Skip to content

In Memory of Jonesy’s Bush Retreat

When Jonesy was driving me around the other day I mentioned to him that I still had the photos I had taken of his bush retreat about 18 months ago.  I asked him if he would like them.  So I have been getting them ready for him.  So today, I thought we could look at the photos of before and after the fires.  I showed some the other day, but I hope you don’t mind seeing them again.

I am not going to say anymore, but will write some captions under the photos.

68 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    That looks like a great retreat! The idea is to relax.

    January 30, 2014
    • It was, there was a lot of imagination that went into this place, and it would have been a great place to relax.

      January 30, 2014
  2. It’s even sadder now I’ve see how it was before.

    January 30, 2014
    • I know exactly what you mean Gypsy.

      January 30, 2014
  3. That is really sad. This would be a fun place to hang out and party. Maybe it will rise again…

    January 30, 2014
    • I think he plans on rebuilding, though he doesn’t think it will be as grand, but who knows, once he starts he might not be able to stop.

      January 30, 2014
  4. Wow, big difference. Looked like a fun place. I bet you’re glad to have taken the photos of what once was. My sympathies.

    January 30, 2014
    • I think it was John, I am very glad I did, I am glad that I got to see it before the fire.

      January 30, 2014
  5. Pat #

    So sad to see those after photos.

    January 30, 2014
  6. Love the before, the after, not so much 😦

    January 30, 2014
    • I know what you mean, it is quite sad to see how much was destroyed.

      January 30, 2014
  7. It’s really sad to see the devastation the fires have caused. What wonderful place it must have been. Hopefully, the happy memories will stay for ever…

    January 30, 2014
    • I think it was a lot of fun, Jonesy had an amazing imagination and I think you can see that in many of the photos. I think he will rebuild some of it.

      January 30, 2014
  8. lucywilliamspoetry #

    How awful that it was destroyed by fire

    January 30, 2014
    • It was awful, shame the fire couldn’t have been more selective, or more unpredictable and left some of it.

      January 30, 2014
  9. A sad post and a real visual reminder of the threat we face in these summer months. However, a positive is that you took such comprehensive photos which can be treasured by him with his memories.

    January 30, 2014
    • It is a very real reminder of what summer is here. I think he was glad I had taken some, hopefully he likes what I have.

      January 30, 2014
  10. History and retreat…I can’t help but love the idea of bringing them together. History is a way of connecting what has been to what will be one day in the future.

    January 30, 2014
    • What a lovely way of thinking of it Robin, really nice.

      January 30, 2014
  11. Ted Ryan #

    Imagination is one thing that can rise above devastation and clearly Jonesy has a great deal of that.

    January 30, 2014
    • Oh yes, Jonesy certainly has that in abundance, I am sure once he gets started, it will be bigger and better. Thanks Ted, going to put up the photos I took with you on Saturday.

      January 30, 2014
  12. Fire is such a brutal and unforgiving entity..i am so glad you had the pictures to give him as men of simpler needs tend not to capture their lives on film…it was a wonderful retreat and a place that has a gnarly character that you captured beautifully..sadly the fires results have been captured just as well…I think of this ..’her beauty and her terror’ sums up our landscape . great post Leanne

    January 30, 2014
    • Thank you Bev, it is all rather sad, the fire really didn’t leave much, it must have been heartbreaking for him when he went back the first time. So much has gone. He has an amazing imagination and I am sure he will rebuild and it will be even better.

      January 30, 2014
      • I hope so..he doesn’t sound like a man who would give up easily..so sad though .

        January 30, 2014
      • I don’t think so either.

        January 30, 2014
      • 🙂

        January 30, 2014
  13. So tragic. Your photo journal of the before and after is amazing. Maybe he could do a KickStarter campaign to help him get it back up and running? Money can’t buy the replacement of what he had. But it could buy labor hours (including yours for these photos) and also antique and vintage things to replicate what he’d accumulated. (https://www.kickstarter.com/) You could “gift” photos to donors. He could gift original souvenirs. Just a thought.
    Amazing place, amazing photos of a tragedy.

    January 30, 2014
    • I don’t know that he spent money on it really, I think he made it out of recycled things that he found. So some things can’t be replaced, and I think lots of people gave him things too. I think it is the time he spent and the creative things he did that are gone that will matter the most, he really does have an amazing imagination. It was a very funny place to look around. I am not sure money is what he wants, but I am sure if people wanted to donate things he could use to rebuild, they would be appreciated, though we would need to ask him.

      January 30, 2014
  14. Reblogged this on Khanakool.

    January 30, 2014
  15. Oh Leanne…. I love every one of these. Sorry I haven’t been by as often… dealing with a lot of Depression going on around here…

    January 30, 2014
    • I understand completely Keli, and you should stop feeling guilty, we do what we can, and I know you really do have your hands full.

      January 30, 2014
  16. The Boot Hill signage photo shows that your friend has the tenacity to rebuild the place. Very good! Thanks so much for the photos and writing, Leanne! 🙂

    January 30, 2014
    • I think he does too, it is a matter of how much he will rebuild. Thanks Fabio.

      January 30, 2014
  17. Oh, this makes me so sad. I’m so glad he plans to rebuild.

    This is very powerful, Leanne.

    January 30, 2014
    • I think it was sad for us too, I think he will, though he said it won’t be as elaborate, but who know, he has a great imagination, so it might be even better.
      Thank you Nia.

      January 30, 2014
  18. Goodness…there is a sadness there. I hope he rebuilds.

    January 30, 2014
    • I hope so too Scott, it was a great place, he said he will, but not as big, I suppose time will tell.

      January 30, 2014
  19. I think the pictures say it all about this place. Minimal technology yet the homes look cozy. It must be very peaceful here and looks like its a great quiet place to think. It’s so interesting to see these kinds of places exist in Victoria.

    Take care this weekend, Leanne. It’s going to be a hot one again :/

    January 30, 2014
    • I think you have described it very correctly Mabel. It was a very peaceful place and a long way from civilization, not a place anyone could just drop into. I think there are possibly more than we know.

      Thanks Mabel, you take care too, I think I will be staying home this weekend, thankfully our air conditioner has been fixed.

      January 31, 2014
  20. Great before and after shots – Now I have the context which I lacked from the first posting. Gone forever – even if he rebuilds it will never be the same, just different, which can be OK too – but I don’t know if I would have the energy.

    January 30, 2014
    • I thought people might like to see what it did look like. I thought I had showed them before, but I hadn’t, so it was good to do that, and I am glad you liked seeing before as well. YOu are right, it won’t be the same, I guess time will determine how motivated he is. Thanks Robert.

      January 31, 2014
  21. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    January 31, 2014
  22. Wow, just crazy pictures. There are places in Southern California that look like this and I’d love to go capture them! Great job Leanne 🙂

    January 31, 2014
    • It is a very weird place, very barren in many ways. I’m sure you will one day Amanda, thanks. 🙂

      January 31, 2014
  23. There is true sadness in those pictures. He has to rebuild now.

    January 31, 2014
    • I hope so too, it would be a shame if it just disappeared now.

      January 31, 2014
  24. 🙂

    January 31, 2014
  25. Jen #

    I hardly know where to begin—they’re all just so plain cool! I’m sure he will be thrilled to receive the photos. 🙂

    January 31, 2014
    • I hope so Jen, I haven’t heard yet. Thanks.

      January 31, 2014
  26. Reblogged this on rebloggobbler.

    January 31, 2014
  27. Fantastic…love these photos, what an interesting looking place and that cooker is priceless!

    January 31, 2014
    • Thank you Georgia, it was a great place, and I loved the cooker too, I don’t know if it survived the fire though.

      January 31, 2014
      • It was a shame…at least the photos are there.

        February 1, 2014
      • That is so true, nice to have something to remember it by.

        February 1, 2014
      • 🙂

        February 1, 2014
  28. Amazing gallery – talk about being out in nowhere – sad and beautiful on the same time …. my favorite pick is – camp lounge!

    February 1, 2014
    • Thank you Viveka, it was an amazing place, I think I liked the ride on mower best.

      February 1, 2014
      • Ride on the mower!! *laughter
        Reminds me about my friends son when he was about 3-4 years old .. and every time the vacuum cleaner came out was he riding on it – and he didn’t want to get off – it was very heavy job to vacuum clean while “baby sitting”.

        February 1, 2014
      • That is pretty cool, when my kids were little and the vacuum cleaner came out they ran away and cried. haha. 🙂

        February 1, 2014
      • Our first dog did that too … and we could stop him from howl . He wasn’t a big dog .. but he sounded like a wolf. *smile – the noise was painful in his ears.

        February 4, 2014
      • It is funny what is frightened by them. Our cat runs away and hides.

        February 4, 2014
  29. Oh, I’m just speechless…Your photos are wonderful. I remember when you went up and took the first set, what a good time it was…to see it now, just gone…
    I hope he’ll rebuild, if he wants to…

    February 1, 2014
    • It was a good time, Jonesy was so proud of his place, it is so devastating to see it now. He talks about rebuilding, but not as big, though I suspect once he starts it will be hard to stop. It will be good to see it in a few years. Thanks Marie.

      February 1, 2014
  30. You saved the memories of the place, Leanne. Your photos immortalized what was.

    February 1, 2014
    • Thank you, that is a nice way of looking at it.

      February 1, 2014
  31. A moving record of the place. Very good.

    February 5, 2014
    • Thank you, I think Jonesy appreciated the photos.

      February 5, 2014

Comments are closed.

