Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Second Hand in Inglewood

My mother lives in the Mallee, many of you know this and to get there it takes about four to four and half hours to get there.  About half way is a small town called Inglewood.  I have driven through this town, I don’t know how many times, and I always think, I should stop and take photos.  I never did, infact, I never stopped in the town at all, until recently.  On the way back from my last trip up there my daughter and I decided to stop.  A shop caught our eye.

Since stopping there earlier in the year, we have been back to check out the shops there two more times, the last time being this week.

inglewood-20131114-1378There are a whole heap of antique/second hand stores.  Some are a bit expensive, others more reasonable, and some I can’t walk out of without spending money.  It was a great find this town, and I can’t believe I had never stopped there before.  Of course the thing I love the most is that most of the shops have vintage clothing in them.  I have found some fantastic stuff in them.

inglewood-panoramaI think this is the town hall, great building for such a small town.  It has a population of just over a thousand.  Though looking at this building I think the town had money at some stage, I just looked it up and it was an important gold mining town during the gold rush.  So lots of money was around.

I have to tell you about this trip a little, I took my Nikon D800 and the only lens I had was the 50mm.  I couldn’t get back far enough to get the whole building in, so I tried doing a series of shots and then had Photoshop merge them altogether.  It is the first time I have ever done that.  It isn’t perfect and I had to fix a few things, but it was pretty good.

inglewood-20131114-1335

Like many towns in country Victoria their populations are not enough to maintain the thriving businesses that were once there and you see a lot of this, old stores that have just been left empty.  They look good now though, but maybe that is just me.  The paint was peeling off this and I took lots of photos for my texture directory.

inglewood-20131114-1316A friend of my daughters came with us and she was very taken with this house.  It was built, I think, in the 1880’s and there was a little plaque out the front giving more information, but I don’t remember, sorry.  She thought it looked like a haunted house and wanted to go and take a look, but it was obviously someone’s home, so we didn’t trespass.  I found a link to some information about it, click here.

I did lots of other photos and will show them to you in a gallery now.  I hope you have fun this weekend, maybe visit somewhere like Inglewood and help boost the local economy.  You will definitely find a bargain there.  If nothing else, you will have a lovely trip down memory lane, I always find things that remind me of my childhood there.

56 Comments
  1. Lovely collection 🙂 Would love to take a wander around that town

    November 16, 2013
    • It is a great place to wander, so many things to see, and touch. I love going there. Thank you. 🙂

      November 16, 2013
  2. It’s fun to potter around in little places like this. We have an Inglewood in QLD too but it’s nothing like this!

    November 16, 2013
    • Most definitely Carol, we had a great time. It just seems so weird to have a town that doesn’t seem to have much going for it, but has all these second hand stores, not a lot, but there are 5 plus an op shop. Enough to keep you very busy. Some beautiful architecture as well.

      November 16, 2013
  3. Wow, the old home is really fascinating, such attention to details. A nice little town to visit. The palms out front the town hall look the same specie as we have here in Las Vegas. Great set, Leanne. 🙂

    November 16, 2013
    • I would love to see inside the house. It is so typically Australian, if that is the right way of putting it. It is the type of house you see a lot, well used to, and you will very often see houses like that used in movies here when they are doing a period film. I would love to take some photos around it.
      The palms, I have to admit, the palms are a bit strange, I always think palms in places like this are very strange, out of place.
      Thank you John.

      November 16, 2013
  4. Love your images of the town, its the type of place we would stop and explore. A place to taste and experience.

    November 16, 2013
    • I am usually in too much of a hurry, but I would like to do this more, explore some of these towns. Thank you Maria.

      November 16, 2013
  5. I love little towns, and all the little treasure troves for they eyes they have. You came back with some amazing photos.

    November 16, 2013
    • They are so quaint, if that is the right word, different, yet the same. I agree, you never know what you will find. Thank you.

      November 16, 2013
  6. Places with quaintness and charm are my cup of tea. I love your photos!

    November 16, 2013
    • They are really great, and so much to explore. Thank you Roberta.

      November 16, 2013
  7. Great photographs. I’m feeling very envious of the image quality of the D800 and the 50mm lens. Even on the web, the images look marvelous.

    November 16, 2013
    • Thank you, It is quite good isn’t it, though I am not sure about the 50mm, it really is going to take some getting used to.

      November 16, 2013
  8. Paul #

    What an interesting town, Leanne. The Town Hall building in your second photo looks as if it’d be comfortable beside the bay on Beaconsfield Parade, and not just because of the palms…
    The old shop in the next photo reminds me of how my house looked when I bought it, although its verandah had been removed, unfortunately, well before then. There’s something very appealing to me about naturally flaking paint and old render. There’s a pub in Collingwood on Johnstone Street whose entire facade has been “distressed,” created mechanically rather than naturally, to create a faux aged look which is very effective.
    And thank you posting the Nimmitabell link—what a wonderful and grand old house it is, even today.

    November 16, 2013
    • That town hall is so different to town halls in other towns around it, you can really tell there was money there, and you are right about it sitting comfortably there.
      I really love that old shop, it looks like it would have so much character. I like that.
      I am with you on the peeling paint as well. I love it as well. I know the pub you are talking about it is great.
      I love that house, it would be wonderful to be able to get inside it and take photos. I am sure there are many of the original features still in it. They have left the outside, so I would imagine they have done the same inside where they can. Thanks Paul.

      November 16, 2013
  9. OMG.. Snap Crackle and Pop.. how I’d love a set of them.. and what a beautiful little town it is. I have been through there but like you, always on the way to somewhere so never stopped.. Since I’ve taken up photography though, I find I stop to “snap the roses” a whole lot more nowadays.. Beautiful photos as usual Leanne 🙂

    November 16, 2013
    • I think the Snap Crackle and Pop are still there, you could go and get them. I could tell you which shop they were in, but I have no idea how much cost. It is a lovely town, I love that main street, love that it still has that old feel to it. That is one of the wonderful things about photography it really does make you stop and take a look around you. Thank you so much Livonne. 🙂

      November 16, 2013
      • Okay, I just looked up your blog and it is probably a bit too far away, I might be able to get it for you sometime if you like.

        November 16, 2013
  10. Great showcase of Inglewood. The old house, Nimmitabel is lovely – thanks for the link, very interesting. The G.O. & I would love the second hand shops, and it would be hard to resist temptation. The photos are great, exactly the way we need to see these towns, historic but still having lots to offer.

    November 16, 2013
    • You are welcome EllaDee, that house is so wonderful, I would love to see inside. My youngest daughter and I love going for the second hand stores, I love seeing what they have. Thank you so much.

      November 16, 2013
  11. I enjoyed the time travel in this photo shoot 🙂

    November 16, 2013
    • That is fantastic RoSy, thank you so much.

      November 16, 2013
  12. What an interesting and beautiful story you have told through your photos! I especially love the nod toward photography with the old cameras!

    November 16, 2013
    • Thank you Darla, I hadn’t thought of it like that. It is such an interesting town.

      November 16, 2013
  13. Doesn’t it feel odd, when you find bits of your Childhood for sale in an Antiques shop? 🙂
    Great colors in the photos – so glad you stopped!

    November 16, 2013
    • A little, though I find it quite good, like my childhood still exists in some way, like it isn’t totally gone. It is good too, because the things that remind me of it, are usually the good memories.
      Thank you Marie, it was a great find.

      November 16, 2013
  14. Great find – and a treasure-trove of shots.

    November 16, 2013
    • Thank you Robert, it is a great town.

      November 17, 2013
  15. I love old buildings, and this made a great photo trip… I particularly like the third image, the one you said had to be joined together… Seamless, I would say! Excellent job. What lenses do you usually use, if you are ‘going to have to get used to’ the 50mm?

    November 16, 2013
    • Old buildings are the best, I think and this trip was perfect for it. The photomerge in Photoshop is so good, I wasn’t convinced at how good it could be, but I am very happy with this. I usually use zoom lenses, and normally when I go to somewhere like this I would have my wide angle zoom, 14-24mm on the camera. I love wide angle, or the other lens I used to use was the 18-105, but it is a DX lens and I can’t use it on my new camera. Thank you Suej.

      November 17, 2013
  16. tarquinclark #

    Love these pics x

    November 17, 2013
  17. fun sights.

    November 17, 2013
  18. A beautiful array of photos Leanne!!! I also feel an affinity for that old house… just think of the stories it could tell if it could talk… Sorry I haven’t been on lately, but really bogged down in my daughter’s wedding (on the 26th) {there is a link on my FB page I think} as well as helping my mother with all her financial and legal issues that have followed my step-fathers death. You are just growing in leaps and bounds in your creativity… I’m so envious, but I still love checking out your stuff even if I don’t have time to comment!

    November 17, 2013
    • I am sure the stories would be good. Hey you don’t have to apologise, I know life gets in the way at times. Sounds like you have had a great reason to be away, your daughters wedding. Thank you so much Keli, wonderful hearing from you and please, take care.

      November 17, 2013
  19. Nice little town you have there! I was intrigued by the old cameras in the window.

    November 17, 2013
    • It is a great little town, and a great place to go for a day trip. I couldn’t resist photographing the cameras, I waited until the man in the shop was looking, don’t tell anyone.

      November 17, 2013
  20. Another great photo series! Again, love your work, Leanne. Cheers

    November 17, 2013
    • Thank you so much Chris. 🙂

      November 17, 2013
  21. This is a very nice set, Leanne! Memories, history, and beauty of life in a small town. Well done, as always! Fabio

    November 17, 2013
    • Good trip all round Fabio, it is always good to see what is there. Thank you.

      November 17, 2013
      • Love your work (photos and writing). You share with us what you know and you stop your fast pace and spend time to see our photos or to write about one of our fellow photographers. Thanks so much! Have a good week.

        November 18, 2013
      • Oh gosh, you are going to make me blush. I do like all that, and I think to be a successful blogger you need to be able to do all that, so no problem really. Thank you so much, and you have a great week as well.

        November 18, 2013
  22. I’d like it there, so much character!

    November 17, 2013
    • Great way of putting it Gypsy, there is a lot of character there.

      November 18, 2013
  23. I love the architecture!

    November 18, 2013
    • Oh so do I, I love seeing how I can photograph it.

      November 18, 2013
  24. GayinLA #

    What a cool looking town! Probably a good place to grow up?

    November 18, 2013
    • I don’t know, possibly, though it is pretty close to a major city in the middle, so it was probably a great place to be. Thank you.

      November 18, 2013
  25. Really nice, Leanne!

    Funny how unexpected stops can result in unexpected things to photograph.

    The buildings remind me of the colonial buildings you see in the Caribbean.

    November 18, 2013
    • I know exactly what you mean John, I am so glad I stopped there.
      The buildings are quite typical of Colonial Australia, so I imagine it was all influenced from the same thing.
      Thank you.

      November 18, 2013
      • I was thinking that it was a Colonial thing, but, my Australian history is not as good as it should be 🙂

        November 19, 2013
      • Most Australians have the same problem. Not many know about our own history. 🙂

        November 19, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 130: Imagine. Make. Challenge. Renew. | Almofate's Likes

Comments are closed.

