Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Mallee Expeditions

Last night was the start of the Christmas Festival in the city.  I was very busy taking just over 700 photos and now I need to sort through them for the City of Melbourne and for you.  It is going to be a busy weekend, so today, for last normal post until Christmas I thought we could have a look at some photos I took last year in the Mallee.

When I went this time, it was the first time that I had someone to show me around and I got to see some amazing places.  It was so good to take photos with a local showing you around.  It was all in the hope of helping Wimmera Mallee Tourism, something that I still really want to do.

So please forgive me for showing old images, but I right now I need to get onto the photos from last night.

73 Comments
  1. I’m looking forward to the Christmas photos, but these are lovely in the meantime Leanne. My favourite is the silos next to the railway tracks.

    November 30, 2013
    • I have only been taking them for two days and I can’t believe how many I have already, so there will be lots to show. Thank you. I like that image too.

      November 30, 2013
  2. Beautiful photos!

    November 30, 2013
  3. K #

    Your stuff is beautiful. Simply gorgeous.

    November 30, 2013
  4. I love your Mallee photos! Good luck with your Christmas Festival shots.

    November 30, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, I do love going there to take photos.

      November 30, 2013
  5. Superb shots…

    Thoroughly enjoyed each one of them, the color, light, and compo…

    Have a nice day.

    November 30, 2013
    • Thank you, can’t believe it is almost 18 months since I took them.

      November 30, 2013
      • Old is gold, right 🙂

        This came on top of my reader.

        November 30, 2013
      • Yes, that is right, great to hear. 🙂

        December 1, 2013
  6. Love love love it! No need to be silent here. 😉
    Kathryn

    November 30, 2013
  7. leecleland #

    Great selection of images, love the abandoned ones most now I’m looking forward to your Christmas in Melbourne series.

    November 30, 2013
    • Thank you Lee, Christmas tomorrow I hope.

      November 30, 2013
  8. Leanne, your photos are beautiful!! Through you, I will see faces and places I would never get to see. Thank you!

    November 30, 2013
    • What a beautiful thing to say, thank you so much, I hope you continue to enjoy them.

      November 30, 2013
  9. Love the last one in particular – it is full of questions. LCP no forgiveness required and good luck with the Christmas photos. MM ⛄️

    November 30, 2013
    • Thank you MM on both, much appreciated.

      November 30, 2013
  10. Great work Leanne, glad you showed these.

    Not sure why, it was liked watching a movie as I went through the images. It took me on a journey like I was there.

    Great experience thank you.

    November 30, 2013
    • What a great response Trevor, thank you so much.

      November 30, 2013
  11. Hello Leanne,
    Loved this series of images, whether I’d seen them before or not! A real boost in the grey November days here at present,
    BW, Julian

    November 30, 2013
    • Hopefully I can give you more of a boost over the coming days, thank you so much Julian.

      November 30, 2013
  12. you capture such beautiful views ad blues

    November 30, 2013
  13. A great collection of pictures from a fascinating area – many of them have haunting melancholy about them ….

    November 30, 2013
    • I always feel sad when I see these, a past that is gone, too many abandoned buildings and more being abandoned everyday. Thank you Noeline.

      November 30, 2013
  14. These are amazing! I love pictures of dilapidated structures

    November 30, 2013
    • There is something about them that we photographers are drawn to. Thank you.

      November 30, 2013
  15. Looks like you are having fun with new equipment very nice shots.

    November 30, 2013
  16. I remember some of these, but not all, Leanne. They are all stunning. I love the railroad shots, the building that looks like it is on fire with light, and the round stone building, well really all the round buildings. Those are interesting! Lots of love, Marsha 🙂

    November 30, 2013
    • Thank you Marsha, it was good for me to go back through them too, I had forgotten about some of them. 🙂

      November 30, 2013
      • 🙂 Some of them are printed in our brains. Even mine! 🙂

        November 30, 2013
      • Mmm, I hope that is a good thing, 😉

        December 1, 2013
      • Of course it is, my friend. 🙂

        December 7, 2013
      • 🙂

        December 7, 2013
  17. Beautiful pics!! All of them! I love the kangaroos!! I want to see one! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    November 30, 2013
    • They are around us all the time Lisa, come to my place for a walk in the local park and you are bound to see them. Thanks Lisa.

      November 30, 2013
  18. I can’t imagine taking over 700 photos at one time! I have quite a ways to go! I’m looking forward to seeing your Christmas photos! 🙂

    November 30, 2013
    • It isn’t hard, you just keep clicking, haha, though a lot of them were from the light show on the town hall, I don’t know how many of that I took. 🙂

      December 1, 2013
  19. You never disappoint! Your eye for images is gifted. I love the old rustic scenes best!

    December 1, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you, glad you enjoyed them.

      December 1, 2013
  20. These are gorgeous!

    December 1, 2013
  21. Reblogged this on Life after work.

    December 1, 2013
  22. Jenny Overton #

    Love, love,love all of these.

    December 1, 2013
  23. Ted Ryan #

    Interesting seeing these images again, though I see them all the time of course. We should do something with the ‘abandonment’ theme. Perhaps get a group together like the MAP photographers working on the ‘beyond reasonable drought’ book and work towards exhibitions/publications. Images placed in context. All of that stuff.

    December 1, 2013
    • I like that idea Ted could be really good .so what are you thinking?

      December 1, 2013
      • Ted Ryan #

        I’ll have a think about things and get back in a few days – but am looking at a group of people who have the direct connection from childhood & so a felt response, rather than just a formalistic one.

        December 1, 2013
      • Sounds like a good plan Ted.

        December 2, 2013
  24. Reblogged this on Australian Artists United and commented:
    Great images from Leeanne Cole Photography

    December 1, 2013
  25. Great shots Leeanne of what is part of my home 🙂 I look forward to seeing the rest of your shots from the Wimmera Mallee cheers Karen Wiseman @ Australian Artists United

    December 1, 2013
    • Thank you Karen I love that area up there, so where are you from?

      December 1, 2013
      • I live 10 ks out of Nhill in the Woorak area on the Horsham side surrounded by wide open spaces 🙂 We rent a house on a 2,000 acre property , lots of bird life, from parrots, kites,magpies and willy wag tails, wattle birds, no shortage of inspiration for this artist 🙂

        December 2, 2013
      • I kind of now Nhill, my mum lives in Woomelang, great area up there I love getting up there to take photos but it doesn’t happen enough.

        December 3, 2013
  26. Awesome clicks! Super..!

    December 1, 2013
  27. fgreat photo in a great atmosphere

    December 1, 2013
  28. Great “intermission” Leanne! Looking forward to your Xmas pictures.

    December 2, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I hope I can find enough for 25 days quite a challenge.

      December 2, 2013
  29. Pat #

    Gorgeous group of photos!

    December 2, 2013
  30. I wish I was there to shoot with you. What great places.

    December 2, 2013
    • It is unfortunate that places like there are full of buildings like this, there are so many. May be one day I can take you on a guided tour up that. Thanks.

      December 2, 2013
  31. Don’t really know what to stay about this gallery – more than – AMAZING! I just love every one of them. Love the colors, the shades … the brightness. Leanne, a FAB job. Favorite – don’t know – maybe the bigger photo of the barn in the field.

    December 2, 2013
    • Thank Viveka, it was nice for me to see them again as well.

      December 2, 2013
  32. These are beautiful photographs Leanne!

    December 3, 2013

Comments are closed.

