Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Pony Clubs

For the last couple of months I’ve been teaching some classes to people on the outskirts of one the Councils near me, this Council is on the fringe of the city, Nillumbik, and the idea was to involve local community groups.  We have taken photos of football and cricket, and this morning we went to the St Andrews Pony Club and took photos of some of the people there with their horses.

equestrian-20131110-1080This is the view from the club house.  Who couldn’t sit here all day watching the world go by, you can even see the top of the city buildings here.

equestrian-20131110-1093One of the things that I found really amazing was how friendly everyone was.  They seemed to be really happy to see us there, and it was not a problem for us to be taking photos.  They asked everyone and only one person said no.

equestrian-20131110-1081There were three girls who had put their hands up before we went saying they wanted us, or didn’t mind us photographing them.  Two of them were sisters, and I went with them to take photos of them getting ready.  The above photo is of their horses, Arnie on the left and Montana on the right.  I hope I got their names right.

equestrian-20131110-1103I have never photographed anything like this before.  So I had to play it by ear, and I am not an expert, but I did really enjoy it.  It was a great experience.  I was surprised at how happy they were for us to take photos.  I wondered if they get many people going and taking photos.  I am sure if others wanted to go and take photos they would be welcomed.  Trading photos is a great way of being allowed to do it, though you need to be very careful, follow all instructions and always be aware of what is around you.

I have about 40 photos, and I hope you don’t mind, I have quickly gone through them and told the people at the pony club that I would put some up for them today.  I hope you enjoy them as well.  I hope they don’t look to amateurish.

52 Comments
  1. Looks like a fun day 🙂

    November 10, 2013
  2. The last photo of the boy with his pony sharing a moment is very sweet. Nice capture!

    November 10, 2013
    • I loved that too, it was such a lovely thing, there was another little girl who was hugging her horse/pony, but you could see her face too much, didn’t want to put it up. Thank you.

      November 10, 2013
  3. Really nice photos. I liked all of them! 🙂

    November 10, 2013
    • Thank you George, something a bit different for me, the photos I mean. 🙂

      November 10, 2013
  4. Lovely photos Leanne. The children all looked like they were having great fun, even the little one with the broken arm. I hope she didn’t do that falling off her pony!

    November 10, 2013
    • Thank you Carol, no she broke her arm at school I believe on the the monkey bars. Apparently she can’t wait to get back on her horse. I think the kids love it, it is pretty amazing, thank you.

      November 10, 2013
  5. Beautiful series of photos.

    November 10, 2013
  6. I should think they will be thrilled to bits!

    November 10, 2013
    • I hope they are, haven’t heard anything yet. Thanks Gypsy.

      November 10, 2013
  7. Nice! Kids love their horses, AND love having their picture taken…not at all surprised that they welcomed you! Your experience photographing the cycling really came into play with the motion shots, but the little guy with his Shetland pony at the end steals my heart 😀

    November 10, 2013
    • They do love them, it was such a great experience going there and taking photos. Maybe the cycling did help, I felt completely out of my depth, but it was really interesting. I love that last shot too, it was too cute not to include it. Thanks Marie. 🙂

      November 10, 2013
  8. You were nominated for the Sunshine Award.
    Have a nice day!

    November 10, 2013
    • Thank you very much for nominating me.

      November 11, 2013
  9. I love this post! The horses are beautiful! It’s fun to see the riders doing their talents! Awesome! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 10, 2013
    • Thank you Lisa, I love watching them and seeing what photos I could get. 🙂

      November 11, 2013
  10. Beautiful horses!

    November 10, 2013
  11. I liked three more than the others. One was the scenic view. The second one was of the little girl, her hand in a sling. The third one was of the little boy. This one appealed the most.

    November 10, 2013
    • I think the last one of the little boy is a popular one, it is very cute. Thank you and thanks for letting me know which ones you really liked.

      November 11, 2013
  12. how cool that you’re doing this )

    November 10, 2013
    • Thank you, though I don’t know if I would do more, it was fun though. I would love to do some of the girls away from that sort of environment and do more the girls with their horses at home. 🙂

      November 11, 2013
  13. Lovely photos. Great action shot of the horse jumping over the bars and the one with the child hugging their pony really tugs at the hearstrings! I also enjoyed the first photo of the view from the clubhouse. The brightly colored flowers add such dimension and life to the photograph!

    November 11, 2013
    • Thank you, It was a lot of fun, I couldn’t believe how much access we were given, it was great. I love that one of the little boy, it was very sweet.

      November 11, 2013
  14. So many great shots, but the last one really struck me, so sweet and gentle, lovely!

    November 11, 2013
    • I think that last one has the same affect on many people Jessica, me too, so cute. Thank you.

      November 11, 2013
  15. YourHobby #

    Looks like a very interesting hobby, thanks for sharing…..Graham….YourHobby…..

    November 11, 2013
    • Yes, it is very popular here, though I think you need a lot of money to do it. Thank you.

      November 11, 2013
  16. I love these pictures. You really captured the action and atmosphere. A delightful spot.

    November 11, 2013
    • Thank you Colonialist, I wasn’t sure about them, but have to admit I was kind of proud of them. It was a gorgeous spot, I couldn’t believe it when I got there.

      November 11, 2013
  17. Hihi very nice photos!

    November 11, 2013
  18. Well, you may not consider yourself an expert on the subject, but these photos show that what really counts is your expertise as a photographer.

    I commented separately on my favorite (one showing a horse clearing a jump, with the horse and rider in profile). But they’re all very fine photos. Thanks for sharing!

    November 11, 2013
    • Thank you so much, it was a great experience. I saw that comment, thanks. I am quite proud of them, I thought they would be shocking, I think the new camera helped heaps too.

      November 11, 2013
  19. The horse community is generally a welcoming group, and are quite receptive about the picture taking. A very good collection, especially capturing the care and relationship between rider and horse.

    November 11, 2013
    • I think I thought, horses, people with money, snobby, you know that sort of thing, but not like that at all. I was so surprised and happy as well. I loved taking the photos. Thank you so much David.

      November 11, 2013
  20. Lovely, thanks for sharing.

    November 11, 2013
    • You’re welcome, thank you.

      November 11, 2013
  21. Pat #

    What fun it must have been to photograph these kids with their horses.! Nice action shots.

    November 11, 2013
    • It was a lot of fun Pat, I really enjoyed it. Thank you.

      November 11, 2013
  22. poppytump #

    What a splendid collection Leanne ! You caught those girls total concentration and focus on getting their ponies ready for the day beautifully.
    These photographs are bound to be popular with the youngsters there that day … first and foremost they will be looking and admiring their ponies movements and turnout and carriage before themselves 🙂
    You took me back to many a weekend with daughter in muddy fields .. holding reins ..wiping tears .. coveted rosettes .. 🙂

    November 11, 2013
    • Thank you so much Poppytump, it was hard to know what to take, so I just went for it and did heaps. I was there for 3 hours and I think I took 770 photos. I am happy with them.
      This is fantastic to hear, I am glad you liked them, thank you. 🙂

      November 11, 2013
  23. Maggie Beck #

    Wonderful photos, Leanne. You have captured the joy of the day.

    November 11, 2013
    • Thank you Maggie, it was a lot of fun, and they were such a nice group of people.

      November 12, 2013
  24. All very enjoyable photos to look at, lovely horses, and nobody looks as if they’re posing, just natural. Great.

    November 20, 2013
    • That is great that you thought that, I did just take photos as they were going about what they were doing, so that is wonderful. Thank you.

      November 21, 2013
  25. Gorgeous! I love the way you captured everyone with their horses!

    December 12, 2013
    • Thank you, I have never photographed horses before, so I wasn’t really sure about them.

      December 12, 2013
      • I thought this might have been your first time photographing them! They are so beautiful

        December 12, 2013
      • They are hard to photograph, I had fun though.

        December 12, 2013

Comments are closed.

