limiting, but I can see it would be good for some things. I think prime lenses are always going to give you a sharper images, but most people can’t tell the difference anyway, but I know what you mean. I spent a heap of money on some really good quality lenses from Nikon in the last couple of years, and the images with them are so much sharper than the ones taken with the cheaper lenses I have. The lenses I use the most are the 24-70 and the 14-24, the latter is probably my favourite, but not for portraits, I use the other one for those. I may start trying the 50mm for portraits, see what it is like. Thanks Katie, nice to hear how you work.

        November 2, 2013
      • I also have the D800 and 50mm (f/1.4) – the 50mm has been my favorite lens for several years now. I got it because I wanted something fast for indoor portraits in available light. I came to love it for it’s sharpness, depth of field, and beautiful bokeh. With the D800s super high resolution and it’s close focusing distance, it’s almost a macro lens. That said, even though it’s still my favorite lens, I do find that I go to my 35mm f/2 more frequently since going FX.

        The 35mm seems better for many landscape and group photo situations, and without the extra reach of the DX conversion factor the 50mm sometimes seems wide for portraits. (But I *do* still use the D800/50mm combo for landscapes – in fact, captured this one a couple days ago: http://johnmullinax.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/heritage-park-sunrise-3/ 🙂 )

        November 2, 2013
      • I am curious to see if I end up loving it as well. So many people have been saying how much they love their 50mm that I might really have to give it a go. I might have to go that extra bit and get a 35mm at some stage, seems to be a good combination for photographing portraits.

        I am not sure how I will go at this stage, but it could be a lot of fun seeing what happens, I have wanted full frame for a while, though the real reason for getting the camera was the ISO and the less noise at the higher end. The D300s is crap when you had to put up the ISO. Love your photo, it is spectacular John. 🙂

        November 2, 2013
      • Oh, and congrats with your new toys! Look forward to seeing the photos you capture with them!

        November 2, 2013
      • Thanks John, lots of experiments and new images coming soon I hope.

        November 2, 2013
  10. poppytump #

    *SOHAPPYFORYOU* Leanne 🙂
    Have a great weekend out and about with your new D800 … your weather there looks gorgeous !

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you, and thank you,
      it is going to be a great weekend for photos, just need to figure out where to go now. 🙂

      November 1, 2013
  11. I loved my D800 eventhough it means bigger memory cards and more frequent additional of hard-drives … Have a good time with yours Leanne

    November 1, 2013
    • Yes, that was something I really had to consider, but I hope in the end it will be worth. I am getting to a stage in my career where I think it is really important to have a camera like this. Fun times ahead. Thank you so much Iksa.

      November 1, 2013
  12. Très lumineux ♥

    November 1, 2013
    • Yes, very bright, it was very sunny this morning, not the best time for taking photos.

      November 1, 2013
  13. This will be exciting!

    November 1, 2013
  14. Congratulations Leanne, have fun 🙂

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you David, I am sure I will. 🙂

      November 1, 2013
  15. Looks good. Can’t wait to see what you get once you and the camera get to know each other 🙂

    November 1, 2013
    • Thanks Marie, neither can I, so many new possibilities.

      November 1, 2013
  16. Congratulations! That is a great camera.

    November 1, 2013
  17. Congratulations – happy full-frame 36MP shooting!

    November 1, 2013
    • Yeah, the 36MP is a bit of a worry, will have to start getting rid of heaps of stuff of my computer to make room. Really like the full frame. Thanks Robert.

      November 2, 2013
      • Partly out of paranoia and partly out of the ever increasing need for space – I have recently installed a four bay DROBO (Data Robotics) RAID for my images – Run this by your IT support 🙂

        November 2, 2013
      • I did something similar a couple of years ago when I was photographing the cycling, well, my husband did he is an IT guy, so my IT man. We have a NAS set up, with multiple hard disks in it.

        November 2, 2013
      • Good deal – That’s how I get a hot meal at the house, I do IT work at home to keep my wife’s business running. Glad your images are covered!

        November 2, 2013
      • Haha, that is brilliant Robert, it very handy having a live-in IT person. My images certainly are. A few years ago my husband decided that my computer didn’t need a back up, what could happen here at home, huh, then my hard disk died and we lost all the photos we had started taking with the digital camera. We have had back ups in place since then.

        November 2, 2013
  18. Bet you’re having fun. 🙂 I have a lens like that with my creaky old Canon, and it’s my favourite… left on most of the time.

    November 1, 2013
    • Oh I am, lots, 🙂 I am not sure about the lens, but am happy to have a go with it, thanks Delilah.

      November 2, 2013
  19. Wow…and she calls them toys! Think you’re going to come up with some great stuff.!

    November 1, 2013
    • Oooh yeah, new pretty things to play with and find out how to use Georgia, thank you, I have some new work I want to try and I have been waiting for the camera to arrive. I can’t wait.

      November 2, 2013
  20. Congrats on the D800! I love mine and use many of its features from the sensor crops to multiple exposures. Great photos with lovely depth of field. Looking forward to more from the new toy.

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you, I can see I will using lots of those as well, have to work out how it all works yet, but I am planning on sitting down with the manual soon.

      November 2, 2013
  21. I never thought I would be enjoying the 50mm 1.4 as much as I do. It’s the only lens I travel with (most of the time). I think you will find it to be a great addition.

    November 1, 2013
    • I didn’t get the 1.4mm, I didn’t want to spend the extra money on that, so I will just have to settle for the 1.8, though if I were to get another prime lens, I would probably go for the 35mm. I am looking forward to seeing what the 50mm is like and think I will have to give it a good try. Thanks.

      November 2, 2013
      • The 1.8 is a great lens. I think a prime makes you look and compose more carefully. Looking forward to seeing your work with the 50.

        November 2, 2013
      • It is funny, I never thought I wanted one, but I have been thinking about getting one for a while now. So I know I will try it and I will see what I get, I am looking forward to trying it out on my portrait work.

        November 2, 2013
      • The 1.8 is a great lens. Looking forward to seeing your work with the 50.

        November 2, 2013
      • Thanks

        November 2, 2013
  22. Very nice introduction. Looking forward to seeing your works with your new toys. 🙂

    November 1, 2013
    • Thank you, I am looking forward to using it and seeing what it can do. Should be great. 🙂

      November 2, 2013
  23. Nikon is awesome… I love mine and my 50 1.8 is my go to lens 🙂
    I always love looking at your photos, your work is beautiful!

    November 1, 2013
    • That lens is the same as the one I got, so it will be good to see how I find it. Yes, Nikon is awesome, I love their cameras, but I think I love their lenses more, they are so good.
      Thank you, that is lovely to hear.

      November 2, 2013
  24. Good for you! Congrats

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, I might have to ask you some questions about it. I am still trying to figure it all out.

      November 2, 2013
  25. Great photos–and terrible gear envy! I’m looking forward to your shots with this camera. I’ve read reviews suggesting that the sensor is so good that it will handle anything thrown at it.

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you, and I know all about that gear envy, I’ve been feeling it for some time, was so happy that I could finally get one. It is supposed to be a pretty amazing camera, it is going to be fun seeing what it does.

      November 2, 2013
  26. How very awesome!!!!!

    I love new toys – and your new toy is a nice one!!!

    Have lots of fun this weekend : )

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you Michael, I love new toys too, so much to learn and work out. Long weekend here too, so lots of time to play.

      November 2, 2013
  27. Glad you enjoy your new toy. Waiting for your new projects with that lovely equipment.

    November 2, 2013
    • New projects are certainly planned, going to be a lot of fun I think. Thank you.

      November 2, 2013
  28. I´m very pleased with mine! Good luck and enjoy it! Looking forward to seeing more results
    Charles

    November 2, 2013
    • I have never heard anyone say they didn’t like them, so that is wonderful, I know I will love it. Thank you Charles, I have so many things planned, I can finally start some new things.

      November 2, 2013
  29. Nice! Hope you enjoy your new camera and lens!

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you, I am sure I will.

      November 2, 2013
  30. My favorite is the one that adorns the top of your page. A young lady on the ground. Victorian. Charles Dickens would be proud!

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you Bill, that is one of my favourites, I want to get back to doing more portraits and have some new things planned.

      November 2, 2013
  31. Gorgeous, gorgeous photos. It’s fun playing when you get new stuff.

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you David, it is fun, I am really looking forward to seeing what it can do.

      November 2, 2013
  32. Irene Landon #

    Love your photos and as an ex-pat Melbournian particularly love the architectural photos…..they bring back so many wonderful memories–but must ask is the white flower really a Mirboo lily? Irene

    November 2, 2013
    • That is wonderful to hear Irene, there will always be photos of our wonderful architecture, I love it too much. I don’t know what that white flower is, some kind of Lily I know that, I have them everywhere in my garden. I have heard them called rain flowers, they only come out after a rain, I have heard them being called African LIlies, that is about all I know.
      Thanks

      November 2, 2013
  33. Jen #

    Oh, love that white and purple flower as well as what I believe is a bird of paradise beside it. Picked up 50mm for my Canon a few years ago—I love it, it’s such fun to play with, isn’t it? Have fun!

    November 2, 2013
    • Yes, bird of paradise Jen, I love them, even after they die they look fantastic. I love the other one you mentioned as well. I have to play more with it, but I can certainly see a place for it, which is good, looking forward to seeing what I can do with it. Thanks Jen.

      November 2, 2013
  34. Your new camera arrived! Hooray! Like the photos. 🙂

    November 2, 2013
    • It certainly did, first thing in the morning, it is so good. I am playing a bit with it. Thanks Nia.

      November 2, 2013
  35. your photos do look smazingly clear….slready visited the Store….just to lookat the moment: ))

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you, it is such an amazing camera to use, and I think I might love that lens. Thanks for looking at the Nikon store, always good to look.

      November 2, 2013
  36. Isn’t it the best when you get a cool new camera 🙂 It’s like falling in love. Enjoy your honeymoon.

    November 2, 2013
    • Thank you, I love that idea, and yes it is like that totally. I am sure we are in for a long and loving relationship. 🙂

      November 2, 2013
  37. You’re going to love the D800 Leanne. It really is a super camera and I’m so glad I bought mine!

    November 2, 2013
    • I think so too, I am falling in love with it so fast. I really want to get out and take lots and lots of photos. Thank you so much Chillbrook.

      November 2, 2013
  38. Enjoy it! Marvellous photos as always!

    November 2, 2013
    • I am sure I will, thank you.

      November 3, 2013
  39. Excellent camera Leanne, you’re going to have a lot of fun with it. Which 50 did you get?

    November 3, 2013
    • Thank you Karen, I am sure I will, I got the 1.8 50, wasn’t really sure I wanted one or would use it, so didn’t want the extra expense of the 1.4, but you never know, I might end up with it yet, though might go for the 35mm next.

      November 3, 2013
  40. hi leanne,
    congrats on your new toy.
    looking forward to viewing some leanne’s incredible high resolution stuff sooon 🙂

    very best regards,
    kap

    November 3, 2013
    • Thanks kap, super scary how large the images are, I took my first raw photos with it yesterday and they around 47, 49 MB each. Oh boy. I had to copy so many images off my laptop and then delete them so I could make room on it to start working. It is exciting though, can’t wait to see what I come up with. Thank you so much.

      November 4, 2013
  41. How exciting – love your first shots! Beautiful subtlety.

    November 4, 2013
    • It is exciting, will be I am sure. Thank you Richard.

      November 4, 2013
  42. Lovely shots! I have this camera and LOVE it. Super sharp and easy to use. Have fun with 🙂

    November 4, 2013
    • That is fantastic to hear, thank you, I am sure I will have fun with it.

      November 4, 2013
  43. Oh oh oh, how exciting. I look forward to hearing much more about the camera and seeing your gorgeous photos.

    November 5, 2013
    • Thanks Carol, I am excited and really looking forward to experimenting with it and seeing what it can do.

      November 6, 2013
  44. I’m very happy for you Leanne. I’m sure with your background in Photography that you will get many award winning photographs. Everything I’ve read about the 800 it is one amazing camera. Good luck.

    November 6, 2013
    • Thank you, I hope so, I am so excited to have it and so excited with planning lots of new work. Good times ahead I think. Thanks you

      November 6, 2013
  45. Congrats on the new toys. Getting new gear for me is like christmas. I recently bought an EF 50 1.2 L and it is one of the best lenses I have ever bought.

    November 8, 2013
    • I know exactly what you mean, it is like christmas. Wonderful to get something that love, I hope the lens makes the best photos. Good luck with it.

      November 8, 2013
  46. Very exciting! Enjoy 😀

    November 13, 2013

Comments are closed.

