Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – Melbourne Zoo Part 2

A couple of weeks ago I did a Weekend Wanderings post on some photos that I had taken at the Melbourne Zoo.  I had taken so many photos that I saved some to do a second post.  I thought today would be a good time to show those images.

zoo-3567We watched the seal show and I took quite a few photos of this seal, Gordo, I think his name was, being trained.  They showed what seals could do, how they check them out to make sure they are healthy, and even how the keeper gets a kiss from him.  Very cute.  Part of the show is about how to help seals survive in the wild and what we can do to help them.  The thing he has around his neck in this image is part of what fisherman use and Gordo is showing us how it could kill him, so he is playing dead.

zoo-3633The tiger was playing hide and seek, and he/she was hiding up the back in among the bamboo.  We hung around only so we could photograph some of the water and then the next thing we knew the tiger came down, got in the water, had a drink then walked back up into the bamboo.  If we hadn’t stuck around we would have missed it.  What a beautiful tiger, check out that tongue.

zoo-3745Melbourne Zoo is quite well know for their babies and we were so happy to get a look at the baby Elephant.  The other elephants were so protective and you didn’t get to see it much before they circled around and gave protection.

zoo-3763I watched this pelican washing itself for ages.  I loved the way it flapped its wings into the water to wash them.  There was definitely a routine to it.  I loved the splashing, so happy I got the this image.

zoo-3823I know Koalas are perceived as cute, but this is a whole other thing, a Koala very comfortable in its surroundings, it doesn’t even hang on when it is sleeping.

I have a lot more photos for you to see, lots more of the tiger and seal.  I do have to say though, that I did all these photos in Lightroom today and I would like to thank Ben from APERTURE64 PHOTOGRAPHY for his help. He helped me work out how to resize and watermark the images as well.  Here is the gallery for you.  All the images were taken with the 70-300mm lens.

83 Comments
  1. ekidon #

    I Love Meerkats!

    April 12, 2014
  2. It’s the end of the week so please excuse this…but seeing animals+Australia I automatically thought of this : http://youtu.be/eNEeq5qGh8I
    Have a nice week end and stay safe

    April 12, 2014
    • I can understand that, we do have lots of bad things, but we also have some great stuff.
      Thank you, you have a great weekend too.

      April 12, 2014
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Wow, the images, especially the tiger, is simply breathtaking. I like that these creatures look well cared for. 🙂

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you Jackie, they are very well cared for and I think the keepers at the zoo love them very much. 🙂

      April 12, 2014
  4. I wish we had adventures like this. All our zoos are strickly behind fences.

    April 12, 2014
    • It is a great zoo, at this one they are behind barriers, but the barriers so look like things you would find in nature.

      April 12, 2014
      • I’m sorry I haven’t been commenting on your blog as of late. I upgraded my computer and now I can’t comment on anybody’s (except one) blogs. Very frustrating. Some days, I can’t even open them. 😦
        Have a great summer.

        July 9, 2014
      • NO need to apologise Darla, life gets in the way. I have heard from someone who was having the same problem that sometimes it could be something you have downloaded onto your computer, this other person found it was software to block ads, but not AdBlock, so I don’t know if you have anything like that on your computer, but please, don’t feel bad, you can always leave a comment on facebook, I will see that.

        July 9, 2014
  5. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    April 12, 2014
  6. Some excellent shots – the tiger is a beauty. I see you have some of my relatives … 🙂
    The giraffe full-face looks like an ET!

    April 12, 2014
    • I loved the tiger. We have lots of your relatives. I agree about the giraffe. Thanks Colonialist. 🙂

      April 12, 2014
  7. lucyxiaophotography #

    Great photos! I cannot remember the last time I visited Melbourne Zoo. Should definitely visit again soon.

    April 12, 2014
    • Yes, you should Lucy, it is so different, it is changing all the time. The animals are great and the environments are fantastic for them. Thank you.

      April 12, 2014
  8. Fantastic shot of the tiger – I’ve spent lots of time waiting for him to come away from the bamboo fence, and as with you, eventually you get rewarded. The new seal show looks amazing, I haven’t seen it yet – great education. 🙂

    April 12, 2014
    • You do have to wait quite a while, but so worth it. I loved seeing him. Yes, the seal show always great. Thank you Lisa.

      April 12, 2014
  9. Love these photographs – you caught the personality of all these guys!

    April 12, 2014
  10. I know how that koala feels. A lovely set of pictures.

    April 12, 2014
    • I know the feeling too, thank you.

      April 12, 2014
  11. Beautiful images Leanne. I love the one of the tiger. 🙂

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you Suz, I love the tiger too.

      April 12, 2014
  12. Lovely shots! I particularly love the little elephant and the pelican taking a long shower! I’ve tried to capture birds bathing and hope to get more such pictures this coming summer.

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you Tiny, the baby elephant is so cute. The birds bathing is great, very fast shutter speeds.

      April 12, 2014
      • I know…it took me a hundred tries before I got it somewhat right 🙂

        April 12, 2014
      • I turned up my ISO and went for the fastest shutter speed I could get so I could get the water like that.

        April 12, 2014
  13. These are fantastic. Love the giraffe with the funny face and those tiger shots are fantastic. Looks looks you had a great day!

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you Nora, I knew I would have to leave these images for their own post. I think I like giraffes.

      April 12, 2014
  14. Oh wow! I love these! That took a lot of work I know it! Excellent! The Tiger is my favorite, I so love them all! 🙂

    April 12, 2014
    • All processed with lightroom, I think they turned out pretty good. 🙂 Thank you.

      April 12, 2014
      • Oh yes I do! I’m sure it took longer then you liked but I love the crispness! The detail is amazing. Don’t you think? That’s what I love about Lightroom! Yay! The next time will take less time because you will know which settings you like best. I tend to love clarity and luminance. But there are also presets on the left hand side you can use for effects and such! I don’t use them much but I love to see what they look like! 🙂 Good job! If you run into anything cool let me know! I tend to stay in my little box! 🙂

        April 12, 2014
      • I have to say, it didn’t long at all, I think because the way I did them was the same as what I do in Camera Raw, so that much was the same, it was the resizing and watermarking that took a bit of time, but not too long. I will let you know if I find anything else. Thanks again. 🙂

        April 12, 2014
  15. Every one a great shot but I really love the tiger standing in the water.

    April 12, 2014
    • I love that too, I had no idea that tigers liked water like that, I couldn’t believe my luck. Thank you.

      April 12, 2014
  16. The capture of the elephant foot is amazing, great shoot.

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you, I thought it would be something different.

      April 12, 2014
  17. So many wonderful photos!! I love the tiger and his/her tongue, the baby elephants, the pelican splashing and I love that elephant foot lol…that made me smile.

    April 12, 2014
    • I saved the best zoo ones, I think, love that tiger. Thanks Laura, I am so glad they made you smile. I hope you getting over your cold.

      April 12, 2014
      • You are so welcome! They are wonderful. I managed to work on an image today but I’m still hacking and have been in bed most of the day. Hmmm not a pretty picture lol.

        April 12, 2014
      • That’s not good to hear, I will send you an email.

        April 12, 2014
  18. So many amazing shots….i love the elephant’s foot and the butterfly….and so on and so on!

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you Paula, I love the elephant’s foot too, so not what I thought.

      April 12, 2014
  19. Those are awesome photos!

    My heart melted a bit at the baby elephant picture.

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you so much. The baby is very cute.

      April 12, 2014
  20. I enjoyed both of your zoo posts! 🙂

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you RoSy, that is great. 🙂

      April 12, 2014
  21. Oooh, baby elephants are always so gorgeous. Your photo of the tiger is amazing. He looks like a big pussy cat but I bet if you climbed in there with him he would not be so friendly.

    April 12, 2014
    • I know Carol, they are. I think so too about the tiger, it was so nice of him to have a drink of water in front of me. Thank you.

      April 12, 2014
  22. Beautiful images, Leanne 🙂

    They have maintained this place pretty well…

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you Sreejith, the zoo is big money, so I think they have to maintain it as best they can.

      April 12, 2014
  23. Maybe zoos (some zoos) arent so ad after all….some great shots and love the giraffe : ))

    April 12, 2014
    • I hope that is true, they make a point of saying they are good, and from what I’ve seen they do their best. thank you.

      April 12, 2014
  24. Some beautiful images really liked the giraffe and the elephants foot : ))

    April 12, 2014
  25. Ed #

    I give the pic of Gordo my seal of approval..;-)

    April 12, 2014
    • LOL, brilliant, thank you Ed.

      April 12, 2014
  26. I’m a sucker for a good picture of a tiger – I love the one in the post where the tiger is drinking. In saying that the meerkats come an extremely close second. There are some fantastic captures here Leanne. Well done!

    April 12, 2014
    • Thank you so much, I liked that one too, love the tongue.

      April 12, 2014
  27. Great series Leanne, zoo’s are great for photography opportunities.

    April 12, 2014
    • They are Mark, I must go back more. Thank you.

      April 12, 2014
  28. Oh yes, check out that tongue. It’s a very pink one indeed. Also very happy how your splashing pelican photo turned out. You can definitely see the beads of water everywhere. There seems to be endless things to photograph at zoos. So many animals, insects and then is also all the nature/fauna and the architecture. The zoo seems like a playground for you.

    Hope you had a good time in the city this morning. It was quite a balmy afternoon. Thanks for the computer advice, Leanne 🙂 HP has always been in my good books; my Compact laptop has served me well for 5 years, though my brother had two HP laptops that went bust after a year. I am looking for a laptop that’s 13-14″, any bigger will be a bit hard for me to transport around. It’s a bit frustrating most laptops have big screens.

    Sounds like you got your holidays planned too. It will be a busy one for me as I’m writing. At least, no need to go into the office 🙂

    April 12, 2014
    • I think you put it right, it is a playground, I never seem to see all of it though. I always leave thinking I must come back.

      The city was so nice in the morning, very calm it was lovely. I think I have to say also to be wary of HP, most people I’ve heard who have trouble with their PCs all seem to use HPs, I am not saying definitely, but you should do your research and look for online reviews.

      I have some planned, looking forward to it really. So you will be spending yours doing what you love doing, that has to be good. 🙂

      April 13, 2014
  29. Thank you for sharing your trip and wonderful photos !!!

    April 12, 2014
    • You are very welcome,and thank you, just happy you enjoyed the trip.

      April 13, 2014
  30. These photos are wonderful. Like most of the commenters I love the tiger and the koala makes me laugh but the bird shots are beautiful especially the contrast of the whit against the background. Thank you for sharing.

    April 12, 2014
    • You’re welcome Anna, the tiger was so lovely and really close, it is nice to get that close. Thank you. 🙂

      April 13, 2014
  31. An audible ahhh for the baby elephant… how precious.

    April 12, 2014
  32. So good! A fabulous series of images!

    April 12, 2014
  33. Your tiger photos are amazing Leanne!

    April 13, 2014
  34. Just fantastic!! I love the tiger with his tongue out!! I wish we had a zoo like that!!

    April 13, 2014
    • I was just walking with a friend who said the same thing, that she loved the tongue hanging out. We do have a great zoo, thanks Cybele.

      April 13, 2014
  35. Amazing shot of the tiger! Wonder why Piggletino’s scout will never bring him to the zoo…

    April 13, 2014
    • Thank you, the tiger was wonderful. I have no idea, you better take that up with the scout. 😉

      April 13, 2014
  36. poppytump #

    What a great collection Leanne it brings out the childlike wonder in us all again Lol
    The downy topknot on the baby elephant … the sploshing of the pelican .. and the tiger who forgot his manners :-p
    I knew you’d crack LightRoom like a sweet nut 🙂

    April 13, 2014
    • I like that idea of childlike wonder. Glad you liked them Poppytump, it was a great day at the zoo.
      Yeah, getting there, it isn’t as hard as thought, Ben helped a lot, couldn’t work out how to get the images out of LR.
      Thank you. 🙂

      April 14, 2014
  37. Great animal photos.

    April 18, 2014
  38. great selection, and I love the tiger taking a drink.

    April 24, 2014
    • Thank you, I love that tiger image too, that tongue is huge.

      April 24, 2014

Comments are closed.

