Skip to content

20 Days to Go and Where Some Inspiration Came From

I really wanted to make Christmas special and then I hurt my back and I can’t sit down without a lot of pain.  I am doing everything they told me to do to try and make it better faster, and things are slowly improving, but it means time on the computer is very hard.  I can’t process many photos, so today, I got an email from One Thousand Words and she has given me permission to use some of her Christmas photos from last year.

Last year she went out and started taking photos of everything Christmassy around Chicago, and I loved what she was doing, so I started doing the same with Melbourne.  So 1000 has given me permission to show you some of her photos from that time.

I am going to put them in a gallery for you, and hope you enjoy them.  Please go and thank 1000 for letting me do this, her blog is One Thousand Words.  Thank you 1000.

111 Comments
  1. Love the photos. Hope your back gets better. It’s no fun having back pain. I know.

    December 5, 2013
    • Great to hear Rusha, and thank you, I hope so too, I am pretty much getting sick of now, just want to be able to sit again, I miss sitting.

      December 6, 2013
  2. I hope you feel better soon! I know how it is to experience pain that prevents you from doing what you love. Hugs!!

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you Laura, it’s terrible isn’t it. Hugs appreciated and needed.

      December 6, 2013
  3. Sorry to hear you hurt your back, hope you feel better soon:)

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you, I hope so too, 🙂

      December 6, 2013
  4. Wonderful photo set and very well done!

    December 5, 2013
    • 1000 did do a great job of Christmas.

      December 6, 2013
  5. I pray your back feel better soon!

    December 5, 2013
  6. I hope you feel better soon! Back pain is horrible. I’m praying for you.

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you, it is horrible.

      December 6, 2013
      • Still praying. I hope you get some relief soon!

        December 9, 2013
      • Thank you so much, I am please to report that I am getting better, I can sit more, though I still have to take it easy. I am happy that things are slowly improving.

        December 9, 2013
  7. what a lovely gesture 🙂 Hope you’re feeling better soon.. xx

    December 5, 2013
    • It was wonderful for 1000 to let me show her photos, she was a great inspiration for me to go out last year. Thank you, it is slowly getting better.

      December 6, 2013
  8. JF #

    I wish you fast recovery and no back pain in the future. Amen!

    December 5, 2013
    • Haha, thank you JF, will do everything they tell me to make sure it goes away and stays away.

      December 6, 2013
  9. I know how it’s difficult to have bad back. Get better!

    December 5, 2013
  10. Speedy Recovery, dear Leanne!!!!

    December 5, 2013
  11. Lovely. Almost could feel a small twinge of Christmas spirit from these! Hope your back is better soon.

    December 5, 2013
    • I hope the small twinge grows. 😉 Thank you, it is a little better, but still a long way to go.

      December 6, 2013
  12. I followed her, I sure hope your back gets better (well you get better, hehe) Happy Holidays, we will just have to wait and savor your work more when you get better. (=

    December 5, 2013
    • I am so glad you did that. Thank you, it is a little better, but still a ways to go, I have to do so much work, that makes it even worse. I am glad I got quite a bit done last week.

      December 6, 2013
      • Take this for what its worth, but I used to do a lot of ground work with my horses and my back got pretty jacked up. I learned about keeping my bodies pH more balanced and it has really made a difference for me. All the best to you, I hope your back gets better fast! (=

        December 6, 2013
      • That is interesting, maybe you can tell me more about it. The hospital said it was because of a weak core and that I need to strengthen it, which is probably a good idea. I think I also have very bad posture when I am sitting at my desk, which I spend a lot of time at, so I might see about getting someone to come in and get it sorted for me so I am sitting at it better.

        December 6, 2013
  13. Dear Leanne, sending you healing hugs xxxx
    take your time , and take care of your back!
    groetjes, Francina xx

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you Francina, love the healing hugs, keep them coming. 🙂

      December 6, 2013
  14. Oh no, I hope you get better soon! Hope your christmas is amazing!!

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you Jemimah, and I hope yours is as well.

      December 6, 2013
  15. I feel so bad for you Leanne & I send you lots of loving healing energy. There is nothing worse then a bad back. I wish you a speedy recovery and a lovely Christmas. Kristy

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you so much, love the healing energy and could use lots of it. Bad backs are the pits, especially when it makes sitting so painful, though, I can now site for short periods which is nice. T

      December 6, 2013
  16. Sorry to hear about your back!! Get well fast!! Hugz Lisa and Bear

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you Lisa, it is slowly getting better, but not fast enough, haha.

      December 6, 2013
  17. I’ve had a ‘bad back’ at times myself, so I know how awkward and frustrating it is. Hope you are soon fit and well again, Leanne.

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you Sukie, it is amazing how debilitating it can be, will be so glad when it is all better.

      December 6, 2013
  18. hope you are feeling better soon )

    December 5, 2013
    • I am sure I will be, just need to make sure I don’t do too much too soon. Thank you.

      December 6, 2013
  19. leecleland #

    How generous of 1000 and what great images you have shared with us. Hope your back gets better really quickly, Leanne I know what a bugger bad backs can be, so take it easy.

    December 5, 2013
    • I was so happy when she said yes, and she does have some amazing images. Thank you so much, I am sure it will get better, just need to make sure I do what they tell me to do.

      December 6, 2013
  20. Hope you feel better soon I know the pain it is awful 😦

    December 5, 2013
  21. Isn’t it pretty, and so different from here. I hope your back is healing Leanne.

    December 5, 2013
    • Yes, very different from here, thank you Carol, slowly getting better, just wish it would happen faster.

      December 6, 2013
  22. Leanne – I’m so sorry about your back injury. Those things take much time to heal… and patience. Thanks for sharing these lovely Christmas photos today. I enjoyed them. Cheers!

    December 5, 2013
    • Thank you Elen, I am starting to understand that, time, which I just don’t have at the moment. If it had happened a month ago, or in a month it would have been so much better. oh well. Glad you like 1000’s photos, she did a great job last year.

      December 6, 2013
  23. Interesting self challenge to shoot all things Christmas around your city. Especially like the tree with the curved staircase. Keep up with your back healing Leanne.

    December 5, 2013
    • Yes, I found last year it really helped to get into the Christmas mood, it was great, of course 1000 was the inspiration behind it last year and it seemed like a good thing to do again this year. Thanks Robert, the back is slowly recovering, not fast enough, but I am sick of not being able to do things normally.

      December 6, 2013
  24. Sorry to hear you hurt yourself, glad you are following Dr.’s orders. Hope you heal up quickly! 🙂

    December 6, 2013
    • Thank you, yes, I think what the Doctor says is very important in this instance, so going to follow religiously.

      December 6, 2013
  25. Sorry that you are not feeling well. Hope you are up to par soon!

    December 6, 2013
  26. Very pretty. Hope your back gets better soon.

    December 6, 2013
    • I think so too David, and thank you, I hope it gets better soon too.

      December 6, 2013
  27. I’m so sorry to hear about your back pain. I’ve been there. Like you, I couldn’t sit for a while, but my back did get better eventually. I’m wishing for a speedy recovery for you too.

    December 6, 2013
    • Thank you, it is so annoying and I think not being able to sit for very long is the worse, eating and drinking is very interesting right now.

      December 6, 2013
  28. So sorry to hear you are not well. I hope you are feeling better soon.

    December 6, 2013
    • Thank you, it is slowly getting better.

      December 6, 2013
  29. I hope your back is better very soon. That sort of pain is truly crippling. 😦

    December 6, 2013
    • Thank you Chillbrook, things are improving, I can now sit for very short periods, which is great, and you are right the pain can be very crippling, thank goodness for drugs. 🙂

      December 6, 2013
  30. Some really beautiful shots. The Macy’s tree is my favourite I think.

    December 6, 2013
    • I am sure 1000 will love to hear which is your favourite, glad you enjoyed the images.

      December 6, 2013
  31. Pretty photos. I’m wishing you a speedy recovery!

    December 6, 2013
    • 1000 did a good job with her Christmas photos I think also. Thank you, my back is slowly recovering.

      December 6, 2013
  32. Pat #

    Beautiful seasonal shots! Take care of your back.

    December 6, 2013
    • I will Pat, thank you, and 1000 has some lovely seasonal shots.

      December 6, 2013
  33. Well, Leanne, you’ve done an amazing job with placing all my images in the gallery–more amazing, because you’ve done it with an injured back!!!

    My deepest thanks for showing my work to your huge audience half the world away…it brings a few tears of happiness to see everything together! (So, that’s why I had a note from WordPress that ‘traffic on the blog was so heavy’. I couldn’t figure why so many people were looking at last year’s Christmas in Chicago posts–but it was YOU!!!).

    To you, your family, and all your followers: May you be blessed with the beauty of this season and be thankful you are able to enjoy and see the world in such a simple way–a few clicks, and you can travel anywhere!

    And Leanne: Please take it easy. Everyone will understand that you might not post every day. I pray your back heals quickly, though, and thoroughly…because Summer is almost there in Australia, and you definitely need a day or five at the beach!

    December 6, 2013
    • Thank you so much 1000, I am taking it easy and doing everything they told me to do. I really want my back to heal as quickly as possible. We are starting to wonder if summer is ever going to arrive, it has been cold and wet.

      I am so glad you liked the post and hope you got lots of visitors from it, you deserve the attention.

      December 6, 2013
      • Thanks so very much again, Leanne…and traffic and followers ARE up!

        Sorry to hear about ‘cold and wet’ because that sounds more like Chicago than Melbourne!

        Do take care, and ‘portion’ out your computer time…the back is a difficult place to heal quickly, so take your time to rest as necessary, okay?

        December 9, 2013
      • You are so welcome, I am glad you got the extra followers and traffic, that is fantastic.

        The weather has been horrible here, I don’t want it to be hot, but it would be nice to see more of the sun.

        I have been 1000, I can sit for a little longer, but I haven’t been pushing myself and I think it is getting better because of that.

        December 9, 2013
      • That’s the way to do it, Leanne–baby steps and no over-exertion! I’ll wager by the weekend, you’ll have greatly improved!

        December 10, 2013
      • No over-exertion that is for sure. I am able to do more and more each day which is great. Thank you so much.

        December 10, 2013
      • ;>) !!!

        December 15, 2013
  34. Linda G. #

    Lot of sparkly images there; nice collection of photos. I hope that your back heals well.

    December 6, 2013
    • Yes, lots of images, I hope mine this Christmas are sparkly too. I am sure it will, it is getting better, I can now sit for short periods, so that has to be a good sign right?

      December 6, 2013
  35. Christmas scenes are always guaranteed to make one smile 🙂
    Take it easy Leanne.
    Hope you feel better soon.

    December 6, 2013
    • I totally agree RoSy, there is something about Christmas that does that.
      I will take it easy, thank you so much.

      December 6, 2013
  36. Do take care and be well, always~ Cheers!! 😀

    December 6, 2013
    • Thank you, I will be careful, it is getting better, I can now sit for short periods which is fantastic. 🙂

      December 6, 2013
      • You’re welcome! Glad to know that you’re feeling better already.

        Have a wonderful weekend ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

        December 7, 2013
      • Thank you, it is slowly getting better, went into the city this afternoon and took photos, that was great.
        Thank you so much.

        December 7, 2013
      • ヽ(´▽`)/ YAY ヽ(´▽`)/

        but still…you’ve got to be extra careful in the future!!

        Take care and Cheers!! 😀

        December 8, 2013
      • I will be, thank you. 🙂

        December 8, 2013
      • You’re welcome! Cheers~ 😀

        December 10, 2013
  37. What a fantastic collection of christmas-photos:) I love it and you have made great work putting them together in a very delightful way.

    December 6, 2013
    • 1000 deserves all the credit here, I just put them into a gallery, she is the one that spent so much time going out to get the images.

      December 7, 2013
      • Ok, I see that when I read through agin. Bur still they are faboulus! Tell her that:)

        December 7, 2013
      • I will 🙂

        December 7, 2013
  38. Reblogged this on Premier Introductions Launches Blog.

    December 7, 2013
  39. love it! I bet you are having a blast! Such pretty images.

    December 7, 2013
    • I wish I was but my back is not co-operating, though I do love the images that 1000 took of last Christmas.

      December 7, 2013
      • I’m so sorry about your back, I hope it has held out for you through this project.

        December 22, 2013
      • It is on the improve and I have had to make some changes, but definitely getting better, thank you. It hasn’t been that bad doing the photos, which is good.

        December 22, 2013
      • I am glad for that. The first shoot I had after I got my D800, I had a major flare up with my RA and fibromyalgia. It was awful, but I made it through – what choice did I have. I did have a rough couple of days after. That camera is so much heavier than my old one.

        December 29, 2013
      • I have to admit I have really noticed the weight, so much like the D300s in that respect, so it seems the same, but I can imagine if you had a much lighter camera it would be a bit of a shock.

        December 29, 2013
      • Yes the D200 was quite a bit lighter. I’ve gotten used the the 800 now, so not so bad.

        January 17, 2014
      • That is great to hear Darla, it is a big camera.

        January 17, 2014
  40. Lovely stuff! Sorry to hear about your back, Leanne – hope you get better soon.

    December 7, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, it is slowly getting better.

      December 7, 2013
  41. Thanks for introducing us to these great photographers Leanne! I really do have empathy for you. The work of the photographer is hard work even when it brings great joy. I’ve been suffering chronic pain for many years and it’s so frustrating when your body gets in the way of your passions. Hope you heal soon

    December 7, 2013
    • It is great to hear that people enjoy the photographers I show. It is frustrating to have pain like this, but I do hope it will go away and I hope yours isn’t too bad. Thank you Sarah.

      December 7, 2013
      • It’s all a balancing game. Learning to pace yourself so you don’t worsen the pain too much. Take care!

        December 7, 2013
      • I find that too, you think you are doing okay and then you realise you have done too much. I am making sure that doesn’t happen, well, when I can control it.

        December 8, 2013
  42. So sorry to hear about your back, Leanne — hope it mends soon.

    December 7, 2013
    • Thank you Steph, it is on the mend and slowly getting better.

      December 7, 2013

Comments are closed.

