Skip to content

A Time of Reflection

Christmas is over for another year, and now it is sort of a no where time, the end of the year is near, and most of us want to wait until the new year before doing anything new.  I feel the same way, I kind of want to start the new year refreshed and so this time is a good time for reflection, and where do I go from here.

So over the next few days I think we will revisit many photos I have shown before, and start planning what I want to achieve next year.

So today being Friday, I thought we could look back on my project for Deaf Children Australia and what I have done there.  I first went to the Bluestone that belongs to Deaf Children Australia in February this year and since that time I have been there many times and taken many photos.

scdca-6874This is the first photo I showed you of it.  I think we all agreed that it was a stunning building.

In my time there I have taken lots of photos, and I have tried to work out what I was going to do there.  It has been an interesting journey.  Initially it was just about taking photos, but as time has gone on my journey there has changed a little.

I first became involved because they wanted me to record the restorations that the building would be undergoing as it changes the way the building is used and being restored as it gets close to its 150th birthday.

LeanneCole-dca-5054So far I have seen some of that restoration work done on the front of the building, where the front entrance had been closed in case something fell off the roof.  It is now open.  However, for me that has been about it, and I didn’t want to stop going there, so I think I am going to start something new there in the near future.

group_class_photos_0005-1919_1I am starting to get involved in the history of the association and the original Deaf School that was established in the 1850’s.

History is something I do love and I have found that many of you enjoy that as well.  It is so interesting to see how a place changes over time.  How it came to be and where they are going in the future.

I am going to get more involved in the visual history, which might mean extending my editing knowledge and learning how to restore images.  I am excited at that prospect.

So next year, there should be more happening with the building and restoration, but I also hope that I can do more on the history as well.  I have shown you so many photos of the building, I am a little reluctant to show them again, but I think I will just show you some from my recent trip in a gallery.

31 Comments
  1. Beautiful post 🙂 it’s so nice when I see people involved in local projects!

    December 27, 2013
    • Thank you, it has been really nice to be involved.

      December 27, 2013
  2. History is a fascinating thing, and it wil be great if you can combine that with your other passion.

    December 27, 2013
    • I totally agree, it is great to combine them, thanks Colonialist.

      December 27, 2013
  3. Lovely, Leanne. Thank you so much.

    And you are so right. This is a time for reflection, to think where to go next. So much new has opened before me in such a brief time, yet I know that this is just the foundation. Thank you for inspiring me to take time out to think upon, what is next.

    Once again, much gratitude is in my heart for not only what you do here, but in the world as well. Bless you!

    Hugs,
    Amy

    December 27, 2013
    • It does seem like a good thing to do, and I am looking forward to doing more. It has been a great year for me and I hope next year will be even better.

      I hope the same happens to you as well.
      Thank you so much Amy.

      December 27, 2013
  4. I agree – definitely time to take stock and make plans for the new year! Love the photos, as always.

    December 27, 2013
    • Thank you, it would be nice to start next year with some kind of plan.

      December 27, 2013
  5. It’s lovely to revisit this gorgeous old building. I know what you mean about resting and refreshing for the new year. It’s nice to just be at home.

    December 27, 2013
    • Yes, it is nice, nice to do nothing, plan some things for next year, I am excited, but also worried. Thank you so much Carol.

      December 27, 2013
  6. Merry Christmas Leanne. I have followed your blog closely, and you teach me. Santa finally brought a full frame lens to go with the Nikon D800–a normal zoom 24-70. Now I have the tools and the world has opened up in a new way! Thanks for your good posts and your lovely pictures. I will be back to see more!

    December 27, 2013
    • Sounds like you are about to start having a fantastic time, I have that lens and I love it, it has taken me a while to work out when to use it, but I think I will be using it a lot more in the future. I do love hearing that people get things from my blog, so thank you very much for being part of it. Good luck with your full frame images. Merry Christmas to you as well.

      December 27, 2013
  7. Lovely photos!!

    December 27, 2013
  8. Liana #

    Have loved your work for DCA…the right photographer on a worthy project. What a serendipitous thing this has been!

    December 27, 2013
    • Thank you Liana, I have you to thank for it, so thank you. It has been fantastic.

      December 27, 2013
  9. Initially when I saw your post/photos in my WordPress reader, I thought they were photos of Werribee Mansion and the gardens around this area. I was wrong but nevertheless, lovely set of pictures. Happy New Year, Leanne. I hope next year will be great for you and your blog 🙂

    December 27, 2013
    • No not Werribee Mansion, I must see about photographing it sometime, though I have heard they don’t allow photography, will have to look into that. Thank you Mabel. I hope the same for you, all the best in 2014. 🙂

      December 28, 2013
  10. Gorgeous photography! 🙂

    December 27, 2013
  11. That bright summer sky really shows off the building!

    December 27, 2013
    • Yes, it does, we do have a beautiful blue skies here. Thanks Marie.

      December 28, 2013
  12. Jen #

    I remember your sharing these with us the first time around, and it is lovely to revisit. That building is really striking! Do you think you’ll go back during another season to get a different look at it?

    December 29, 2013
    • Seems like the right thing to do right now, to share and revisit, I am enjoying the trips back, Yes, I will be going back, I suspect I will be going back many times. I must try and get a sunset image. Thanks Jen.

      December 29, 2013
  13. I love this idea of a retrospective. I loved this whole series. I started following you right around the time you were deep into it so the Deaf School series is sentimental to me as well.

    December 30, 2013
    • Ohh Nia, that is wonderful, thank you so much. I hope there is still lots more to come.

      December 30, 2013
  14. Wonderful photographs of the old building. I can remember when you wrote about going up in the lift to photograph. The photos turned out great. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

    December 30, 2013
    • That was an exciting day, I loved doing that, wish I could do it for a lot of other things. Thank you so much, I hope you had a good Christmas too and all the best for 2014.

      December 30, 2013
  15. I loved this post Leanne!

    January 11, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2013 retrospective | Nia Simone, Author

Comments are closed.

