Skip to content

The Monochrome Madness Challenge

It is the next challenge and I have been sent many images.  All are fantastic and yet another great variety.  You must have noticed the new name up there for Laura’s and my challenge, this is what it will be called each week from now on.

I thought I would show this one again.

scbarwonheads-hpm8063-1sep1

This one worked so well in Black and white, and it is probably one of my favourites that I have done recently.  The lighting is really effective.

I have LAURA MACKY‘s image and she has given us another great image.

tree1-web2

It is nice to see some that are toned as well.  You can see Laura’s post and how she did her image by going to her post, Standing Alone.

We received lots of entries this week, and instead of showing them individually, I have put them into a gallery.  I have put a number under each one, and below the gallery are the corresponding numbers and links to that persons blog.

We have such a large variety of images, it is so good to see.  We would like to say thank you to everyone who entered their images.

  1. KKEITH, PHOTOGRAPHER: THE PHOTOBLOG
  2. THE PALLADIAN TRAVELER
  3. Casa de Kao
  4. Photographs by James Collett
  5. A few images, frozen into time
  6. Elementary Posters
  7. PAT CALLAHAN PHOTOGRAPHY
  8. PNCO
  9. thechangingpalette
  10. TRICIA BOOKER PHOTOGRAPHY
  11. THE OCEAN-LAND CLASH
  12. The Shady Tree
  13. The Weekly Minute
  14. Blinded by Light
  15. Broken Window Photography
  16. FINISTERRE
  17. Gin Getz
  18. ETCETERA ETCETERA ETCETERA
  19. Jamie Christine Photography
  20. Fine Arts Journal
  21. John Holding
  22. paulatohlinecalhoun1951

Now, if you wish to participate,

  • You must email me the image you want to include with a link to your blog, or website. My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au
  • The image size should be as small as it can be, so the largest side should be 1000 pixels or less.
  • You have until the following Tuesday morning to get your entries to me.  Remember I am on Australian time, so with GMT I am +11 hours at the moment, I publish my post on Wednesday morning.
  • Remember to include a link to your blog or website.

There were a lot more entries this week, and it seems feasible to me that this might become too much for me to handle.  I am toying with ideas, as I like this challenge and would like it to keep going.  So one idea I had was to make a community page on Google+ where everyone can put their images, and then Laura and I can pick the ones we like and do our post that way.  It is just an idea at this stage.

136 Comments
  1. Awsome photos:)

    March 12, 2014
  2. amazing photos. I thought I’d left a comment. ??? – The lady portrait is stunning. She is naturally but the capture leaves one fully confident that this lady is very comfortable with herself.. eve

    March 12, 2014
    • Yes, you did, but you left it on an image, so it doesn’t come out here, and I moderate, it is a stunning image. I am sure the photographer is going to love hearing that. Thanks

      March 12, 2014
      • 😉 thank Leanne.. My daughter’s name is the same..

        March 12, 2014
      • How cool. 😉

        March 12, 2014
  3. beautiful work

    March 12, 2014
    • I think we have all done well, thank you.

      March 12, 2014
  4. The images are beautiful!

    March 12, 2014
  5. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I like to try to choose which photo is best – today I really can’t. I love cemeteries, Ferris wheels are cool, any water/pier scene is likable and the ski-lift image are all superb. Trees are a favorite as is this one above. The hub-looking thing (bridge?) is attractive… the lines and pattern are excellent.

    March 12, 2014
    • I know what you mean Jackie, the quality is fantastic today, everyone of them is fantastic. Am I using that word too much?

      March 12, 2014
      • Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

        Ha ha ha! You use “fantastic” and I use “amazing!” How about we swap adjectives for a week and see how that works? We all have go-to words and these work for us. 🙂

        March 12, 2014
      • I get words into my head and then I am using them all the time, okay I will do amazing, and you do fantastic. That is so true. 🙂

        March 12, 2014
  6. Wow… such beauty in all the shots and the edits are fantastic!

    March 12, 2014
    • They are, I totally agree, thank you.

      March 12, 2014
  7. jamiechristinephotography #

    So thrilled to have my photo included with these stunning images. Loved them all!

    March 12, 2014
  8. Stunning. As always.

    March 12, 2014
    • Thank you, I say thank you, but I mean it from all of us.

      March 12, 2014
  9. jamiechristinephotography #

    Reblogged this on jamie christine photography and commented:
    I’m so excited to share this! Leanne Cole Photography sent out challenge to photographers. She asked for submissions of black and white photography. Today she posted the gallery of photos chosen in her first Monochrome Madness Challenge. I am so thrilled to see my wedding dress photo included with all the stunning black and white photos she featured. Some of these beauties take my breath away. Good job to all the other photographers who had photos featured in the gallery. I love seeing all the beauty!! Thanks to Leanne and Lauren for holding this challenge and featuring my photo. It’s just lovely. 🙂

    March 12, 2014
  10. Absolutely stunning.

    March 12, 2014
    • We had some submissions this week.

      March 12, 2014
  11. beautiful post!

    March 12, 2014
    • Thank you, we got some great images.

      March 12, 2014
  12. Leanne, I can’t thank you enough for doing this each week. The images this week are absolutely stellar. Yours in particular is mind-blowingly amazing. I don’t think the lighting could have been more perfect for that shot. I can definitely see that one on peoples walls as a 20×30 or something.

    I can’t wait to visit everyone’s site who participated.

    Thanks again,

    Shane

    March 12, 2014
    • I have to agree Shane, stellar is a great word to use for them. Thank you.
      I hope you enjoy your time visiting.

      March 12, 2014
  13. These are incredible! I started commenting on each one, but then thought it best I just say it here……AMAZING work everyone! I love seeing what people do…and I’m liking Monochrome more and more. In fact, I’m Mad for it! haha Thank you Leanne for taking the lead on this. I’m really enjoying it!

    March 12, 2014
  14. BPics #

    Excellent composition. I love B&W

    March 12, 2014
    • That is great to hear, thanks.

      March 12, 2014
  15. All very appropriately good images to showcase B&W imaging. There are some I like more than others, not necessarily because of technique, but more for subject matter. That being said they all are extremely well done and show photographers with their own visions of the world in B&W. Thanks!
    PS – I do like when B&W images have a bit of a warm tone added – just as I would use a warm-toned paper in the darkroom.

    March 12, 2014
    • I think I feel exactly the same way as you Robert, on all points, thanks.

      March 12, 2014
  16. What a fantastic gallery. Thanks for including me.

    March 12, 2014
    • Thank you Andrew, seems wrong me saying thank you. I was sent some fabulous images, including yours, so thank you to you too.

      March 12, 2014
  17. The Google+ community sounds great. I participate in a number of G+ communities and there are really a fabulous number of fine photographers there. I “own” a couple of small communities and it is really a rewarding experience.

    March 12, 2014
    • I think it could be a good way to go, will see, I will have to look into setting it up. I am part of a number as well, though I am fairly new to g+.

      March 12, 2014
  18. wow! These are fantastic. The ferris wheel is so interestingly striking since we’ve all seen hundreds of pretty much the same photo but in color. Wonderful job, everyone!

    March 12, 2014
    • I agree Ashlea, we have a great selection.

      March 12, 2014
    • I’m the one that took the ferris wheel photo and I just wanted to say thanks! It’s so nice reading feedback like that.

      March 12, 2014
      • Absolutely! Its not something you see everyday.

        March 13, 2014
  19. All very nice images Leanne. Thank you for the list of links. It was fun to visit other blogs that I hadn’t discovered yet. Best, Robyn

    March 12, 2014
    • We got some great images this week, I hope this continues, and I hope you have got thinking on one for next week.

      March 12, 2014
      • Hi Leanne. How do we send images to you for the monochromatic madness?

        March 16, 2014
      • You can email them to me, just make sure they are low res images, my email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au

        March 17, 2014
  20. Knocked my socks off, every single one. Wow!!! Such talent this world has!!!

    March 12, 2014
    • Some fantastic images were entered this week Amy, just brilliant, do you think you will send us one one week?

      March 12, 2014
      • I don’t have anything in monochrome, but let me see what I can do. I can set my camera to monochrome and work with my Macro, perhaps. I know I took some unbelievably incredible photos today, which come to think of it, would look awesome in monochrome. It is supposed to snow again here a good 12 inches, so maybe that could be my monochrome entry. Hmmm….Lots to think about. Thank you, Leanne, for considering my work good enough to enter. I honestly wasn’t going to because, well, compared to many, …. OK ….not going there. I LOVE my work, how is that? LOL Love, Amy

        March 12, 2014
      • I think it would be great for you to try it Amy, that is what this challenge is about, having a go, so if you are considering it that is brilliant. We are going to do it each week, so no pressure. Remember none of us think our work is that good.

        March 12, 2014
      • Oh, yes, the inner critic that some of us are trying to silence. Yep. Know all about it. LOL (((HUGS)))

        March 12, 2014
      • Haha, 🙂

        March 12, 2014
      • (((HUGS))) (smiling)

        March 12, 2014
    • How are people submitting the images to you Leanne? I’ll do a lot of black and white and monochromatic work and would be happy to participate. Such a cool idea!

      March 12, 2014
      • People have been either emailing the low res image directly to me, or sending a link to where the image is on their blog. Sounds like a great idea Robyn, see what you get. My email address is at the bottom of the post.

        March 12, 2014
  21. Gde #

    So thrilled by looking at your awesome works. Well done!

    March 12, 2014
    • So many people sent some wonderful images, they are all amazing.

      March 12, 2014
  22. Nice variety & creativity!

    March 12, 2014
    • They certainly are RoSy thanks.

      March 12, 2014
  23. Appreciate the inclusion in this group of fine work– kkeith

    March 12, 2014
    • You’re very welcome kkeith, are you going to send another one for next week?

      March 12, 2014
      • If you would like, sure-kk

        March 12, 2014
  24. Astonishing

    March 12, 2014
  25. I love b&w. Great selection!

    March 12, 2014
    • I was sent some great images, they are amazing.

      March 12, 2014
  26. Wow… A great challenge and a striking gallery of breathtaking images.
    Thanks for the challenge Leanne and Laura! I’m thinking of what I can do for next week.
    Beautiful images everyone!

    March 12, 2014
    • You are very welcome Robyn, thanks for participating. I look forward to your next submission.

      March 12, 2014
  27. Thank you for including my photo. Very much appreciated. Such high quality submissions.

    March 12, 2014
    • You are welcome, thanks for submitting one. We did get some high quality submissions, all of them.

      March 12, 2014
  28. Nelson #

    Thanks for including my photo ……… so many beautiful pictures

    March 12, 2014
    • I think the same Nelson, and you are very welcome.

      March 12, 2014
  29. absolutely stunning! Love this post!

    March 12, 2014
    • That is great to hear Julianna, thank you.

      March 12, 2014
  30. Thank you Leanne and Laura for offering this challenge. I feel so fortunate to have one of my photographs included! Leanne- the light captured in your dock photograph is off the charts! Laura- The subtle softness adds so much to your image. I love the roundness of that tree too. Can’t wait to head to your site to see how you managed that technique. I always learn something new with each new post, thank you for sharing your challenges and knowledge.

    March 12, 2014
    • You are welcome Carrie, and thank you so much for your submission. Thank you, it is a lovely image and I think it looks a lot better in black and white than it does in colour. Thanks for the wonderful words about my blog, it is good to know that people learn from it.

      March 12, 2014
  31. Well done Leanne – good stuff. The picture of the pier (top of the page0 impresses me a lot. Colour would not have added to that image – just confused it. Good choice.
    Flying to Melbourne on Saturday for my son’s wedding. Keep an eye open for a bleary old Englishman stumbling around the streets. x

    March 12, 2014
    • Thank you David, I agree with your, colour wouldn’t have worked with it.
      So you are coming to Melbourne, for how long.

      March 12, 2014
      • Hi Leanne – the wedding is on the 22nd in Maldon and after we’ve had a chance to get to know the new in-laws we’re going to have a look at the GOR
        Leaving 5 April. Really looking forward to it. Never seen Oz !!

        March 12, 2014
      • Well if you want someone to show you around Melbourne for a couple of hours, let me know.

        March 12, 2014
      • Thanks Leanne that’s very kind. Think we’ll be whisked off to Maldon by the inlaws !!

        March 13, 2014
      • Maldon is a beautiful old town, I took photos of it earlier this year, you will love it.

        March 13, 2014
  32. Great job, Leanne. Some very attractive B&W submissions, especially your pier shot in the lead-off position.

    March 12, 2014
    • Thank you, and thank you for submitting your image too, it is great to get such a large variety.

      March 12, 2014
  33. Excellent set, Leanne! My thanks to all contributors and to the organizer! Thanks so much, Leanne! 🙂

    March 12, 2014
    • You are welcome Fabio, we got lots of great images here, I am so glad that people have submitted images, I have even started getting some for next week is fantastic as well. 🙂

      March 12, 2014
      • Great job, Leanne! Thanks so much for putting the series together! 🙂

        March 12, 2014
      • It was a pleasure.

        March 12, 2014
      • 🙂

        March 12, 2014
  34. ladymaggic #

    Fantastic Photographs….

    March 12, 2014
    • That is great to hear, thank you.

      March 12, 2014
  35. Wow. Beautiful edits, compositions, every last one of them…

    March 12, 2014
    • What a great comment, thank you from all of us.

      March 12, 2014
  36. Di' #

    Each picture is beautiful and very creative.

    March 12, 2014
  37. I am blown away! They are all so beautiful! With the oak trees, I love the texture and the multiple distances, foreground, background, sky. I stared at your pier for a really long time. The water and the angles are mesmerizing. The chairlift took my breath away. I thought, “I see chairs all the time, but not like that!” This post shows how beautiful black and white can be.

    But of course, my next post is going to be all COLOR. I went mad for people’s flowers today while I was out on a walk.

    March 12, 2014
    • They are a beautiful bunch Nia, the submissions were great. Glad you liked them.

      I can’t wait to see you post all about colour. Thanks Nia.

      March 12, 2014
  38. Reblogged this on My Choice and commented:
    Nr 6 is mine! 😀 But I like them all. Who said that black & White is not beautiful?

    March 12, 2014
  39. Some great images 😊

    March 12, 2014
    • We got some great images, I am so happy. 🙂

      March 12, 2014
  40. Fun challenge! Thanks for posting these very nice pictures!

    March 12, 2014
    • You are welcome Pat, and thank you for submitting an image.

      March 12, 2014
  41. I love your image, it the sliver of a sun contrasts nicely with the dark hues of the water. So great to see all the other different images too – so many things look so good in BW and monochrome. You’re doing a great job running this challenge and getting people excited about being creative. I hope one day I can produce great photos like these.

    Hope your week has been well so far, Leanne. I’m having a busy one with work. Less time for everything I want to do, but am one big step closer to investing in a new camera 🙂

    March 12, 2014
    • Thank you Mabel. There is something really wonderful about the light in it. I do love it when that happens. I was so happy with all the images that we got for the challenge this week, and the ones I have so far for next week, makes it look like it will be a good week next week too.

      It has been good, I took someone on a one on one in Williamstown today which was so nice. Good that you are busy, when you are ready to get a camera, let me know, I might be able to give you some advice.

      March 12, 2014
      • Shots like those are hard to come by. It’s so nice people are willing to share their photos on your blog.

        I heard there’s a good fish and chips place down near Williamstown, lol. At this stage I’m tossing up between buying an advanced digital camera and a compact. Most probably going with the latter. One day I’ll sign up for one of your 1-on-1 sessions 😀

        March 12, 2014
      • They are. I think it has been fantastic, I do delete all the images once I have uploaded them.

        I did see a place that looked really nice. I think you should consider either a mirrorless camera or a bridge camara. That way you have some control, if you want it, but you can use it automatically as well. The mirrorless ones also give you the option of getting different lenses if you want. 🙂

        March 12, 2014
      • It must be a lot of images, taking up quite a bit of space 🙂 Thanks, Leanne. I am very tempted to get a camera that allows me to be flexible with lenses. Have been using my Canon Ixus for more than 6 years and am keen on a massive upgrade 🙂

        March 12, 2014
      • No not really, I resize them all, so they are small images, not too bad. I think getting one of the mirrorless cameras could be good then, it would give you a lot more options. 🙂

        March 13, 2014
  42. Marvelous monochromes all.

    March 12, 2014
    • Thank you David, from everyone. I was sent some amazing images.

      March 13, 2014
  43. B&W gorgeous!

    March 13, 2014
  44. WOW! Everyone’s is so beautiful! I love this challenge you guys are doing 🙂 Thank you so much for including mine as well, it’s not nearly as interesting as these others HAHA! But I really appreciate it 🙂 I’ll be sending you more as I got some shots. Love the Google + idea! Let us know 🙂

    March 13, 2014
    • Now don’t put yourself down like that Amanda, none of ever think our work is good enough. You don’t need to thank me, but I will thank you for submitting your image, it is great to see so many different types of images. Who knew Black and White would be so popular. 🙂

      March 13, 2014
  45. Inspiring black and white

    March 13, 2014
    • Glad you think so, thanks Diana.

      March 13, 2014
  46. Wow its so beautiful…:) these pictures really made me to think abt………..taking the Monochrome style of pics…

    March 13, 2014
    • I hope you have a go, see what you come up with and maybe one week email an image to be included. Thank you.

      March 13, 2014
  47. “Early morning” looks like a charcoal drawing. Nice, whatever you did. 🙂

    March 13, 2014
    • I had to go and see which image you meant, the one by Herman, it does look like that.

      March 13, 2014
  48. Wonderful photographs 🙂

    March 14, 2014
  49. JL #

    Great shares of BW images, I have always been drawn to BW and still shoot a large portion of my photography in BW, especially my portraits. California Photographer

    March 14, 2014
    • That’s great Jared, maybe you should email an image one week to be included in our challenge. Thank you.

      March 15, 2014
  50. Thank you for liking “Sunrays and Atmospheric Optics.” Wow, what a great collection of black-and-white photos! Thanks for sharing them. 🙂

    March 17, 2014
    • You are welcome, and yes, a great collection, there are so many people out there doing B&W. Maybe you might join in one day too.

      March 17, 2014
  51. I think it’s fantastic that you show all the entries … in your post – and not only plingbacks.
    You put a lot of work into this … I feel your passion is every post you do.
    My pick here is #2 – the ski lift. Love the light, sharpness and blurriness.

    March 21, 2014
    • I like seeing them altogether, so I do it for me as well. Thank you so much Viveka, I love doing this blog.

      March 22, 2014
  52. Love the variety of black and white images – keeps reminding me to try this on some of mine

    April 7, 2014
    • Oh yes do, Diana, we are getting some great images.

      April 8, 2014
  53. so gorgeous and a bit of msytery

    May 24, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Monochrome Madness Challenge | Fine Arts Journal
  2. Israel 1970′s: Psychedelic Slide | Cardinal Guzman
  3. Lines to the Sky | blinded by light
  4. Color | Nia Simone, Author
  5. Black (& White) Friday: The Hyatt |
  6. MMC | Six Pixx

Comments are closed.

