Skip to content

Weekend Wanderings – City Snaps

On Wednesday I was in the city for a One on One Photography Session, and whilst I didn’t get a lot of photos, I did manage a few.  We went for a walk through some parts of the city that my client was unfamiliar with.

LeanneCole-city-7053I asked this person if I could take a photo of her taking a photo of the graffiti.  Everyone who came around and saw this piece of graffiti was taking a photo of it.  I have some as well.  I have other photos of the graffiti in Hosier Lane but will put them in a gallery at the end.

As I said, I didn’t get many photos, so yesterday I dragged my husband into the city with me and we walked from one end to the other while I took photos along the way.

LeanneCole-cityholga-9567I thought it might be fun if I used the Holga lens that I purchased about 18 months but have rarely used.  It looks really funny on the camera, a plastic lens that is relatively small, and purple, on my Nikon D300s.  I just figured that it might be fun to do some photos that weren’t serious and just see what it was like.

LeanneCole-cityholga-9603Working out the light can be a bit of a problem.  So you have to go up the ISO a lot and sometimes add some exposure compensation as well.  There is no aperture, so the lens is fixed and the aperture is fixed.  It really is a plastic lens and you don’t have much control over it.  It is like using one of those old compact film cameras from the 70’s.

LeanneCole-cityholga-9622It gives you, well I don’t know how to put it, it gives these shots that look old, grainy, not quite in focus.  I was having so much fun with it.  I think I will have to do this again.

LeanneCole-cityholga-9681I even tried panning with the train.  Wasn’t moving as fast as I would have liked, but it was a good try.

I got the lens so long ago and I kept meaning to take it and try it, but I just never seemed to be anywhere where I wanted to give up getting good shots for it.  When we went into the city yesterday it was specifically to use the lens and see what I could get.  I did think it was fun, and I was having a ball with it.  I do wish I had taken the D800 though, the cropped sensor of the D300s was a bit annoying, and meant that I couldn’t fit some things in.  I needed to think outside the box.  I also think that the end of the day wasn’t a great time to be using it, and perhaps it would be best using it in bright sunny conditions, so I might have to try that another time.  The images have come up a bit dark and grainy, but I don’t mind that, and think it adds to the Holga effect. They are relatively inexpensive, perfect for trying out some fun things.  The Holga website has lots of accessories and such.

I am going to put the graffiti and Wednesday images into a gallery for you with the Holga images as well, I am fairly certain you will be able to tell the difference.  I think we have fog here this morning, so as soon as the sun comes up I’m heading out with the camera.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mums who read my blog.

96 Comments
  1. I love street art as well, they are amazing talent artists

    May 11, 2014
    • There are, I am so glad they have given street artists places to go and do their art.

      May 11, 2014
  2. Wowzer! You have a whole slew of great pics! Cool graffiti, too! 🙂
    (Just a fyi: WordPress is advertising on and under your beautiful work.)

    May 11, 2014
    • Thank you, and no I had no idea, someone else said something yesterday, but it doesn’t happen when I look, I must investigate, thanks for the heads up.

      May 11, 2014
      • You’re welcome. WordPress now charges for ad-free blogs.
        I’ve yet to pay it, and hope I don’t have to. If ever you see one on mine?

        May 11, 2014
      • I think they have been doing that for a while, and I do pay for that, but I do have Adwords, which I thought just put an add at the bottom of the post, but they may have changed that, so I will have to look into it. The biggest problem is that I don’t see any on my blog. I will investigate, if it is the adwords I might have to look into getting rid of it, though it also says my theme doesn’t support them, so I might have to look into getting a new theme. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

        May 11, 2014
  3. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    I listened to a debate as to whether or no graffiti was art. There were dozens of images on display in a museum and they were beautiful, even if it was against the law to create it. I like the glare of the sun in the Flinders Street Station. 🙂

    May 11, 2014
    • We have places here where it isn’t against the law, and the photos are from one of those places, it is allowed and artists apply to the council I think. I so like it that artists have places they can express themselves. This laneway is a massive tourist attraction now. 🙂

      May 11, 2014
  4. Hi Leanne. That looked like fun. I was wondering if the trainers on the telephone wire have the same connotations as they do here. Question: Have you tried adapting a DSLR to a pinhole camera, and if so, how easy was it?

    May 11, 2014
    • It was fun, always good to go out with a new toy and see what you get. I haven’t tried it, but I have thought about it, and tried to work out how. Have you tried it?
      I might do some research, I did use pinhole cameras when I was studying photography, but not digital, you have me thinking now.

      May 11, 2014
      • I had a haphazard, unsuccessful go yesterday by sticking a card over the end of my camera. Got some sort of images – I think I’ll try making the pin hole slightly bigger today.

        May 11, 2014
      • The thing I remember about pinhole is you have to give it a lot of time, like minutes sometimes, I think we had some that were 1 or two minutes. See how you go and please let me know.

        May 11, 2014
      • Well, I had a go at pinhole photography: http://sixpixx.wordpress.com/2014/05/11/playing-with-pinholes/. Haven’t got it quite right yet – but, for a piece of cardboard and sticky tape – I’m happy.

        May 12, 2014
      • So many pinhole cameras were made with the same thing, cardboard and sticky tape. It will be interesting to see how you go with it, I might have to try it as well. I will follow the links in your post. Thanks for the link.

        May 12, 2014
    • I forgot to say about the runners on the wires, I don’t think they do have the same meaning. I know there are gangs here, I think, but they aren’t prominent, so I am fairly sure they aren’t gang related, though I could be wrong.

      May 11, 2014
  5. I like the results of that lens. How fun! And my heart bleeds for you to deal with a crop sensor! I am aghast! LOL. I wonder what I would do with a full frame????

    May 11, 2014
    • I know, it was so difficult, I wasn’t sure I was going to cope, but I did. It is a good fun lens, and they don’t cost much. I should play with it more. Thanks Laura.

      May 11, 2014
      • phew, glad we didn’t lose you for a day to therapy for crop sensors. 😛

        May 11, 2014
      • Yes, well I was a little worried, but I pulled through. LOL

        May 11, 2014
      • 😀

        May 11, 2014
  6. I love that shot of Flinders St Station. It conveys exactly what it’s like there, busy but still lovely.

    May 11, 2014
    • I love that one too Carol, and I think for exactly the same reasons you have said too. Thank you.
      PS Happy Mother’s Day.

      May 11, 2014
  7. Interesting photos, but what’s with those ads that rise up on every photo? Did you add those or is that something new from WordPress?

    May 11, 2014
    • Thank you, I don’t know what it is with the ads, I can’t see them, so I will have to do some investigating, a couple of others have commented on them as well.

      May 11, 2014
  8. A marvellous set of images, I especially like the photo of your student taking the graffiti, I love the way the red of her shoes pops out alongside the bright colours in the wall. The Holga looks fun, the picture of the station is great and you’ve captured the moving train really well. Happy Mother’s Day to you (in the UK ours was before Easter so I’ve already scoffed my chocolates!) 🙂

    May 11, 2014
    • Thank you Katie, though not my student, she was a tourist I think, and I just asked her to take another photo. The holga was a lot of fun, and I think I will take it out with me again, maybe during the day when there is more light, see what I get. Thank you, and happy belated Mother’s Day to you. I don’t think I am getting chocolates, but with two almost no longer teenage girls, I doubt I will find out before lunch. LOL.

      May 11, 2014
  9. Stunning pictures!

    May 11, 2014
  10. I was in Melbourne late last year and have a few of the same compositions as you, just not as good!! Love some of the graffiti around these days. Thanks Leanne.

    May 11, 2014
    • Oh I am sure yours are, Melbourne is a great city to take photos of. I never tire of it. The graffiti is brilliant, I love it, you’re welcome and thank you too.

      May 11, 2014
  11. It just amazes me, the architecture there in Australia, how well they have blended the modern and contemporary into the old and Victorian, so beautiful especially through your eyes Leanne!
    Curious I did not get to read a lot on the Holga site about the lenses but the remind me a lot of the Lensbaby Lenses, I want to go back and see what their functions are.
    This is just one of many styles I just picked one to send the link.
    http://lensbaby.com/

    May 11, 2014
    • It is pretty amazing, I think it helps that in the latter part of the 19th century we were one of the richest, or the richest city in the world because of gold, so they build lots of grand buildings, which are still here today, we are lucky.
      I haven’t heard of those ones, I will check them out, Thanks for sending the link.

      May 11, 2014
  12. Those macaroons must be the most photographed in the world I think 🙂 Beautiful photos as always Leanne.

    May 11, 2014
    • I think you might be right Suz, thank you.
      I hope you have a good Mother’s Day.

      May 11, 2014
      • Nice and quiet so far. Tween is still in bed and the kids haven’t called but I have had a message on FB 😉

        May 11, 2014
      • I got a message on FB too, apologising for being 7 minutes late, she is the smart arse of the family. Mine are still sleeping too, I think I will have to make my own breakfast this year.

        May 11, 2014
      • I always make my own breakfast. The GG refuses to let anyone eat in bed because it might attract ants rofl. I haven’t heard from my smart arse yet. lol

        May 11, 2014
      • I was promised pancakes, I don’t see it happening though. Haha, that is funny, I haven’t heard that one before, crumbs yes, but not ants. I am sure we will see them soon, the smart arses that is. LOL

        May 11, 2014
  13. First of all, Happy Mother’s Day to you, Leanne! Secondly, thanks so much for this incredible series on Melbourne and adjacent areas. We know that the photographer is excellent. On the other hand, Melbourne seems to be the right place for a wonderful photographer like you! Thanks so much! Enjoy Mother’s day! By the way, is there a Photographer’s Day? Cheers from San Diego! Take care!

    May 11, 2014
    • Thank you Fabio. I think I am a very lucky photographer to live here. I am sure there are lots of places that are great to photograph, people just need to see and I see that many people do. I will enjoy it, thanks, I haven’t heard of one of those, LOL

      May 11, 2014
      • Thanks so much, Leanne! Good to share photos, thoughts, and laughs with you! Have the girls pampered you for the day? 🙂 All the best, my friend!

        May 11, 2014
      • It is good, I will have to wait until they wake up, haha, I’m hungry now, and I probably won’t see them for another 3 hours. All the best to you too.

        May 11, 2014
      • Enjoy everything! Take care, Leanne! 🙂

        May 11, 2014
      • 🙂

        May 11, 2014
  14. Good colors. Great photos

    May 11, 2014
  15. Gorgeous! Would love a wander around Melbourne, although Adelaide is quite gorgeous, especially if you’re keen on the architecture side of things. They care about their history in that sense in a way I never experienced on the east coast. Newcastle especially is fond of begrudgingly keeping the original, heritage listed facade and building some monstrous modern thing onto it.

    May 11, 2014
    • I think Adelaide is gorgeous too, though I haven’t been there for many years. They have done that to a few places here, but I am pleased to say not too many. Though it doesn’t really matter what is on the inside, since we can’t get access to it anyway, so I am glad that at least the facade is kept and the the whole building isn’t destroyed. Thanks Audrey, I think you would like Melbourne.

      May 11, 2014
  16. Graffiti always draws me to it. I liked your panning shot. I must be doing something wrong, because mine never seem to work how I want them to.

    May 11, 2014
    • Graffiti is becoming very popular these days, it is great. Oh yes of experience, the panning, I used to photograph cycling all the time, so I got quite used to it. Thanks Jo.

      May 11, 2014
  17. Nice effects from the Holga – Happy Mother’s Day to you Leanne – we have a few hours still before your day hits here.

    May 11, 2014
    • Thanks Robert, it was great to finally just play with it, will have to do. I am sure by the time you read this it will be Mother’s Day, thank you Robert.

      May 11, 2014
  18. Reblogged this on Giai01's Blog and commented:
    xem

    May 11, 2014
  19. I love the urban art( graffitti)!! The angle of the tower (?)shot with the building inside is marvellous as are they all.

    May 11, 2014
    • Thank you Cybele, the graffiti is so good and you know each time you go it will be different, so many layers of paint there, I wonder when they will start peeling off. The shot tower nearly always photographs well.

      May 11, 2014
  20. Fantastic graffiti, and I love the Holga :0) I might have to treat myself!

    May 11, 2014
    • The holga is lots of fun, so I hope you do, thank you.

      May 11, 2014
  21. awesome-ness…

    May 11, 2014
  22. Interesting.

    I sometime use the Holga filters setting in the onOne Suite, but never connected with the fact they had lenses.

    May 11, 2014
    • I saw someone else with them, Stephanie I think it was, she had some images on her blog and told me about the lens. Look them up and see what you think.

      May 11, 2014
  23. Loredana Isabella Crupi #

    Great work with the Holga! Really like your perspectives and angles of Melbourne (my hometown!) 🙂

    May 11, 2014
    • Thank you, I gather you don’t live here anymore!

      May 11, 2014
      • Loredana Isabella Crupi #

        I do, I do! I just don’t get into the city enough to appreciate its beauty! …and I’m only down the road in Northcote!

        May 12, 2014
      • Then you must go, you should come in to one of my photo walks when I get them going, you live closer to it than me.

        May 12, 2014
      • Loredana Isabella Crupi #

        LOL! your blog/site has inspired me already!

        May 12, 2014
      • That’s wonderful.

        May 12, 2014
  24. I’m really impressed you got such nice shots with the Holga – very atmospheric and warm. Lovely.

    May 11, 2014
    • It wasn’t that hard Richard, I just played around with it. Thanks.

      May 11, 2014
  25. It’s always nice to discover new places. And – great to have a camera when doing so too. 🙂

    May 11, 2014
    • That is true, it is good, thanks RoSy. 🙂

      May 11, 2014
  26. Reblogged this on dunjav.

    May 11, 2014
  27. Street Art is fantastic

    May 12, 2014
  28. Asha Vaidyanath #

    Love. Love. Love these set of photos, Leanne.

    May 12, 2014
    • Thank you so much Asha, that is fantastic.

      May 12, 2014
  29. Great photos! Its amazing how much detail goes into the graffiti 🙂

    May 12, 2014
    • I know, it is so intricate, you wonder how they do it. Thanks.

      May 12, 2014
  30. I have a holga film camera (which I seldom use due the lack of a film scanner and reliable places to get film scanned) I have never thought of getting a holga lens for my camera. Somehow it seems like cheating the whole lomo thing. I like the graffiti shots.

    May 12, 2014
    • Perhaps it is, but then again, I would never go the whole film camera thing again, so that is what i have opted for. They also do one for the phone, so I might see if I can get that as well, that could be fun. I have a scanner for my negatives, but again, film is such a hassle, though it seems to be making a come back. Thanks Ben.

      May 12, 2014
  31. Another incredible post, Leanne. I honestly don’t know how you do it, every single day, putting out these posts which are both educational, informative, gorgeous with so many photos. I can only imagine how many hard drives you must have to back up your work. I LOVE the look of the Holga lens, and knowing you, will be ingenious with it. I am also so happy for you with all these people commenting on your work! Nice, Leanne!!!

    And IF WP is advertising using your work … that’s wrong. I am so glad Uncle Tom pointed it out to you. Best of luck with that!!! Love, Amy

    May 12, 2014
    • I have started cheating Amy, haha, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday all seem to be about other people. I have a couple of hard drives, two 3TB drives, one for photos and one for back up, might have to get some new ones soon. Though, every now and then I go through them and delete ones I know I will never want. I really need to do that now, just keep putting it off, I know it will be a bit job. I quite like the Holga as well, it gives a great effect, good for some fun. Thank you Amy, it is nice, just leaves little time for me to comment on other peoples blogs.

      I don’t quite know what is happening with that, and I can’t see it. We all have adblock installed in google chrome so we don’t see the ads. I will have to try and work out what is happening. I do Adwords, to try and earn some money, but if it is doing this, I might have to stop it.

      May 12, 2014
      • I’ll be thinking of you when I go through my photos to delete the ones that I won’t use. (sigh) Good luck because I know how time consuming it is.

        And another good luck with the ads. What is right is right. xx

        May 12, 2014
      • It is time consuming.
        Thanks, I have no idea.

        May 12, 2014
  32. I’ve been considering getting one of the toy lenses for my camera but wondered if I’d use it. I’m still not sure, but I love your pictures.

    May 12, 2014
    • I think you have to go out specifically to use it. I went into the city and took no other lenses with me, so I had to use it. It was great, and once I got into it I just kept wanting to explore more and more. They aren’t too expensive, depends where you look, I got a heap of other attachments with mine.

      May 12, 2014
  33. Thanks, I inspired with your blog & completed by half drafted blog……

    May 12, 2014
  34. Deficio #

    I love street photography and graffiti and the interplay of people with backdrops. Every now and then I take the train to Philadelphia from New York. The walls and buildings along the tracks are loaded with street art and graffiti. You get a lovely blur as you shoot things only a few feet away, even at Amtrak’s pedestrian speeds. Anyway, I really enjoy your photography!

    May 12, 2014
    • I haven’t done much, practically none, street photography, it isn’t something I am comfortable with, never have been. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it, just not something I like doing. I like the idea of the train though, that would be pretty cool. Our suburban trains have so much crap on the windows it would be hard to do, but maybe that could be part of it. I might give it a shot, thanks.

      May 13, 2014
  35. Great photos once again. Love the graffiti one.

    May 13, 2014
    • Thank you Chris, I do like photographing the graffiti.

      May 13, 2014
  36. I do have a fondness for street artists. There are some great shots here, Leanne.

    May 14, 2014
    • Thanks Elen, Melbourne has a lot of street art and seems to encourage it, well it used to, I don’t know if it still does.

      May 14, 2014

Comments are closed.

