Skip to content

Overcast Mallee

As I arrived in the Mallee yesterday the clouds rolled in.  I was hoping to get a very nice sunset on my first night here, but the clouds were too thick and then it rained overnight.  My mum and I did go over to the old railway station here in Woomelang last night and took some photos of it and the silos.

LeanneCole-mallee-7137I played around with one of the images quickly this morning, but it was very dark in here and I was working on the laptop.  I miss my monitor when I am away, so I might just do basic editing over the next few days and leave the art stuff until I get home.

I have more image of the train station and silos for you.  They have only been processed with Camera Raw.  I am hoping to explore a lot while I am here and see what else I can get.

62 Comments
  1. I like these images best where you let the subject recede into the distance, taking in the whole context. I have shot elevators for quite awhile, and the uniqueness of an elevator comes out when it is in its setting, like a center stone in a piece of jewelry. You have explored some very good ideas here, and I enjoyed this post very much!

    January 24, 2014
    • It is funny hearing them being called elevators, not something I hear here, they are silos here. These ones here are quite old and the old tall ones, which nearly every country town in Victoria, where they grown grain have. These ones are no longer used though. Thank you so much, glad you enjoyed the photos.

      January 24, 2014
  2. great shots!

    January 24, 2014
  3. I really like these ! (:

    January 24, 2014
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    These are nice. The view close to the tracks is similar to one my daughter took in Trenton, NJ. 🙂

    January 24, 2014
    • That’s fantastic Jackie, I have some photos at home that I took once lying on them. Maybe I should try that again. Thank you. 🙂

      January 24, 2014
  5. Processing photos the day I shoot them is difficult and something I try to avoid – there is something about distancing myself from the shoot that works for me. Hope you have a good visit with lots of shots!

    January 24, 2014
    • I took them last night, but I feel a bit out of sorts here, like it wasn’t right. I suppose I need my surroundings to be comfortable when I do it. Thank you so much Robert.

      January 24, 2014
  6. As always: these are fabulous! I love the lines of the RR tracks, and the angles you took of the silos. Nicely done.

    January 24, 2014
    • That is great to hear, thank you so much.

      January 24, 2014
  7. Love the silos! they speak volumes of the area and it’s past 🙂 sorry the clouds rolled in but good if some rain gets to the area 🙂 Bev

    January 24, 2014
    • It rained a little overnight. Though I am sure there will be plenty of chances for sunsets while I am hear. Thank you Bev, the silos do speak volumes, such massive landmarks. When I was a child and we were driving somewhere we would have competitions to see who would see them first, now my girls do the same thing. 🙂

      January 24, 2014
      • I am sure there will..these country sunsets are stunning…I don’t remember seeing many silos as a kid we travelled to Mildura often but all I recall were the vineyards..back when grapes were grown mainly for eating :)…and tatsed way better…there I go..old age showing hahaha 🙂 have a great time..i’m going out on the verandah and brething in the crisp air since we also have had rain!! 🙂

        January 24, 2014
      • Hope the verandah was nice. The silos are everywhere around here. In most towns and even a long the road. Grapes, there are lots of those around Swan Hill my grandparents grew them and we used to go and stay with them. I had forgotten that they grew them and then put them on racks to dry them out.

        January 24, 2014
      • I remember that ..long racks!! I have the old grape dipping tins as flower pots..funny the discarded becomes the sought after! I hope you had fun I am sure you are probably heading home by now..been so behind in blogs here it’s crazy 😉

        January 25, 2014
      • I don’t remember the dipping tins, but I do remember the funny buckets they picked them in. It was a long time ago. I have been having fun and I am still here, trying to decide if I should go home tomorrow or Tuesday. Not sure I want to be driving in the heat on Tuesday.

        January 26, 2014
      • No the heat will be foul and safety wise with the weather I wouldn’t…:)

        January 26, 2014
      • Yeah, I am tempted to go home tomorrow, still not sure, but am tending towards that.

        January 26, 2014
      • Keep an eye on the weather there was a big fire in Malmsbury today and it wasn’t even windy..352 acres..smoke still hanging over the Calder.

        January 26, 2014
      • Oh no, I will have to keep an eye out, though probably better to travel tomorrow than Tuesday.

        January 26, 2014
      • I think so..temps are going to start creeping up 🙂

        January 26, 2014
      • Yes, I have seen that too.

        January 26, 2014
      • Arghhhhhh…..

        January 26, 2014
      • Hahaha,

        January 27, 2014
      • 🙂

        January 27, 2014
      • Coming back today.

        January 27, 2014
      • Good idea! travel safely..;)

        January 27, 2014
      • I took your advice and arrived home a couple of hours ago. 🙂

        January 27, 2014
      • Awesome…think it was good idea…I have to head to Maryborough tomorrow…arghhhh 😉

        January 27, 2014
      • I am glad I came home, nothing like sleeping in your own bed. That is going be hard, it is so hot tomorrow, take care. 🙂

        January 27, 2014
      • I agree..love my bed! yes I am not really looking forward to it,but I am taking my car and not car pooling so if I think it’s dodgy I am gone 🙂 Thanks Leanne 🙂

        January 27, 2014
      • That sounds better, glad you are doing that. Wouldn’t it be wonderful today if all the firefighters didn’t have to work today. 🙂

        January 28, 2014
      • It sure would…back home and sweating the rest of the day out 😉

        January 28, 2014
      • That is good to hear. The air conditioning is doing well here, just starting to warm a little, but okay. 🙂

        January 28, 2014
      • Excellent! hope they tell us we have some cold weather coming……yeah right! 😉

        January 28, 2014
      • Cool change meant to be coming tonight

        January 28, 2014
      • Thankyou Mother nature 😉

        January 28, 2014
      • 🙂 🙂

        January 28, 2014
      • 🙂

        January 28, 2014
  8. jrphawthorne #

    The photos are really oppressive, in a good way. Like the sky is about to fall down. I like them 🙂

    January 24, 2014
    • That is a really interesting way of describing them, I like it. Thank you.

      January 24, 2014
  9. I really like the way your photos demonstrate the redundancy within modern utilitarian industrial architecture. There’s a melancholy air through which the receding railway lines pass.

    I get a sort of contradictory mixed up feel (which I like) – very organic imagery , huge hard crude grain silos that resemble the obese legs of mankind mired in a desolate landscape constructed from concrete, with various diseased appendages sprouting or erupting from them.

    Keep up the good work

    January 24, 2014
    • Thank you, one of the things I really enjoy about putting my photos up on my blog is when people write comments like yours, that is fantastic.

      January 24, 2014
  10. Very dramatic photos Leanne. Have a nice time with your Mum!

    January 24, 2014
    • Thank you Carol, it is nice having her to myself.

      January 24, 2014
  11. This seems like a very quiet town. Your pictures seem to depict that there is no life around. The images look very crisp, I must add. Looking forward to seeing more pictures of Mallee 🙂

    January 24, 2014
    • It is a quiet town Mabel, almost dead really. Not many people live here, only about 200. I love coming here to take photos. Thank you so much, hoping to get out in the morning to photograph more of the town, then off somewhere else in the afternoon. Lots planned. 🙂

      January 24, 2014
  12. poppytump #

    I’m always amazed at the difference in the colours and overall effect between laptop and desktop too Leanne, it makes me wonder what everyone else is seeing on their screens …
    Love these enormous structures.. powerful .. could be menacing at night with long shadows … look like the area could be used for some sort film set 😉

    January 24, 2014
    • I know what you mean Poppytump, I hate working on the laptop, so different.

      I love them too, they are so monumental compared to anything else in the town. I think the tourism board would like that. I should plan some film shoots to show what is possible.

      January 24, 2014
  13. It’s amazing how empty it seems!

    January 25, 2014
    • It really is that empty, and nearly always like that now, which is sort of sad. I think when they are harvesting it is a bit busier but not much.

      January 25, 2014
      • Some places in the states are like that too. It’s a haunting feeling.

        January 25, 2014
      • It is quite sad, there are lots of them here, nice to take photos of, but I am sure the towns think otherwise.

        January 25, 2014
  14. lovely compositions, beautiful post again.

    January 25, 2014
  15. 🙂

    January 25, 2014
  16. I think you captured the quietness very nicely with the boarded-up train station and the no longer used grain silos.

    January 25, 2014
    • Thank you David, it is almost a very sad reflection of what is happening to many towns like this.

      January 25, 2014
  17. Hi Leanne!
    I really enjoy the first picture of this post and also have to say thanks for your “likes” on my posts!
    Also hope to make some chats in english with you ’cause I’m a beginner with photography and I think you can give me good suggestions for my works.

    Saluti dall’Italia!

    Franco

    January 25, 2014
    • Thank you Franco, that is wonderful, glad you liked it.
      I can only try, good luck with your own photography.

      January 25, 2014

Comments are closed.

