Skip to content

Getting it All Set Up

About twelve months ago I went to the Town Hall in Ivanhoe and took some photos of the outside of the building.  The building is referred to as the The Centre Ivanhoe and it a wonderful Art Deco building that sits on top of a hill at the top of the shopping strip in Ivanhoe.  Everyone who lives around here knows the building.

scivanhoe-0604-6Anyone can go and take photos of the outside, but I wondered if I could get access to take photos inside.  So I have been trying on and off all year to get access, and finally got onto a person who could help me.

ivanhoecentre-20131127-2026I was given access to photograph the main hall when it was set up for a function.  You can’t quite see here, but it is set up for a Valedictory Dinner for a local school.  I thought it would be much nicer to see it set up for a function.

I  plan on going back in the next few months on different occasions to see what I can do with this building, as long as Liberty Catering don’t mind, I really want to see what I can do with this building.  It was good going there yesterday and now I have seen more of what is there, I can now, hopefully plan more images and see what I can do there.  So I really hope they will let me go back.

I am going to put the rest of the images in a gallery for you now.  I hope you enjoy them.

I also wanted to have a quick word to you about my images.  I have never pushed that my images were for sale, and seriously, I didn’t think anyone who read my blog would be interested in purchasing any of them anywhere.  I know that when you want to get support for your blog it does drive people away.  I know it is something that I have never got from people, well a few yes, very few, but that is not what this is about.  I decided that I should start putting all the photos that I take on my website photocart so it would be easier for people to find images that I have taken.

I am slowly creating my own stock library of the images I have taken.  I am using my photocart that I had for selling photos of cycling.  It just sits there now, so I thought I should use it.  Makes sense, I hope.  You can take a look at it here Photocart.  It is a work in progress, but I will try and spend more time on it over the next few weeks.

Of course the main thing is to put the images up on it that I take.  I am going to try to put the images up as I take them, so at the end of each post, if they are images that can be purchased, I will put something at the bottom of the post so people will know.  I hope that businesses will find that useful.

So please go and take a look at my photocart.  Let me know if there is anything you would like to see up there.

74 Comments
  1. I wish you luck in your selling efforts.

    November 28, 2013
    • LOL, thanks Disperser. I am hoping that I can be a stock library for Melbourne images, a good place to start when people are looking for images. I hope.

      November 28, 2013
  2. Hi, great photo’s. Always nice to get things the way you want it 🙂 You mentioned a few times tat you want to see what you can do with this building. Makes me wonder: What do you have in mind? What do you want to do with the building?

    November 28, 2013
    • That is a good question, I guess I want to try and photograph it in a way that is more me, rather than a record of what is there, which I think these images are more of. I think you need to see and experience a building a couple of times to understand what is possible and let your imagination run with it. I don’t know what I want to get, but I want to see what I can do. Thank you.

      November 28, 2013
      • You have taken great images here! Your B&W photo of the outside is striking, I love it.
        I share your feelings on wanting to shoot a space in a way that lets your voice come through, though I find I am never in a place long enough to properly get to know my subject.
        Wish you luck!

        December 4, 2013
      • Thank you, Melbourne is my muse, so I like to photograph it as much as possible.

        December 4, 2013
  3. Tricia SweetRascalPhotos #

    Great idea! Good luck! ~Tricia.

    November 28, 2013
    • Thanks Tricia, though knowing my luck, not much will happen. I know that sounds negative, but it is something I have experienced quite a bit. haha.

      November 28, 2013
      • Tricia SweetRascalPhotos #

        Leanne, I just looked at your photo cart but don’t see how one would order stock images? I just purchased a few stock images for commercial use ($3 and $4) from someone. I like the rustic exterior building in your photo cart, I could use that for a western scene in my photo editing.

        November 28, 2013
      • I am not sure what you mean, when you click on the image that you want, a price list appears over on the right and click on those to find out how much they are. Is that not appearing? Wow those images were cheap, I would never sell mine for that amount, I think that devalues your work, wouldn’t even cover the cost of taking the photos. You also need to be careful when you use stock images, and make sure that you can edit them, I probably wouldn’t allow that, as I don’t want my photos being used like that. If that makes sense. When you edit someone elses photos, you are often breaching copyright, unless you have permission to do that. I don’t know if I am making any sense.

        November 28, 2013
      • Tricia SweetRascalPhotos #

        I completely understand, and yes, you are making perfect sense. The photographer I am establishing a relationship with sells these backdrops specifically for the purpose I am using them for, with her permission. That is why she created them. I also purchased a commercial license of $3 for each enhancement brush I used, also with written permission from the designer, who makes them for that sole purpose. They design these images for other photographers to edit. They retain (c) to original image, which I cannot sell or distribute or share as is, but I now have the rights to edit those images and sell my edited work with my own (c). I would never use any of their stock photos for my own editing if it were not allowed. Misunderstood your stock photo useage, sorry about that! By the way, no, the prices did not show up for me. GOOD LUCK and many blessings, and Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

        November 28, 2013
      • That is understandable. If you are getting them for that reason and she is selling them for that reason. I know people do that with textures. Have you checked out the Public Domain Textures site Trish, there are lots of free textures there for people, you might find some things you like.
        Thanks for letting me know about the prices, I think I have fixed the problem now. There were a couple of things there, and I don’t think people have realised they need to click on them to get the prices. You aren’t the first person who has found this an issue. I hope it is easier now. We don’t have Thanksgiving here, but happy Thanksgiving to you. Enjoy your day. 🙂

        November 28, 2013
      • Tricia SweetRascalPhotos #

        Oh my goodness, of course you don’t have Thanksgiving! Silly me, I wasn’t thinking. I forgot about the Public Domain Textures site, I will have to check it out again sometime. Best to you!

        November 28, 2013
      • Haha, not problem Tricia, I hope you have a great day though. It is wet and horrible here. Take care.

        November 28, 2013
    • That sounds great. I’m looking forward to the result. On the other hand isn’t that what art is about? If you look at photography as art or expression, you try to capture your view on things your experiences, right? Anyway, that’s how I see it. Even if you don;t have the chance to see a building several times from the in- or outside I try to capture what I see, the things that stand out to me, my experience.

      November 28, 2013
      • Thank you Casa, I agree with you. Though, I often find that if I can do it a few times, I start to understand more of what I want. Images start appearing in my head. You are right, sometimes you just have to go with it, you get one chance and that is it.

        November 28, 2013
      • I understand what you mean. I return to the same park/forest weekly for instance. To either refine my work or to change perspective and see new things to capture. Besides that it keeps the regular walks with my dog, that normally might become boring, very fresh 😉

        November 28, 2013
      • That is a good idea, I should do that more, though I do do it in the city quite a bit. There is just so many things to photography, finding time to keep going back and doing new stuff can be tricky at times, but I am hoping to do more of it next year.

        November 28, 2013
      • Fortunately I live in a very green city. The forest is only a 5 minute drive away from my home, so I can enjoy both the city and nature. …Lucky me 😉 It’s great to be outdoors, away from citylife regularly to recharge also 🙂 … and I have to walk the dog anyway 😉

        November 28, 2013
      • We do too, well we I live there are so many parklands to go walking in, but I don’t find them very pretty, which is kind of sad, so I don’t go and photograph them. Though, there are some areas that I think I am going to have to get out and photograph. I think having a dog for that reason would be good, but it is all the stuff with them that I don’t like, haha. We have a cat. 🙂

        November 28, 2013
  4. Beautiful building – looks huge from your interior shots. This is a location you really have to visit and do some preliminary shooting with – as you are planning to do. Glad your persistence paid off.

    November 28, 2013
    • It is quite large Robert, not sure how big it is, but is has lots of function rooms, I’ve been in 3 of them, and there are 2 others as well. I agree, the preliminary shooting is good, then go back and do the art shooting, ideas are starting to form, which is great. Thank you Robert, I am glad it did as well.

      November 28, 2013
    • Well if you could you should go out. I can imagine you don’t walk the cat 😉 And you are right you have to find the environment pretty… Oh, well, like you said earlier there are so many things to photograph, and I find many during my daily routines. So I kind of go with the flow. Anyway, keep up the good work. I like your style 🙂

      November 28, 2013
      • No the cat doesn’t get to walk, he is not very good at it. 😉 There are places around here, it is a nice area, just not enough nice buildings. Will have to start looking for some thing. Thank you so much. 🙂

        November 28, 2013
  5. Much luck, Leanne! Your photography makes me want to be better. Thanks for the inspiration!

    November 28, 2013
    • Thank you Laura, that is such a lovely thing to say, have to admit, I think I needed someone to say that today.

      November 28, 2013
  6. There was a time when I had money to buy photographs and paintings. Alas, but those days are naught but a memory … but if I was going to buy something, you’d be the first place I’d go.

    November 28, 2013
    • Yes, I understand that, it is hard. I have noticing that I am starting to get inquiries from businesses about my images, so I thought starting a stock library where they can see them would be a good idea. It can’t hurt that’s for sure. Thank you for you lovely words, very appreciated.

      November 28, 2013
  7. I love the dramatic glamour of that last shot….it looks a very interesting building with lots going on in it. The school event which is set up got me thinking about what a lovely time they will have when those balloons are released 🙂

    November 28, 2013
    • Thank you, I found it hard to photography, but it is a very interesting building and I think I need to rethink how I photograph it. I was thinking the same with the balloons, how amazing they would be. I’ve never had balloons drop down on my like that.

      November 28, 2013
  8. I spent a bit of my youth at dances there.
    Terry

    November 28, 2013
    • Wow, I don’t think they have dances there anymore. I think they should bring them back.

      November 28, 2013
  9. None of your photos are ordinary Leanne. This set exemplifies that. Love the life and vibrancy of these pics.

    November 28, 2013
  10. It would be nice to have a function on WordPress that allowed photos to be purchased directly from your blog!
    How do you find photo cart? Does is cost a lot of money to have or do they take a commission from sales? Do you get to keep all you rights in relation to your photos?

    November 29, 2013
    • You can kind of do it on WordPress, I have some stuff set up so you can buy directly from my blog, check out the learning DSLR page, you can buy those directly from the blog. You need a paypal account and need to make individual buttons for each thing. It is quite a bit of mucking around.
      I find the photocart good, though sometimes I wish I had more control over some aspects of it. You can’t do a lot apart from show images. It would be nice to be able to put some more text on there.
      You buy the photocart outright, so you don’t lose anything, except the original price. It is quite good value, well I found it was, and it was good for me when I was doing the cycling, you can put lots of photos on it. You do need to get a host for it, which is probably the expensive part, and if you want a domain name.
      http://www.picturespro.com/
      That is the website where you can get the photocart from if you are interested.

      November 29, 2013
      • Thanks so much for all that information!! Will have to do some research. It’s something that has been on my mind for a while

        November 29, 2013
      • You are welcome, I am certainly glad that I have the photocart now, it is really convenient for this sort of stuff.

        November 29, 2013
  11. Really, really lovely, Leanne!

    November 30, 2013
  12. Just curious, why do you have expiration dates on your photocart? Your Town Hall pictures in Ivanhoe are lovely. Believe it or not, my first husband and I moved to Ivanhoe, CA to pastor his first church. It is not nearly the beautiful town you have there, but it was home to us. 🙂

    November 30, 2013
    • I don’t know why they are there, it is part of the program that I purchased and if you can turn them off, I haven’t figured out how yet. 🙂 Our Ivanhoe has some gorgeous homes, but this is probably the best public building by far. How funny that you lived in a Ivanhoe once. We have so many connections. 🙂

      November 30, 2013
      • Yes, we do, although there is not much more than the word connecting Ivanhoe to Ivanhoe. Yours is beautiful and ours is a bit of a blight. The name of the town before they renamed it Ivanhoe was Klink. I think Klink was a more appropriate name for it! 🙂

        November 30, 2013
      • Klink, who names a town Klink, I love that.:)

        December 1, 2013
      • I know! Isn’t that crazy? I guess that’s why they changed the name!!!

        December 1, 2013
      • Maybe, we have some lollies here called clinkers.

        December 1, 2013
      • 🙂 I’ve lost my train of thought, and lollies and clinkers, doesn’t ring a bell. I know we were talking about Klink turned Ivanhoe, but I don’t know what lollies or clinkers are. 🙂 I need a dictionary! 🙂 LOL

        December 7, 2013
      • Haha, you call them candy, we call them lollies, and clinkers are a type of lolly or candy.

        December 7, 2013
      • I learned something new, and it’s only 7:00 a.m.! Thanks Leanne. I love lollies! 🙂

        December 8, 2013
      • Haha, that’s great, now no lollies for breakfast, they will rot your teeth.

        December 8, 2013
      • They would if I had any! I had eggs, toast, orange juice and apple slices. No lollies here! What’s wrong with this picture? 🙂

        December 10, 2013
      • I’d say nothing, sounds like a good breakfast. The only time we have lollies for breakfast is Christmas day, sort of a tradition with us. 🙂

        December 10, 2013
      • Yum! 🙂 What kind of lollies?

        December 10, 2013
      • It depends on what we are all feeling like, though there is lots of chocolates as well. 🙂

        December 10, 2013
      • Chocolates will do. I made chocolate chip cookies last night. Want to come over. I had some for breakfast! 🙂

        December 13, 2013
      • Sounds great, be right over. 😉

        December 13, 2013
      • Yeah!!!😘

        December 13, 2013
      • Make sure you don’t eat them all. 😉

        December 13, 2013
  13. Leanne, you handle this in the right way – of course you have to live and make money out of your profession and your art – so start a “shop” is the right way to do it.
    I must admit I feel a bit put off – when this buy is straight in my face when I enjoy somebodies photos. Good luck to you!

    December 2, 2013
    • Thank you Viveka, I must say I don’t like it when I things are always pushed at you, so I try not to do it too often. I also know that the blog isn’t where my market is, I still haven’t sent those postcards, they are already to go and I keep forgetting, you will get them, I promise.

      December 2, 2013
      • Leanne, I think you are so right, I don’t think neither that the blog isn’t the market – there is many sites you can show your job and where businesses turns to and pay you for your photos. http://pichit.me/ is one of them.
        Don’t worry about the postcards – they will be welcome when ever they turns up.

        December 3, 2013
      • I decided not to do those sites,there are too many people on them, I have a site I can use so I will use that to showcase my work

        December 4, 2013
      • Okay … I can see you’re on top of things *smile

        December 5, 2013
      • I wouldn’t say that, but I have tried those sites, and there are millions on them, all trying to sell. Hard to make sales on them.

        December 6, 2013
      • You’re right !!! I hope of all my heart that your online shop will take off, but I’m sure it will not happen over night.
        Have a truly wonderful weekend now.

        December 8, 2013
      • Thank you Viveka.

        December 8, 2013
  14. What a great building to visit and re-visit, Leanne! You’re so lucky to have gotten access…looking forward to many more great shots!

    December 4, 2013

Comments are closed.

