Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Counting the Apostles

In yesterday’s post I stopped at Lorne, where we had lunch before carrying on.  We didn’t realise the time and it was getting late into the afternoon.  We stopped at Apollo Bay long enough to fill the car, but that was about all.  We had discussed the idea of cutting the trip short as it was getting late.  I was keen to keep going and I think Nia‘s husband was as well.  I think Nia was too, but she was concerned about my time and whether or not they were taking up too much of it.  I really wanted to keep going, so we did.

By the time we got to the Cape Otway Lighthouse turn off it was after 5 and I thought it would definitely be closed by then, so we decided to keep going.

LeanneCole-coast-9043This was the last stop, the 12 Apostles.  A famous landmark along the Victorian coast. Though there aren’t 12 there anymore, only 9 and sad to think that one day there won’t be any.  You can see where we have lost a couple already.

Nia‘s husband loves rocks, so this was a great place for him.  Actually I think he loved all the rocks along our coast.  Nia seemed in awe of this area, and I think she was very pleased that we had decided to push on.

LeanneCole-coast-9064To view the Apostles you go out on a special walkway that has been built, and it has been built on a part that juts out.  It isn’t one of the Apostles, but it makes you feel like you are part them.  The view in this direction was so much better.

LeanneCole-coast-9028When we got there, the kiosk was closed, but the toilets and such weren’t.  Everyone who went to the toilets all came out and photographed this pond, which looked so nice.  Can you see, I did as well.

LeanneCole-coast-9138This gives you an idea of the walkway and the tourists.  Even at 6pm there were still many many people there looking at the Apostles and taking photos.

I do think if you are going to visit the Apostles the best time for the light is in the morning.  I went there many years ago and got a beautiful image of it with a compact camera, and it was taken about 10am in the middle of summer.  The water was so turquoise, it was stunning.  I don’t know what happened to that photo, perhaps I should try to find it.

It was a great trip and if I were to do it again, I think I would have gone to the 12 Apostles first and then done the trip in reverse.  It was great the way we did it, but it would have been nicer to have photographed the Apostles in the morning light.

I am going to put the above images and some others in a gallery for you.  Enjoy your day.

105 Comments
  1. Wonderful photos!

    November 3, 2013
  2. as always, Leanne…you do terrific work. I loved the “Apostles,” a site I never heard of. Keep it going…

    November 3, 2013
    • Thank you Bill, they are a very popular site for tourists here.

      November 3, 2013
  3. Adam P #

    My family come from the western district and I spent a lot of time in Port Campbell and the Great Ocean Road area. The Apostles can look really amazing in mid winter with a storm raging around them. Thanks for the lovely images from home, they were a lovely reminder. Looking forward to seeing them again. . . .

    November 3, 2013
    • Thanks for the tip Adam, I will have to see if I can get there one day for that. I hope you see them soon.

      November 3, 2013
  4. One of my favorite memories was visiting the 12 Apostles on one of my trips to Australia. Hope to make it back someday. Thanks for the wonderful reminder of a great vacation 😉

    November 3, 2013
    • They are rather spectacular and I remember visiting them on a school excursion many years ago. I hope you make it back, and you are welcome, thank you.

      November 3, 2013
  5. These pictures are beautiful! I have never heard of these either, I would love to visit them. Thank you for the morning advice!

    November 3, 2013
    • They are pretty amazing, standing like sentries overlooking the sea to keep us safe. I hope you get to visit them, thank you.

      November 3, 2013
  6. Aw, that’s really beautiful, Leanne. Why oh why did I not go out and visit this, I have no idea … I guess I’ll have to return to Australia. Believe me, I really do!

    November 3, 2013
    • Yes you will, it is a bit of a drive, but the views along the way are so worth it. Thank you.

      November 3, 2013
  7. Gorgeous!

    November 3, 2013
  8. Gorgeous photos. Looks like a wonderful place spend an enjoyable time

    November 3, 2013
    • Thank you Nora, it was a wonderful place and we had the best time.

      November 3, 2013
  9. It’s a magnificent shoreline. Such varied topography. And you do it proud.

    November 3, 2013
    • What a wonderful thing to say, thank you so much.

      November 3, 2013
  10. Thank you for liking “(Camera) Trick or Treat.” I enjoyed this post because I have heard of the Twelve Apostles before and did not know much about them. I appreciate your virtual tour and your gallery of beautiful photos. 🙂

    November 3, 2013
    • You are very welcome, and that is wonderful that you returned the visit. I am so glad you liked the tour, and the photos, thank you so much.

      November 3, 2013
  11. Hi Leanne! I am working on the Port Lonsdale pier photo I took with you. You will see when it posts that I really did learn a lot from you, even though I had no idea I was learning! I loved the Apostles. Thanks for the tip for my husband to use the video feature in his Gallaxy camera app. The video is phenomenal.

    I love your photos. The tree at the end turned out nice!

    November 3, 2013
    • Hi Nia, I am looking forward to seeing what you do. That is wonderful, I teach without realising I am doing it. I know my photography friend likes to come with me so she can watch what I do, she says she learn a lot that way. It is interesting. I hope I get to see the video, I look forward to it.

      Thank you so much, glad you like mine, I had the best time, and it was wonderful showing off my place to you. Thanks for liking dead trees, otherwise I probably wouldn’t have photographed it. ❤

      November 3, 2013
  12. Beautiful. 🙂

    November 3, 2013
  13. These are awesome. It wasn’t till I was flying out of Melbourne that I learned about this place on a JetStar tourism promo vid. It’s definitely on my itinerary when I visit again!:)

    November 3, 2013
    • It is a pretty amazing place, the whole coastal area really, I would consider doing it over a couple of days, there is so much to see and some gorgeous towns to stay in.

      November 3, 2013
  14. Superb sky and seascapes.

    November 3, 2013
  15. What a beautiful place – love it — great photos

    November 3, 2013
    • It is a great place, thank you so much.

      November 3, 2013
  16. You are doing such a beautiful work. Leanne. Your photos always leave me breathless. I appreciate your checking out my photos from time to time. Best, Paula

    November 3, 2013
    • Thanks Paula, it is one of the great things about WordPress, this lovely community.

      November 3, 2013
  17. LB #

    Such a beautiful place … and yes, sad that there are only 9 left. I’m going to have to so some research to find a photo of the 12!

    November 3, 2013
    • I wonder if there is one, the way they seem to be it looks like they are cut in half, if that makes sense from the area that was jutting out. Thanks LB

      November 4, 2013
  18. jgalhao #

    Lovely landscapes and stunning sky.

    November 3, 2013
    • The sky was great, I think you are the first to say something about it. Thank you.

      November 4, 2013
  19. nokindofmagic #

    Oh, my… I would have a serious problem if I had to pick one photo I like the most, so I’ll try, as tactfully as I can, point the one I don’t like. And that would be the one with other people. Why? Cause when it comes to such breathtaking views, I turn into a greedy, spoiled kid screaming ‘this is my landscape, mine, mine, mine, go away!” 😀

    November 3, 2013
    • Hahaha, I am the same, I just couldn’t resist a photo with all the tourists and them photographing themselves in front of it. There were so many there at that late hour, I hate to think how many there were earlier. I usually avoid places like that unless I can find a time to go when hardly anyone will be there. Thank you and thanks for the laugh.

      November 4, 2013
  20. oh wow…you really have such beautiful photos….takes my breath away

    November 3, 2013
    • Thank you, easy to get great photos when you are presented with beautiful scenery.

      November 4, 2013
  21. Spectacular spot. Will be visiting there in a couple of months. Beautiful images, Leanne.

    November 3, 2013
    • It is Jane, well, I would suggest getting there in the morning, maybe about 10, though that is my opinion, I am going to try for that time next time. Thanks Jane and have a great visit.

      November 4, 2013
  22. tylaar2013 #

    We stayed in some curious villa near Apollo / shape resembled a boomerang / thought the great ocean road was spectacular…….thanks for the images

    November 3, 2013
    • That sounds interesting, I love Apollo Bay, we used to know people who lived there. The Great Ocean Road is spectacular and a fantastic way to see the coast, scary at times, but if you take it easy when driving great. Thanks

      November 4, 2013
  23. Such breathtaking beauty! Well done!

    November 4, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, spent the whole time there thinking, about the D800 and I could get some wider shots, haha. Oh well, will have to go back some time.

      November 4, 2013
      • And I’m sure they will be even more spectacular images!

        November 17, 2013
      • I am sure you are right Darla, I am hoping to get back there soon, with my daughter wanting drive everywhere, I have someone to take me.

        November 18, 2013
  24. Lovely soft light there Leanne – great captures 🙂

    November 4, 2013
    • Thank you Kelly, I thought that sun coming straight at us might be a problem, but turned out okay. 🙂

      November 4, 2013
  25. Lovely shots, Leanne. Looks like a beautiful spot.

    November 4, 2013
    • It is Richard, it is quite breathtaking. Thank you.

      November 4, 2013
  26. That is a stunning formation, and the views one is able to get are really spectacular. Sad that, like Mukurob, they are becoming lost

    November 4, 2013
    • It is sad, though I suppose that is nature, though perhaps new ones will be formed. Thanks Colonialist.

      November 4, 2013
  27. Of all the places that I have been to and seen in my life (67 years) Port Campbell and the “Twelve Apostles” is one of my top favourites. Great photos. Thanks for sharing.

    November 4, 2013
    • It is certainly a beautiful part of the world and I completely understand what you are saying, that is wonderful. Thank you.

      November 4, 2013
  28. BEAUTIFUL images! What a treat to be within driving distance of that coastline…

    November 4, 2013
    • It is great Catherine, it is nice to just go down there and take some photos. Thank you.

      November 4, 2013
  29. levidaniel #

    wow, you certainly have a keen eye for resplendent photos no doubt about it

    November 4, 2013
    • Thank you, that is a really nice thing to say.

      November 4, 2013
  30. Love this post

    November 4, 2013
  31. Jen #

    What a stunning place, Leanne. Though I have to say—your second photo is gorgeous, and you are right about the light and view, but only partway (in my opinion, anyhow). The first photograph is moodier, there’s a sense of mystery and possibility about it because of the shadows and haze. I love seeing the sand and all of the greenery clinging to the cliffs as well. They’re all beautiful photos, but the first is my favourite. What a grand place to be able to see in person!

    November 4, 2013
    • Thank you Jen, love what you are saying, I like what you have said about the photos.

      November 4, 2013
  32. Great photograpy

    November 4, 2013
  33. Gorgeous, Leanne. We have our Big Sur, and Morro Rock over here on the West Coast. They are not close. I don’t know names of any other rocks along the coast. You have me curious now! I’ll have to find out before you come over here to photograph. 🙂

    November 4, 2013
    • You will have to find out too, I think Nia and her husband are going to show me stuff around San Francisco, I don’t know exactly where you are. I love coasts, they can be so interesting. Thanks Marsha.

      November 5, 2013
      • When are you coming?

        November 5, 2013
      • We were hoping for end of next year, but our 25th anniversary is March 2015 so we have been thinking about a big trip then.

        November 5, 2013
      • Wow, that would be awesome. We have our big conference in Oakland the first weekend in March. That is very near San Francisco. We will meet up for sure. You can count on some tour guiding from us!

        November 5, 2013
      • My husband seems convinced we will never have the money, but I know we will eventually. It will happen. Sounds great Marsha.

        November 5, 2013
      • We have a cabana or a trailer you can stay in if you want to see the Sequoia National Park. You don’t want to miss that! And Yosemite! Hey, and by that time I’ll have a lifetime membership in the National Parks. We can go for free! 🙂 Those are worth at least a week of your time!

        November 5, 2013
      • I have seen your trailer, there are definitely places I want to see, Yosemite absolutely. Haha, no idea yet how long we will be there yet.

        November 5, 2013
      • Better plan for at least a month. California is over a thousand miles from top to bottom! 🙂

        November 7, 2013
      • We will see how we go Marsha, I am not sure how much money we will have, but it would be fantastic to stay for awhile. There are some people on the other side of the US that I would also like to meet up with.

        November 7, 2013
      • You mean you have more friends than just ME! How could THAT be? JK You have one of the most popular blogs out there. So I won’t try to hog ALL your time here. 🙂

        November 7, 2013
      • Oh no, now you know, haha, I hope if we come that I can see many people, that is the plan, I hope anyway. So you will definitely get to meet me, but you might find in person you can’t stand to be around me, LOL. 🙂

        November 7, 2013
      • Yeah right! Like that’s going to happen! 🙂

        November 7, 2013
      • Yeah, that is pretty much what I was thinking too. 🙂

        November 7, 2013
  34. I thought only 8 were remaining… Still, an amazing site to visite along the Great Ocean road 🙂

    November 5, 2013
    • Yes possibly, but if you count the “stumps” then 9, haha, sad to see them going, though inevitable. Thanks you.

      November 5, 2013
  35. Fantastic, Leanne. Beautiful shots. Love the sea pillars.

    November 5, 2013
    • Thank you Paul, they are pretty amazing.

      November 5, 2013
  36. Gorgeous shots!

    November 5, 2013
  37. Reminds me of Jimi Hendrix: “and so castles made of sand, melts into the sea, eventually.”

    November 5, 2013
    • Oh, I love that, it is so true, the Apostles are just sand afterall.

      November 5, 2013
  38. Ben #

    Amazing shots! I’d love to visit the apostles some day, that’s a shame they are slowly disappearing into the sea. I suppose that’s just natures course. Thanks for the tip on shooting them in the morning, I’ll try to remember that if I ever make it out to Australia!

    November 5, 2013
    • It is just natures, makes you wonder if new ones will appear over time, though unlikely in our lifetime. One day there will be all those tracks and walkways and people in the future will come to them and wonder why they were there as there is nothing special to see, quite say. Yes, when you come, you have to do the drive along the Great Ocean Road, it is pretty amazing. Thank you.

      November 5, 2013
  39. beautiful crisp clear colours in these

    November 5, 2013
    • Thank you, it was a great day for getting those.

      November 5, 2013
  40. the skies are beautiful! I haven’t been in that area for years.. thsnks 🙂 trees

    November 5, 2013
    • The skies were glorious that day, the clouds really stunning. You might have to go back and take another look. Thank you. 🙂

      November 5, 2013
  41. That’s a gorgeous piece of rugged coastline.

    November 5, 2013
    • I have to totally agree David, it is really amazing.

      November 5, 2013
  42. It is so beautiful there and every time I go I am astounded and awed all over again. How lucky for Nia and her husband that you decided to take them there.

    November 5, 2013
    • I know just what you mean, I haven’t been there for over 10 years, but it was so good to go again. Lucky for me too, I had the best time.

      November 6, 2013
  43. Great shot,just purchased a D800 myself

    November 5, 2013
    • Thank you, such a great camera.

      November 6, 2013
  44. Lovely, and your visitors must have enjoyed it so much.

    November 6, 2013
    • I think they did, it was a great day, I know I had a great time. Thanks

      November 6, 2013
  45. jblanche74 #

    Reblogged this on My Blog By by Joe!.

    November 6, 2013

Comments are closed.

