Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Zoo Walks

After our Open Vehicle Adventure at the Werribee Zoo we went and had lunch at the Meerkats cafe, I think it was called, before deciding to go for a stroll.  While most of the zoo you can’t see without going on a safari, either like the one we did, or the one that is free with entry, there is a small section that you can walk around and see.  This part looks and has a similar feel to the main Melbourne Zoo.

LeanneCole-werribeezoo-140403023You can see the gorillas at both zoos, but they are in a much larger area here, well it seems larger.  We only saw one of them.  Another we saw briefly at the end, but it was over the hill.  It was nice to be able to just wander and see what was around.

LeanneCole-werribeezoo-140403017Like most Zoos, well I think they all do this, the gardens around the enclosures and walkways are really beautiful and there are lots of things to photograph along the way.  Using the 70-300 meant I could get some great shots like the one above.

LeanneCole-werribeezoo-140403006We stayed with the hippos for a long time, watching them come up for air and then going back down.  It was like a game of hide and seek, they move around a lot under the water and you can’t see them when they go under.  There is a place to watch them, but from where we were you couldn’t see the mother and her baby.  You can only see them when you go on Safari.

LeanneCole-werribeezoo-140403013The lions are so big, so beautiful.  They were just hanging out.  It was nice.  There is a massive glass screen so it feels almost like you are with them.  There was a male lion, but he was right over the side sleeping.  It was nanna nap time apparently.

It is another nice zoo and the grounds are just wonderful and they have done a lot to make it work in the environment that it is supposed to be, so many African styles of plants and buildings.  I won’t talk anymore, I have some more photos for you to enjoy in the gallery.

48 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    April 6, 2014
  2. Gorillas always appeal to me.

    April 6, 2014
    • They are so cool, or at least they seem to act it, I always think they would be like the James Deans in Movies. Very cool.

      April 6, 2014
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    The image with the hippos looks inviting! I could see myself sitting on the sand and watching them lumber along in the water.

    April 6, 2014
    • I have to admit Jackie I was mesmerised, I didn’t want to leave them. I loved watching them.

      April 6, 2014
  4. More great photos. My favourite places for photography is at the zoos.

    April 6, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, I think they are becoming mine too.

      April 6, 2014
  5. Another great post Leanne.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Must say I love the hippo with just eyes above the water.

    April 6, 2014
    • Thank you Robyn, I loved the Hippos I could have stayed there watching them for hours. 🙂

      April 6, 2014
  6. Absolutely gorgeous photos! My favorite is the shot of the meerkat sitting on the rock!! So cute! 😛

    April 6, 2014
    • The meerkats are always great to watch, very cheeky I think. Thank you.

      April 6, 2014
  7. Very nice.

    April 6, 2014
  8. I love that old-fashioned lantern!

    April 6, 2014
    • They were all around the Zoo, really helped with the feeling of where you were.

      April 6, 2014
  9. Beautiful shots Leanne. I really like that one of the gorilla 🙂

    April 6, 2014
  10. I’m not a huge fan of zoos but this looks good. Singapore is worth a visit if you get a chance.

    April 6, 2014
    • They do a lot here to make sure the animals don’t feel like prisoners too much, and if you go and the animals are hiding, or somewhere where you can’t see them, then that is a problem for you. So it is to be expected that sometimes you will go and won’t be able to see some animals. I like that. I will have to remember that, thanks Andrew.

      April 6, 2014
  11. I’ve never seen a gorilla in person before, but your photo got me thinking about what it might be like to walk up on one in the wild. I don’t know what I would do.

    April 6, 2014
    • I don’t think I would like to, they are quite aggressive, and so big. They look cute, but, then again.

      April 6, 2014
  12. Beautiful and diverse collection here Leanne 🙂

    April 6, 2014
  13. Monkeys, monkeys, monkeys! Felt so happy when I saw the gorilla and monkey shots. I’m a huge fan of monkeys 🙂 They looked a bit angry and annoyed, haha. I also like the shot with the tree against the grey sky, That might be an interesting one to post-process.

    Hope you had a good night out in the city, Leanne (lol, I make it sound like you went out partying). Did you manage to see the sunset last night? I was down at St Kilda beach and it was so nice watching a great big fireball sinking into the ocean in the distance 😀

    April 6, 2014
    • I missed the monkeys when I went to Melbourne Zoo, so it was nice to see them here. I don’t know if they were angry or not.

      It was a great night Mabel, I think they all really enjoyed themselves and I got some great photos as well, so good all round. No not really a good sunset, not that it mattered, it was more about the lights and the river last night. It was a warm evening, St Kilda Beach sounds like fun. 🙂

      April 6, 2014
      • It was a warm night indeed last night. Nice to hear you got great photos. All the night lights sound interesting, I’m sure you’ll post some soon and I can’t wait.

        I went down to St Kilda beach to see a concert in the area there. Didn’t stay long at the beach as I wanted to get in front of the queue for the concert. Managed to stand at the very front of the stage and took a handful of photos. Not too shabby. Makes up for standing for four hours 🙂

        April 6, 2014
      • I noticed how warm it was in the city, I had a jacket on, but it was warm. I love taking photos at night, you can get some great images. I did put one of the ones I got up on Facebook and Google+.

        I remember days of doing that, not anymore, haha, don’t think I could handle it anymore. I hope it was good and great that the photos turned out well.

        April 7, 2014
  14. Hey Leanne … just stunning! Clever …

    April 6, 2014
  15. Thanks for the trip around the zoo. I’m guessing there are a lot more animals available to shoot with your camera. Nice shots.

    April 6, 2014
    • You are welcome Cris, there were lots that you could shoot, which was really nice. Thank you.

      April 6, 2014
      • 🙂

        April 7, 2014
  16. I’d love to see gorillas in the wild!

    April 6, 2014
    • That would be amazing, though from a safe difference.

      April 6, 2014
  17. Nice photos……………

    April 6, 2014
  18. Great shots…..love the hippos!

    April 6, 2014
    • Thank you Trees, they are so cute.

      April 6, 2014
  19. It’s so much nicer to have a more intimate view of the wild at either the zoos or wild animal parks. The perspective of their true size, movements, odors– seems different than a tv documentary view. Which is why I visit our local SD Zoo and Animal Safari every couple of years. Many thanx for sharing these photos.

    April 6, 2014
    • I think so too, and I think it is better for the animals too, must have been horrible when they basically lived in fishbowls. They have an original enclosure in Melbourne, with nothing in it, to remind us of how it used to be. You are welcome, and I am glad you enjoyed them. Thank you.

      April 6, 2014
  20. This is a beautiful post Leanne! I especially love the flower pictures, but the big cats are always magical… I keep meaning to ask you, and you have probably already said, but I’ve been gone so much, wondered if you taught any classes online? Not sure I could afford them yet, but I love your work and want so desperately to be able to improve my own photography. I’m quite sure that once I get some of the other programs I will hopefully improve. Maybe you should write a book, photography for Dummies., 😀 But you know I love any hints, ideas, or suggestions.

    April 7, 2014
    • Thank you Keli, I loved the flowers too. I do offer online classes, they are a bit different, but it is always possible. I am thinking of putting a lot of the notes I have written into a book sort of thing, to sell online. I think that would be good. I do sell some articles on using your DSLR camera and how to work everything out, but that is all I have do far.

      April 7, 2014
      • That sounds like a great idea! I need simple instructions and the pictures to show me what to hit or what to select… LOL. Let me know if you do! You know I need help 😀

        April 19, 2014
      • NOt sure how the book will go, but I think I do make instructions clear, I try to anyway. I will Keli. 😀

        April 19, 2014
  21. Who needs to come to Africa?

    April 7, 2014
    • Haha, I know, we have our own little Africa here in Werribee, who knew?

      April 7, 2014
  22. These are so great – absolutely love the first (very primal) and last (cheeky) shots.

    April 8, 2014
    • Thank you Richard, it is a great place to get some photos.

      April 8, 2014

Comments are closed.

